DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 21, the limitations reciting the carbon fibers having a “wrapped vertical angle from 0 to 25 degrees” and a “wrapped vertical angle from 30 to 60 degrees” are indefinite because the reference axis or plane from which the respective angles are measured is unclear. Although the specification identifies the respective angular ranges, It does not adequately define “vertical angle” or establish what are the angles are measured relative to the longitudinal axis of the barrel, a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, or the another reference direction. Accordingly, the scope of the claimed fiber orientations cannot be determined with reasonable clarity.
For the purchases of examination and applying the prior art the winding angles will be interpreted as measured relative to the longitudinal axis of the carbon tube/barrel, consistent with conventional filament winding terminology.
Any unspecified claim is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
In view of the indefinite issues the claims will be examined as best understood by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). Because the specification does not provide sufficient detail in what is considered a vertical wrapping angle, the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical wrapping angles must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16, 18 and 21is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, US Patent No. 5,600,912 in view of Mogle, US Patent Publication No. 2016/0363402 and Boretto et al., hereafter Boretto, US Patent No. 11,385,013.
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Smith discloses a barrel (10 as in figures 1 and 2) for a firearm comprising: a steel barrel core (12 as in figures 1 and 2 and steel disclosed in 2:46-51); a carbon tube (16, 18 inter alia) bonded with an epoxy to an exterior of the steel barrel core (resin used in the matrix is disclosed as preferably epoxy and cured onto the barrel core), the carbon tube having a first inner diameter comprising first dry prepreg carbon fibers (carbon fiber mat 24 first applied to the barrel core as in 2:52-66 for example) having a wrapped vertical angle from 0 to 25 degrees (in view of the 112 issue detailed above, the limitation is met as best understood by the examiner because the carbon fibers are disclosed as parallel to the longitudinal bore axis and therefore 0°), wherein the first dry prepreg carbon fibers of the first inner diameter are innermost carbon fibers of the carbon tube and are bonded by the epoxy directly against an exterior of the steel barrel core (first application of the carbon-fiber/resin mat 24 is direction on the barrel liner 12 and the resin is disclosed as epoxy) and the carbon tube having a second outer diameter comprising second dry prepreg carbon fibers positioned over the first dry prepreg carbon fibers of the first inner diameter (successive layers of carbon fiber mat 24 applied over the first layer form an outer diameter both at the exterior of the barrel wrap and broadly, yet reasonably, at each outer diameter of each layer), wherein the wrapped first dry prepreg carbon fibers in the first inner diameter and the second dry prepreg carbon fibers of the second outer diameter fully extend from one end of the carbon tube to an opposite end of the carbon tube (2:34-3:2 discloses the fibers of each layer extend the length of the barrel); and an end cap (20) threaded on to the steel barrel core (3:23-35) and causing increased rigidity in a final barrel assembly (3:23-35 discloses compression stiffening the fibers); however, Smith does not specifically disclose the wrapping angle of second layer of carbon fiber to be between 30-60°. Nonetheless, Mogle teaches a composite gun barrel with multiple layers and specifically teaches that a carbon fiber layer arranged in a variety of configurations including a 45° configuration or 30-60° configuration like that in [0043-0046].
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Smith to have a layer of carbon fibers wrapped at an angle of 45° or 30-60° similar to that as specifically taught by Mogle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide additional reinforcement and improve the mechanical characteristics of the barrel by stiffening, strengthening and improving heat transfer like that taught by Mogle in [0046].
Further regarding claims 11 and 21, Smith discloses the threaded end cap and compression of the carbon fibers to increase stiffness but does not specifically disclose the torque applied to the cap to achieve the “sufficient” compression of Smith. Nonetheless, Boretto teaches adjusting the tightening torque of a threaded tensioning member to a variety of values to achieve the preferred torsional torque corresponding to a desired tension and compression loading specifically for the reason of influencing the stiffness of a composite barrel in 20:29-41 for example.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or define the torque value at which the cap of Smith is installed to an appropriate tightening torque similar to that as taught by Boretto since Boretto specifically identifies tightening torque as a parameter affecting stiffness and contemplates torque values above its exemplary range, selecting a suitable torque would have involved routine optimization of a known result-effective variable to achieve a desired degree of rigidity. Additionally, the applicant has not established that the claimed threshold of at least 40 foot-pounds produced as an unexpected result or represents a critical operating value. Specifically selecting a torque value in excess of 40 ft. lbs. would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to achieve the desired compression as considered by Smith and Boretto, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 21, the recitation of “consisting of” has been considered. The claimed carbon tube is further defined as having inner and outer portions comprising respective carbon fibers. Accordingly, the recitation of “consisting of” does not necessarily exclude additional carbon fiber layers forming part of the recycled carbon tube. The addition of reinforcing layers disclosed by Smith are considered part of the carbon tube rather than separate components of the barrel.
Regarding claims 12-14, Smith as modified by Mogle and Boretto discloses the claimed invention except for specifically disclosing the diameters of the barrel and carbon fiber layers to be .4 inches to 2 inches, .44 inches to 3 inches and .8 inches to 3.25 inches. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to construct the barrel and layers such that the diameters fall within the claimed ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the
art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been a matter of obviousness to one of ordinary
skill in the art to try various diameters because barrels in the firearm art are well known to vary
greatly in diameter based on the caliber of the round to be fired and desired projectile flight
characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of
success based on the caliber of the firearm and the rate of fire of the firearm, which would
determine the amount of heat to be dissipated.
Regarding claim 15, Smith as modified by Mogle and Boretto further discloses the first inner diameter comprises the first dry prepreg carbon fibers having a wrapped vertical angle from 0 to 10 degrees (in view of the indefinite issues, the longitudinally extending fibers of Smith are oriented at 0° with respect to the longitudinal axis and meets the claim limitation)
Regarding claim 16, Smith as modified by Mogle and Boretto further discloses the second outer diameter comprising the second dry prepreg carbon fibers positioned over the first dry prepreg carbon fibers of the first inner diameter comprises a wrapped vertical angle from 30 to 45 degrees. (in view of the indefinite issues, the fiber orientation of 45° as taught by Mogle meets the claim limitation)
Regarding claim 18, Smith as modified by Mogle and Boretto further discloses a firearm comprising the barrel of claim 11 (2:34-44)
Claim(s) 11-16, 18 and 21is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinnema, US Patent No. 11,079,194 in view of Mogle and Boretto.
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Sinnema discloses a barrel (10) for a firearm comprising: a steel barrel core (20 is disclosed as steel in 6:25); a carbon tube (60) bonded with an epoxy to an exterior of the steel barrel core (14:32-54 for example), the carbon tube having a first inner diameter (62) comprising first dry prepreg carbon fibers (12:53-59) having a wrapped vertical angle from 0 to 25 degrees (in view of the 112 issue detailed above, the limitation is met as best understood by the examiner because the carbon fibers are disclosed as parallel to the longitudinal bore axis in 12:53-59 and therefore 0°), wherein the first dry prepreg carbon fibers of the first inner diameter are innermost carbon fibers of the carbon tube and are bonded by the epoxy directly against an exterior of the steel barrel core (14:32-54 and figure 4 for example) and the carbon tube having a second outer diameter (64) comprising second dry prepreg carbon fibers (64 is disclosed as carbon fiber) positioned over the first dry prepreg carbon fibers of the first inner diameter (figure 4 for example); and an end cap (32) threaded on to the steel barrel core (14:55-52); however, while Sinnema discloses longitudinal layers, Sinnema does not specifically disclose the wrapping angle of second layer of carbon fiber to be between 30-60° and the carbon fibers of the first and second layers extending the full length of the carbon tube. Nonetheless, Mogle teaches a composite gun barrel with multiple layers and specifically teaches that a carbon fiber layer arranged in a variety of configurations including a 45° configuration or 30-60° configuration like that in [0043-0046] and further teaches that the first carbon-fiber stiffening layer 32 may extend along the entire length of the elongated cylinder 20 ([0034]) and that the second carbon-fiber layer 36 may comprise plies extending from the chamber 24 to the muzzle 22 ([0044-0045]). Mogle additionally teaches that the layers may be arranged in various orders and combinations in [0046] and that the individual layers may extend the entire length of the elongated cylinder in [0047].
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Sinnema to have a layer of carbon fibers wrapped at an angle of 45° or 30-60° and the fibers extending the full length of the carbon tube similar to that as specifically taught by Mogle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide additional reinforcement and improve the mechanical characteristics of the barrel by stiffening, strengthening and improving heat transfer like that taught by Mogle in [0046] and [0047].
Further regarding claims 11 and 21, Sinnema discloses the threaded end cap and a desire for stiffness of the barrel but does not specifically disclose the torque applied to the cap to achieve the desired stiffness of Sinnema. Nonetheless, Boretto teaches adjusting the tightening torque of a threaded tensioning member to a variety of values to achieve the preferred torsional torque corresponding to a desired tension and compression loading specifically for the reason of influencing the stiffness of a composite barrel in 20:29-41 for example.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or define the torque value at which the cap of Sinnema is installed to an appropriate tightening torque similar to that as taught by Boretto since Boretto specifically identifies tightening torque as a parameter affecting stiffness and contemplates torque values above its exemplary range, selecting a suitable torque would have involved routine optimization of a known result-effective variable to achieve a desired degree of rigidity. Additionally, the applicant has not established that the claimed threshold of at least 40 foot-pounds produced as an unexpected result or represents a critical operating value. Specifically selecting a torque value in excess of 40 ft. lbs. would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to achieve the desired stiffness as considered by Sinnema and Boretto, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 21, the recitation of “consisting of” has been considered. The claimed carbon tube is further defined as having inner and outer portions comprising respective carbon fibers. Accordingly, the recitation of “consisting of” does not necessarily exclude additional carbon fiber layers forming part of the recycled carbon tube. The additional layers of each of the first and second layers disclosed by Sinnema are considered part of the carbon tube rather than separate components of the barrel.
Regarding claims 12-14, Sinnema as modified by Mogle and Boretto discloses the claimed invention except for specifically disclosing the diameters of the barrel and carbon fiber layers to be .4 inches to 2 inches, .44 inches to 3 inches and .8 inches to 3.25 inches. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to construct the barrel and layers such that the diameters fall within the claimed ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been a matter of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art to try various diameters because barrels in the firearm art are well known to vary greatly in diameter based on the caliber of the round to be fired and desired projectile flight characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success based on the caliber of the firearm and the rate of fire of the firearm, which would determine the amount of heat to be dissipated.
Regarding claim 15, Sinnema as modified by Mogle and Boretto further discloses the first inner diameter comprises the first dry prepreg carbon fibers having a wrapped vertical angle from 0 to 10 degrees (in view of the indefinite issues, the longitudinally extending fibers of Sinnema are oriented at 0° with respect to the longitudinal axis and meets the claim limitation)
Regarding claim 16, Sinnema as modified by Mogle and Boretto further discloses the second outer diameter comprising the second dry prepreg carbon fibers positioned over the first dry prepreg carbon fibers of the first inner diameter comprises a wrapped vertical angle from 30 to 45 degrees. (in view of the indefinite issues, the fiber orientation of 45° as taught by Mogle meets the claim limitation)
Regarding claim 18, Sinnema as modified by Mogle and Boretto further discloses a firearm comprising the barrel of claim 11 (Sinnema, “rifle barrel” and 9:64-10:5 discloses attachment to a firearm)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Hartley, May and Danner references are moot as the references are not used in the rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Boretto to have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Boretto fails to expressly disclose a torque of at least 40 foot-pounds. While Boretto discloses example torque values of 5 to 30 foot-pounds, Boretto expressly states that the range “may be more or less in alternate embodiments” in 20:29-41. Thus, the disclosed range is not presented as an absolute upper limit.
Furthermore, Boretto specifically states “in an example embodiment” when referring to a range of 5-30 ft. lbs. and immediately considers “may be more or less in an alternate embodiment” in 20:29-41. Boretto additionally provides rationales or reasons why one of ordinary skill in the art would apply a torque higher than the upper limit of the 30 ft. lbs. considered in the embodiment. 19:24-52 specifically teaches, typically, the higher the torque, the stiffer the barrel. 20:11-21:5 teaches torquing the cap to a desired torque to achieve desired tension and compression loading. 21:40-52 teaches applying desired torsional loads. Therefore when Boretto is considered as a whole, there is sufficient teaching that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a torque of 40 ft. lbs. or greater with a reasonable expectation of success and an expectation of yielding predictable results.
In general, Boretto recognizes that increasing effective torque increases barrel stiffness within typical application ranges, thereby identifying applied torque as a result effective variable. Accordingly, the claimed torque of at least 40 foot-pounds represents an optimization of a known result effective variable to achieve increased barrel rigidity. The absence of an express disclosure of the specific claim threshold does not, by itself, established non-obviousness.
Conclusion
The applicant is invited to call the examiner for additional information on how particular cited references would be interpreted or applied to the claimed invention or potential amendments.
While the Examiner is available via telephone to resolve administrative issues regarding a patent application, issues relating to patentability and/or prospective amendments may be more efficiently discussed via email correspondence subsequent to the filing of form PTO/SB/439 (“Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application”) authorizing permission for internet communication. The form is available online at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf and may be submitted for the record along with any other response to this action. The Examiner may be reached by telephone at 571-272-6352.
/DERRICK R MORGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641