Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowert, WO 2016/090282 A1.
As per Claim 42, Kowert teaches one or more integrated circuits (¶ 55; “ASICs”), configured to:
receive sensor data captured using one or more sensors during manual navigation of a vehicle along a driving route (¶¶ 57-58), wherein the one or more sensors are installed in the vehicle and connected to the one or more integrated circuits at the vehicle (¶¶ 58-60);
cause an updated characterization of the driving route to be generated based, at least in part, on the sensor data and a previously generated characterization of the driving route (¶ 37), wherein the previously generate characterization was generated based, at least in part, on previously captured sensor data associated with one or more prior vehicle navigations along the driving route (¶¶ 42-43, 55-56);
cause a confidence value for the updated characterization of the driving route to be determined, wherein the confidence value is determined based, at least in part, on a comparison of the updated characterization with the previously generated characterization (¶¶ 88-90); and
enable autonomous navigation by the vehicle along at least a portion of the driving route according to an evaluation of the confidence value with respect to a threshold value that allows autonomous navigation of the vehicle to be enabled for the driving route (¶¶ 86-87).
As per Claim 49, Kowert teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media (¶ 161), storing program instructions that when executed on or across one or more integrated circuits installed in a vehicle (¶ 55; “ASICs”), cause the one or more integrated circuits to:
obtain sensor data using one or more sensors during manual navigation of a vehicle along a driving route (¶¶ 57-58), wherein the one or more sensors are installed in the vehicle and connected to the one or more integrated circuits at the vehicle (¶¶ 58-60);
cause an updated characterization of the driving route to be generated based, at least in part on the sensor data and a previously generated characterization of the driving route (¶ 37), wherein the previously generate characterization was generated based, at least in part, on previously captured sensor data associated with one or more prior vehicle navigations along the driving route (¶¶ 42-43, 55-56);
cause a confidence value for the updated characterization of the driving route to be determined, wherein the confidence value is determined based, at least in part, on a comparison of the updated characterization with the previously generated characterization (¶¶ 88-90); and
enable autonomous navigation by the vehicle along at least a portion of the driving route according to an evaluation of the confidence value with respect to a threshold value that allows autonomous navigation of the vehicle to be enabled for the driving route (¶¶ 86-87).
As per Claims 43 and 50, Kowert teaches that to cause the updated characterization of the driving route to be generated, the one or more integrated circuits are configured to send the sensor data via a wireless communication to a remote service that generates the updated characterization of the driving route and returns the updated characterization of the driving route via a second wireless communication to the one or more integrated circuits (¶¶ 60, 95).
As per Claims 44 and 51, Kowert teaches that to cause the confidence value for the updated characterization of the driving route to be determined, the one or more integrated circuits are configured to receive the confidence value with the updated characterization of the driving route from the remote service (¶¶ 87-89), wherein the confidence value is determined by the remote service after generating the updated characterization of the driving route (¶¶ 35-36).
As per Claims 45 and 52, Kowert teaches that to cause the updated characterization of the driving route to be generated, the one or more integrated circuits are configured to:
obtain the previously generated characterization of the vehicle route from a remote service via wireless communication (¶¶ 94-95); and
use the previously generated characterization of the vehicle route and the sensor data to generate the updated characterization of the driving route (¶¶ 113-114; to update from route 620 to route 630 as shown in Figure 6).
As per Claims 46 and 53, Kowert teaches that the one or more integrated circuits are further configured to cause a proposal to enable autonomous navigation of the vehicle to be displayed at a display device installed in the vehicle; and wherein the autonomous navigation is enabled responsive to receiving a request that accepts the proposal (¶¶ 113-114).
As per Claims 47 and 54, Kowert teaches that the previously captured sensor data was captured using one or more sensors of another vehicle that navigated the vehicle route (¶¶ 70-72; either within vehicle 302 or vehicle 332 of Figure 3).
As per Claims 48 and 55, Kowert teaches that the previously generated characterization of the vehicle route was generated by another vehicle that navigated the vehicle route (¶ 72).
Double Patenting
Claims 42-55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,451,425 (“the ‘425 patent), over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,402,221 (“the ‘221 patent”), and over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,994,865 (“the ‘865 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘425 patent, the ‘221 patent and the ‘865 patent each claim a method for routing an autonomous vehicle from a starting point to a destination that includes steps of: receiving an initial route wirelessly from a remote service; determining a confidence factor for the received initial route; comparing the confidence factor with an acceptable threshold; and determining whether to follow the received initial route autonomously, or to navigate manually along a different route.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661