This Office Action is in responsive to amendment filed on 8/14/25. Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 11 are amended. Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are cancelled. Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-8, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2022/0046570 A1), hereinafter “Moon”; in view of Guntupalli et al. (US 2023/0017423 A1), hereinafter “Guntupalli”.
As to claim 1, Moon discloses an operation method for directly sending a time-sensitive communication (TSC) management information in a wireless communication system (Moon, Abstract, fig. 1, ¶95), the method comprising:
sending the TSC management information from a TSN AF (time-sensitive network application function) to a PCF (policy control function) (the TSN AF 575 contains information, such as the bridge, port configuration information, system identity, and Announce Interval determined in operation 504, in the PMIC and BMIC and delivers the information to the PCF 565) (Moon, Abstract, fig. 1, ¶86-90), wherein the TSC management information comprises at least one of a PMIC (port management information container) (the PDU session information i.e, port management information container (PMIC)) (Moon, Abstract, fig. 1, ¶86-90), a port number, and a UMIC (user plane node management information container), and an address information of a target NF (network function);
sending by the PCF a changed policy information to a SMF (session management function) when there is a change in a policy information, wherein the changed policy information comprises the TSC management information (the TSN AF 575 contains information, such as the bridge, port configuration information, system identity, and Announce Interval determined in operation 504, in the PMIC and BMIC and delivers the information to the PCF 565. The PCF 565 selects necessary information and transmits it to the SMF 545. In this process, information may be delivered using an SM policy association modification procedure) (Moon, Abstract, figs. 5-6, ¶86-90).
However, Moon doesn’t explicitly disclose requesting, by the SMF, a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session report from a UPF (user plane function), wherein the request for the PFCP session report includes an information element containing the address information of the target NF, thereby causing the UPF to directly send an event notification to the target NF.
In an analogous art, Guntupalli discloses requesting, by the SMF, a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session report from a UPF (user plane function) (The UPF instance 602 then sends a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) association setup request message at communication 608 to the SMF instance 604. Upon receiving the PFCP association setup request message) (Guntupalli, figs. 6, 8, ¶50-52, 55-57), wherein the request for the PFCP session report includes an information element containing the address information of the target NF (The UPF instance 602 then sends a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) association setup request message at communication 608 to the SMF instance 604. Upon receiving the PFCP association setup request message, i.e. tenant ID, node ID (target NF)) (Guntupalli, figs. 6, 8, ¶50-52, 55-57), thereby causing the UPF to directly send an event notification to the target NF (the first UPF instance 812 establishes a session for the first UE 802 and sends a session establishment response message at communication 832 (e.g. a PFCP session establishment response message) to the AMF/SMF 810, which then sends a session establishment accept message at communication 834 (e.g. PFCP session establishment accept message) to the first UE 802. Upon receiving the session establishment response message, the AMF/SMF stores a mapping of a session identifier indicated in the session establishment response message (assuming the session was successfully established), to a tenant ID associated with the session, based on the determination in step 828.) (Guntupalli, figs. 6, 8, ¶50-52, 55-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to implement Guntupalli’s teachings into Moon’s teaching of requesting, by the SMF, a PFCP (packet forwarding control protocol) session report from a UPF (user plane function), wherein the request for the PFCP session report includes an information element containing the address information of the target NF, thereby causing the UPF to directly send an event notification to the target NF. This combination allows the power demand and network bandwidth are minimized while retaining event detection capabilities.
As to claim 4, Moon- Guntupalli discloses the method of claim 1, wherein causing the UPF to directly send the event notification comprises directly sending, by the UPF the TSC management information to the target NF on the basis of the address information of the target NF that is included in the TSC management information (f the PDU session is the first PDU session of the bridge in operation 502, the SMF 545 generates an N4 rule from the UPF 555, and may then gather the bridge management information container (BMIC) and the PMICs of the ports located in the NW-TT 555-1 together. In operation 503, the SMF 545 reports the request for establishing or changing the PDU session received in operation 501 and the PMIC information to a corresponding PCF 565. For example, the SMF 545 may transfer the gathered PMIC of the DS-TT 515-1 and the PMICs and BMIC gathered from the NW-TT 555-1 to the PCF 565 through the SM policy association generation or modification procedure.) (Moon, Abstract, fig. 1, ¶87-90, 114); but does not disclose wherein causing the UPF to directly send the event notification comprises directly sending, by the UPF the session information to the target NF.
In an analogous art, Guntupalli discloses wherein causing the UPF to directly send the event notification comprises directly sending, by the UPF the session information to the target NF (The UPF instance 602 then sends a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) association setup request message at communication 608 to the SMF instance 604. Upon receiving the PFCP association setup request message, i.e. tenant ID, node ID (target NF)l the first UPF instance 812 establishes a session for the first UE 802 and sends a session establishment response message at communication 832 (e.g. a PFCP session establishment response message) to the AMF/SMF 810, which then sends a session establishment accept message at communication 834 (e.g. PFCP session establishment accept message) to the first UE 802. Upon receiving the session establishment response message, the AMF/SMF stores a mapping of a session identifier indicated in the session establishment response message (assuming the session was successfully established), to a tenant ID associated with the session, based on the determination in step 828) (Guntupalli, figs. 6, 8, ¶50-52, 55-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to implement Guntupalli’s teachings into Moon’s teaching of wherein causing the UPF to directly send the event notification comprises directly sending, by the UPF the session information to the target NF. This combination allows the power demand and network bandwidth are minimized while retaining event detection capabilities.
The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Moon- Guntupalli as in Claim 1 above.
As to claim 7, Moon- Guntupalli discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the address information of the target NF comprises a notification correlation ID (when the received Announce message meets at least one of the reporting conditions, the DS-TT 725-1 transfers the received Announce message to the SMF 765 using the PMIC through a PDU session modification procedure. In this case, the PMIC may include the identifier information for the port to be reported and the received Announce message.) (Moon, Abstract, fig. 1, ¶0110-0116).
Claims 8, 11, and 14 list all the same elements of claims 1, 4, and 7 but in an apparatus for directly sending a time-sensitive communication (TSC) management information in a wireless communication system, the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (Moon, Abstract, figs. 5-6, ¶0110-0116); and a controller operably connected to the transceiver (Moon, Abstract, figs. 5-6, ¶0110-0116), wherein the controller is configure to (Moon, Abstract, figs. 5-6, ¶0110-0116), the apparatus to carry out the steps of rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1, 4 and 7 applies equally as well to claims 8, 11 and 14.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2022/0046570 A1), hereinafter “Moon”; ”; in view of Guntupalli et al. (US 2023/0017423 A1), hereinafter “Guntupalli” in further view of ZHU et al. (US 2025/0056310 A1), hereinafter “ZHU”.
As to claim 2, Moon- Guntupalli discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create and is sent to the PCF.
In an analogous art, ZHU discloses wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create and is sent to the PCF (the first network element may send the second request message to the PCF network element. The second request message may be a create request message (for example, a Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create Request message) or an update request message (for example, a Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Update Request message).) (ZHU, ¶310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to implement ZHU’s teachings into Moon- Guntupalli’s teaching of wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create and is sent to the PCF. This combination allows the application function network element can perform quality of service (QoS) decomposition according to the configuration information, so as to realize deterministic transmission of the service flow.
As to claim 3, Moon- Guntupalli discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Update and is sent to the PCF.
In an analogous art, ZHU discloses wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create and is sent to the PCF (wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Update and is sent to the PCF.) (ZHU, ¶310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to implement ZHU’s teachings into Moon- Guntupalli’s teaching of wherein the address information of the target NF is added to Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create and is sent to the PCF. This combination allows the application function network element can perform quality of service (QoS) decomposition according to the configuration information, so as to realize deterministic transmission of the service flow.
Claims 9-10 list all the same elements of claims 2-3 but in an apparatus for directly sending a time-sensitive communication (TSC) management information in a wireless communication system, the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (Moon, Abstract, figs. 5-6, ¶0110-0116); and a controller operably connected to the transceiver, wherein the controller (Moon, Abstract, figs. 5-6, ¶0110-0116), the apparatus to carry out the steps of rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 2-3 applies equally as well to claims 9-10.
Response to Arguments
Response to 103 rejections applicant’s amendments to the claim change the scope. Therefore, amended claims necessitated new ground(s) of rejections presented in this office action in view of Guntupalli et al. (US 2023/0017423 A1), have been introduced to address amended. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hitesh Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419
10/8/24