DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2024/0155474 to Andreasen et al. (hereinafter Andreasen).
In regard claim 1, Andreasen teaches or discloses a method comprising:
selecting an original wireless network slice for a wireless communication device (see abstract, paragraphs [0018], [0019], [0053], [0073], [0074], [0078], [0080], and [0081], a selected network slice that is associated with a best affinity ranking value for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; and assigning the selected network slice and associated service parameters for the communications of the industrial device in the private mobile network. Controller 604 may then select, from the set of network slices A, B, C, and D, a subset of network slices having network service requirement configurations that most closely support the network service requirements for industrial device 630);
identifying one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice (see paragraphs [0090], and [0091], controller 604 may identify, from the subset of network slices A and B, a selected network slice A which is associated with the best affinity ranking value (i.e., value 1) for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device 630 (i.e., Zone 1));
determining one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0052], and [0078], determining network service requirements for each industrial device and its associated application flows. Network service requirements for an industrial device may include QoS settings (e.g., bandwidth, delay, jitter, etc.), reliability requirements (e.g., packet loss, reordering, duplication, up-time, etc.), monitoring to ensure service agreement specifications (e.g., from SLAs), etc. Note that a derived capability may include a UPF distance); and
using a different wireless network slice for the wireless communication device in response to the one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice and the one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0018], [0041], [0045], [0074], network slice 140 may be considered an onboarding network slice type, network slice 150 may be considered another network slice type (e.g., Type 1), network slice 160 may be considered yet another network slice type (e.g., Type 2), and network slice 170 may be considered yet another network slice type (e.g., Type N) in which each different type of network slices may provide different network services than other network slice types. The session for the wireless device 102 involving network slice 150 can involve a different UPF for network slice 150 (other than or in addition to UPF 132. MUD provisioning server 122 may be configured with various network slice definitions that identify VNF(s) that are to be configured for different various network slice types and may identify usage parameters/information that can be associated/correlated to each network slice type such that the MUD provisioning server 122 can cause an appropriate network slice to be configured, instantiated, and provisioned with appropriate parameters within mobile network 120).
In regard claim 8, Andreasen teaches or discloses a method comprising:
a network control system selecting an original wireless network slice for a wireless communication device (see abstract, paragraphs [0018], [0019], [0053], [0073], [0074], [0078], [0080], and [0081], a selected network slice that is associated with a best affinity ranking value for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; and assigning the selected network slice and associated service parameters for the communications of the industrial device in the private mobile network. Controller 604 may then select, from the set of network slices A, B, C, and D, a subset of network slices having network service requirement configurations that most closely support the network service requirements for industrial device 630);
the network control system identifying one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice (see paragraphs [0090], and [0091], controller 604 may identify, from the subset of network slices A and B, a selected network slice A which is associated with the best affinity ranking value (i.e., value 1) for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device 630 (i.e., Zone 1));
a radio communication system determining one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0052], and [0078], determining network service requirements for each industrial device and its associated application flows. Network service requirements for an industrial device may include QoS settings (e.g., bandwidth, delay, jitter, etc.), reliability requirements (e.g., packet loss, reordering, duplication, up-time, etc.), monitoring to ensure service agreement specifications (e.g., from SLAs), etc. Note that a derived capability may include a UPF distance); and
the network control system selecting a different wireless network slice for the wireless communication device in response to the one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice and the one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0018], [0041], [0045], [0074], network slice 140 may be considered an onboarding network slice type, network slice 150 may be considered another network slice type (e.g., Type 1), network slice 160 may be considered yet another network slice type (e.g., Type 2), and network slice 170 may be considered yet another network slice type (e.g., Type N) in which each different type of network slices may provide different network services than other network slice types. The session for the wireless device 102 involving network slice 150 can involve a different UPF for network slice 150 (other than or in addition to UPF 132. MUD provisioning server 122 may be configured with various network slice definitions that identify VNF(s) that are to be configured for different various network slice types and may identify usage parameters/information that can be associated/correlated to each network slice type such that the MUD provisioning server 122 can cause an appropriate network slice to be configured, instantiated, and provisioned with appropriate parameters within mobile network 120).
In regard claim 10, Andreasen teaches or discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the radio communication system comprises a Physical Layer (PHY) in a wireless access node (see paragraphs [0094], any of potential processing elements, microprocessors, digital signal processor, baseband signal processor, modem, PHY, controllers, systems, managers, logic, and/or machines described herein can be construed as being encompassed within the broad term ‘processor’).
In regard claim 11, Andreasen teaches or discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a Fifth Generation New Radio (5GNR) access node (see paragraphs [0054], [0063], and [0085], network device profile information may be obtained, for example, from an ISE or a subscriber database of the private 5G network).
In regard claim 15, Andreasen teaches or discloses a data communication system comprising:
a network control system to select an original wireless network slice for a wireless communication device (see abstract, paragraphs [0018], [0019], [0053], [0073], [0074], [0078], [0080], and [0081], a selected network slice that is associated with a best affinity ranking value for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; and assigning the selected network slice and associated service parameters for the communications of the industrial device in the private mobile network. Controller 604 may then select, from the set of network slices A, B, C, and D, a subset of network slices having network service requirement configurations that most closely support the network service requirements for industrial device 630);
the network control system to identify one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice (see paragraphs [0090], and [0091], controller 604 may identify, from the subset of network slices A and B, a selected network slice A which is associated with the best affinity ranking value (i.e., value 1) for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device 630 (i.e., Zone 1));
a radio communication system to determine one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0052], and [0078], determining network service requirements for each industrial device and its associated application flows. Network service requirements for an industrial device may include QoS settings (e.g., bandwidth, delay, jitter, etc.), reliability requirements (e.g., packet loss, reordering, duplication, up-time, etc.), monitoring to ensure service agreement specifications (e.g., from SLAs), etc. Note that a derived capability may include a UPF distance); and
the network control system to select a different wireless network slice for the wireless communication device in response to the one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice and the one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0018], [0041], [0045], [0074], network slice 140 may be considered an onboarding network slice type, network slice 150 may be considered another network slice type (e.g., Type 1), network slice 160 may be considered yet another network slice type (e.g., Type 2), and network slice 170 may be considered yet another network slice type (e.g., Type N) in which each different type of network slices may provide different network services than other network slice types. The session for the wireless device 102 involving network slice 150 can involve a different UPF for network slice 150 (other than or in addition to UPF 132. MUD provisioning server 122 may be configured with various network slice definitions that identify VNF(s) that are to be configured for different various network slice types and may identify usage parameters/information that can be associated/correlated to each network slice type such that the MUD provisioning server 122 can cause an appropriate network slice to be configured, instantiated, and provisioned with appropriate parameters within mobile network 120).
In regard claim 19, Andreasen teaches or discloses the data communication system of claim 15 wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a Fifth Generation New Radio (5GNR) access node (see paragraphs [0003], [0004], [0025], [0026], and [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 12, 13, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen in view of US Pub. 2022/0132455 to Gupta et al. (hereinafter Gupta).
In regard claim 9, Andreasen may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 8 wherein the network control system comprises a Radio Resource Controller (RRC) in a wireless access node.
However, Gupta teaches or discloses wherein the network control system comprises a Radio Resource Controller (RRC) in a wireless access node (see paragraphs [0206], [0225], and [0226], [0231], the protocol processing circuitry may operate LTE protocol entities and/or 5G/NR protocol entities when the baseband circuitry 1210 and/or RF circuitry 1206 are part of mmWave communication circuitry or some other suitable cellular communication circuitry. In the first example, the protocol processing circuitry would operate MAC, RLC, PDCP, SDAP, RRC, and NAS functions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify auto-configuration of private mobile network of Andreasen by including wherein the network control system comprises a Radio Resource Controller (RRC) in a wireless access node suggested by Gupta. This modification would provide to carry out architecture enhancements to support highly efficient handling of frequent and infrequent small data transmissions in 5G systems with minimized overhead for system signaling without compromising, for example, security, support power consumption optimizations, simplify mobility and session management procedures and support paging optimizations read in paragraph [0027].
In regard claim 12, Andreasen may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 8 wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a Wireless Fidelity (WIFI) access node.
However, Gupta teaches or discloses wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a Wireless Fidelity (WIFI) access node (see paragraphs [0121], the RSU may operate as a Wi-Fi hotspot (2.4 GHz band) and/or provide connectivity to one or more cellular networks to provide uplink and downlink communications).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify auto-configuration of private mobile network of Andreasen by including wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a Wireless Fidelity (WIFI) access node suggested by Gupta. This modification would provide to carry out architecture enhancements to support highly efficient handling of frequent and infrequent small data transmissions in 5G systems with minimized overhead for system signaling without compromising, for example, security, support power consumption optimizations, simplify mobility and session management procedures and support paging optimizations read in paragraph [0027].
In regard claim 13, Andreasen may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a satellite-based access node.
However, Gupta teaches or discloses wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a satellite-based access node (see paragraphs [0119], [0167], [0177], these access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs, TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify auto-configuration of private mobile network of Andreasen by including wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a satellite-based access node suggested by Gupta. This modification would provide to carry out architecture enhancements to support highly efficient handling of frequent and infrequent small data transmissions in 5G systems with minimized overhead for system signaling without compromising, for example, security, support power consumption optimizations, simplify mobility and session management procedures and support paging optimizations read in paragraph [0027].
In regard claim 17, Andreasen teaches or discloses the data communication system of claim 15 wherein:
the one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice (see abstract, [0018], [0078], [0080], and [0081], each network slice of the set is associated with an affinity ranking value that is indicative of a service performance of the network slice for industrial device operation in a cell or a zone associated with a zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; identifying, from the subset of network slices, a selected network slice that is associated with a best affinity ranking value for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; and assigning the selected network slice and associated service parameters for the communications of the industrial device in the private mobile network) comprise one or more Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) parameters for the original wireless network slice; and
the one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0052], and [0078], network service requirements for an industrial device may include QoS settings (e.g., bandwidth, delay, jitter, etc.), reliability requirements (e.g., packet loss, reordering, duplication, up-time, etc.), monitoring to ensure service agreement specifications (e.g., from SLAs), etc. Note that a derived capability may include a UPF distance) comprise one or more RSRP levels for the wireless communication device.
Andreasen may not explicitly teach or disclose one or more Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) parameters.
However, Gupta teaches or discloses one or more Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) parameters (see paragraph [0455], CSI-RSRP CSI reference signal received power).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify auto-configuration of private mobile network of Andreasen by including one or more Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) parameters suggested by Gupta. This modification would provide to carry out architecture enhancements to support highly efficient handling of frequent and infrequent small data transmissions in 5G systems with minimized overhead for system signaling without compromising, for example, security, support power consumption optimizations, simplify mobility and session management procedures and support paging optimizations read in paragraph [0027].
In regard claim 18, Andreasen teaches or discloses the data communication system of claim 15 further comprising:
the one or more radio signal parameters for the original wireless network slice (see abstract, [0018], [0078], [0080], and [0081], each network slice of the set is associated with an affinity ranking value that is indicative of a service performance of the network slice for industrial device operation in a cell or a zone associated with a zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; identifying, from the subset of network slices, a selected network slice that is associated with a best affinity ranking value for the zone or security level value that is assigned to the industrial device; and assigning the selected network slice and associated service parameters for the communications of the industrial device in the private mobile network) comprise one or more Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) parameters for the original wireless network slice; and
the one or more radio signal levels for the wireless communication device (see paragraphs [0052], and [0078], network service requirements for an industrial device may include QoS settings (e.g., bandwidth, delay, jitter, etc.), reliability requirements (e.g., packet loss, reordering, duplication, up-time, etc.), monitoring to ensure service agreement specifications (e.g., from SLAs), etc. Note that a derived capability may include a UPF distance) comprise one or more SNR levels for the wireless communication device.
Andreasen may not explicitly teach or disclose one or more Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) parameters.
However, Gupta teaches or discloses one or more Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) parameters (see paragraph [0457], CSI-SINR CSI signal-to-noise and interference ratio).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify auto-configuration of private mobile network of Andreasen by including one or more Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) suggested by Gupta. This modification would provide to carry out architecture enhancements to support highly efficient handling of frequent and infrequent small data transmissions in 5G systems with minimized overhead for system signaling without compromising, for example, security, support power consumption optimizations, simplify mobility and session management procedures and support paging optimizations read in paragraph [0027].
In regard claim 20, Andreasen may not explicitly teach or disclose the data communication system of claim 15 wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a satellite-based access node.
However, Gupta teaches or discloses wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a satellite-based access node (see paragraphs [0119], [0167], [0177], these access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs, TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify auto-configuration of private mobile network of Andreasen by including wherein the network control system and the radio communication system comprise a satellite-based access node suggested by Gupta. This modification would provide to carry out architecture enhancements to support highly efficient handling of frequent and infrequent small data transmissions in 5G systems with minimized overhead for system signaling without compromising, for example, security, support power consumption optimizations, simplify mobility and session management procedures and support paging optimizations read in paragraph [0027].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 7-13, 15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476