DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6-7, filed on 7/6/2026, with respect to objection to claims 2, 12, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 15-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claims 2, 12, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 15-16 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 14-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US 2023/0120457 A1) in view of Rune et al. (US 2024/0188026 A1 with effective filing date of provisional application 63/169,713, dated 4/1/2021) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0256312 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Ren discloses a positioning method, comprising:
receiving, by an access network device (NG-RAN node in figure 3) from a core network device (AMF in figure 3), a first message associated with a request for determining current location of a terminal device (302 initial context setup request or downlink NAS transport (location reporting request type IE, para. 0046); and
sending, by the access network device, first location information of the terminal device (At block 303, according to the indicated type of the requested location reporting, the NG-RAN node send location report(s) of the UE to the AMF, para. 0046).
Ren fails to disclose (a) determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located; and (b) the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier.
With respect to (a), in the same field of endeavor, Rune discloses determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located (the gNB reports to the AMF one out of two or more TAIs that are simultaneously broadcast in a cell, based on explicit UE location information (with finer granularity than a cell) received from the UE ( or, in an alternative embodiment, which may be used in multi-beam cells, implicit UE location information based on the beam used for the communication with the UE), para. 0065).
It is desirable to determine by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located because it reduces signaling overhead and UE energy consumption (para. 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the method of Ren for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead and UE energy consumption.
With respect to (b), Kim teaches a method of having the AMF 103 may map the country name, GPS location information, GNSS location information, or PLMN ID to correspond to the location information about the UE 101 (cell ID, TAI, gNB ID, GPS location information or GNSS location information) or MCC and may convert the type of location information about the UE 101 through the mapping information, para. 0108.
It is desirable to have the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier because it improve the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kin in the method of Ren and Rune for the benefit of improving the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier.
(2) Regarding claim 14:
Ren discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (processor 410 as shown in figure 4, para. 0048); and
a non-transitory memory storage (memory 420 in figure 4) comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (para. 0048-0049), cause the communication apparatus to:
receiving, by an access network device (NG-RAN node in figure 3) from a core network device (AMF in figure 3), a first message associated with a request for determining current location of a terminal device (302 initial context setup request or downlink NAS transport (location reporting request type IE, para. 0046); and
sending, by the access network device, first location information of the terminal device (At block 303, according to the indicated type of the requested location reporting, the NG-RAN node send location report(s) of the UE to the AMF, para. 0046).
Ren fails to disclose (a) determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located; and (b) the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier.
With respect to (a), in the same field of endeavor, Rune discloses determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located (the gNB reports to the AMF one out of two or more TAIs that are simultaneously broadcast in a cell, based on explicit UE location information (with finer granularity than a cell) received from the UE ( or, in an alternative embodiment, which may be used in multi-beam cells, implicit UE location information based on the beam used for the communication with the UE), para. 0065).
It is desirable to determine by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located because it reduces signaling overhead and UE energy consumption (para. 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the method of Ren for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead and UE energy consumption.
With respect to (b), Kim teaches a method of having the AMF 103 may map the country name, GPS location information, GNSS location information, or PLMN ID to correspond to the location information about the UE 101 (cell ID, TAI, gNB ID, GPS location information or GNSS location information) or MCC and may convert the type of location information about the UE 101 through the mapping information, para. 0108.
It is desirable to have the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier because it improve the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kin in the method of Ren and Rune for the benefit of improving the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier.
(3) Regarding claim 6:
Ren discloses a communication system, comprising:
an access network device (NG-RAN node in figure 3); and
a core network device (AMF in figure 3);
the core network device being configured to send a first message to the access network device, wherein the first message is associated with a request to determine a geographical location of the terminal device (302 initial context setup request or downlink NAS transport (location reporting request type IE, para. 0046);
the access network device being configured to:
receive the first message and send first location information of the terminal device to the core network device (At block 303, according to the indicated type of the requested location reporting, the NG-RAN node send location report(s) of the UE to the AMF, para. 0046).
Ren fails to disclose (a) the access network device and to determine, based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located; and send the first location information including a first tracking area identity (TAI) identifying the tracking area in which the terminal device is located; and (b) the first message is send to the access network device when a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite; and (c) the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier.
With respect to (a), in the same field of endeavor, Rune discloses determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located (the gNB reports to the AMF one out of two or more TA is that are simultaneously broadcast in a cell, based on explicit UE location information (with finer granularity than a cell) received from the UE ( or, in an alternative embodiment, which may be used in multi-beam cells, implicit UE location information based on the beam used for the communication with the UE), para. 0065).
It is desirable to determine by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located because it reduces signaling overhead and UE energy consumption (para. 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the method of Ren for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead and UE energy consumption.
With respect to (b), Rune discloses when the communication device in a NTN that includes a network node (para. 0114 – 0118), and if the UE moves (re-selects) to a cell that does not belong to any of the TAs in the UE's configured list of TAs, the UE has to inform the network. This procedure is called Registration in 5G (where the UE sends a Registration Request NAS message to the AMF with the 5GS Registration Type IE set to “mobility registration updating”), while the corresponding procedure is called Tracking Area Update in LTE (where the UE sends a Tracking Area Update Request NAS message to the mobility management entity (“MME”)). The TAI of the UE's current cell is not explicitly included in the Registration Request non-access stratum (“NAS”) message or the Tracking Area Update Request NAS message. Instead, in 5G, the gNB includes it in the User Location Information IE in the NGAP message that conveys the Registration Request NAS message from the gNB to the access and mobility management function (“AMF”) (i.e. the Initial UE Message next generation application protocol (“NGAP”) message or possibly the Uplink NAS Transport NGAP message), para. 0043.
It is desirable for core network device to send the first message is send to the access network device when a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite because it reduces signaling overhead and UE energy consumption (para. 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the method of Ren for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead and UE energy consumption.
With respect to (c), Kim teaches a method of having the AMF 103 may map the country name, GPS location information, GNSS location information, or PLMN ID to correspond to the location information about the UE 101 (cell ID, TAI, gNB ID, GPS location information or GNSS location information) or MCC and may convert the type of location information about the UE 101 through the mapping information, para. 0108.
It is desirable to have the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier because it improve the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kin in the method of Ren and Rune for the benefit of improving the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier.
(4) Regarding claim 10:
Ren discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (processor 410 as shown in figure 4, para. 0048); and
a non-transitory memory storage (memory 420 in figure 4) comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (para. 0048-0049), cause the communication apparatus to:
send a first message to an access network device, wherein the first message is associated with a request to determine a location of the terminal device (302 initial context setup request or downlink NAS transport (location reporting request type IE, para. 0046); and
receive first location information of the terminal device from the access network device (At block 303, according to the indicated type of the requested location reporting, the NG-RAN node send location report(s) of the UE to the AMF, para. 0046).
Ren fails to disclose (a) the communication apparatus determine that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite; and (b) the first location information comprises a first tracking area identity (TAI) identifying a tracking area in which the terminal device is located; and (c) the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier.
With respect to (a), in the same field of endeavor, Rune discloses the AMF is aware not only of the TAIs supported by a gNB, but also of the upcoming switches of these TAIs to new TAIs. The AMF may have received this information from the gNB in the way described above in the preceding embodiment, or may have received it from the gNB during the establishment of the NG interface, or through configuration. The AMF may use this knowledge to optimize the TAI list assigned to a UE, for example, to ensure that the TAI list it assigns to a UE includes not only the current TAI of the UE's cell, but also the next TAI that will replace the current TAI in this cell (para. 0069, 0094, 0102; the examiner interprets the establishment of the NG interface, or through configuration as the claimed step of determining that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite).
It is desirable for the communication apparatus determine that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite because it can use this extended knowledge to proactively include future TAIs in the list of TAIs it allocates to a UE (para. 0104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the communication apparatus of Ren for the benefit of use this extended knowledge to proactively include future TAIs in the list of TAIs it allocates to a UE and provide seamless services to the UE.
With respect to (b), in the same field of endeavor, Rune discloses determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located (the gNB reports to the AMF one out of two or more TA is that are simultaneously broadcast in a cell, based on explicit UE location information (with finer granularity than a cell) received from the UE ( or, in an alternative embodiment, which may be used in multi-beam cells, implicit UE location information based on the beam used for the communication with the UE), para. 0065).
It is desirable to determine by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located because it reduces signaling overhead and UE energy consumption (para. 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the method of Ren for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead and UE energy consumption.
With respect to (c), Kim teaches a method of having the AMF 103 may map the country name, GPS location information, GNSS location information, or PLMN ID to correspond to the location information about the UE 101 (cell ID, TAI, gNB ID, GPS location information or GNSS location information) or MCC and may convert the type of location information about the UE 101 through the mapping information, para. 0108.
It is desirable to have the TAI is determined by a mapping relationship between geographical location information and tracking area identifier because it improve the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kin in the method of Ren and Rune for the benefit of improving the efficiency of determining the tracking area identifier.
(5) Regarding claim 2:
Ren, Rune, and Kim together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, and Rune further discloses sending, by the core network device, the first message to the access network device when the core network device determines that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite (the AMF is aware not only of the TAIs supported by a gNB, but also of the upcoming switches of these TAIs to new TAIs. The AMF may have received this information from the gNB in the way described above in the preceding embodiment, or may have received it from the gNB during the establishment of the NG interface, or through configuration. The AMF may use this knowledge to optimize the TAI list assigned to a UE, for example, to ensure that the TAI list it assigns to a UE includes not only the current TAI of the UE's cell, but also the next TAI that will replace the current TAI in this cell (para. 0069, 0094, 0102; the examiner interprets the establishment of the NG interface, or through configuration as the claimed step of determining that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite).
It is desirable for the core network device, the first message to the access network device when the core network device determines that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite because it can use this extended knowledge to proactively include future TAIs in the list of TAIs it allocates to a UE (para. 0104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the communication method of Ren and Kim for the benefit of use this extended knowledge to proactively include future TAIs in the list of TAIs it allocates to a UE and provide seamless services to the UE.
(6) Regarding claims 3, 7, and 15:
Ren, Rune, and Kim together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, 6, and 14, and Rune further discloses obtaining, by the access network device, the information about the geographical location of the terminal device (determining by the access network device based on information about the geographical location of the terminal device, a tracking area in which the terminal device is located and the first location information includes a first tracking area identity (TAI), and the first TAI identifies the tracking area in which the terminal device is located (the gNB reports to the AMF one out of two or more TAIs that are simultaneously broadcast in a cell, based on explicit UE location information (with finer granularity than a cell) received from the UE ( or, in an alternative embodiment, which may be used in multi-beam cells, implicit UE location information based on the beam used for the communication with the UE), para. 0065).
(7) Regarding claims 5, 9, and 17:
Ren, Rune, and Kim together disclose all subject matter of claims 1, 6, and 14, and Rune further discloses the information about the geographical location of the terminal device comprises at least one of a longitude, a latitude, a height, a beam identifier, or a beam location (the gNB reports to the AMF one out of two or more TA is that are simultaneously broadcast in a cell, based on explicit UE location information (with finer granularity than a cell) received from the UE ( or, in an alternative embodiment, which may be used in multi-beam cells, implicit UE location information based on the beam used for the communication with the UE), para. 0065).
(8) Regarding claim 18:
Ren, Rune, and Kim together disclose all subject matter of claim 14, and Ren further discloses the first message is a location report request 302 in figure 3, Location Reporting Request Type IE, para. 0046).
(9) Regarding claim 11:
Ren, Rune, and Kim together disclose all subject matter of claim 10, and Rune further discloses sending, by the core network device, the first message to the access network device when the core network device determines that a terminal device accesses a network through a satellite (the AMF is aware not only of the TAIs supported by a gNB, but also of the upcoming switches of these TAIs to new TAIs. The AMF may have received this information from the gNB in the way described above in the preceding embodiment, or may have received it from the gNB during the establishment of the NG interface, or through configuration. The AMF may use this knowledge to optimize the TAI list assigned to a UE, for example, to ensure that the TAI list it assigns to a UE includes not only the current TAI of the UE's cell, but also the next TAI that will replace the current TAI in this cell (para. 0069, 0094, 0102; the examiner interprets the establishment of the NG interface, or through configuration as the claimed step of receiving indication information indicating that the terminal device accesses the network or access a service through the satellite).
It is desirable for the processor to receive indication information indicating that the terminal device accesses the network or access a service through the satellite because it can use this extended knowledge to proactively include future TAIs in the list of TAIs it allocates to a UE (para. 0104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Rune in the communication apparatus of Ren and Kim for the benefit of use this extended knowledge to proactively include future TAIs in the list of TAIs it allocates to a UE and provide seamless services to the UE.
Claims 4, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US 2023/0120457 A1) in view of Rune et al. (US 2024/0188026 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0256312 A1) as applied to claims 3, 7, and 15 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2026/0006407 A1, with effective filing date of provisional application 63/173936, dated 4/12/2021).
Ren, Rune, and Kim together disclose all subject matter of claims 3, 7, and 15, but fail to explicitly disclose receiving, by the access network device, the information about the geographical location from the terminal device after access stratum security between the terminal device and the access network device is established.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeong discloses receiving, by the access network device, the information about the geographical location from the terminal device after access stratum security between the terminal device and the access network device is established (In Step F7S9, the UE provides the position report to the gNB via access stratum (AS) signaling, para. 0103, claim 1, 8).
It is desirable to have receive by the access network device, the information about the geographical location from the terminal device after access stratum security between the terminal device and the access network device is established because provides security of the location of the UE and enable the UE to send original position coordinates to the network or transformed coordinates to the bases station (para. 0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Jeong in the method and apparatus of Ren, Rune, and Kim for the benefit of providing security of the location of the UE and enable the UE to send original position coordinates to the network or transformed coordinates to the bases station.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US 2023/0120457 A1) in view of Rune et al. (US 2024/0188026 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0256312 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0413213 A1, with effective filing date of PCT/CN2021/098501, dated 6/5/2021).
(1) Regarding claim 12:
Ren, Rune, and Kim discloses all subject matter of claim 10, but fails to disclose determine, based on the first location information of the terminal device, that the terminal device is located in a forbidden area; and send a reject TAI to the terminal device; or send geographical location information corresponding to a reject TAI to the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses an operation S320 may include the following operation. In response to determining that the first TA is an area allowing the terminal device to initiate a service and the first TA being not in an RA configured by a core network for the terminal device, the first network device transmits a configuration update instruction to the terminal device. The configuration update instruction carries the indication that the terminal device is in the first TA. Alternatively, in response to determining that the first TA is a restricted area, the first network device transmits a rejection message to the terminal device. The rejection message carries the indication that the terminal device is in the first TA.
It is desirable to determine based on the first location information of the terminal device, that the terminal device is located in a forbidden area; and send a reject TAI to the terminal device; or send geographical location information corresponding to a reject TAI to the terminal device because it reduces improper operations on the communication process (para. 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Chen in the method and apparatus of Ren, Rune, and Kim for the benefit of reducing improper operations on the communication process.
(2) Regarding claim 13:
Ren, Rune, and Kim discloses all subject matter of claim 10, but fails to disclose send to the terminal device at least one of: service area restriction information in a geographical location form or local area data network service area information in a geographical location form.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses an operation S320 may include the following operation. In response to determining that the first TA is an area allowing the terminal device to initiate a service and the first TA being not in an RA configured by a core network for the terminal device, the first network device transmits a configuration update instruction to the terminal device. The configuration update instruction carries the indication that the terminal device is in the first TA. Alternatively, in response to determining that the first TA is a restricted area, the first network device transmits a rejection message to the terminal device. The rejection message carries the indication that the terminal device is in the first TA, and in response to determining that the first TA is a restricted area, the first network device transmits a rejection message (service area restriction information) to the terminal device. The rejection message carries the indication that the terminal device is in the first TA (para. 0055-0057).
It is desirable to send to the terminal device at least one of: service area restriction information in a geographical location form or local area data network service area information in a geographical location form because it reduces improper operations on the communication process (para. 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Chen in the method and apparatus of Ren, Rune, and Kim for the benefit of reducing improper operations on the communication process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shrestha et al. (US 2022/0030504 A1) discloses cell identity for earth-fixed area with a moving cell.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 8/4/2026