DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6-18-2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 10, 11, 12, 4-7 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 5 and 9-15 respectively of copending Application No 18628757. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications provide for a sensor with active and passive layers and a corrugated structure for suppression and redirection of waves. The claims are extremely similar and simply vary by dependencies.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 10-12, the phrase “the maxima and minima” lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0268693, published September 15, 2016.
As per claim 1, Ding disclose a radar sensor comprising:
a layer including at least one active region and at least one passive region, the active region including a plurality of antenna elements being configured to transmit and to receive radar waves, and the passive region being free of antenna elements (Ding, Fig. 7B where 208A and B are the active),
wherein a respective dual-purpose structure is associated with each antenna element of the active region, each dual-purpose structure being configured to isolate the associated antenna element from the other antenna elements with respect to the transmitted and received radar waves and to suppress and redirect reflections of incident radar waves (Ding, Fig. 7B, 306 and ¶72).
As per claim 2, Ding further discloses the radar sensor according to claim 1, wherein each dual-purpose structure includes a respective set of corrugations, each corrugation including a protrusion and a depression, and each set of corrugations comprises at least one angled corrugation which includes at least one portion extending in a direction being different from a predefined alignment direction of the associated antenna element (Ding, Fig. 7B, 318 and ¶72).
As per claim 15, Ding further discloses a vehicle comprising: a vehicle component and a radar sensor according to claim 1 which is arranged in a vicinity of the vehicle component (Ding, ¶55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding.
As per claims 4-7, Ding discloses the radar sensor of claim 2 with a configuration of the protrusions (Fig. 7B).
While Ding fails to expressly disclose each configuration, he teaches that various shapes, angles and directions can be used (¶9-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the protrusions in a particular fashion as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 3 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Chandler, U.S. Patent Number 6,285,332, published September 4, 2001.
As per claim 3, Ding discloses the radar of claim 2 but fails to explicitly disclose a dielectric layer.
Chandler teaches a dielectric layer on corrugations (Col 5, lines 10-17).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a dielectric layer in order to gain the benefit of providing better control over the reflected signals as taught by Chandler.
As per claim 8, Ding as modified by Chandler discloses the radar according to claim 1 wherein the passive region is provided with a diffraction grating profile (Ding, ¶77 and Chandler, Col. 5, lines 47-48).
It would have been obvious to use a diffraction grating in order to gain the benefit of providing better control over the signals and it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine where to place it.
As per claims 9-12, Ding as modified by Chandler discloses the radar according to claim 8 and providing various configurations of the maxima and minima of the grating surface (Ding, ¶77 and Chandler, Col. 5, lines 47-48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the maxima and minima in a particular fashion as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As per claims 13 and 14, Ding as modified by Chandler further discloses the radar sensor according to claim 2, wherein in the active region, the at least one set of corrugations comprises at least one angled corrugation for which the protrusions and the depressions of respective side portions of the angled corrugation are arranged at opposite angles/parallel, and the passive region is provided with a surface profile in which maxima and minima of the surface profile have the same periodicity/different periodicity for two directions being perpendicular to each other (Ding, Fig. 7B and ¶77 and Chandler, Col. 5, lines 47-48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646