DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 and Species a in the reply filed on 07 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 20 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “simple” in claims 1 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “simple” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In claim 2, it is unclear how the connection structure that provides a moment connection can be a flexible moment connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand a moment connection is a rigid connection, thus not able to be flexible.
In claims 7-14, it is unclear how the first brace structure and the clip structure can be coupled via a pin [as in Claims 7 and 10] when claim 1 requires a moment connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand a moment connection is a rigid connection, thus not able to be joined with a pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent # 8,365,476 to Richard et al.
Regarding claim 1, Richard teaches in Figure 6, a beam (200) (Column 5, Line 16) to column (100) (Column 5, Line 16) connection assembly (Column 3, Line 4) for a building [structure (Column 1, Line 25)], comprising: a column (100) having a fixture assembly (300) [gusset plate (Column 5, Lines 16-17)] mounted on a side face of the column (100), and a beam (200) having a fixture assembly (360) [framing angles (Column 6, Line 25)] on an end portion of the beam (200), wherein the fixture assemblies (300/360) are engaged [attached (Column 6, Lines 24-25)] forming a connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) joining the column (100) to the beam (200) at a ninety degree angle, and wherein the connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) provides a moment connection (Column 4, Line 5) between the column (100) and the beam (200) when being assembled with additional beams and columns [Figure 1A], and provides a simple connection (Column 6, Lines 47-48) between the column (100) and the beam (200) when the building [structure] is fully constructed [Figure 1A].
Regarding claim 2, Richard teaches in Figure 6, the connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) is a flexible moment connection (Column 6, Lines 58-59).
Regarding claim 3, Richard teaches in Figure 6, that transmission [force in beams and columns (Column 4, Lines 14-15)] of bending moment (Column 4, Line 19) between the column (100) and beam (200) is delayed [reducing the moment (Column 4, Lines 45-46)] for an initial rotational range (Column 4, Line 18).
Regarding claim 4, Richard teaches in Figure 6, a rotational stiffness (Column 4, Line 8) of the connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) is negligible over an initial rotational range [the bolt is only snug thus allowing slip (Column 5, Lines 29-31)], then increases [when it reaches the end of the slot (Column 5, Lines 66-67)] after the initial rotational range.
Regarding claim 5, Richard teaches in Figure 2, the beam (200) is an I-beam [see Figure 8] having a web portion (204) (Column 5, Lines 24-25) connecting an upper flange (201) (Column 5, Line 24) to a lower flange (202) (Column 5, Line 24), the connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) transferring shear (Column 3, Line 49) and rotational (Column 4, Lines 6-8) loads through the beam web (204) and at least one of the flanges (201).
Regarding claim 6, Richard teaches in Figure 6, the fixture assembly (300) [gusset plate (Column 5, Lines 16-17)] on the column (100) includes a clip structure [the gusset plate itself] and the fixture assembly (360) [framing angles (Column 6, Line 25)] on the beam (200) includes a first brace structure [the framing angle itself] mounted on the upper flange (201), the first brace structure [the gusset plate] being coupled to the clip structure [the framing angle].
Regarding claim 7, Richard teaches in Figure 6, each of the first brace structure [the framing angle] and the clip structure [the gusset plate] has at least one aperture (362) (Column 6, Lines 25-27), the first brace structure [the framing angle] and the clip structure [the gusset plate] being coupled via a pin [bolt (Column 6, Line 28)] extending through the apertures (362).
Regarding claim 8, Richard teaches in Figure 6, an elongate axis of the pin through the apertures (362) is oriented horizontally.
Regarding claim 9, Richard teaches in Figure 6, one of the apertures (362) is elongated along an axis parallel to a long axis of the beam (Column 6, Line 50).
Regarding claim 10, Richard teaches in Figure 6, each of the first brace structure [the framing angle] and the clip structure [the gusset plate] are connected by a pin [bolt (Column 6, Line 28)] extending through a hole (362) (Column 6, Lines 25-27) defined in the first brace structure [the framing angle] and the clip structure [the gusset plate].
Regarding claim 12, Richard teaches the hole has a greater width than the pin (Column 6, Line 50), as measured parallel to a long axis of the beam.
Regarding claim 13, Richard teaches in Figure 6, the first brace structure [the framing angle] includes two angle iron members [framing angle] mounted on the upper flange (201), each of the angle iron members (360) having an aperture (362) for receiving a pin [bolt (Column 6, Line 28)] for locking engagement [tightened to snug (Column 6, Line 29)] between the first brace structure [the framing angle] and the clip structure [the gusset plate].
Regarding claim 14, Richard teaches in Figure 5, a second brace structure (206) being mounted on the lower flange portion (202), the second brace structure (206) being coupled to the clip structure [the gusset plate] through the column (100) and beam (200).
Regarding claim 20, Richard teaches in Figure 6, a beam (200) (Column 5, Line 16) to column (100) (Column 5, Line 16) connection assembly (Column 3, Line 4) for a building [structure (Column 1, Line 25)], comprising: a column (100) having a fixture assembly (300) [gusset plate (Column 5, Lines 16-17)] mounted on a side face of the column (100), and a beam (200) having a fixture assembly (360) [framing angles (Column 6, Line 25)] on an end portion of the beam (200), wherein the fixture assemblies (300/360) are engaged [attached (Column 6, Lines 24-25)] forming a connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) joining the column (100) to the beam (200) at a ninety degree angle, and wherein the connection structure (Column 6, Lines 47-48) includes means for providing a moment connection (Column 4, Line 5) when the column (100) and the beam (200) are being assembled with additional beams and columns [Figure 1A], and providing a simple connection (Column 6, Lines 47-48) between the column (100) and the beam (200) when the building [structure] is fully constructed [Figure 1A].
Conclusion
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635