Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed 01/21/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, seepages 9-10, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments to claims 1 and 2 have overcome the rejection. The rejection of claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 01/21/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Ramirez et al. US 20240083414 A1 (“Garcia Ramirez”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claim 1, which now recites features that are similar to the now-canceled claim 5, is distinct from the disclosure of Garcia Ramirez due to the fact that claim 5 was previously rejected as a repeat of the process in FIG. 6. Applicant argues that the features in amended claim 1 are not a repeat of FIG. 6, although they provide very little to support this argument. Applicant argues on pages 11 that the claim features recite “in response, autonomously moving the vehicle to a third location with a charging point based on additional mapping data from the mapping application”. However, the steps of FIG. 6 can be repeated as many times as necessary to find the most optimal parking spot. From Ramirez: “[i]n step 88, the largest available energy savings (associated with a best one of the alternate parking spots (e.g., the lowest sum of first and second energy consumption) is examined to determine whether it is sufficiently better than remaining in the current parking spot” [paragraph 32]. Whether this is done to find a second or a third parking spot is included within the details of the disclosure. New potential alternate parking spots are identified in step 83, which means that a new spot can be identified after the first or the second. Without further explanation from the applicant as to how the claims are distinct from the disclosure of Ramirez, the examiner is maintaining the previous 102 rejection.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 01/21/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 2-4, 9-11, and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that if the independent claims are allowable over Garcia Ramirez et al. US 20240083414 A1 (“Garcia Ramirez”), then the dependent claims would also be allowable. However, since the independent claims are not allowable over Garcia Ramirez, as discussed in further detail above and below, the applicant’s arguments regarding claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 are not persuasive, and so the claim rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 12-13, 15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Ramirez et al. US 20240083414 A1 (“Garcia Ramirez”).
Regarding Claim 1. Garcia Ramirez teaches a method performed by a vehicle, the method comprising:
determining that a first ambient temperature of a location of the vehicle is below a predetermined threshold based on sensor data obtained by the vehicle;
identifying a second location which is warmer than the location based on mapping data from a mapping application associated with the vehicle;
autonomously moving the vehicle to the second location (A vehicle shown in FIG. 5 has sensors including a cabin temperature sensor at 62 [paragraph 29]. FIG. 6 shows a flowchart describing one preferred method of the invention including a parking procedure. In step 80, a determination is made for the estimate of induced vehicle cabin temperature at the estimated time at which the occupant will return to the vehicle with the vehicle remaining in the current parking spot. In step 81, a determination is made of the difference between the estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature obtained in step 80 and a desired cabin temperature (e.g., a preset temperature that the occupant is attempting to achieve). In step 82, a determination is made for an original HVAC pulldown estimate (or original HVAC buildup estimate). In step 83, potential alternate parking spots are identified. In step 84, a determination is made for the estimate of induced vehicle cabin temperatures at the estimated time the occupant will return to the vehicle at each of the identified alternate parking spots. In step 85, a first energy consumption (relocated HVAC pulldown or buildup estimate) is determined for each of the identified alternate parking spots. In step 86, a second energy consumption for relocating the vehicle is determined for each of the identified alternate parking spots [paragraph 31]. During cold winter weather, an opposite situation exists, namely, that it may be desirable to absorb solar energy. The internal temperature of a vehicle parked in sunlight rather than in shade can naturally increase above the outside ambient temperature, enabling the vehicle to be heated to a comfortable temperature more quickly and efficiently when driving begins. Furthermore, it can minimize or avoid the use of heated seats and steering wheels, also conserving energy [paragraph 5], which means that the desired cabin temperature can be preset to a certain level of warmth, avoiding spots that are below the desired warm temperature);
determining that a second ambient temperature of the second location is below a second predetermined threshold based on additional sensor data obtained by the vehicle at the second location; and
in response, autonomously moving the vehicle to a third location with a charging point based on additional mapping data from the mapping application (This is a repeat of the process in FIG. 6, shown by an arrow going from steps 88 and 89 back up to step 83. In FIG. 1, a similar process is shown, which can return to step 12, where alternate parking spots are checked for availability regarding temperature [paragraphs 20-21]. There is no limit to the number of times this cycle can repeat, so moving to a third location with a charging point is within the scope of this disclosure).
Regarding Claim 6. Garcia Ramirez teaches the method of claim 1.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the method comprises:
receiving an instruction from a mobile device associated with the vehicle; and
autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location based on the instruction from the mobile device (The vehicle can autonomously relocate to a located optimal spot [paragraph 8]. This is performed in step 89 of FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 8. Garcia Ramirez teaches a vehicle, comprising:
a processor that executes instructions stored in a memory to configure the processor to:
determine that a first ambient temperature of a location of the vehicle is below a predetermined threshold based on sensor data obtained by the vehicle;
in response, identify a second location that is warmer than the location based on mapping data from a mapping application associated with the vehicle;
autonomously move the vehicle to the second location (FIG. 6 shows a flowchart describing one preferred method of the invention including a parking procedure. In step 80, a determination is made for the estimate of induced vehicle cabin temperature at the estimated time at which the occupant will return to the vehicle with the vehicle remaining in the current parking spot. In step 81, a determination is made of the difference between the estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature obtained in step 80 and a desired cabin temperature (e.g., a preset temperature that the occupant is attempting to achieve). In step 82, a determination is made for an original HVAC pulldown estimate (or original HVAC buildup estimate). In step 83, potential alternate parking spots are identified. In step 84, a determination is made for the estimate of induced vehicle cabin temperatures at the estimated time the occupant will return to the vehicle at each of the identified alternate parking spots. In step 85, a first energy consumption (relocated HVAC pulldown or buildup estimate) is determined for each of the identified alternate parking spots. In step 86, a second energy consumption for relocating the vehicle is determined for each of the identified alternate parking spots [paragraph 31]. During cold winter weather, an opposite situation exists, namely, that it may be desirable to absorb solar energy. The internal temperature of a vehicle parked in sunlight rather than in shade can naturally increase above the outside ambient temperature, enabling the vehicle to be heated to a comfortable temperature more quickly and efficiently when driving begins. Furthermore, it can minimize or avoid the use of heated seats and steering wheels, also conserving energy [paragraph 5], which means that the desired cabin temperature can be preset to a certain level of warmth, avoiding spots that are below the desired warm temperature);
determine that a second ambient temperature of the second location is below a second predetermined threshold based on additional sensor data obtained by the vehicle at the second location; and
in response, autonomously move the vehicle to a third location with a charging point based on additional mapping data from the mapping application (This is a repeat of the process in FIG. 6, shown by an arrow going from steps 88 and 89 back up to step 83. In FIG. 1, a similar process is shown, which can return to step 12, where alternate parking spots are checked for availability regarding temperature [paragraphs 20-21]. There is no limit to the number of times this cycle can repeat, so moving to a third location with a charging point is within the scope of this disclosure).
Regarding Claim 13. Garcia Ramirez teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive an instruction from a mobile device associated with the vehicle; and
autonomously move the vehicle back to the location based on the instruction from the mobile device (The vehicle can autonomously relocate to a located optimal spot [paragraph 8]. This is performed in step 89 of FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 15. Garcia Ramirez teaches a computer-readable medium comprising instructions (implied by the nature of the controller; the controller must be storing instructions for its programing in order to operate) that, which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform:
determining that a first ambient temperature of a location of the vehicle is below a predetermined threshold based on sensor data obtained by the vehicle;
in response, identifying a second location that is warmer than the location based on mapping data from a mapping application associated with the vehicle;
autonomously moving the vehicle to the second location (FIG. 6 shows a flowchart describing one preferred method of the invention including a parking procedure. In step 80, a determination is made for the estimate of induced vehicle cabin temperature at the estimated time at which the occupant will return to the vehicle with the vehicle remaining in the current parking spot. In step 81, a determination is made of the difference between the estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature obtained in step 80 and a desired cabin temperature (e.g., a preset temperature that the occupant is attempting to achieve). In step 82, a determination is made for an original HVAC pulldown estimate (or original HVAC buildup estimate). In step 83, potential alternate parking spots are identified. In step 84, a determination is made for the estimate of induced vehicle cabin temperatures at the estimated time the occupant will return to the vehicle at each of the identified alternate parking spots. In step 85, a first energy consumption (relocated HVAC pulldown or buildup estimate) is determined for each of the identified alternate parking spots. In step 86, a second energy consumption for relocating the vehicle is determined for each of the identified alternate parking spots [paragraph 31]. During cold winter weather, an opposite situation exists, namely, that it may be desirable to absorb solar energy. The internal temperature of a vehicle parked in sunlight rather than in shade can naturally increase above the outside ambient temperature, enabling the vehicle to be heated to a comfortable temperature more quickly and efficiently when driving begins. Furthermore, it can minimize or avoid the use of heated seats and steering wheels, also conserving energy [paragraph 5], which means that the desired cabin temperature can be preset to a certain level of warmth, avoiding spots that are below the desired warm temperature);
determining that a second ambient temperature of the second location is below a second predetermined threshold based on additional sensor data obtained by the vehicle at the second location; and
in response, autonomously moving the vehicle to a third location with a charging point based on additional mapping data from the mapping application (This is a repeat of the process in FIG. 6, shown by an arrow going from steps 88 and 89 back up to step 83. In FIG. 1, a similar process is shown, which can return to step 12, where alternate parking spots are checked for availability regarding temperature [paragraphs 20-21]. There is no limit to the number of times this cycle can repeat, so moving to a third location with a charging point is within the scope of this disclosure).
Regarding Claim 20. Garcia Ramirez teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform:
receiving an instruction from a mobile device associated with the vehicle; and
autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location based on the instruction from the mobile device (The vehicle can autonomously relocate to a located optimal spot [paragraph 8]. This is performed in step 89 of FIG. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Ramirez et al. US 20240083414 A1 (“Garcia Ramirez”) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Dudar US 20200172088 A1 (“Dudar”).
Regarding Claim 2. Garcia Ramirez teaches the method of claim 1.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the identifying the second location comprises:
identifying a plurality of locations that provide parking; and
identifying distances to the plurality of locations from the location based on the mapping data; and
identifying the second location from among the plurality of locations based on a distance to the second location (A data acquisition system is configured to detect a current vehicle orientation of the vehicle apparatus in a current parking spot, identify shaded areas and unshaded areas in a vicinity of the vehicle apparatus, and identify one or more alternate parking spots to which the vehicle apparatus can be relocated. A controller is configured to (a) estimate induced vehicle cabin temperatures for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots based on respective orientations, (b) estimate a first energy consumption of the climate control system for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots to achieve a desired vehicle cabin temperature for each respective estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature, (c) estimate a second energy consumption needed to relocate the vehicle apparatus from the current parking spot to each of the one or more alternate parking spots, (d) compare the first energy consumption corresponding to the current parking spot to a sum of the first energy consumption and the second energy consumption for each of the one or more alternate parking spots, and (e) if the one or more alternate parking spots has a corresponding sum less than the first energy consumption of the current parking spot, then transmit a command to relocate the vehicle apparatus accordingly [paragraph 13]. Further, in step 12 of FIG. 1, alternate parking spots can be spots within a predetermined distance [paragraph 20]).
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
The parking locations provide covered parking.
However, Dudar teaches:
The parking locations provide covered parking (A system for identifying new locations for If the ambient temperature at the final destination is lower than the threshold for another vehicle, it may be commanded to be parked indoors [paragraph 8]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with the parking locations provide covered parking as taught by Dudar so as to allow the system to work with covered parking lots as well as uncovered lots.
Regarding Claim 9. Garcia Ramirez teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein, when the processor identifies the second location, the processor is configured to:
identify a plurality of locations that provide parking; and
identify distances to the plurality of locations from the location based on the mapping data; and
identify the second location from among the plurality of locations based on a distance to the second location (A data acquisition system is configured to detect a current vehicle orientation of the vehicle apparatus in a current parking spot, identify shaded areas and unshaded areas in a vicinity of the vehicle apparatus, and identify one or more alternate parking spots to which the vehicle apparatus can be relocated. A controller is configured to (a) estimate induced vehicle cabin temperatures for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots based on respective orientations, (b) estimate a first energy consumption of the climate control system for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots to achieve a desired vehicle cabin temperature for each respective estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature, (c) estimate a second energy consumption needed to relocate the vehicle apparatus from the current parking spot to each of the one or more alternate parking spots, (d) compare the first energy consumption corresponding to the current parking spot to a sum of the first energy consumption and the second energy consumption for each of the one or more alternate parking spots, and (e) if the one or more alternate parking spots has a corresponding sum less than the first energy consumption of the current parking spot, then transmit a command to relocate the vehicle apparatus accordingly [paragraph 13]. Further, in step 12 of FIG. 1, alternate parking spots can be spots within a predetermined distance [paragraph 20]).
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
The parking locations provide covered parking.
However, Dudar teaches:
The parking locations provide covered parking (A system for identifying new locations for If the ambient temperature at the final destination is lower than the threshold for another vehicle, it may be commanded to be parked indoors [paragraph 8]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with the parking locations provide covered parking as taught by Dudar so as to allow the system to work with covered parking lots as well as uncovered lots.
Regarding Claim 16. Garcia Ramirez teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the identifying of the second location comprises:
identifying a plurality of locations that provide parking; and
identifying distances to the plurality of locations from the location based on the mapping data; and
identifying the second location from among the plurality of locations based on a distance to the second location (A data acquisition system is configured to detect a current vehicle orientation of the vehicle apparatus in a current parking spot, identify shaded areas and unshaded areas in a vicinity of the vehicle apparatus, and identify one or more alternate parking spots to which the vehicle apparatus can be relocated. A controller is configured to (a) estimate induced vehicle cabin temperatures for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots based on respective orientations, (b) estimate a first energy consumption of the climate control system for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots to achieve a desired vehicle cabin temperature for each respective estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature, (c) estimate a second energy consumption needed to relocate the vehicle apparatus from the current parking spot to each of the one or more alternate parking spots, (d) compare the first energy consumption corresponding to the current parking spot to a sum of the first energy consumption and the second energy consumption for each of the one or more alternate parking spots, and (e) if the one or more alternate parking spots has a corresponding sum less than the first energy consumption of the current parking spot, then transmit a command to relocate the vehicle apparatus accordingly [paragraph 13]. Further, in step 12 of FIG. 1, alternate parking spots can be spots within a predetermined distance [paragraph 20]).
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
The parking locations provide covered parking.
However, Dudar teaches:
The parking locations provide covered parking (A system for identifying new locations for If the ambient temperature at the final destination is lower than the threshold for another vehicle, it may be commanded to be parked indoors [paragraph 8]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with the parking locations provide covered parking as taught by Dudar so as to allow the system to work with covered parking lots as well as uncovered lots.
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Ramirez et al. US 20240083414 A1 (“Garcia Ramirez”) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Newman et al. US 10300808 B2 (“Newman”).
Regarding Claim 3. Garcia Ramirez teaches the method of claim 1.
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
wherein the method comprises:
sensing a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and
determining that the vehicle needs recharging based on the current state of charge.
However, Newman teaches:
wherein the method comprises:
sensing a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and
determining that the vehicle needs recharging based on the current state of charge (A charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function that can determine the amount of charge required to complete some task or provide a warning that a charge is needed. For example, the charge requirement determiner 1808 may measure the amount of charge provided in the one or more batteries 704 to determine if the batteries 704 are able to continue operation of the electric vehicle 100. For example, if the charge of the batteries 704 is below some benchmark, for example, 25%, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can determine that a charge will be required and provide a warning or indication of that needed charge. Thus, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can receive inputs from the input router 1804 associated with the current state of the battery and the current state of the vehicle 100. This information then may be provided to algorithms to determine whether a charge is needed, how much charge is needed, and when that charge may be needed. In some configurations, the functions of the charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function of the charge controller 224 or the charge management unit 708 [FIGS. 7 and 18 and Column 32, lines 53-67, Column 33, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with wherein the method comprises: sensing a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and determining that the vehicle needs recharging based on the current state of charge as taught by Newman so that the vehicle can identify locations where a vehicle battery can be recharged, so as to ensure that the vehicle does not have a drained battery when the user returns to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 4. Garcia Ramirez in combination with Newman teaches the method of claim 3.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the identifying of the second location comprises:
identifying a plurality of warmer locations, and
selecting the second location from among the plurality of warmer locations (A data acquisition system is configured to detect a current vehicle orientation of the vehicle apparatus in a current parking spot, identify shaded areas and unshaded areas in a vicinity of the vehicle apparatus, and identify one or more alternate parking spots to which the vehicle apparatus can be relocated. A controller is configured to (a) estimate induced vehicle cabin temperatures for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots based on respective orientations, (b) estimate a first energy consumption of the climate control system for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots to achieve a desired vehicle cabin temperature for each respective estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature, (c) estimate a second energy consumption needed to relocate the vehicle apparatus from the current parking spot to each of the one or more alternate parking spots, (d) compare the first energy consumption corresponding to the current parking spot to a sum of the first energy consumption and the second energy consumption for each of the one or more alternate parking spots, and (e) if the one or more alternate parking spots has a corresponding sum less than the first energy consumption of the current parking spot, then transmit a command to relocate the vehicle apparatus accordingly [paragraph 13]).
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge.
However, Newman teaches:
the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge (A charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function that can determine the amount of charge required to complete some task or provide a warning that a charge is needed. For example, the charge requirement determiner 1808 may measure the amount of charge provided in the one or more batteries 704 to determine if the batteries 704 are able to continue operation of the electric vehicle 100. For example, if the charge of the batteries 704 is below some benchmark, for example, 25%, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can determine that a charge will be required and provide a warning or indication of that needed charge. Thus, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can receive inputs from the input router 1804 associated with the current state of the battery and the current state of the vehicle 100. This information then may be provided to algorithms to determine whether a charge is needed, how much charge is needed, and when that charge may be needed. In some configurations, the functions of the charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function of the charge controller 224 or the charge management unit 708 [FIGS. 7 and 18 and Column 32, lines 53-67, Column 33, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge as taught by Newman so that the vehicle can identify locations where a vehicle battery can be recharged, so as to ensure that the vehicle does not have a drained battery when the user returns to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 10. Garcia Ramirez teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
wherein the processor is configured to:
sense a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and
determine that the vehicle needs to recharge based on the current state of charge.
However, Newman teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
sense a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and
determine that the vehicle needs to recharge based on the current state of charge (A charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function that can determine the amount of charge required to complete some task or provide a warning that a charge is needed. For example, the charge requirement determiner 1808 may measure the amount of charge provided in the one or more batteries 704 to determine if the batteries 704 are able to continue operation of the electric vehicle 100. For example, if the charge of the batteries 704 is below some benchmark, for example, 25%, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can determine that a charge will be required and provide a warning or indication of that needed charge. Thus, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can receive inputs from the input router 1804 associated with the current state of the battery and the current state of the vehicle 100. This information then may be provided to algorithms to determine whether a charge is needed, how much charge is needed, and when that charge may be needed. In some configurations, the functions of the charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function of the charge controller 224 or the charge management unit 708 [FIGS. 7 and 18 and Column 32, lines 53-67, Column 33, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with wherein the processor is configured to: sense a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and determine that the vehicle needs to recharge based on the current state of charge as taught by Newman so that the vehicle can identify locations where a vehicle battery can be recharged, so as to ensure that the vehicle does not have a drained battery when the user returns to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 11. Garcia Ramirez in combination with Newman teaches the apparatus of claim 10.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein, when the processor identifies the second location, the processor is configured to:
identify comprises identifying a plurality of warmer locations; and
select the second location from among the plurality of warmer locations (A data acquisition system is configured to detect a current vehicle orientation of the vehicle apparatus in a current parking spot, identify shaded areas and unshaded areas in a vicinity of the vehicle apparatus, and identify one or more alternate parking spots to which the vehicle apparatus can be relocated. A controller is configured to (a) estimate induced vehicle cabin temperatures for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots based on respective orientations, (b) estimate a first energy consumption of the climate control system for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots to achieve a desired vehicle cabin temperature for each respective estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature, (c) estimate a second energy consumption needed to relocate the vehicle apparatus from the current parking spot to each of the one or more alternate parking spots, (d) compare the first energy consumption corresponding to the current parking spot to a sum of the first energy consumption and the second energy consumption for each of the one or more alternate parking spots, and (e) if the one or more alternate parking spots has a corresponding sum less than the first energy consumption of the current parking spot, then transmit a command to relocate the vehicle apparatus accordingly [paragraph 13]).
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge.
However, Newman teaches:
the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge (A charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function that can determine the amount of charge required to complete some task or provide a warning that a charge is needed. For example, the charge requirement determiner 1808 may measure the amount of charge provided in the one or more batteries 704 to determine if the batteries 704 are able to continue operation of the electric vehicle 100. For example, if the charge of the batteries 704 is below some benchmark, for example, 25%, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can determine that a charge will be required and provide a warning or indication of that needed charge. Thus, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can receive inputs from the input router 1804 associated with the current state of the battery and the current state of the vehicle 100. This information then may be provided to algorithms to determine whether a charge is needed, how much charge is needed, and when that charge may be needed. In some configurations, the functions of the charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function of the charge controller 224 or the charge management unit 708 [FIGS. 7 and 18 and Column 32, lines 53-67, Column 33, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge as taught by Newman so that the vehicle can identify locations where a vehicle battery can be recharged, so as to ensure that the vehicle does not have a drained battery when the user returns to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 17. Garcia Ramirez teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform:
sensing a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and
determining that the vehicle needs recharging based on the current state of charge.
However, Newman teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform:
sensing a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and
determining that the vehicle needs recharging based on the current state of charge (A charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function that can determine the amount of charge required to complete some task or provide a warning that a charge is needed. For example, the charge requirement determiner 1808 may measure the amount of charge provided in the one or more batteries 704 to determine if the batteries 704 are able to continue operation of the electric vehicle 100. For example, if the charge of the batteries 704 is below some benchmark, for example, 25%, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can determine that a charge will be required and provide a warning or indication of that needed charge. Thus, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can receive inputs from the input router 1804 associated with the current state of the battery and the current state of the vehicle 100. This information then may be provided to algorithms to determine whether a charge is needed, how much charge is needed, and when that charge may be needed. In some configurations, the functions of the charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function of the charge controller 224 or the charge management unit 708 [FIGS. 7 and 18 and Column 32, lines 53-67, Column 33, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform: sensing a current state of charge of a battery of the vehicle; and determining that the vehicle needs recharging based on the current state of charge as taught by Newman so that the vehicle can identify locations where a vehicle battery can be recharged, so as to ensure that the vehicle does not have a drained battery when the user returns to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 18. Garcia Ramirez in combination with Newman teaches the computer-readable medium of claim 17.
Garcia Ramirez also teaches:
wherein the identifying the second location comprises:
identifying comprises identifying a plurality of warmer locations; and
selecting the second location from among the plurality of warmer locations (A data acquisition system is configured to detect a current vehicle orientation of the vehicle apparatus in a current parking spot, identify shaded areas and unshaded areas in a vicinity of the vehicle apparatus, and identify one or more alternate parking spots to which the vehicle apparatus can be relocated. A controller is configured to (a) estimate induced vehicle cabin temperatures for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots based on respective orientations, (b) estimate a first energy consumption of the climate control system for the current parking spot and for the one or more alternate parking spots to achieve a desired vehicle cabin temperature for each respective estimated induced vehicle cabin temperature, (c) estimate a second energy consumption needed to relocate the vehicle apparatus from the current parking spot to each of the one or more alternate parking spots, (d) compare the first energy consumption corresponding to the current parking spot to a sum of the first energy consumption and the second energy consumption for each of the one or more alternate parking spots, and (e) if the one or more alternate parking spots has a corresponding sum less than the first energy consumption of the current parking spot, then transmit a command to relocate the vehicle apparatus accordingly [paragraph 13]).
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge.
However, Newman teaches:
the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge (A charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function that can determine the amount of charge required to complete some task or provide a warning that a charge is needed. For example, the charge requirement determiner 1808 may measure the amount of charge provided in the one or more batteries 704 to determine if the batteries 704 are able to continue operation of the electric vehicle 100. For example, if the charge of the batteries 704 is below some benchmark, for example, 25%, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can determine that a charge will be required and provide a warning or indication of that needed charge. Thus, the charge requirement determiner 1808 can receive inputs from the input router 1804 associated with the current state of the battery and the current state of the vehicle 100. This information then may be provided to algorithms to determine whether a charge is needed, how much charge is needed, and when that charge may be needed. In some configurations, the functions of the charge requirement determiner 1808 may be a function of the charge controller 224 or the charge management unit 708 [FIGS. 7 and 18 and Column 32, lines 53-67, Column 33, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with the locations provide a charging point based on the current state of charge as taught by Newman so that the vehicle can identify locations where a vehicle battery can be recharged, so as to ensure that the vehicle does not have a drained battery when the user returns to the vehicle.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Ramirez et al. US 20240083414 A1 (“Garcia Ramirez”) as applied to claims 6 and 13 above, and further in view of Papanikolaou et al. US 20170370123 A1 (“Papanikolaou”).
Regarding Claim 7. Garcia Ramirez teaches the method of claim 6.
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
wherein the method comprises:
heating one or more door handles of the vehicle while autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location.
However, Papanikolaou teaches:
wherein the method comprises:
heating one or more door handles of the vehicle while autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location (Referring now to FIGS. 1-11, FIG. 11 exemplifies an additional flow chart of the maintenance state 72 of the heating mechanism 10 that serves as a continuation of the method 400 for operating the heating mechanism 10. According to method 500 for operating the maintenance state 72, the heating mechanism 10 may operate until the door handle 14 is operated to the extended position 30 (step 502). Once the door handle 14 has moved to the extended position 30, the heating mechanism 10 remains deactivated, where the heating mechanism 10 is deactivated during the initiation of the maintenance state 72 (step 504). Where the door handle 14 has not been moved to the extended position 30, the temperature sensor 50 can determine whether the surface temperature 16 within at least a portion of the handle region 52 has fallen below a predetermined minimum temperature 54 (step 506). Once the surface temperature 16 has fallen below this predetermined minimum temperature 54, the heating mechanism 10 is again activated (step 508). After activation of the heating mechanism 10 in step 508, the heating mechanism 10 may remain active until the door handle 14 is operated to the extended position 30 (step 510), at which time the heating mechanism 10 will be deactivated (step 512) [paragraph 34]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with wherein the method comprises: heating one or more door handles of the vehicle while autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location as taught by Papanikolaou so as to remove ice from the door handle that would make opening the door difficult, something Papanikolaou discusses in paragraph 21.
Regarding Claim 14. Garcia Ramirez teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Garcia Ramirez does not teach:
wherein the processor is configured to:
heat one or more door handles of the vehicle while autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location.
However, Papanikolaou teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
heat one or more door handles of the vehicle while autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location (Referring now to FIGS. 1-11, FIG. 11 exemplifies an additional flow chart of the maintenance state 72 of the heating mechanism 10 that serves as a continuation of the method 400 for operating the heating mechanism 10. According to method 500 for operating the maintenance state 72, the heating mechanism 10 may operate until the door handle 14 is operated to the extended position 30 (step 502). Once the door handle 14 has moved to the extended position 30, the heating mechanism 10 remains deactivated, where the heating mechanism 10 is deactivated during the initiation of the maintenance state 72 (step 504). Where the door handle 14 has not been moved to the extended position 30, the temperature sensor 50 can determine whether the surface temperature 16 within at least a portion of the handle region 52 has fallen below a predetermined minimum temperature 54 (step 506). Once the surface temperature 16 has fallen below this predetermined minimum temperature 54, the heating mechanism 10 is again activated (step 508). After activation of the heating mechanism 10 in step 508, the heating mechanism 10 may remain active until the door handle 14 is operated to the extended position 30 (step 510), at which time the heating mechanism 10 will be deactivated (step 512) [paragraph 34]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Garcia Ramirez with wherein the processor is configured to: heat one or more door handles of the vehicle while autonomously moving the vehicle back to the location as taught by Papanikolaou so as to remove ice from the door handle that would make opening the door difficult, something Papanikolaou discusses in paragraph 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656