DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on July 24, 2026 was received. Claims 1, 8-10, 12 and 20 are allowed. Claims 7 and 19 were canceled. No claim was added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued April 24, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, on claims 8-11 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 21-22, it is unclear which claims are these claims depending on, as claim 21 is a dependent claim of claim 22 and claim 22 is the dependent claim of claim 21. Since claim 21 contains some limitations of claim 20, claim 21 is interpreted as a dependent claim of claim 1 and claim 22 is a dependent claim of claim 21. However, applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter.
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, while the specification provides support for “the two heaters 400 can act to heat the manifold 232 and can be operated at lower temperature” (paragraph 0050), it does not provide what is the “lower temperature” associated with (not particularly lower temperature than the vaporizing heater). Thus, “the lower temperature” is unclear and can be interpreted as any temperature range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940).
Regarding claim 1, Powell teaches a method for depositing a film on a substrate by transporting the substrate through vapor in a chamber (abstract, paragraphs 0001, 0004 and 0012) (vapor transport deposition). Powell teaches to vaporize a semiconductor powder into a semiconductor vapor with a heater (paragraphs 0040, 0047, 0005, 0025, figure 8). Powell teaches to heat a manifold 114 using extremal heaters 117A and 118A (paragraphs 0050, figure 8). Powell teaches the manifold is heated to a temperature (operating temperature) sufficient to maintain the vapor in a vapor state, which indicates the heating reduces condensation of the semiconductor vapor on the manifold, including the distribution holes 116 and the lip around the distribution holes (paragraph 0050). Powell teaches to control the temperature (delivery temperature) of the vaporization to vaporize the powder (paragraph 0037) and to control the heating at a temperature sufficient to maintain the vapor in a vapor state (paragraphs 0050). Powell teaches to depositing the semiconductor vapor onto a substrate (paragraph 0048 and 0051). Powell does not explicitly control of the temperature of vaporizing and heating are conducted separately. However, it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143 I. E.). In this case, there is only two possible solutions: the controlling of the temperature of the vaporizing and heating conducted together or separately; both of the scenarios result in the same solution of achieving desired temperature of the process. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date to control the temperature of vaporizing and heating separately in light of the teaching of Powell, especially Powell teaches the vaporizing and heating are conducted by two separate heaters (paragraphs 0047 and 0050). Powell further teaches the temperature to vaporize (delivery temperature) and the temperature to heat the manifold (operating temperature) is 500 degree C to about 1200 C (pargraph 0050), wherein the temperature to vaporize can achieve 1200 to1500 degree C for quicker vaporization (paragraph 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use vaporize at 1200 to1500 degree C as suggested by Powell in the different embodiment in the method as disclosed by Powell above to achieve a lower operating temperature than the delivery temperature because Powell teaches such higher delivery temperature is able to vaporize the material quicker (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 2, Powell teaches the vaporizing the semiconductor powder into the vapor using a vaporizer111/112 (paragraph 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 3, Powell teaches to heat the manifold using a heater tube 117A (paragraph 0050, figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Powell teaches to deposit the vapor ono the substrate though the distribution hole 116 (nozzle) on the manifold 114 (paragraph 0050, figure 8).
Regarding claim 5, Powell teaches to manifold comprises a channel bounded by an inner surface of the manifold 114, and the distribution hole 116 (nozzle) extends through the inner surface and an outer surface of the manifold (see figure 8, paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 6, Powell teaches the manifold 114 channel receives the semiconductor vapor from the vaporizer111/112 (paragraphs 0048-0049) and the vapor flows from the channel and through the nozzle 116 to the substrate (paragraphs 0050-0051, figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, Powell teaches the nozzle extends through eh oute34r surface of the manifold a substate facing portion of the manifold 114, and wherein the vaporizer 111/1112 is disposed above at an opposite side of the manifold from the substrate facing portion of the manifold (see figure 8)
Regarding claim 13, Powell teaches heating the manifold 114, including the lip, to a temperature sufficient to maintain the vapor in a vapor state (paragraph 0050), for example of 500 to 1200 degree C, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. In addition, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the heating temperature in the process sufficient enough to maintain the vapor in the vapor state for the deposition of the vapor (paragraph 0050). Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 14, Powell teaches heating the manifold 114, including the lip, to a temperature sufficient to maintain the vapor in a vapor state (paragraph 0050), for example of 500 to 1200 degree C, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. In addition, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the heating temperature in the process sufficient enough to maintain the vapor in the vapor state for the deposition of the vapor (paragraph 0050). Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 15, Powell teaches to heat the vaporizer to the powder (paragraph 0037), for example of 500 to 1200 degree C, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Powell also teaches the temperature govern the speed of vaporization of the powder (paragraph 0037) Thus, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the heating temperature of the vaporizer in the process to sufficiently vaporize the powder at a desired speed (paragraph 0037). Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940) as applied to claims 1-6 and 12-15 above, and further in view of Brezoczky (US6241477).
Regarding claim 8, Powell teaches in an alternate embedment that a pair of cradle105 is used to support the manifold 102, wherein the manifold 102 surround a tubular sheath 101 (a beam) which covers the heater tube 100 (heater) (paragraph 0044, figure 7), wherein the a pair of cradles 105 supports the beam along with the manifold 102 (see figure 7) and the cradles forms a gap 109 (see figure 7) and the heater tube 100 is expected to heat the beam during the vaporization; thus Powell teaches a beam that spans across a gap formed between cradles, the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Powell teaches a second beam 118B (second beam) disposed across from the beam 118A, and are proximate to the flow of the uniform vapor/carrier gas composition directed out of nozzle 116 (paragraph 0050, figure 8), the space between the two beams reads on the limitation of a flux exit slot, wherein the semiconductor vapor flows through the flux exit slot to the substrate (paragraphs 0050-0051, figure 8).
Nevertheless, Powell teaches the manifold nozzles 116 are arranged in a line parallel to the length of the external heating tube sheaths 118A (a beam), wherein the external heating tube sheath 118A covers the external heater tubes 117A, which conducts heat to manifold 114 through the external heating tube sheath 118A (paragraph 0050, figure 8), which reads on the limitations of the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Thus, Powell teaches all the limitation of these claims, except the beam spans across a gap formed between cradles. However, Brezoczky teaches a chemical vapor deposition substrate processing chamber (abstract, column 1 lines 10-25). Brezoczky teaches a heating element ring is secured by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall to heat the component inside of the chamber (see figure 1, column 6 lines 30-60). Since Powell teaches the candles (position a component across a gap of cradles) are known to support and fasteners structure for the structural component inside of the chamber (see paragraph 0044). It would be obvious to use cradles to support the beams (span across a gap formed between cradles) to the chamber sidewall, including the external heating beams (118A/B) and tubular heater beams (101 or 112) (see figures 7 and 8). The selection of a known element based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the heating element by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall as suggested by Brezoczky in the method of Powell because Brezoczky teaches such heating element configuration facilitate heating the component inside of the process chamber (column 6 lines 30-60).
Regarding claim 9, Powell teaches the beam contacts the manifold 114 (paragraph 0050, figure 8).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940) as applied to claims 1-6 and 12-15 above, and further in view of Brezoczky (US6241477) and Probst (US20120122276).
Regarding claim 10, Powell teaches in an alternate embedment that a pair of cradle105 is used to support the manifold 102, wherein the manifold 102 surround a tubular sheath 101 (a beam) which covers the heater tube 100 (heater) (paragraph 0044, figure 7), wherein the a pair of cradles 105 supports the beam along with the manifold 102 (see figure 7) and the cradles forms a gap 109 (see figure 7) and the heater tube 100 is expected to heat the beam during the vaporization; thus Powell teaches a beam that spans across a gap formed between cradles, the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Powell teaches a second beam 118B (second beam) disposed across from the beam 118A, and are proximate to the flow of the uniform vapor/carrier gas composition directed out of nozzle 116 (paragraph 0050, figure 8), the space between the two beams reads on the limitation of a flux exit slot, wherein the semiconductor vapor flows through the flux exit slot to the substrate (paragraphs 0050-0051, figure 8).
Nevertheless, Powell teaches the manifold nozzles 116 are arranged in a line parallel to the length of the external heating tube sheaths 118A (a beam), wherein the external heating tube sheath 118A covers the external heater tubes 117A, which conducts heat to manifold 114 through the external heating tube sheath 118A (paragraph 0050, figure 8), which reads on the limitations of the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Thus, Powell teaches all the limitation of these claims, except the beam spans across a gap formed between cradles. However, Brezoczky teaches a chemical vapor deposition substrate processing chamber (abstract, column 1 lines 10-25). Brezoczky teaches a heating element ring is secured by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall to heat the component inside of the chamber (see figure 1, column 6 lines 30-60). Since Powell teaches the candles (position a component across a gap of cradles) are known to support and fasteners structure for the structural component inside of the chamber (see paragraph 0044). It would be obvious to use cradles to support the beams (span across a gap formed between cradles) to the chamber sidewall, including the external heating beams (118A/B) and tubular heater beams (101 or 112) (see figures 7 and 8). The selection of a known element based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the heating element by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall as suggested by Brezoczky in the method of Powell because Brezoczky teaches such heating element configuration facilitate heating the component inside of the process chamber (column 6 lines 30-60).
Powell in view of Brezoczky teaches all the limitations of this claim, except the outer surface of the beam is coated with a low emissivity coating. Probst teaches a method of thermal evaporation for depositing a material on a substrate (abstract). Probst teaches that emission reducing means are arranged such that an external surface of the vapor outlet means directed to said substrate exhibits low emission (abstract). Probst teaches that suitably the emissivity of the emission reducing means is 0.6 or less, preferably 0.5 or less, more preferably 0.3 or less. Of particular relevance is the emission and emissivity in the direction of the substrate during normal operation (paragraph 0020). Probst teaches the emission reducing layer 6 is provided only on a portion of the surface of the vapor receiving pipe 4 such that the surface portion of the vapor outlet means 3 facing the substrate 5 is covered by the emission reducing layer 6 (paragraph 0066, figure 6; same as Applicant’s low emissivity coating 408 facing the substrate, see Figs. 2-4 for coating entire surface), for the purpose of that the substrate will not be heated above the maximum temperature during thermal evaporation of the material (paragraph 0031). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply low emissivity coating 6 to the substrate facing surface (a portion of the beams 118A) as suggested by Probst in the method of Powell in view of Brezoczky because Probst teaches such coating can avoid the substrate being heated above the maximum temperature during thermal evaporation of the material (paragraph 0031)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940) in view of Brezoczky (US6241477) and Probst (US20120122276) as applied to claims 1-6, 10 and 12-15 above, and further in view of Luks (US3291619)
Regarding claim 11, Powell in view of Brezoczky and Probst teaches all the limitations of this claim, except the outer surface of the beam is coated with the specific a low emissivity coating. However, Luks is solving similar problem of ceramic (and emissivity (column 1 lines 1-11). Luks teaches that a white alumina body has an emissivity of about 0.2 (col. 1, lines 29-30). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted white alumina ceramic as suggested by Luks as the material for the imported low emissivity coating in the method of Powell in view of Brezoczky and Probst for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940)) as applied to claims 1-6 and 12-15, and further in view of Beck (US20160281212).
Regarding claim 16, Powell teaches the vaporizer comprises a permeable wall vaporizer (paragraphs 0047-0048), Thus, Powell teaches all limitations of the claim, except the power supplied level. However, Beck teaches a deposition method using evaporation sources having disposed therearound an insulation material (abstract). Beck teaches that conventional systems with high thermal mass have the added advantage that control of the thermal evaporation process is simplified as temperature fluctuations based on power fluctuations to the heaters are typically negligible. Highly effective thermal insulation further reduces sensitivity to incoming power fluctuations. Such thermal insulation also reduces heat losses to the surroundings, i.e., it increases thermal coupling efficiency of the electrical heater power to the material to be evaporated, leading to lower operating costs. In summary, high thermal mass and highly effective thermal insulation are important aspects of conventional industrial thermal evaporation processes (paragraph 0005). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided effective fiber blanket insulation 104 in Powell as suggested by Beck in the method of Powell because Beck teaches such insulation increase power efficiency and lower operating cost (paragraph 0005). The combination of Powell in view of Beck discloses the claimed invention except for power efficiency at 70% or more. However, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the power efficiency in the process to yield desired lower operation cost. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 17, Powell teaches the vaporizer comprises a permeable wall vaporizer (paragraphs 0047-0048), Thus, Powell teaches all limitations of the claim, except the power supplied level. Powell teaches the vaporizer comprises a permeable wall vaporizer (paragraphs 0047-0048), Thus, Powell teaches all limitations of the claim, except the power supplied level. However, Beck teaches a deposition method using evaporation sources having disposed therearound an insulation material (abstract). Beck teaches that conventional systems with high thermal mass have the added advantage that control of the thermal evaporation process is simplified as temperature fluctuations based on power fluctuations to the heaters are typically negligible. Highly effective thermal insulation further reduces sensitivity to incoming power fluctuations. Such thermal insulation also reduces heat losses to the surroundings, i.e., it increases thermal coupling efficiency of the electrical heater power to the material to be evaporated, leading to lower operating costs. In summary, high thermal mass and highly effective thermal insulation are important aspects of conventional industrial thermal evaporation processes (paragraph 0005). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided effective fiber blanket insulation 104 in Powell as suggested by Beck in the method of Powell because Beck teaches such insulation increase power efficiency and lower operating cost (paragraph 0005). The combination of Powell in view of Beck discloses the claimed invention except for power efficiency at 80% or more. However, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the power efficiency in the process to yield desired lower operation cost. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 18, Powell teaches the vaporizer comprises a permeable wall vaporizer (paragraphs 0047-0048), Thus, Powell teaches all limitations of the claim, except the power supplied level. Powell teaches the vaporizer comprises a permeable wall vaporizer (paragraphs 0047-0048), Thus, Powell teaches all limitations of the claim, except the power supplied level. However, Beck teaches a deposition method using evaporation sources having disposed therearound an insulation material (abstract). Beck teaches that conventional systems with high thermal mass have the added advantage that control of the thermal evaporation process is simplified as temperature fluctuations based on power fluctuations to the heaters are typically negligible. Highly effective thermal insulation further reduces sensitivity to incoming power fluctuations. Such thermal insulation also reduces heat losses to the surroundings, i.e., it increases thermal coupling efficiency of the electrical heater power to the material to be evaporated, leading to lower operating costs. In summary, high thermal mass and highly effective thermal insulation are important aspects of conventional industrial thermal evaporation processes (paragraph 0005). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided effective fiber blanket insulation 104 in Powell as suggested by Beck in the method of Powell because Beck teaches such insulation increase power efficiency and lower operating cost (paragraph 0005). The combination of Powell in view of Beck discloses the claimed invention except for power efficiency at 90% or more. However, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the power efficiency in the process to yield desired lower operation cost. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940) in view of Brezoczky (US6241477).
Regarding claim 20, Powell teaches a method for depositing a film on a substrate by transporting the substrate through vapor in a chamber (abstract, paragraphs 0001, 0004 and 0012) (vapor transport deposition). Powell teaches to vaporize a semiconductor powder into a semiconductor vapor with a vaporizing heater (paragraphs 0047, 0005, 0025, figure 8). Powell teaches to heat a manifold 114 using extremal heaters 117A and 118A (paragraphs 0050, figure 8). Powell teaches the manifold is heated to a temperature (operating temperature) sufficient to maintain the vapor in a vapor state, which indicates the heating reduces condensation of the semiconductor vapor on the manifold, including the distribution holes 116 and the lip around the distribution holes (paragraph 0050). Powell teaches to control the temperature of the vaporization (vaporizing temperature) to vaporize the powder (paragraph 0037) and to control the heating at a temperature sufficient to maintain the vapor in a vapor state (paragraphs 0050). Powell teaches to depositing the semiconductor vapor onto the substrate (paragraph 0048 and 0051). Powell does not explicitly control of the temperature of vaporizing and heating are conducted separately. However, it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143 I. E.). In this case, there is only two possible solutions: the controlling of the temperature of the vaporizing and heating conducted together or separately; both of the scenarios result in the same solution of achieving desired temperature of the process. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date to control the temperature of vaporizing and heating separately in light of the teaching of Powell, especially Powell teaches the vaporizing and heating are conducted by two separate heaters (paragraphs 0047 and 0050). Powell further teaches the temperature to vaporize (delivery temperature) and the temperature to heat the manifold (operating temperature) is 500 degree C to about 1200 C (pargraph 0050), wherein the temperature to vaporize can achieve 1200 to1500 degree C for quicker vaporization (paragraph 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use vaporize at 1200 to1500 degree C as suggested by Powell in the different embodiment in the method as disclosed by Powell above to achieve a lower operating temperature than the delivery temperature because Powell teaches such higher delivery temperature is able to vaporize the material quicker (paragraph 0037).
Powell further teaches in an alternate embedment that a pair of cradle105 is used to support the manifold 102, wherein the manifold 102 surround a tubular sheath 101 (a beam) which covers the heater tube 100 (heater) (paragraph 0044, figure 7), wherein the a pair of cradles 105 supports the beam along with the manifold 102 (see figure 7) and the cradles forms a nozzle 109 (a gap) (see figure 7) and the heater tube 100 is expected to heat the beam during the vaporization; thus Powell teaches a beam that spans across a gap formed between cradles, the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. The cradle 105 reads on the limitations of cradles as duplication of parts or rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is provided (See MPEP 2144.01 VI). In this case, there is no new or unexpected result to change the single cradle into two cradles.
Nevertheless, Powell teaches the manifold nozzles 116 are arranged in a line parallel to the length of the external heating tube sheaths 118A (a beam), wherein the external heating tube sheath 118A covers the external heater tubes 117A, which conducts heat to manifold 114 through the external heating tube sheath 118A (paragraph 0050, figure 8), which reads on the limitations of the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Thus, Powell teaches all the limitation of these claims, except the beam spans across a gap formed between cradles. However, Brezoczky teaches a chemical vapor deposition substrate processing chamber (abstract, column 1 lines 10-25). Brezoczky teaches a heating element ring is secured by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall to heat the component inside of the chamber (see figure 1, column 6 lines 30-60). Since Powell teaches the candles (position a component across a gap of cradles) are known to support and fasteners structure for the structural component inside of the chamber (see paragraph 0044). It would be obvious to use cradles to support the beams (span across a gap formed between cradles) to the chamber sidewall, including the external heating beams (118A/B) and tubular heater beams (101 or 112) (see figures 7 and 8). The selection of a known element based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the heating element by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall as suggested by Brezoczky in the method of Powell because Brezoczky teaches such heating element configuration facilitate heating the component inside of the process chamber (column 6 lines 30-60).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20060236940) as applied to claims 1-6 and 12-15 above, and further in view of Brezoczky (US6241477) and Lin (US20140295600).
Regarding claim 21, Powell teaches the manifold 114 channel receives the semiconductor vapor from the vaporizer111/112 (paragraphs 0048-0049) and the vapor flows from the channel and through the nozzle 116 to the substrate, (paragraphs 0050-0051, figure 8). Powell teaches in an alternate embedment that a pair of cradle105 is used to support the manifold 102, wherein the manifold 102 surround a tubular sheath 101 (a beam) which covers the heater tube 100 (heater) (paragraph 0044, figure 7), wherein the a pair of cradles 105 supports the beam along with the manifold 102 (see figure 7) and the cradles forms a gap 109 (see figure 7) and the heater tube 100 is expected to heat the beam during the vaporization; thus Powell teaches a beam that spans across a gap formed between cradles, the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Powell teaches a second beam 118B (second beam) disposed across from the beam 118A, and are proximate to the flow of the uniform vapor/carrier gas composition directed out of nozzle 116 (paragraph 0050, figure 8), the space between the two beams reads on the limitation of a flux exit slot, wherein the semiconductor vapor flows through the flux exit slot to the substrate (paragraphs 0050-0051, figure 8).
Nevertheless, Powell teaches the manifold nozzles 116 are arranged in a line parallel to the length of the external heating tube sheaths 118A (a beam), wherein the external heating tube sheath 118A covers the external heater tubes 117A, which conducts heat to manifold 114 through the external heating tube sheath 118A (paragraph 0050, figure 8), which reads on the limitations of the beam having an inner cavity with a heater disposed within the inner cavity, and the heater heats the beam. Thus, Powell teaches all the limitation of these claims, except the beam spans across a gap formed between cradles. However, Brezoczky teaches a chemical vapor deposition substrate processing chamber (abstract, column 1 lines 10-25). Brezoczky teaches a heating element ring is secured by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall to heat the component inside of the chamber (see figure 1, column 6 lines 30-60). Since Powell teaches the candles (position a component across a gap of cradles) are known to support and fasteners structure for the structural component inside of the chamber (see paragraph 0044). It would be obvious to use cradles to support the beams (span across a gap formed between cradles) to the chamber sidewall, including the external heating beams (118A/B) and tubular heater beams (101 or 112) (see figures 7 and 8). The selection of a known element based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the heating element by one or more fasteners to the chamber sidewall as suggested by Brezoczky in the method of Powell because Brezoczky teaches such heating element configuration facilitate heating the component inside of the process chamber (column 6 lines 30-60).
Powell in view of Brezoczky does not explicitly teach an angled flow path is provided between the nozzle and the flux exit slot, wherein the nozzle is directed at nozzle angle relative to normal of the substrate and wherein the nozzle angle is acute. However, Lin teaches a evaporation source assembly with a body 130 (manifold) comprising a plurality of nozzle 140 facing the substrate 30 for depositing the evaporated material (figure 2, paragraphs 0050-0053), wherein some of the nozzles are directed at nozzle angle relative to normal of the substrate with acute nozzle angle (paragraph 0053, figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to directed established the angled flow path between the nozzle and the flux exit slot and the surface of the substrate) as suggested by Lin in the method of Powell in view of Brezoczky because Lin teaches such arrangement allow the nozzle to deliver the material more uniformly to the substrate surface (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 22, Powell teaches the to provide the nozzle in the manifold such that a nozzle provides mixing of semiconductor vapors (paragraphs 0005-0006 and 0044).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Powell does not teach the new claimed features.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
Powell teaches the limitations (see rejections above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Li (US5835677).
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717