Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“biasing element” in claim 4, line 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morise (US6572041B2) in view of Ochiai (US20210153487A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morise discloses a line guide mechanism for a spinning reel comprising: a spool (4; Figures 1-2); rotor arms (5, 6) configured to wind fishing line around the spool (4); a support part (8) supported by the rotor arms (5, 6); a line roller (12) disposed on the support part (8) and configured to guide the fishing line onto the spool (4); and a fin (137; Figures 8-9) having a proximal end part (bottom portion of 137 that connects with support part 8 and arm 5) disposed on the support part (8) and a distal end part (137b) facing the line roller (12) and being configured to pivotably move (fin 137 pivots about shaft 30), but fails to teach wherein the fin being configured to pivotably move to prevent damage to the fin when a knot in the fishing line passes through the fin.
Ochiai teaches a similar line guide mechanism and further teaches wherein the fin (17; Figure 4-11) being configured to pivotably move (fin 17 pivots about the insertion groove 23b) when a knot in the fishing line passes through the fin (17; ¶0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the line guide mechanism of Morise to include the fin pivoting due to a knot in the fishing line as taught by Ochiai in order to increase the gap between the line roller and fin to prevent the knot from becoming caught and preventing line breakage; and further include wherein the fin pivotably moves to prevent damage to the fin due to a knot in the fishing line in order to reduce stressing at the tip of the fin to prevent breakage or failure of the fin.
Regarding claim 2, Morise discloses wherein the proximal end part of the fin (137) has a pivot shaft (30) supporting the fin (137) so as to pivotably move with respect to the support part (8).
Regarding claim 3, Morise discloses wherein the pivot shaft (30) is a detachable pin element and supports the fin (137).
Regarding claim 4, Morise discloses wherein the support part (8) has a holding part (39) holding the fin (137) in a holding position in which the distal end part (137a) of the fin (137) faces the line roller (12), and the holding part (39) has a biasing element (column 10, lines 7-43, bail 8 and interlocking nib 39 engages with slot 137c of the fin 137 to pivot the fin 137) configured to bias the fin (137) in a second direction opposite a first direction to guide the fishing line onto the spool (4) around the pivot shaft (30).
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai.
Regarding claim 1, Ochiai discloses a line guide mechanism for a spinning reel comprising: a spool (3; Figure 1); rotor arms (4b, 4c) configured to wind fishing line around the spool (3); a support part (11) supported by the rotor arms (4b, 4c); a line roller (14) disposed on the support part (11) and configured to guide the fishing line onto the spool (3); and a fin (17; Figures 4-11) having a proximal end part (33) disposed on the support part (11) and a distal end part (31) facing the line roller (14) and being configured to pivotably move (fin 17 pivots about the insertion groove 23b) when a knot in the fishing line passes through the fin (17; ¶0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the line guide mechanism of Ochiai to include wherein the fin pivotably moves to prevent damage to the fin due to a knot in the fishing line in order to reduce stressing at the tip of the fin to prevent breakage or failure of the fin.
Regarding claim 5, Ochiai discloses wherein the fin (17) has a connecting portion (area between 31 and 32) disposed between the proximal end part (33) and the distal end part (31) and pivotably connecting the distal end (31) part to the proximal end part (33).
Regarding claim 6, Ochiai discloses wherein the connecting portion (the two reduced step width areas of 31; Figure 8) has an elastically deformable portion (¶0054, upper portion 31 of fin 17 is capable of bending since it is formed of a resin with low rigidity).
Regarding claim 7, Ochiai discloses wherein the fin (17) includes an elastically deformable section (ES; see Ochiai annotated Figure 8 below) connecting a guide part (GP) to the proximal end part (33) so as to pivotably move at a position between the proximal end part (33) and the guide part (GP; ¶0054, upper portion 31 of fin 17 is capable of bending since it is formed of a resin with low rigidity).
Ochiai, Annotated Figure 8
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), in the last two paragraphs of page 4, the applicant argued that a biasing element is an understood structure to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The examiner construed that the biasing element has an undefined structure in which can be broadly interpreted as any device that may differ from the intended purpose and function. For example, the biasing element can be interpreted as a spring, magnet, detent contours, or etc. Therefore, the claim limitation should recite sufficient structure.
Regarding claim 1, in page 5, and first four paragraphs of page 6, the applicant argued that the disclosures of Morise and Ochiai fail to teach a fin having a proximal end part disposed on a support part and a distal end part facing a line roller and being configured to pivotably move to prevent damage to the fin when a knot in a fishing line passes through the fin.
The examiner construed that the disclosure of Morise teaches a fin having a proximal end part disposed on a support part and a distal end part facing a line roller, however, the examiner agrees that the disclosure of Morise fails to teach wherein the fin being configured to pivotably move to prevent damage to the fin when a knot in a fishing line passes through the fin. However, the examiner construed that the disclosure of Ochiai teaches the fin pivoting due to a knot in the fishing line in order to increase the gap between the line roller and fin to prevent the knot from becoming caught and preventing line breakage; since the disclosure of Ochiai increases the gap between the line roller and fin, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to further include wherein the fin pivotably moves to prevent damage to the fin due to a knot in the fishing line in order to reduce stressing at the tip of the fin to prevent breakage or failure of the fin.
The examiner further construed that the disclosure of Ochiai teaches a fin 17 that has an insertion part 33 defining the proximal end part disposed on a groove 23b in the extension part 23 which is integral to the support part 11 and an upper portion 31 of the fin defining the distal end part facing a line roller 14 and being configured to pivotably oscillate within the width of the extension part of the support part when a knot in a fishing line passes through the fin in order to increase the gap between the line roller and fin to prevent the knot from becoming caught and preventing line breakage. Furthermore, as mentioned above, the examiner construed that it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to further include wherein the fin pivotably moves to prevent damage to the fin due to a knot in the fishing line in order to reduce stressing at the tip of the fin to prevent breakage or failure of the fin. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment/argument does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666