Detailed Action
1. This office action is in response to communication filed April 5, 2024. Claims 1-17 are currently pending and claims 1, 7, and 11 are the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0295109) in view of Botelho (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0243682).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang discloses a computer system comprising:
… wherein or more of the packages includes one or more encrypted data items; ([0060] “At step 1 of FIG. 3, the platform software 320 receives a value that is sensitive information. The value can be received, for example, from the customer environment 304, from a user of the client 104 of FIG. 1, by bulk loading data into the platform software 320, or received in any way that makes available the value of sensitive information to the platform software 320. For example, the value can be received as part of a request initiated by a user of client 104 of FIG. 1 via a web browser. For example, in response to the user input (e.g., the user clicking on a “Create new user” link) data may be communicated to the platform software 320 indicating that the create user request has been initiated. The data includes a user name (e.g., an identifier of the new user to be created) and a password to associate with the user name. The password (i.e., the received value) is sensitive information. The request can cause an orchestration workflow to be initiated at or by the platform software 320 as further explained below. The step 1 can be further understood with reference to the platform encrypter module 402 of FIG. 4.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the software receives a username and password (credential) that is encrypted to be used in the future by the customer.
generates the plurality of packages and that encrypts sensitive data with a first encryption key to generate the one or more encrypted data items; (Fig. 3 Steps 1-2 and [0060] “For example, the value can be received as part of a request initiated by a user of client 104 of FIG. 1 via a web browser. For example, in response to the user input (e.g., the user clicking on a “Create new user” link) data may be communicated to the platform software 320 indicating that the create user request has been initiated. The data includes a user name (e.g., an identifier of the new user to be created) and a password to associate with the user name. The password (i.e., the received value) is sensitive information. The request can cause an orchestration workflow to be initiated at or by the platform software 320 as further explained below.” and [0063] “Returning to the create user request example, in response to the create user request being indicated to or otherwise received by the platform software 320, the platform software 320, in response to determining that the password is sensitive information, encrypts the password (i.e., received value) using a platform encryption mechanism and stores the encrypted password (i.e., encrypted record value) in the database 325. The platform software 320 can determine that the password is sensitive information based on, including but not limited to, a data structure associated with the create user request wherein a password field is indicated as being sensitive information.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the commands including sensitive data such as username and passwords are encrypted.
retrieving each encrypted data item associated with the selected package from the data storage, (Fig. 3 Step 3 and [0064] “At step 3 of FIG. 3, when the platform software 320 requires the sensitive information in order to execute its instructions (e.g., the instructions of an orchestration activity), the platform software 320 retrieves the encrypted record value form the database 325 …”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensitive information/encrypted credentials are retrieved from a database.
decrypting each encrypted data item associated with the selected package to generate a corresponding decrypted data item; (Fig. 3 Step 3 and [0064] “At step 3 of FIG. 3, when the platform software 320 requires the sensitive information in order to execute its instructions (e.g., the instructions of an orchestration activity), the platform software 320 retrieves the encrypted record value form the database 325 and decrypts the encrypted record value using the platform encryption mechanism to obtain a decrypted record value of sensitive information. Executing or processing a request includes retrieving the encrypted record value (e.g., stored in the database 325) required to process the request from the database 325. The encrypted record value is decrypted prior to being provided to any instructions that partially or completely carry out or participate in carrying out the request.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the encrypted sensitive information/credential is decrypted to be made available to process requests.
encrypting each decrypted data item with a transfer encryption key to generate a corresponding transfer-encrypted data item; (Fig. 3 Step 4 and [0067] “At step 4 of FIG. 3, if the platform software 320 determines that the sensitive information is to be communicated to the customer environment 304, then platform software 320 re-encrypts the decrypted record value of sensitive information (that has been decrypted via step 3) using an agent encryption mechanism (e.g., a second encryption mechanism different from the platform encryption mechanism) before communicating the sensitive information to the customer environment 304.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensitive information/credential is re-encrypted following decryption.
associating each transfer-encrypted data item with the selected package; and ([0069] “Returning to the create user example, the platform software 320 re-encrypts the retrieved encrypted password that has been decrypted from the database 325 using the agent encryption mechanism. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted password in a staging table of the database 325. The re-encrypted password is stored as part of a create-user command to be transmitted the agent software 335.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the re-encrypted password is stored/associated with the create-user command that will eventually be transmitted to the agent software.
making the selected package available for transfer to a second instance of the job scheduler. (Fig. 3 Steps 5-6 and [0075-0076] “At step 5 of FIG. 3, the re-encrypted record value of sensitive information is transmitted to the agent software 335. The re-encrypted record value can be transmitted to the agent software 335 as part of a command. The command can be executed by the agent software 335. The command can be, at least partially, forwarded by the agent software 335 to one or more other systems, including the customer system 340 of the customer environment 304, to be executed. The command is transmitted to the agent software via the staging table of the database 325. The staging table can be a staging database separate from the database 325 or part of the database 325. The staging table can be used to implement a message queue. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted record values of sensitive information (for example, a re-encrypted password) within the message queue, which may be queried, updated, or otherwise accessed, by other systems integrating with the platform software 320. The re-encrypted password is stored in the message queue as part of, including but not limited to, an orchestration command. An input message can be added to the message queue to indicate that the platform software 320 stored a command, including the re-encrypted password, and an output message can be added to indicate that the platform software 320 transmitted the command, including the re-encrypted password, for further processing.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the command is an example of a job along with encrypted credentials/passwords that is packaged together and sent to another job scheduler/customer environment to be executed.
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
first data storage having stored therein, a plurality of packages wherein each package of the plurality of packages comprises one or more commands, wherein each command of the plurality of commands causes an associated software program to perform a task …
one or more processors that are configured to access the first data storage and that execute instructions that cause the one or more processors to execute a first instance of a job scheduler that …
responds to a transfer command that specifies transfer of a selected package of the plurality of packages by …
However, Botelho discloses:
first data storage having stored therein, a plurality of packages wherein each package of the plurality of packages comprises one or more commands, wherein each command of the plurality of commands causes an associated software program to perform a task … ([0055] “The distributed job scheduler 108 may run job scheduling processes on each node in a cluster or on a plurality of nodes in the cluster and each node may independently determine which tasks to execute.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the job scheduling processes on each node determine which tasks to execute.
one or more processors that are configured to access the first data storage and that execute instructions that cause the one or more processors to execute a first instance of a job scheduler that … ([0028] “In some embodiments, a distributed job scheduler may assign a particular job to be run on three randomly selected nodes within a cluster of data storage nodes (e.g., the particular job may be run on three out of eight data storage nodes) and write entries for the particular job to job queues for the three selected nodes. The particular job may be stolen or transferred from one of the three randomly selected nodes to a fourth node within the cluster of data storage nodes if the fourth node has a job queue with fewer than a threshold number of jobs within the job queue.” and [0055] “The distributed job scheduler 108 may run job scheduling processes on each node in a cluster or on a plurality of nodes in the cluster and each node may independently determine which tasks to execute.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the job scheduling processes on each node correspond to the first and second instances of job schedulers in which jobs are transferred between job scheduling processes.
responds to a transfer command that specifies transfer of a selected package of the plurality of packages by … ([0025] “The load balancing of jobs running within a cluster of data storage nodes may be performed via job stealing. In some embodiments, a first node within the cluster of data storage nodes may attempt to steal one or more jobs from a second node within the cluster of data storage nodes if a job queue length for a job queue associated with the first node falls below a lower queue length threshold (e.g., the job queue for the first node has less than four jobs within the job queue). The identification of the second node from which to steal or transfer a particular job assigned to a job queue for the second node may comprise randomly selecting the second node from among the data storage nodes within the cluster, identifying the second node at random (e.g., via a random number generator) among a set of data storage nodes within the cluster that have job queue lengths greater than an upper queue length threshold, or identifying the second node based on a ranking of the job queue lengths for multiple nodes within the cluster of data storage nodes. The second node may be identified as the node within the cluster with the highest job queue length or the highest average job queue length over a threshold period of time (e.g., over the past ten minutes).”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the transfer of jobs between nodes occurs as a response to load balancing which is a way of responding to transfer commands automatically.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add first data storage having stored therein, a plurality of packages wherein each package of the plurality of packages comprises one or more commands, wherein each command of the plurality of commands causes an associated software program to perform a task, one or more processors that are configured to access the first data storage and that execute instructions that cause the one or more processors to execute a first instance of a job scheduler that …, and responds to a transfer command that specifies transfer of a selected package of the plurality of packages as seen in Botelho's invention into Wang's invention because these modifications allow combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such that job scheduling is handled across multiple instances with the usage of encrypted data.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors executes the first instance of the job scheduler to:
make the transfer encryption key available to the second instance of the job scheduler. ([0075-0076] “At step 5 of FIG. 3, the re-encrypted record value of sensitive information is transmitted to the agent software 335. The re-encrypted record value can be transmitted to the agent software 335 as part of a command. The command can be executed by the agent software 335. The command can be, at least partially, forwarded by the agent software 335 to one or more other systems, including the customer system 340 of the customer environment 304, to be executed. The command is transmitted to the agent software via the staging table of the database 325. The staging table can be a staging database separate from the database 325 or part of the database 325. The staging table can be used to implement a message queue. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted record values of sensitive information (for example, a re-encrypted password) within the message queue, which may be queried, updated, or otherwise accessed, by other systems integrating with the platform software 320. The re-encrypted password is stored in the message queue as part of, including but not limited to, an orchestration command. An input message can be added to the message queue to indicate that the platform software 320 stored a command, including the re-encrypted password, and an output message can be added to indicate that the platform software 320 transmitted the command, including the re-encrypted password, for further processing.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the re-encrypted sensitive information including a command and password is transmitted/forwarded to the customer system to be executed/scheduled.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1 wherein one or more of the encrypted data items comprises credential information employed by the first instance of the job scheduler to obtain access to a corresponding software program. ([0076] “The staging table can be used to implement a message queue. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted record values of sensitive information (for example, a re-encrypted password) within the message queue, which may be queried, updated, or otherwise accessed, by other systems integrating with the platform software 320. The re-encrypted password is stored in the message queue as part of, including but not limited to, an orchestration command. An input message can be added to the message queue to indicate that the platform software 320 stored a command, including the re-encrypted password, and an output message can be added to indicate that the platform software 320 transmitted the command, including the re-encrypted password, for further processing.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the re-encrypted sensitive information including a command and password is essential to transmit a command for further processing.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1 wherein one or more of the encrypted data items comprises access keys to a software-controlled vault. ([0070] “In an implementation of the agent encryption mechanism, a private and public key pair are generated by the agent software 335. The private and public key pair can be generated by a separate mechanism, including but not limited to, a key generator executed within the customer environment 304, and transmitted to the agent software 335. The public key may be communicated to various devices and/or software within the provider environment 302 and the customer environment 304. The private key can be stored at the agent software 335 and not be communicated outside of the customer environment 304. For example, the private key may be inaccessible by the provider environment 302.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the private key is an encrypted item held in agent software that allows access to all of the other sensitive information (passwords) when used for encryption/decryption.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1 wherein one or more of the encrypted data items comprises a character string. ([0069] “Returning to the create user example, the platform software 320 re-encrypts the retrieved encrypted password that has been decrypted from the database 325 using the agent encryption mechanism. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted password in a staging table of the database 325. The re-encrypted password is stored as part of a create-user command to be transmitted the agent software 335.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the encrypted password is an example of an encrypted character string.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors execute instructions that cause the one or more processors to execute a second instance of the job scheduler that,
accepts the selected package from the first instance of the job scheduler; ([0080] “Referring back to the create user request example, communicating the password by the agent software 335 to the customer system 340 that is an LDAP server can include the agent software 335 re-encrypting the password using a key (e.g., a unique ephemeral symmetric key using AES-128 or 3DES) negotiated with the LDAP server and communicating the re-encrypted password to the LDAP server using LDAP over SSL. The LDAP server can hash and store the password in an associated database, for example, by indicating the password as the password for future system access by the corresponding user name.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the LDAP server receives the encrypted password/package from the agent software.
decrypts each transfer-encrypted data item with the transfer encryption key to generate a corresponding received sensitive data item; ([0080] “Where the password may be re-encrypted by the agent software 335 before it is communicated to the LDAP server, the LDAP server can decrypt the password using the negotiated key before hashing and storing it.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the LDAP server decrypts the encrypted password/data item.
encrypts received sensitive data item with a second encryption key to generate a corresponding encrypted sensitive data item; and ([0080] “Where the password may be re-encrypted by the agent software 335 before it is communicated to the LDAP server, the LDAP server can decrypt the password using the negotiated key before hashing and storing it.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the LDAP server encrypts/hashes the password/data item it received.
stores the selected package with each encrypted sensitive data item to second data storage. ([0080] “Where the password may be re-encrypted by the agent software 335 before it is communicated to the LDAP server, the LDAP server can decrypt the password using the negotiated key before hashing and storing it.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the LDAP server stores the hashed password.
Regarding independent claim 7, Wang discloses:
… wherein a first software program requires a corresponding credential to use services provided by the first software program; ([0060] “At step 1 of FIG. 3, the platform software 320 receives a value that is sensitive information. The value can be received, for example, from the customer environment 304, from a user of the client 104 of FIG. 1, by bulk loading data into the platform software 320, or received in any way that makes available the value of sensitive information to the platform software 320. For example, the value can be received as part of a request initiated by a user of client 104 of FIG. 1 via a web browser. For example, in response to the user input (e.g., the user clicking on a “Create new user” link) data may be communicated to the platform software 320 indicating that the create user request has been initiated. The data includes a user name (e.g., an identifier of the new user to be created) and a password to associate with the user name. The password (i.e., the received value) is sensitive information. The request can cause an orchestration workflow to be initiated at or by the platform software 320 as further explained below. The step 1 can be further understood with reference to the platform encrypter module 402 of FIG. 4.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the software receives a username and password (credential) that is encrypted to be used in the future by the customer.
encrypt, with a first encryption key, each credential to generate a corresponding encrypted credential for storage and subsequent use by the first instance of the job scheduler; (Fig. 3 Step 2 and [0062] “At step 2 of FIG. 3, and upon determining that the received value is sensitive information, the platform software 320 encrypts the received value of sensitive information to produce an encrypted record value before communicating the sensitive information within the provider environment 302 including, but not limited to, storing the received value as an encrypted record value in the database 325.”)
respond to a transfer environment command by,
retrieving each encrypted credential; (Fig. 3 Step 3 and [0064] “At step 3 of FIG. 3, when the platform software 320 requires the sensitive information in order to execute its instructions (e.g., the instructions of an orchestration activity), the platform software 320 retrieves the encrypted record value form the database 325 …”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensitive information/encrypted credentials are retrieved from a database.
decrypting each encrypted credential with the first encryption key to generate a corresponding decrypted credential; (Fig. 3 Step 3 and [0064] “At step 3 of FIG. 3, when the platform software 320 requires the sensitive information in order to execute its instructions (e.g., the instructions of an orchestration activity), the platform software 320 retrieves the encrypted record value form the database 325 and decrypts the encrypted record value using the platform encryption mechanism to obtain a decrypted record value of sensitive information. Executing or processing a request includes retrieving the encrypted record value (e.g., stored in the database 325) required to process the request from the database 325. The encrypted record value is decrypted prior to being provided to any instructions that partially or completely carry out or participate in carrying out the request.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the encrypted sensitive information/credential is decrypted to be made available to process requests.
encrypting each decrypted credential with a transfer encryption key to generate a corresponding encrypted transfer credential; and (Fig. 3 Step 4 and [0067] “At step 4 of FIG. 3, if the platform software 320 determines that the sensitive information is to be communicated to the customer environment 304, then platform software 320 re-encrypts the decrypted record value of sensitive information (that has been decrypted via step 3) using an agent encryption mechanism (e.g., a second encryption mechanism different from the platform encryption mechanism) before communicating the sensitive information to the customer environment 304.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensitive information/credential is re-encrypted following decryption.
causing transfer of a package to the second instance of the job scheduler, wherein the package comprises a specification of one or more of the jobs and each encrypted transfer credential associated with the one or more jobs. (Fig. 3 Steps 5-6 and [0075-0076] “At step 5 of FIG. 3, the re-encrypted record value of sensitive information is transmitted to the agent software 335. The re-encrypted record value can be transmitted to the agent software 335 as part of a command. The command can be executed by the agent software 335. The command can be, at least partially, forwarded by the agent software 335 to one or more other systems, including the customer system 340 of the customer environment 304, to be executed. The command is transmitted to the agent software via the staging table of the database 325. The staging table can be a staging database separate from the database 325 or part of the database 325. The staging table can be used to implement a message queue. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted record values of sensitive information (for example, a re-encrypted password) within the message queue, which may be queried, updated, or otherwise accessed, by other systems integrating with the platform software 320. The re-encrypted password is stored in the message queue as part of, including but not limited to, an orchestration command. An input message can be added to the message queue to indicate that the platform software 320 stored a command, including the re-encrypted password, and an output message can be added to indicate that the platform software 320 transmitted the command, including the re-encrypted password, for further processing.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the command is an example of a job along with encrypted credentials/passwords that is packaged together and sent to another job scheduler/customer environment to be executed.
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
A computer-implemented method for transferring objects from a first environment implemented by a first instance of a job scheduler to a second environment implemented by a second instance of the job scheduler, the method comprising, operating the first instance of the job scheduler to:
generate one or more jobs where each job of the one or more jobs includes one or more tasks performed by one or more software programs …
However, Botelho discloses:
A computer-implemented method for transferring objects from a first environment implemented by a first instance of a job scheduler to a second environment implemented by a second instance of the job scheduler, the method comprising, operating the first instance of the job scheduler to: ([0028] “In some embodiments, a distributed job scheduler may assign a particular job to be run on three randomly selected nodes within a cluster of data storage nodes (e.g., the particular job may be run on three out of eight data storage nodes) and write entries for the particular job to job queues for the three selected nodes. The particular job may be stolen or transferred from one of the three randomly selected nodes to a fourth node within the cluster of data storage nodes if the fourth node has a job queue with fewer than a threshold number of jobs within the job queue.” and [0055] “The distributed job scheduler 108 may run job scheduling processes on each node in a cluster or on a plurality of nodes in the cluster and each node may independently determine which tasks to execute.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the job scheduling processes on each node correspond to the first and second instances of job schedulers in which jobs are transferred between job scheduling processes.
generate one or more jobs where each job of the one or more jobs includes one or more tasks performed by one or more software programs … ([0055] “The distributed job scheduler 108 may run job scheduling processes on each node in a cluster or on a plurality of nodes in the cluster and each node may independently determine which tasks to execute.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the job scheduling processes on each node determine which tasks to execute.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add A computer-implemented method for transferring objects from a first environment implemented by a first instance of a job scheduler to a second environment implemented by a second instance of the job scheduler, the method comprising, operating the first instance of the job scheduler to: generate one or more jobs where each job of the one or more jobs includes one or more tasks performed by one or more software programs as seen in Botelho's invention into Wang's invention because these modifications allow combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such that job scheduling is handled across multiple instances via job transferring with the usage of encrypted data.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7 wherein the specification comprises a sequence of commands wherein each of the commands is associated with a software program. (Fig. 3 Steps 5-6 and [0075-0076] “At step 5 of FIG. 3, the re-encrypted record value of sensitive information is transmitted to the agent software 335. The re-encrypted record value can be transmitted to the agent software 335 as part of a command. The command can be executed by the agent software 335. The command can be, at least partially, forwarded by the agent software 335 to one or more other systems, including the customer system 340 of the customer environment 304, to be executed. The command is transmitted to the agent software via the staging table of the database 325. The staging table can be a staging database separate from the database 325 or part of the database 325. The staging table can be used to implement a message queue. The platform software 320 stores the re-encrypted record values of sensitive information (for example, a re-encrypted password) within the message queue, which may be queried, updated, or otherwise accessed, by other systems integrating with the platform software 320. The re-encrypted password is stored in the message queue as part of, including but not limited to, an orchestration command. An input message can be added to the message queue to indicate that the platform software 320 stored a command, including the re-encrypted password, and an output message can be added to indicate that the platform software 320 transmitted the command, including the re-encrypted password, for further processing.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the command is an example of a job along with encrypted credentials/passwords that is packaged together and sent to another job scheduler/customer environment to be executed.
Regarding claim 9, it is a computer-implemented method claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 2. Thus, claim 9 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, it is a computer-implemented method claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 6. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding independent claim 11, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in computer-implemented method claim 7. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 12, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in computer-implemented method claim 8. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 13, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 2. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 14, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 3. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 15, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 4. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 16, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 5. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 17, it is a computer program product claim having the same limitations as cited in system claim 6. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such prior art includes Sheppard et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0052663) which discloses sharing data encryption keys among a plurality of storage systems to safely store encrypted data.
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraphs/sections and line numbers in the references applied and not relied upon to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to the Office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the reference(s) cited or the objections made. A showing of how the amendments avoid such references or objections must also be present. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
When responding to this Office action, applicant is advised to provide the line and page numbers in the application and/or reference(s) cited to assist in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198