DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (Pub. No.: US 20150230308 A1) in view of Nishizono (Pub. No.: US 20160234893 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches an electronic device (FIG. 4, AC LED driving circuit 100) connected between a power source (FIG. 4, AC source 111) and a lighting load (FIG. 4, an LED lighting unit 121), the electronic device comprising:
dimmer circuitry (FIG. 4, Phase Cut dimmer) converting an alternating current (AC) power signal (FIG. 4, AC source) provided by the power source into a load power signal (FIG. 4, AC signal converted to DC signal by Bridge diodes 113) consumed by the lighting load (FIG. 4, ILEDa); and
feedback circuitry (paragraph [0047], “a Voltage-Controlled Current Source (VCCS) 131, a common resistor 132, and a reference voltage supply unit 133”) generating a feedback signal for controlling a switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry converting the AC power signal into the load power signal (paragraph [0051], “the reference voltage supply unit 133, the common resistor 132 Rs, and the VCCS 131 form the dimmer driving unit 130 in the form of a negative feedback circuit. In other words, the output voltage of the VCCS 131 connected in series with the common resistor 132 is input as a negative (-) voltage to the VCCS 131, so that the current supplied from the rectification circuit 113 to the LED driving unit 120 is included in the negative feedback path of the dimmer driving unit 130”).
Shin does not disclose feedback signal for controlling a switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry.
Nishizono teaches feedback signal for controlling a switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry (paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac. The dimmer 10 is configured to control the phase of a signal (waveform) of supplied AC voltage to output a drive voltage. In other words, the dimmer 10 is a phase control type dimmer and controls the on-phase angle (on-time) of the switching device 11 per half period of the AC voltage signal, thereby outputting a drive voltage which is the AC voltage whose duty cycle has been changed”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin in view of Nishizono to incorporate a switching timing used by the dimmer for controlling the on-phase angle of the switching device 11 supplied with an AC voltage (Nishizono, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Shin as modified above further teaches the dimmer circuitry comprises a transistor for switching the AC power signal (Nishizono paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac”) according to the feedback signal generated by the feedback circuitry (Nishizono , paragraph [0027], “The load current Ix supplied to the LED illumination 90 is fed back as a feedback current If to the control circuit 200 and the dimmer 10 via the constant current circuit 80”).
Regarding claim 3, Shin as modified above further teaches a switching timing of the transistor is determined according to the feedback signal circuitry (Nishizono, paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac” and paragraph [0027], “The load current Ix supplied to the LED illumination 90 is fed back as a feedback current If to the control circuit 200 and the dimmer 10 via the constant current circuit 80”).
Regarding claim 9, Shin as modified above further teaches the feedback circuitry determines a current flowing between the dimmer circuitry and the load (Shin, paragraph [0051], “current ILEDa supplied to the LED driving unit 120 is included in the negative feedback path of the dimmer driving unit 130, the value of current I_HOLD flowing through the VCCS 131 is reflected in the value of ILEDa”).
Regarding claim 10, Shin as modified above further teaches the feedback signal is determined according to the current sensing between the dimmer circuitry and the load (Shin, paragraph [0051], “current ILEDa supplied to the LED driving unit 120 is included in the negative feedback path of the dimmer driving unit 130, the value of current I_HOLD flowing through the VCCS 131 is reflected in the value of ILEDa”).
Regarding claim 16, Shin teaches method for dimmer circuitry (FIG. 4, Phase Cut dimmer) controlling an alternating current (AC) power signal (FIG. 4, AC source 111) provided to an electrical load (FIG. 4, an LED lighting unit 121), the method comprising:
converting, by the dimmer circuitry, the AC power signal into a load power signal consumed by the electrical load (FIG. 4, AC signal converted to DC signal by Bridge diodes 113); and
providing a feedback signal, generated by feedback circuitry converting the AC power signal into the load power signal (paragraph [0051], “the reference voltage supply unit 133, the common resistor 132 Rs, and the VCCS 131 form the dimmer driving unit 130 in the form of a negative feedback circuit. In other words, the output voltage of the VCCS 131 connected in series with the common resistor 132 is input as a negative (-) voltage to the VCCS 131, so that the current supplied from the rectification circuit 113 to the LED driving unit 120 is included in the negative feedback path of the dimmer driving unit 130”).
Shin does not disclose feedback signal for controlling a switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry.
Nishizono teaches feedback signal for controlling a switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry (paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac. The dimmer 10 is configured to control the phase of a signal (waveform) of supplied AC voltage to output a drive voltage. In other words, the dimmer 10 is a phase control type dimmer and controls the on-phase angle (on-time) of the switching device 11 per half period of the AC voltage signal, thereby outputting a drive voltage which is the AC voltage whose duty cycle has been changed”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin in view of Nishizono to incorporate a switching timing used by the dimmer for controlling the on-phase angle of the switching device 11 supplied with an AC voltage (Nishizono, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 17, Shin as modified above further teaches sensing, by the feedback circuitry, an amount of current flowing from the dimmer circuitry to the electrical load; and generating the feedback signal according to the current flowing from the dimmer circuitry to the electrical load (paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac. The dimmer 10 is configured to control the phase of a signal (waveform) of supplied AC voltage to output a drive voltage. In other words, the dimmer 10 is a phase control type dimmer and controls the on-phase angle (on-time) of the switching device 11 per half period of the AC voltage signal, thereby outputting a drive voltage which is the AC voltage whose duty cycle has been changed”)..
Regarding claim 18, Shin as modified above further teaches switching, by a transistor included in the dimmer circuitry (Nishizono paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac”), the AC power signal on and off according to the feedback signal provided by the feedback circuitry); and generating the load power signal according to the switching of the AC power signal Nishizono, paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac” and paragraph [0027], “The load current Ix supplied to the LED illumination 90 is fed back as a feedback current If to the control circuit 200 and the dimmer 10 via the constant current circuit 80”).
Regarding claim 19, Shin as modified above further teaches determining a switching timing of the transistor according to the feedback signal Nishizono, paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac” and paragraph [0027], “The load current Ix supplied to the LED illumination 90 is fed back as a feedback current If to the control circuit 200 and the dimmer 10 via the constant current circuit 80”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fowler (Pub. No.: US 20230009890 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Shin teaches limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose
the feedback circuitry comprises resistor divider circuitry including at least two feedback resistors respectively connected between the load and respective transistors.
Fowler teaches the feedback circuitry comprises resistor divider circuitry including at least two feedback resistors respectively connected between the load and respective transistors (FIG. 28 and paragraph [0022], “a resistor voltage divider output 28. The bias resistor circuit 26 provides a voltage offset to the non-linear OPAMP circuit for compatibility with the LED driver feedback path”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin in view of Fowler to incorporate feedback circuitry comprises resistor divider circuitry in order to modify the LED driver current in order to linearize gradual dimming of a LED light bulb (Fowler, paragraph [0023])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Isaacs et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170127501 A1), hereafter Isaacs.
Regarding claim 12, Shin teaches limitations of claim1,but does not explicitly disclose the feedback circuitry comprises a Hall effect sensor.
Isaacs teaches the feedback circuitry comprises a Hall effect sensor (FIG. 4, Hall Effect sensors 435a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin in view of Isaacs to incorporate Hall effect sensor as Hall effect sensors offer significant advantages including a long lifespan due to their contactless nature, high reliability and durability in harsh environments with resistance to dust, dirt, moisture, and vibrations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest a lighting apparatus comprising “generating a feedback signal for controlling any of a voltage value, a timing, and a rate of change of a voltage applied to a gate of a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); and controlling a transition through a threshold voltage of the MOSFET gate according to the feedback signal.”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Dependent claims 14-15 are allowed by virtue of its dependency.
Claims 4-8 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the electronic device of claim 3, comprising “wherein the source terminal is connected to the AC power source and the drain terminal is connected to the lighting load, and wherein a voltage applied to the gate terminal of the MOSFET is varied according to the feedback signal”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Dependent claims 5-8 are also objected by virtue of its dependency.
Regarding claim 20, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the vehicle cabin lighting system according to Claim 1, comprising “varying a voltage applied to a gate terminal of the transistor according to the feedback signal, wherein the voltage applied to the gate terminal switches on and off the AC power signal flowing between source and drain terminals of the transistor”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Art Rejections:
Applicant argues that, “the combination of Shin and Nishizono fail to teach, inter alia, both dimmer circuitry converting an AC power signal into a load power signal and feedback circuitry generating a feedback signal for controlling switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry, as claimed. a voltage-controlled current source, common resistor, and reference voltage supply unit configured to compensate for deficiency in current supplied to LEDs. However, Shin does not disclose dimmer circuitry that converts the AC power signal into a load power signal as claimed. Rather, Shin's dimmer receives AC voltage from an external AC power source and the rectification circuit rectifies the dimmer's output voltage. The dimmer in Shin is a phase control device that modifies the incoming AC signal, not circuitry that converts AC power into load power for the lighting load”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Nishizono teaches dimmer circuitry that converts the AC power signal into a load power signal (paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 is configured to control the phase of a signal (waveform) of supplied AC voltage to output a drive voltage”)
Motivation to combine the teaching of Shin and Nishizono is sufficient to establish prima facie case of obviousness as we must look not only into the field of endeavor, but also into the purpose or problem addressed. Nishizono does remedy the deficiency of Shin by incorporating a dimmer circuitry that converts AC power into load power for the lighting load (paragraph [0022], “The dimmer 10 is configured to control the phase of a signal (waveform) of supplied AC voltage to output a drive voltage”, a drive voltage is the load power here).
Applicant further argues that, “claims recite dimmer circuitry that performs the power conversion function, with feedback controlling the switching timing of that conversion process. In contrast, both Shin and Nishizono disclose external phase-control dimmers that modify the incoming AC signal, with subsequent circuitry performing power conversion and current control. The feedback in these references maintains dimmer stability or current levels, not switching timing control for power conversion performed by dimmer circuitry”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As combination of Shin and Nishizono teaches feedback circuitry generating a feedback signal for controlling a switching timing used by the dimmer circuitry converting the AC power signal into the load power signal (Nishizono, paragraph [0022], “"The dimmer 10 includes a switching device 11 such as a triac. The dimmer 10 is configured to control the phase of a signal (waveform) of supplied AC voltage to output a drive voltage. In other words, the dimmer 10 is a phase control type dimmer and controls the on-phase angle (on-time) of the switching device 11 per half period of the AC voltage signal, thereby outputting a drive voltage which is the AC voltage whose duty cycle has been changed", here controls the on-phase angle (on-time) of the switching device 11 per half period of the AC voltage signal is feedback signal).
For the above-mentioned reasons, it appears that the rejections of claim 1 & 16 should be sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M KAISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831