DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sevastopolskiy (US 20220157014 A1), in view of Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017) and Liu (Head Pose Estimation through Keypoints Matching between Reconstructed 3D Face Model and 2D Image, 2021).
Regarding Claim 16, Sevastopolskiy teaches a method comprising:
Retrieving a plurality of images of a subject from a plurality of view directions (Paragraph [0019]: “For generating a relighted 3D portrait of a person the disclosed system may utilize a sequence of images featuring a person. Such sequence of images may be captured by conventional cameras of currently available handheld devices (e.g. by a smartphone camera)”; Paragraph [0020]: “The sequence of images may be captured by a camera with blinking flash while moving the camera at least partly around the person (e.g., partly around an upper body of the person)”);
Forming a plurality of synthetic views of the subject for each view (Paragraph [0023]: “A 3D point cloud 10 may be generated based on the sequence of captured images. The 3D point cloud 10 may be generated using, for example, and without limitation, a Structure-from-Motion (SfM) technique or any other known techniques allowing to reconstruct 3D structure of a scene or object based on the sequence of 2D images of that scene or object. Each point in the 3D point cloud 10 may be augmented with latent descriptor, for example, a multi-dimensional latent vector characterizing properties of the point. Latent descriptors may be sampled from a predefined probability distribution, e.g. from a unit elementwise Gaussian, and may later be fitted at the training stage. Each latent descriptor may serve as a memory vector for the deep neural network (also referred to as the rendering network and described in greater detail below) and may be used by the network to infer geometric and photometric properties of each point. The 3D point cloud is generated and camera viewpoints are estimated based on the set of flash images or the set of no-flash images”; Paragraph [0024]: “Latent descriptors of the generated 3D point cloud may be rasterized at different resolutions according to a requested new camera viewpoint to obtain rasterized images 15. The rasterization may be made using, for example, and without limitation, a Z-buffering technique or any other known techniques allowing to represent images of objects located in 3D space from a particular camera viewpoint”; Paragraph [0036]: “An image and a camera viewpoint corresponding to the image are randomly sampled at S100 from the captured sequence of images. A predicted image (e.g., predicted albedo, normals, environmental shadow maps, and segmentation mask) for the camera viewpoint is obtained at S105 by the deep neural network”. Notes: each image of the plurality of image has an associated viewpoint from which a synthetic image is reconstructed from via rasterization utilizing 3D point cloud data augmented by latent descriptors); and
Training a model with the plurality of images of the subject and the plurality of synthetic views of the subject to determine at least a reflectance based on the plurality of images (Paragraph [0036]: “An image and a camera viewpoint corresponding to the image are randomly sampled at S100 from the captured sequence of images. A predicted image (e.g., predicted albedo, normals, environmental shadow maps, and segmentation mask) for the camera viewpoint is obtained at S105 by the deep neural network”; Paragraph [0026]: “Neural rendering may be performed. Neural rendering may be performed by processing the rasterized images 15 with, for example, a deep neural network trained to predict albedo, normals, environmental shadow maps, and segmentation mask for the received camera viewpoint… The training stage of the disclosed system and the architecture of used deep neural network are described in greater detail below with reference to FIG. 4. Predicted albedo, normals, environmental shadow maps, and segmentation mask are collectively indicated in FIG. 1 with the numeral 20. Predicted albedo describes the spatially varying reflectance properties (albedo ρ(x)) of the head surface (skin, hair, or other parts)”); and
Retrieving a second plurality of images of the subject with respect to a moving point source light (Paragraph [0020]: “The sequence of images may be captured by a camera with blinking flash while moving the camera at least partly around the person (e.g., partly around an upper body of the person)).
Sevastopolskiy does not teach verifying the plurality of synthetic views based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured in the second plurality of images.
However, Kakadiaris teaches verifying a synthetic view based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured in an image (Section 3, 3D-2D face recognition: “The proposed framework for 3D-2D face recognition assigns a similarity score for one-to-one comparisons of 3D face data (i.e., surface points with triangulation and associated texture) to 2D images, containing a non-aligned, in general, face”).
Sevastopolskiy and Kakadiaris are considered analogous in the art with respect to the display of synthetic views of a subject. A common motivation in the art is to verify synthetically generated views or models of real-life views or models by point matching the view or model with a real 2D image of the view or model, as is evident in Kakadiaris.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of retrieval of images and generation of synthetic views of Sevastopolskiy with the verification method of a synthetic view with 2D images of Kakadiaris; Doing so would result in the predictable result of verifying the generated synthetic views with corresponding real 2D images of the views.
Sevastopolskiy as modified does not explicitly teach verifying a plurality of synthetic views with a plurality of images.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the verification of a synthetic view with a corresponding image can be extended to verifying a plurality of synthetic views with a corresponding plurality of images; One would be motivated to do so for multi-view face recognition, as noted by Liu (Abstract: “The proposed head pose estimation method consists of two components: the 3D face reconstruction and the 3D–2D matching keypoints. At the 3D face reconstruction phase, a personalized 3D face model is reconstructed from the input head image using convolutional neural networks, which are jointly optimized by an asymmetric Euclidean loss and a keypoint loss. At the 3D–2D keypoints matching phase, an iterative optimization algorithm is proposed to match the keypoints between the reconstructed 3D face model and the 2D input image efficiently under the constraint of perspective transformation”; Introduction: “Moreover, head pose provides an important cue for many other face-related computer vision tasks, including facial feature points’ detection [4], multi-view face recognition”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the verification method of a synthetic view of Sevastopolskiy as modified with the verification method of a plurality of synthetic views with their corresponding images; Doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing for multi-view recognition.
Regarding Claim 17, the method of Claim 16 is rejected over Sevastopolskiy as modified.
Sevastopolskiy as modified teaches a plurality of images wherein the plurality of images of the subject is under a plurality of illumination configurations (Sevastopolskiy, Paragraph [0020]: “The sequence of images may be captured by a camera with blinking flash while moving the camera at least partly around the person (e.g., partly around an upper body of the person). Thus, the sequence of images comprises a set of flash images and a set of no-flash images” Notes: the camera has a plurality of illumination configurations consisting of no flash and flash).
Regarding Claim 18, the method of Claim 17 is rejected over Sevastopolskiy as modified.
Sevastopolskiy as modified teaches forming the plurality of synthetic views of the subject under a plurality of illumination configurations (Sevastopolskiy, Paragraph [0020]: “The sequence of images may be captured by a camera with blinking flash while moving the camera at least partly around the person (e.g., partly around an upper body of the person). Thus, the sequence of images comprises a set of flash images and a set of no-flash images”).
Sevastopolskiy as modified does not explicitly teach forming the plurality of synthetic views of the subject for each illumination configuration of the plurality of illumination configurations.
However, Sevastopolskiy’s illumination configuration is clearly capable of forming the plurality of synthetic views of the subject for each illumination configuration of the plurality of illumination configurations. Doing so would simply require the sequence to be taken with the flash turned on, and the flash turned off separately.
A common motivation in the art is to obtain sufficient image data for a learning model. Obtaining more image data would allow the learning model more data to train on, resulting in better results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of retrieving images of Sevastopolskiy as modified such that forming the plurality of synthetic views of the subject are for each illumination configuration of the plurality of illumination configurations; Doing so would yield the predictable result of a larger amount of flash and no flash image data for the model to train on, leading to better results.
Regarding Claim 19, the method of Claim 16 is rejected over Sevastopolskiy as modified.
Sevastopolskiy as modified teaches using a mobile device to capture at least some of the plurality of images of the subject from the plurality of view directions using a single point light source (Sevastopolskiy, Paragraph [0019]: “For generating a relighted 3D portrait of a person the disclosed system may utilize a sequence of images featuring a person. Such sequence of images may be captured by conventional cameras of currently available handheld devices (e.g. by a smartphone camera)”; Sevastopolskiy, Paragraph [0020]: “The sequence of images may be captured by a camera with blinking flash while moving the camera at least partly around the person (e.g., partly around an upper body of the person)”).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021) in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000), and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen teaches a method, comprising:
retrieving a plurality of stage images including a plurality of views of a subject (Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras… and instruct our subjects to make diverse expressions with head movements”);
retrieving a plurality of self-images of the subject by using a mobile device while the subject is being moved with respect to a point light source (Section 4.1: “The in-the-wild video test were gathered using the frontal camera of an iPhone… We collected around 5 video clips for each subject, performing different facial expressions and head movements, under various lighting conditions and environments”. Point light source in its broadest reasonable interpretation is any source of light originating from a point, which is inherent in a description of various lighting conditions, as demonstrated in Figure 1); and
generating a three-dimensional (3D) mesh of a head of the subject based on the stage images (Section 3.1: “the 3D facial geometry and appearance that are captured from a multi-view capture light-stage...The decoder, D, can generate instances of a person’s face by taking, as input, a latent code z, which encodes the expression”. Latent code z is derived from the input image, as demonstrated in Figure 2).
Chen does not teach determining a reflectance using the plurality of self-images of the subject.
However, Debevec teaches a determining a reflectance using an image (Figure 3 picture and description: “Reflectance Functions for a Face: This mosaic is formed from the reflectance functions of a 15x44 sampling of pixels from the original 480x720 image data. Each 64x32 reflectance function consists of the corresponding pixel location’s appearance under two thousand lighting directions distributed throughout the sphere. The inset shows the same view of the face under a combination of three lighting directions. The functions have been brightened by a factor of four from the original data”. Equations 4 and 5 demonstrate how the images are processed, and the reflectance used to obtain a rendered pixel and subsequent rendered image in Figure 6. Notes: Reflectance can be determined from an image through a sampling scheme of pixels. It is also worth noting that the source or method of obtaining the image(s) is irrelevant to the calculation of the reflectance).
Chen and Debevec are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering relit images of a subject’s head. A common motivation in the art is to use light values such as reflectance and lighting to improve the depiction and rendering of a subject’s head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the plurality of self-images of a subject of Chen with the determining of a reflectance using an image of Debevec; Doing so would yield the predictable result of being able to generate a more representative and detailed 3D mesh of a head of the subject.
Chen as modified does not teach verifying the 3D mesh of the head of the subject based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured from the head of the subject.
However, Kakadiaris teaches verifying the 3D mesh of the head of the subject based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured from the head of the subject (Section 3, 3D-2D face recognition: “The proposed framework for 3D-2D face recognition assigns a similarity score for one-to-one comparisons of 3D face data (i.e., surface points with triangulation and associated texture) to 2D images, containing a non-aligned, in general, face. In a practical scenario, the 3D+2D data form a gallery set…of 3D shape (point cloud or polygonal mesh) … and possibly image (or mesh texture) Ii data for… subjects (also termed the enrollment or target set); the 2D data are samples from a probe set… of some size… (also termed the query or recognition set)”).
Chen as modified and Kakadiaris are considered analogous in the art with respect to the display of a mesh of the head of a subject. A common motivation in the art is to verify generated meshes of a subject by point matching the mesh with a real 2D image of the subject, as is evident in Kakadiaris.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of mesh generation of Chen as modified with the verification method of a mesh with 2D images of Kakadiaris; Doing so would result in the predictable result of verifying the generated mesh of a subject with corresponding real 2D images of the subject.
Regarding Claim 12, the method of Claim 11 is rejected over Chen as modified. Chen as modified teaches generating a texture map for the subject based on the stage images and the self-images (Chen, Figure 2 demonstrates a pipeline in which a texture is derived using information from input images; Chen, Equation 1 supplements this by describing the components of the input images used to derive the texture. Figure 8 further illustrates how a captured image is used as input to generate a texture map. Additionally, in Chen, Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images … and a total of 460 white LED lights … We record a total of 13 minutes video sequence of one subject”. Therefore, a plurality of images of a subject resulting from a multi-view scan are used in a training pipeline as demonstrated in Figure 2. Lastly, in Chen, Section 4.1: “The in-the-wild video test were gathered using the frontal camera of an iPhone… We collected around 5 video clips for each subject, performing different facial expressions and head movements, under various lighting conditions and environments”. This demonstrates that videos captured via mobile device can utilize the pipeline of Figure 2 to generate a texture map based on the self-images).
Regarding Claim 13, the method of Claim 12 is rejected over Chen as modified. Chen as modified teaches generating a texture map wherein the texture map comprises a view-dependent (Section 3.1: “the view-dependent texture”, as referenced in Chen, Equation 1) and illumination-dependent texture map (Chen, Section 3.2: “where illumination variations are represented using gain and bias maps, g and b”, as referenced in Chen, Equation 2 and Chen, Figure 2, wherein the gain and bias maps are used to produce a relit texture).
Claims 1-6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021), in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000), Lombardi (Deep Appearance Models for Face Rendering, 2018), and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen as modified teaches a system comprising:
a mobile device operable to generate a mobile capture of a subject ((Chen, Figure 1: “Input image captured by an iPhone”; Chen, Section 4.1: “The in-the-wild video test were gathered using the frontal camera of an iPhone. We captured videos for 10 subjects. We collected around 5 video clips for each subject, performing different facial expressions and head movements, under various lighting conditions and environments”);
a plurality of cameras configured to provide a multi-view scan of the subject under a fully lit condition (Chen, Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images … and a total of 460 white LED lights … We record a total of 13 minutes video sequence of one subject”; Chen, Section 3.2: “we extend the capture system in [27] to include 460 controllable lights that are synchronized with the multi-view camera system. The captured sequence was extended to include a portion where nonoverlapping groups of approximately 10 lights were turned on, interleaved with fully lit frames that were used for tracking. This data was used to build a relightable face model using the scheme illustrated in Figure 2”. Notes: As defined in applicant specifications in Paragraph 0035: “The multi-view scan 212 generates multiple images that are used by a processor to form a 3D mesh 216 of the subject’s head under a (fixed) uniform lighting configuration. The multi-view scan 212 is performed simply by simultaneously taking a single picture by each of multiple cameras under a uniform lighting condition provided by several light sources”; Therefore, multi-view scan is taken to mean a process for taking a plurality of images under uniform lighting in its broadest reasonable interpretation, wherein the images are taken simultaneously)); and
a pipeline configured to perform a plurality of processes using the mobile capture and the multi-view scan to generate a relightable avatar (Chen, Figure 1 demonstrates processing to get from captured image taken on an iPhone to relit avatar. Chen, Figure 2 visualizes the training pipeline: “Training the lighting model on the light-stage data. We update the lighting model G and per-frame expression code z while fixing the other parameters”. Chen, Figure 3 and 4 also demonstrate the visual steps of the processing that occurs during the pipeline. Notes: light-stage data is defined by Chen as being the images captured from the multi-view light-stage defined in Chen, Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images … and a total of 460 white LED lights … We record a total of 13 minutes video sequence of one subject”. Therefore, a plurality of images of a subject resulting from a multi-view scan. Are used in a training pipeline as demonstrated in Figure 2),
wherein the mobile capture includes a video captured while the subject is moved relative to a light source (Chen, Section 4.1: “The in-the-wild video test were gathered using the frontal camera of an iPhone. We captured videos for 10 subjects. We collected around 5 video clips for each subject, performing different facial expressions and head movements, under various lighting conditions and environments”), and
wherein the pipeline corresponds to a processor (a processor is inherent to be able to perform the pipeline as demonstrated in Chen, Figure 2) configured for:
a second processing stage for determining a relightable model of a head of the subject using the multi-view scan (Chen, Figure 1 demonstrates processing to get from captured image taken on an iPhone to relit avatar. Chen, Figure 2 visualizes the training pipeline: “Training the lighting model on the light-stage data. We update the lighting model G and per-frame expression code z while fixing the other parameters”. Chen, Figure 3 and 4 also demonstrate the visual steps of the processing that occurs during the pipeline. Notes: light-stage data is defined by Chen as being the images captured from the multi-view light-stage defined in Chen, Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images … and a total of 460 white LED lights … We record a total of 13 minutes video sequence of one subject”. Therefore, a plurality of images of a subject resulting from a multi-view scan are used in a training pipeline as demonstrated in Chen, Figure 2).
Chen does not teach that the processor is configured for a first processing stage configured for determining a reflectance using the mobile capture.
However, Debevec teaches a first processing stage configured for determining a reflectance using the mobile capture (Debevec, Figure 3 picture and description: “Reflectance Functions for a Face: This mosaic is formed from the reflectance functions of a 15x44 sampling of pixels from the original 480x720 image data. Each 64x32 reflectance function consists of the corresponding pixel location’s appearance under two thousand lighting directions distributed throughout the sphere. The inset shows the same view of the face under a combination of three lighting directions. The functions have been brightened by a factor of four from the original data”. Debevec, Equations 4 and 5 demonstrate how the images are processed, and the reflectance used to obtain a rendered pixel and subsequent rendered image in Debevec, Figure 6. Notes: Reflectance can be determined from an image through a sampling scheme of pixels. It is also worth noting that the source or method of obtaining the image(s) is irrelevant to the calculation of the reflectance).
Chen and Debevec are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering relit images of a subject’s head. A common motivation in the art is to use light values such as reflectance and lighting to improve the depiction and rendering of a subject’s head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the plurality of self-images of a subject of Chen with the determining of a reflectance using an image of Debevec; Doing so would yield the predictable result of being able to generate a more representative and detailed 3D mesh of a head of the subject.
Chen as modified does not explicitly teach uniform illumination, although it does teach a “fully lit” lighting condition.
However, Lombardi teaches a plurality of cameras configured to provide a multi-view scan under a uniform illumination (Section 3: “The device contains 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing 5120×3840 images at 30 frames per second … [and] evenly place 200 directional LED point lights directed at the face to promote uniform illumination.”).
Chen as modified and Lombardi are considered analogous in the art, since both references teach generating relightable avatars using multi-view scans taken through a multi camera apparatus. It should be noted that Chen directly references Lombardi, in that Chen expands on Lombardi’s camera system (Chen, Section 3.2: “we extend the capture system in [27]”, wherein reference 27 is Lombardi). Consequently, since Chen extends Lombardi, uniform illumination is present in both Chen and Lombardi, and the “fully lit pattern” described by Chen in Section 4.1 in the context of Lombardi is taken to mean uniform illumination.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Chen with the uniform illumination of Lombardi; Doing so would yield the predictable result of generating relit avatars.
Chen as modified does not teach a third processing stage for verifying the relightable model based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured from the head of a subject.
However, Kakadiaris teaches a processing stage for verifying the model based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured from the head of a subject (Section 3, 3D-2D face recognition: “The proposed framework for 3D-2D face recognition assigns a similarity score for one-to-one comparisons of 3D face data (i.e., surface points with triangulation and associated texture) to 2D images, containing a non-aligned, in general, face. In a practical scenario, the 3D+2D data form a gallery set…of 3D shape (point cloud or polygonal mesh) … and possibly image (or mesh texture) Ii data for… subjects (also termed the enrollment or target set); the 2D data are samples from a probe set… of some size… (also termed the query or recognition set)”. Notes: verifying a model based on key points is not dependent on the type of model beyond a model with a mesh, hence a relightable model may be verified identically to a non-relightable model).
Chen as modified and Kakadiaris are considered analogous in the art with respect to the display of a model of a subject. A common motivation in the art is to verify generated models by point matching the model with a real 2D image of the model, as is evident in Kakadiaris.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system for model generation of Chen as modified with the verification method of a model with 2D images of Kakadiaris; Doing so would result in the predictable result of verifying the generated model with corresponding real 2D images of the model.
Regarding Claim 2, The system of Claim 1 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a system, wherein the plurality of cameras are fixed around the subject (Lombardi, Section 3: “The device contains 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing 5120×3840 images at 30 frames per second. All cameras lie on the frontal hemisphere of the face and are placed at a distance of about one meter from it”), and the uniform illumination is provided by a plurality of light sources (Lombardi, Section 3: “200 directional LED point lights directed at the face to promote uniform illumination”).
Regarding Claim 3, the system of Claim 1 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a system, wherein the plurality of cameras are configured to simultaneously take images of the multi-view scan (Chen, Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images at 1334×2048 / 90 fps”).
Regarding Claim 4, the system of Claim 3 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a system, wherein the images of the multi-view scan comprise a coarse geometry of a face including at least eyes, a nose and a mouth of the subject, and hairs of the subject (Chen, Figure 2 shows that the mesh and texture map both show at least eyes, a nose, a mouth, and hairs of the subject).
Regarding Claim 5, the system of Claim 1 is rejected over Chen as modified. Chen as modified teaches a first processing stage further configured to determine at least a pose and lighting parameters based on the mobile capture and the multi-view scan (Chen, Section 3.2: “we extend the capture system in [27] to include 460 controllable lights that are synchronized with the multi-view camera system. The captured sequence was extended to include a portion where nonoverlapping groups of approximately 10 lights were turned on, interleaved with fully lit frames that were used for tracking. This data was used to build a relightable face model using the scheme illustrated in Figure 2” Chen, Figure 2 demonstrates the pipeline, wherein pose and lighting are represented as h and l, and defined as such in Chen, Section 3.2: “the lighting, head pose … These inputs, represented by l, h … are processed by MLPs”. Chen further elaborates in Chen, Section 4.1: “The in-the-wild video test were gathered using the frontal camera of an iPhone. We captured videos for 10 subjects. We collected around 5 video clips for each subject, performing different facial expressions and head movements, under various lighting conditions and environments”, where the phone captured images are demonstrated as having been fed into the pipeline in Chen, Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 6, the system of Claim 5 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a second processing stage further configured to generate a relightable model of a head of the subject (Chen, Figure 4)
based on the reflectance (Debevec, Figure 3 picture and description: “Reflectance Functions for a Face: This mosaic is formed from the reflectance functions of a 15x44 sampling of pixels from the original 480x720 image data. Each 64x32 reflectance function consists of the corresponding pixel location’s appearance under two thousand lighting directions distributed throughout the sphere. The inset shows the same view of the face under a combination of three lighting directions. The functions have been brightened by a factor of four from the original data”. Debevec, Equations 4 and 5 demonstrate how the images are processed, and the reflectance used to obtain a rendered pixel and subsequent rendered image in Debevec, Figure 6),
pose and the lighting parameters (Chen, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 21, the system of Claim 1 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches analyzing the plurality of key points comprises evaluating a loss function for the plurality of key points (Kakadiaris, Section 4.2.2, Landmark reprojection error minimization: “The estimation of the projection transformation (4) is formulated as the minimization of the 3D-2D landmark reprojection error which is the error of approximating the 2D points by the projections of the 3D points through P. Using a square loss, P is estimated by solving a least-squares approximation problem over all reference points”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021) in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000), Lombardi (Deep Appearance Models for Face Rendering, 2018) and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017), and in further view of Geng (Single-view facial reflectance inference with a differentiable renderer, 2021).
Regarding Claim 7, the system of Claim 5 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a pipeline configuration, comprising:
A differentiable renderer configured to combine the pose and the lighting parameters with images of the multi-view scan to provide a rendered image (Chen, Figure 2).
Chen as modified does not teach a differentiable renderer configured to take as input the reflectance.
However, Geng teaches a differentiable renderer configured to combine the reflectance from an input image to provide a rendered image (Figure 2 demonstrates the pipeline including the use of reflectance as a component in the differentiable renderer: “The overall algorithm pipeline. The whole process can be divided into two phases. In the initialization phase, we extract a textured 3D facial mesh from the input image. Multiple encoders then convert the unwrapped color texture to a latent representation. In the optimization phase, separate reflectance components are decoded from the latent representation and fed to a differentiable renderer to produce a reconstructed image, based on which a reconstruction loss can be computed and guide the iterative updating of latent coefficients for skin reflectance and lighting via backprop”)
Chen as modified and Geng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of rendering relit images of a subject’s head. A common motivation in the art is to use light values such as reflectance and lighting to improve the depiction and rendering of a subject’s head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the differentiable renderer to generate an image of the subject’s head using pose and lighting of Chen as modified with the differentiable renderer to generate a rendered image of a subject’s head using reflectance of Geng; Doing so would result in the predictable result of a more accurately rendered image of the subject’s head according to the light of a given environment.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021) in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000), Lombardi (Deep Appearance Models for Face Rendering, 2018) and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017), in further view of Khakhulin (Pub. No. US 2023/0154111 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the system of Claim 5 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a pose, wherein the pose comprises a head pose (Chen, Section 3.2: “The gain and bias maps depend on the lighting, head pose, viewpoint, and expression”, further described in Chen, foot note 1 on page 13061: “Here, the rigid head pose consists of two parts: rigid rotation r ∈ R3 and camera viewpoint vector v, v ∈ R3”).
Chen as modified does not teach a camera pose along with a head pose.
However, Khakhulin teaches estimating a head pose and camera pose from a captured image (Paragraph [0060]: “the head pose, the facial expression, and the camera pose estimated from the target image xt”).
Chen as modified and Khakhulin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering images of a subject’s head using pose estimation. A common motivation in the art is to use utilize pose as a baseline for reconstructing an image of a subject’s head; pose information pertaining to the camera is useful to consider in relation to the pose of the head, as the view of the head originates from the camera’s position, and is influenced by the camera’s orientation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the distinction of a head and camera pose of Khakhulin with the pose calculation involving a viewpoint vector of Chen as modified; Doing so would predictably result in a more definitive pose parameter, allowing for a more effectively rendered head of a subject.
Regarding Claim 9, the system of Claim 8 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches a pose comprised of the head pose, wherein the camera pose comprises a first distance between the mobile device and a fixed point, and wherein the head pose comprises a second distance between the mobile device and the fixed point (Chen, foot note 1, pg. 13061: “Here, the rigid head pose consists of two parts: rigid rotation r ∈ R3 and camera viewpoint vector v, v ∈ R3. Similar to [27], we assume that the viewpoint vector is relative to the rigid head orientation that is estimated from the tracking algorithm”. Notes: Camera viewpoint vector v provides the distance between the camera and a fixed point, being the head, and the mobile device. The camera is noted as being an iPhone in Chen, Figure 1; Khakhulin, Paragraph [0060]: “the head pose, the facial expression, and the camera pose estimated from the target image xt”. Notes: Chen demonstrates the use of the head as a fixed point, along with a camera viewpoint vector v that provides a distance between the fixed point and the camera. The same viewpoint vector v inherently defines the pose of the camera as well, considering it provides the distance between the head and mobile device providing the camera viewpoint.).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021) in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000) and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017), and in further view of Saragih (Pub. No. US 2022/0237843 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, the method of Claim 13 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches generating, based on the texture map and the 3D mesh, a view of the subject illuminated by a synthetic light source (Chen, Figure 1 and 2 demonstrate generating a view of a subject illuminated by a synthetic light source using a texture map and 3d mesh derived from stage and self-images).
Chen as modified does not teach a view of the subject illuminated by a synthetic light source associated with an environment in an immerse reality (IR) application.
However, Saragih teaches generating an expression-dependent texture map and view-dependent texture for the subject derived from images, where lighting configurations can be selected to get a view of the subject illuminated by a synthetic light source, wherein the synthetic light source is associated with an environment in an immerse reality (IR) application (Figure 12 demonstrates a pipeline, in which a step is to “Generate, based on the expression-dependent texture map and the view-dependent texture map, a view of the subject illuminated by a light source selected from an environment in an immersive reality application”);
Chen as modified and Saragih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rendering synthetically relit images of a subject using textures and 3D meshes. A common motivation within the art is to model how light visually effects the appearance of a subject through the use of textures and 3D meshes; a commonly known application for 3D modeling is for use in virtual applications, such as IR. Hence, one ordinarily skilled in the art would be motivated to apply synthetic lighting to a model within the context of a source of synthetic lighting in an IR application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a 3D mesh and texture map of a subject from stage images and mobile capture for use in rendering a view of a subject illuminated by a synthetic light source of Chen as modified with the motivation and teachings related to immersive reality application of Saragih to yield the predictable result of rendering images of subjects by using a 3D mesh and texture map derived from captured images, and synthetically illuminating them with regards to an environment in an IR application.
Regarding Claim 15, the method of Claim 14 is rejected over Chen as modified.
Chen as modified teaches providing a view of the subject (Chen Figure 1, Figure 2)
to the IR application running on a headset (Saragih, Figure 12).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sevastopolskiy (US 20220157014 A1), in view of Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017) and Liu (Head Pose Estimation through Keypoints Matching between Reconstructed 3D Face Model and 2D Image, 2021), and in further view of Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021).
Regarding Claim 20, the method of Claim 16 is rejected over Sevastopolskiy as modified.
Sevastopolskiy as modified does not teach using a plurality of cameras and a plurality of light sources to provide a uniform illumination to capture at least some of the plurality of images of the subject.
However, Chen teaches using a plurality of cameras and a plurality of light sources to provide a uniform illumination to capture at least some of the plurality of images of the subject (Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images at 1334×2048 / 90 fps and a total of 460 white LED lights … There are 50 different lighting patterns and one fully-lit pattern. We record a total of 13 minutes video sequence of one subject”).
Sevastopolskiy as modified and Chen are considered analogous in the art with respect to forming 3D representations of a subject via collected 2D images. A motivation in the art for learning models that generate 3D representations of subjects through images is to diversify data collection for testing purposes to allow the model to be able to generalize more efficiently. Furthermore, Chen utilizes both mobile device captures and a dedicated camera set up that is able to capture subjects in uniform illumination to obtain images (Section 4.1: “We recorded our light-stage data in a calibrated multi-view light-stage consisting of 40 machine vision cameras capable of synchronously capturing HDR images at 1334×2048 / 90 fps and a total of 460 white LED lights … There are 50 different lighting patterns and one fully-lit pattern. We record a total of 13 minutes video sequence of one subject; Section 4.1: “The in-the-wild video test were gathered using the frontal camera of an iPhone. We captured videos for 10 subjects. We collected around 5 video clips for each subject, performing different facial expressions and head movements, under various lighting conditions and environments”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of collecting images via a mobile device of Sevastopolskiy as modified with the more detailed method of collecting images via a mobile device and a plurality of cameras and light sources under uniform illumination of Chen; Doing so would yield the predictable result of a comprehensive image data collection method that would improve the results of a learning model that is used to generate a 3D representation of a subject.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, page 7-8, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16, 17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by amended independent Claim 16 (amended to further read: “retrieving a second plurality of images of the subject with respect to a moving point source light; and verifying the plurality of synthetic views based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured in the second plurality of images”), and is made in view of Sevastopolskiy (US 20220157014 A1), Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017) and Liu (Head Pose Estimation through Keypoints Matching between Reconstructed 3D Face Model and 2D Image, 2021). Dependent claims of independent Claim 16 are similarly rejected. Refer to the Rejections section for in depth analysis.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, page 8-9, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 7-9, 11-13, 14-15, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a)(1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by amended independent Claim 1 (amended to further read: “and a third processing stage for verifying the relightable model based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured from the head of the subiect”) and independent Claim 11 (amended to further read: “verifying the 3D mesh of the head of the subject based on analyzing a plurality of key points captured from the head of the subject”). The rejection of independent Claim 1 is made in view of Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021), in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000), Lombardi (Deep Appearance Models for Face Rendering, 2018), and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017). The rejection of independent Claim 11 is made in view of Chen (High-fidelity Face Tracking for AR/VR via Deep Lighting Adaptation, 2021) in view of Debevec (Acquiring the Reflectance Field of a Human Face, 2000), and Kakadiaris (3D-2D face recognition with pose and illumination normalization, 2017). Dependent claims of independent Claims 1 and 11 are similarly rejected. Refer to the Rejections section for in depth analysis.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND CHUN LAM LI/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614