DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on April 05, 2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 08, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. WO 2024/010632 A1.
Regarding claim 1 disclose “A user equipment” (Fig. 2, Component 120), comprising: “at least one processor” (Fig. 2, Component 280); and “at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor” (Fig. 2, Component 282), “with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: receive a first control signal indicating a format pattern for a plurality of symbols” (Fig. 7, Component 710; Paragraph 0096 describing the first configuration may be associated with a TDD pattern. For example, the first configuration may include a common configuration parameter and/or a dedicated configuration parameter for a TDD pattern); “receive a second control signal indicating a sub-band full duplex, SBFD, format configuration for the plurality of symbols, wherein one or more first symbols of the plurality of symbols are configured as SBFD symbols, and wherein one or more second symbols different than the one or more first symbols are configured as non-SBFD symbols” (Fig. 7, Components 720-740; Paragraphs 0091-0093, 0098-0099 describing the second configuration may configure an SBFD format in a resource with a downlink format or a flexible format. For example, an SBFD format or an uplink sub-band may be allowed to be configured in downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots, but not all downlink symbols or slots. A restricted use is a use (such as a transmission, reception, or configuration) of a resource that renders the resource unsuitable for reconfiguration to an SBFD format); “receive a third control signal indicating one or more modifications to the SBFD format configuration for the one or more first symbols, the one or more second symbols, or both” (See Fig. 7, Components 770-790; Paragraphs 0108-0115); and “communicate in accordance with the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal, and an SBFD interpretation rule associated with the one or more modifications to the SBFD format configuration” (See Fig. 7, Component 795; Paragraphs 0116-0117).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al. disclose “a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE)” (Fig. 2, Component 120; Fig. 2, Component 280; Fig. 2, Component 282), comprising: receiving a first control signal indicating a format pattern for a plurality of symbols” (Fig. 7, Component 710; Paragraph 0096 describing the first configuration may be associated with a TDD pattern. For example, the first configuration may include a common configuration parameter and/or a dedicated configuration parameter for a TDD pattern); “receiving a second control signal indicating a sub-band full duplex, SBFD, format configuration for the plurality of symbols, wherein one or more first symbols of the plurality of symbols are configured as SBFD symbols, and wherein one or more second symbols different than the one or more first symbols are configured as non-SBFD symbols” (Fig. 7, Components 720-740; Paragraphs 0091-0093, 0098-0099 describing the second configuration may configure an SBFD format in a resource with a downlink format or a flexible format. For example, an SBFD format or an uplink sub-band may be allowed to be configured in downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots, but not all downlink symbols or slots. A restricted use is a use (such as a transmission, reception, or configuration) of a resource that renders the resource unsuitable for reconfiguration to an SBFD format); “receiving a third control signal indicating
one or more modifications to the SBFD format configuration for the one or more
first symbols, the one or more second symbols, or both” (See Fig. 7, Components 770-790; Paragraphs 0108-0115); and “communicating in accordance with the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal, and an SBFD interpretation rule associated with the one or more modifications to the SBFD format configuration”
(See Fig. 7, Component 795; Paragraphs 0116-0117).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. disclose “a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications” (Fig. 2, Component 120; (Fig. 2, Component 280; (Fig. 2, Component 282), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to: “receive a first control signal indicating a format pattern for a plurality of symbols” (Fig. 7, Component 710; Paragraph 0096 describing the first configuration may be associated with a TDD pattern. For example, the first configuration may include a common configuration parameter and/or a dedicated configuration parameter for a TDD pattern); “receive a second control signal indicating a sub-band full duplex, SBFD, format configuration for the plurality of symbols, wherein one or more first symbols of the plurality of symbols are configured as SBFD symbols, and wherein one or more second symbols different than the one or more first symbols are configured as non-SBFD symbols” (Fig. 7, Components 720-740; Paragraphs 0091-0093, 0098-0099 describing the second configuration may configure an SBFD format in a resource with a downlink format or a flexible format. For example, an SBFD format or an uplink sub-band may be allowed to be configured in downlink symbols or slots and flexible symbols or slots, but not all downlink symbols or slots. A restricted use is a use (such as a transmission, reception, or configuration) of a resource that renders the resource unsuitable for reconfiguration to an SBFD format); “receive a third control signal indicating one or more modifications to the SBFD format configuration for the one or more first symbols, the one or more second symbols, or both” (See Fig. 7, Components 770-790; Paragraphs 0108-0115); and “communicate in accordance with the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal, and an SBFD interpretation rule associated with the one or more modifications to the SBFD format configuration” (See Fig. 7, Component 795; Paragraphs 0116-0117).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. WO 2024/010632 A1 in view of 2024/0107517 A1 (ZHANG QIAN [US] ET AL).
As per claims 2-4, 14-16, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection of claims 1 and 13 above. It is noted however, Zhang et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of overriding signaling instructing the UE to override RRC-configured changes to SBFD configurations, e.g., TDD-UL-DL- Configuration Common or TDD-UL-DL-Configuration. On the other hand, ZHANG QIAN ET AL achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See [0086]-[0093], which discloses overriding signaling instructing the UE to override RRC-configured changes to SBFD configurations, e.g., TDD-UL-DL- Configuration Common or TDD-UL-DL-Configuration). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combine teachings of ZHANG QIAN ET AL and ZHANG ET AL because that would have enhanced the versatility of ZHANG ET AL by allowing it to further improved in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
As per Claims 5, 17, Zhang et al. disclose “wherein, to communicate in accordance with
the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal, and the SBFD
interpretation rule, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor,
individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to:
determine, based at least in part on one or more first modifications of the
one or more modifications indicated as overriding one or more configurations of at least
one of the one or more first symbols as flexible symbols, respective communication
directionalities associated with symbols indicated in the one or more first modifications,
wherein the respective communication directionalities indicate uplink transmissions to
be communicated in uplink sub-bands of the one or more first symbols, downlink
transmissions to be communicated in downlink sub-bands of the one or more first
symbols, or any combination thereof; and communicate one or more transmissions in accordance with the determined respective communication directionalities in one or more uplink sub-bands, one or more downlink sub-bands, or both, that are associated with the symbols indicated in the one or more first modifications” (See Zhang et al. paragraph [0088]; paragraph [0090]- paragraph [0099] paragraph [0109]-paragraph [0116]; paragraph [0158]-paragraph [0164]; Figure 7; paragraph [0103]-paragraph [0106]).
Claims 6, 18, the claims are directed to features which are considered minor implementation details or variations of features listed above, which the skilled person would consider, depending on the circumstances, without exercising inventive skill, in order to solve the problem posed.
Claim 7, Zhang et al. disclose “wherein the instructions are executable by the
at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to:
transmit an indication of a capability of the UE to determine the respective communication directionalities, wherein the respective communication directionalities are determined based at least in part on the capability of the UE” (See Zhang et al. Paragraphs [0103]-[0106], disclosing directionalities
based on UE capabilities).
Claims 8-10, 19, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection of claims 1 and 13 above. It is noted however, Zhang et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of “wherein, to communicate in accordance with the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal, and the SBFD interpretation rule, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: determine, based at least in part on one or more first modifications of the one or more modifications indicated as overriding one or more configurations of at least one of the one or more first symbols as flexible symbols, respective communication directionalities associated with symbols indicated in the one or more first modifications, wherein the respective communication directionalities indicate uplink transmissions to be communicated in uplink sub-bands of the one or more first symbols, downlink transmissions to be communicated in downlink sub-bands of the one or more first symbols, or any combination thereof; and communicate one or more transmissions in accordance with the determined respective communication directionalities in one or more uplink sub-bands, one or more downlink sub-bands, or both, that are associated with the symbols indicated in the one or more first modifications; wherein, to communicate in accordance with the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal, and the SBFD interpretation rule, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: apply, to the SBFD format configuration in accordance with the SBFD interpretation rule, one or more second modifications of the one or more modifications indicated as overriding one or more configurations of the one or more second symbols; wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the UE to: transmit an indication of a capability of the UE to determine the respective communication directionalities, wherein the respective communication directionalities are determined based at least in part on the capability of the UE. On the other hand, ZHANG QIAN ET AL achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See ZHANG QIAN ET AL Paragraphs [0086]-[0093]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combine teachings of ZHANG QIAN ET AL and ZHANG ET AL because that would have enhanced the versatility of ZHANG ET AL by allowing it to further improved in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Claims 11-12, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection of claim 1 above. It is noted however, Zhang et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of
“wherein: the second control signal indicates a UE-common configuration parameter; and the third control signal comprises group-common downlink control information signaling that comprises a slot format indicator field or radio resource control signaling that comprises a UE-dedicated slot format configuration; wherein a format of the group-common downlink control information signaling is a group-common downlink control
information format 2_0 or a group-common downlink control information format 2_x”.
On the other hand, ZHANG QIAN ET AL achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See ZHANG QIAN ET AL Paragraphs [0088]-[0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combine teachings of ZHANG QIAN ET AL and ZHANG ET AL because that would have enhanced the versatility of ZHANG ET AL by allowing it to further improved in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Other Reference(s) Cited
US-20230171072-A1 describing [0103] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a types of full-duplex communications 400 that supports CLI estimation on secondary cells for full-duplex communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, the types of full-duplex communications 400 may implement aspects of or be implemented by the wireless communications systems 100 or 200. For example, the full-duplex communications 400 may in-band full duplex communications 405 and sub-band full duplex communications 410.
US-20230125512-A1 describing [0067] As further shown in FIG. 4, example 410 shows an example of sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) communication, which may also be referred to as “flexible duplex.” In SBFD, a UE may transmit uplink communications to a base station and receive downlink communications from the base station at the same time, but on different frequency resources. In this case, the downlink resource may be separated from the uplink resource, in the frequency domain, by a guard band.
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
March 6, 2026