DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The continuation data listed in Paragraph 1 of the specification for Application No. 17/533,861, filed November 23, 2021, should be updated, as Application No. 17/533,861 is now U.S. Patent No. 11,987,691. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a developer storage unit configured to store a developer recited in claims 1 and 9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the resin molded article" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Accordingly, claim 1 and dependent claims 2-8 are indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the resin molded article" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Accordingly, claim 9 and dependent claims 10-16 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 2015/0016829).
Regarding claims 1-4: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses an image forming apparatus comprising a developer container whose developer amount is detected by a capacitance detection method when conductive resin members are used for electrodes [abstract; 0002; 0014-0015; 0078-0088; 0149-0152]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the detection device 130 contains an antenna member 43 [0149-0150; Fig. 9] which is insert molded to the inner wall of the developing container 46 [0151; Fig. 9]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the conductive sheet member constituting the antenna member 43 [0151] is a monolayer conductive resin sheet 24 in which ~35 wt% carbon black 24e is mixed with an EVA (ethylene vinyl acetate [0112]) resin 24d [0032; 0153-0155; Fig. 12B].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a shrinkage factor of the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius cooled after heated to 100 degrees Celsius relative to the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius before heated, when the resin molded article is heated from 25 degrees Celsius to 100 degrees Celsius and then cooled to 25 degrees Celsius is less than or equal to 2.0% [instant claim 1]; the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius cooled after heated to 100 degrees Celsius when the resin molded article is heated from 25 degrees Celsius to 100 degrees Celsius and then cooled to 25 degrees Celsius expands compared to the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius before heated [instant claim 2]; R1 and R2 satisfy a relationship of R2/R1 ≦ 1.5, where the R2 denotes a surface resistivity of the resin molded article after being drawn by a tension tester and the R1 denotes a surface resistivity of the resin molded article before being drawn by the tension tester, so that, at 25 degrees Celsius, a length of a primary face of the resin molded article in a width direction becomes 140% of a length of the primary face of the resin molded article in the width direction before being drawn by the tension tester, and wherein the primary face is a face that intersects a thickness direction of the resin molded article [instant claim 3], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 5: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the conductive resin sheet has a thickness of 0.05 to 0.3 mm (50 µm to 300 µm) [0155], with specific embodiments having a thickness of 0.1 mm (100 µm) [0155; 0157].
Regarding claims 7-8: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the detection device 130 has the antenna member 43 as the second electrode and is arranged on a part of the bottom of the developing chamber 46a formed by the developing frame 40 [0149-0150; Fig. 9]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the toner remaining amount detecting device 134 detects the capacitance between the developing sleeve 41 and antennae member 43 by applying bias to the developing sleeve 41 from the developing power source 131 [0151-0152; Fig. 9].
Claim(s) 9-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 2015/0016829).
Regarding claims 9-12: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses an image forming apparatus comprising a developer container whose developer amount is detected by a capacitance detection method when conductive resin members are used for electrodes [abstract; 0002; 0014-0015; 0078-0088; 0149-0152]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the detection device 130 contains an antenna member 43 [0149-0150; Fig. 9] which is insert molded to the inner wall of the developing container 46 [0151; Fig. 9]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the conductive sheet member constituting the antenna member 43 [0151] is a monolayer conductive resin sheet 24 in which ~35 wt% carbon black 24e is mixed with an EVA (ethylene vinyl acetate [0112]) resin 24d [0032; 0153-0155; Fig. 12B].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. R1 and R2 satisfy a relationship of R2/R1 ≦ 1.5, where the R2 denotes a surface resistivity of the resin molded article after being drawn by a tension tester and the R1 denotes a surface resistivity of the resin molded article before being drawn by the tension tester, so that, at 25 degrees Celsius, a length of a primary face of the resin molded article in a width direction becomes 140% of a length of the primary face of the resin molded article in the width direction before being drawn by the tension tester, and wherein the primary face is a face that intersects a thickness direction of the resin molded article [instant claim 9]; a shrinkage factor of the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius cooled after heated to 100 degrees Celsius relative to the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius before heated, when the resin molded article is heated from 25 degrees Celsius to 100 degrees Celsius and then cooled to 25 degrees Celsius is less than or equal to 2.0% [instant claim 10]; the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius cooled after heated to 100 degrees Celsius when the resin molded article is heated from 25 degrees Celsius to 100 degrees Celsius and then cooled to 25 degrees Celsius expands compared to the resin molded article at 25 degrees Celsius before heated [instant claim 11], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 13: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the conductive resin sheet has a thickness of 0.05 to 0.3 mm (50 µm to 300 µm) [0155], with specific embodiments having a thickness of 0.1 mm (100 µm) [0155; 0157].
Regarding claims 15-16: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the detection device 130 has the antenna member 43 as the second electrode and is arranged on a part of the bottom of the developing chamber 46a formed by the developing frame 40 [0149-0150; Fig. 9]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the toner remaining amount detecting device 134 detects the capacitance between the developing sleeve 41 and antennae member 43 by applying bias to the developing sleeve 41 from the developing power source 131 [0151-0152; Fig. 9].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2015/0016829) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yanagisawa et al. (JP 2018-28031).
Regarding claim 6: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the basic claimed apparatus [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses carbon black [0114; 0117; 0154-0155].
Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) does not disclose carbon black having a dibutyl phthalate (DBP) oil absorption of greater than or equal to 100 ml/100g and less than or equal to 500 ml/100g. However, Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) discloses conductive resin compositions [0001] comprising carbon black [0045] having a dibutyl phthalate (DBP) oil absorption 100 ml/100g to 400 ml/100g [0049], with specific carbon black having a DBP oil absorption of 190ml/100g [0071]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) and Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of conductive resin compositions comprising carbon black. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined carbon black having a DBP oil absorption 100 ml/100g to 400 ml/100g, with specific carbon black having a DBP oil absorption of 190ml/100g, as taught by Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) in the invention of Watanabe et al. (US ‘829), and would have been motivated to do so since Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) suggests such carbon blacks afford conductive resin compositions capable of forming a molded articles that are lightweight and have high electrical conductivity [0015].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2015/0016829) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yanagisawa et al. (JP 2018-28031). Yanagisawa et al. (JP 2018-28031) English machine translation for citation.
Regarding claim 14: Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses the basic claimed apparatus [as set forth above with respect to claim 9]; wherein Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) discloses carbon black [0114; 0117; 0154-0155].
Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) does not disclose carbon black having a dibutyl phthalate (DBP) oil absorption of greater than or equal to 100 ml/100g and less than or equal to 500 ml/100g. However, Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) discloses conductive resin compositions [0001] comprising carbon black [0045] having a dibutyl phthalate (DBP) oil absorption 100 ml/100g to 400 ml/100g [0049], with specific carbon black having a DBP oil absorption of 190ml/100g [0071]. Watanabe et al. (US ‘829) and Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of conductive resin compositions comprising carbon black. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined carbon black having a DBP oil absorption 100 ml/100g to 400 ml/100g, with specific carbon black having a DBP oil absorption of 190ml/100g, as taught by Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) in the invention of Watanabe et al. (US ‘829), and would have been motivated to do so since Yanagisawa et al. (JP ‘031) suggests such carbon blacks afford conductive resin compositions capable of forming a molded articles that are lightweight and have high electrical conductivity [0015].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. (11,208,545). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the image forming apparatus comprising a developer level detection unit electrically connected to a cartridge comprising a capacitance detection unit comprising a resin molded article of EVA and carbon black [claim 9] of U.S. Patent No. (11,208,545) anticipates the instant claimed image forming apparatus (instant claim 1 and 9). While U.S. Patent No. (11,208,545) does not claim the image forming apparatus comprising the molded resin article of claims 2-6 and/or 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the molded resin article of claims 2-6 and/or 11 in the image forming apparatus of claim 9, as U.S. Patent No. (11,208,545) claims the molded resin article of claims 2-6 and 11 as resin molded articles. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. (11,987,691). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the image forming apparatus comprising a developer level detection unit electrically connected to a cartridge comprising a capacitance detection unit comprising a resin molded article of EVA and carbon black [claim 9] of U.S. Patent No. (11,987,691) anticipates the instant claimed image forming apparatus (instant claim 1 and 9). While U.S. Patent No. (11,987,691) does not claim the image forming apparatus comprising the molded resin article of claims 2-6 and/or 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the molded resin article of claims 2-6 and/or 12 in the image forming apparatus of claim 9, as U.S. Patent No. (11,987,691) claims the molded resin article of claims 2-6 and 12 as resin molded articles. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767