DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The Applicant states they have no record of the restriction requirement and election of claims 1-16 without traverse.
The Applicant had an interview with Examiner Vishal Patel on 3/19/2025. The instant Examiner misinterpreted the form, and assumed that even thought it was not mailed, that it was part of the visible file wrapper. A copy of the restriction and form is provided below:
Applicant appears to have changed their mind, and is arguing the election with traverse, and states that there is no search burden. Since a different field of search (i.e. classification), different search strategies, and different search queries are needed when examiner a process versus a product.
So as to have a clear prosecution record, a second non-final office action is being provided to ensure the restriction is properly on the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stewart et al (U.S. Patent 11053615; already of record, herein Stewart). Regarding claims 1, 2, and 16:
Stewart teaches impregnating a shaped knit fabric with a settable impregnate which is cured (column 14, line 64 through column 15, line 10). Stewart teaches this make a composite seal (Abstract), the knit fabric is a fire barrier textile (firewall: column 6, lines 55-67), and the settable impregnate is a liquid (column 15, lines 5-7).
Regarding the result of the process, Stewart explicitly states that the product can be used for thermally resistant seals, gaskets, expansion joints, blankets, wiring insulation, tubing/ductwork, piping sleeves, firewalls, insulation for thrust reversers, engine struts and composite fan cowls. Thus Stewart teaches fire and fluid barrier capabilities in the form of at least gaskets and firewalls. Additionally see MPEP 2112.01 I; even if Stewart did not explicitly teach the claimed use, since the materials and structure are the same as claimed, the end result of Stewart would have the needed capabilities.
Regarding claim 4:
Stewart teaches that the forming is performed prior to the applying (column 14, line 64 through column 15, line 10).
Regarding claims 5 and 6:
Stewart teaches the knit fabric is constructed (prior to the applying) out of one or more material (e.g. metal in the Abstract, metal and ceramic in column 14, lines 46-63). One of said material is the first subset.
Regarding claim 7:
Stewart teaches flat knitting the textile (column 5, lines 56-57).
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
As seen in Figures 5-7, knitting of one material is performed around a second subset of material which is in a predetermined pattern (wire inlay 520, 620, 720).
Regarding claim 10:
The shape of the wire inlay (520, 620, 720) in Figures 5-7 helps define the spring rate for the seal.
Regarding claim 12:
Stewart teaches the second subset comprises a metallic wire (column 12, lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 13:
Stewart teaches heat treating the metal wire to strengthen the material (column 14, lines 46-63)
Regarding claim 14:
On average the second subset has a larger diameter than the first subset (column 10, lines 28-35 and column 12, lines 21-34)
Regarding claim 15:
As seen in Figures 5-7, the density of the knitted material varies along the length due to the wire inlay (520, 620, 720).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart, in view of Huffa et al (U.S. PGPub 2019/0344477; herein Huffa). Regarding claim 3:
As previously discussed, Stewart teaches forming the knit into a shape prior to applying the fluid, but not before. It is noted that Stewart uses the language “may be laid up…prior to impregnation”, thus allowing for the possibility of impregnating before shaping.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huffa teaches that one can do a wet lay-up or a dry lay-up process for the same purpose (paragraph 0029). Wet lay-up is what Stewart teaches, and a dry lay-up is where pre-impregnated material is shaped.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the fluid and then shape, since doing so allows for better penetration of the infiltrating material into the fibers (Huffa, paragraph 0029).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart. Regarding claim 11:
Stewart teaches that the wire knit can be nickel-chromium based alloys (e.g., Inconel® alloys, Inconel® alloy 718), nickel-chromium-molybdenum based alloys, aluminum, stainless steel, such as a low carbon stainless steel, for example, SS316L (column 10, lines 11-20), and that the wire inlays can be selected from the same materials (column 12, lines 21-22) Thus, there is a scenario where the material of the inlay has a higher elastic modulus than that of the mesh.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select the needed material based on the desired properties of the end product, since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious (MPEP 2144.07), and in this instance Stewart teaches that the inlay wire is used to increase the stiffness and strength of the knit (column 10, lines 55-57), thus a skilled artisan would understand the material of the inlay would be a stiffer material with a higher elastic modulus compared to the material of the rest of the knit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the end result of Stewart is not a fire or fluid barrier.
The Examiner disagrees. Stewart explicitly states that the product can be used for thermally resistant seals, gaskets, expansion joints, blankets, wiring insulation, tubing/ductwork, piping sleeves, firewalls, insulation for thrust reversers, engine struts and composite fan cowls. Thus Stewart teaches fire and fluid barrier capabilities in the form of at least gaskets and firewalls. Additionally see MPEP 2112.01 I; even if Stewart did not explicitly teach the claimed use, since the materials and structure are the same as claimed, the end result of Stewart would have the needed capabilities.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743