DETAILED ACTION
Claim status in the amendment received on 12/3/2025:
Claim 1 have been amended.
Claims 1-79 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have been considered and in response to the amendments:
The previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that the Warman reference is no in the field of “proxy service”, and Warman does not even mention the term “proxy service”, thus is not in the same field. The examiner respectfully traverses. The following is the definition of proxy services, with emphasis, according to the CPC classification:
“CPC: H04L67/56
Provisioning of proxy services (...)
Definition statement
This place covers:
Arrangements involving intermediate processing and/or storage in the network, i.e. wherein additional processing of the application data is performed somewhere between the data provider and data consumer application.”
Based on the definition above, the term “proxy services” is broad enough to cover any intermediate processing between data provider and consumer. Accordingly, the instant application as well as the prior art clearly involve intermediate processing, thus fall under the same field of endeavor “proxy services”.
With respect to the argument that the “tunnel bank server 71” cannot be a client device. The examiner respectfully traverses.
The terms client and server are relative to the direction of the request. In this case, the tunnel bank 71 is considered to be a client device with respect to the actual tunnel because the request is sent from the TBS to the tunnel.
With respect to the argument that there is no teaching for the limitation: receiving, by a first client device from a first server over the Internet, a first request that includes the URL. The applicant specifically argues that there is no URL in the request. However, the examiner respectfully traverses.
The main purpose of the Shribman reference is to serve the request of a client utilizing several intermediate points (tunnels). Shribman explicitly teaches that the client request includes URL, thus all subsequent requests between the intermediate points includes the same URL. Please see at least paragraph ([0120]).
With respect to the argument that there is no teaching for extracting the URL. The examiner respectfully traverses.
Shribman explicitly teaches, in paragraph [0571], that the URL is extracted by the TB server “…In such a case, the SP server 72 (or the TB server 71), may use SSL Sniffing for extracting the content identifier (such as the requested URL), for extracting any attribute values included in the message…”.
Therefore, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 15-57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14 and 58-79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shribman et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200220746 A1) in view of Warman et al. (Patent No.: US 9635041 B1).
As to claim 1, Shribman teaches a method for use with a web server that stores a content identified by a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) the method comprising:
receiving, by a first client device from a first server over the Internet, a first request that includes the URL (fig. 12a, 131a, “72” teaches a first server and “71” teaches a first client, and paragraph [0533]);
extracting, by the first client device, the URL from the first request (paragraph [0562], “…the TB server 71 forwards the requested content identification to the selected tunnel…” and paragraph [0533]);
forming, by the first client device, a second request that includes the URL, or modifying the first request to obtain the second request (paragraph [0562], “…The message sent over the message path 131b…”);
sending, by the first client device to a second client device over the Internet, the second request (fig. 12b, 131b, “33d” teaches the second client device);
receiving, by the second client device from the first client device over the Internet, the second request (fig. 12b, 131b); and
sending, by the second client device to the web server over the Internet, the received second request (fig. 12b, 131c),
wherein the sending the received second request to the web server uses an IP address of the second client device, so that an IP address of the first client device is unknown to the web server (paragraph [0549], “…It is noted that such tunneling provides anonymity and untraceability, where the web server 22b is only aware of the request from the selected tunnel device, and is ignorant to the identity of the origin of the request…”), and
wherein, except for using the IP address of the second client device, the second client device transparently passes messages between the first client device and the web server (paragraph [0549], “…the tunnel device forwards the request for content, using tunneling or proxy scheme, to the web server 22b…” and “…For example, in case where the requesting client 31a is in a location A, and the selected tunnel device that is used is in a location B, the web server 22b may only be aware (such as by using IP geolocation) to the request arrival from the location B…”).
Shribman does not explicitly teach using the IP address of the second client device as a source address and executing a web browser.
However, Shribman further teaches, as shown above in paragraph [0549], the web server is only aware of the IP associated with request arrived from location of the second client device, “location B”, which indicates using IP address of the second client device as source IP address.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the IP address of the second client device as a source address when sending requests to the web server in order to enable the web server to send responses to the second client device utilizing the source IP address of the requester.
Shribman does not explicitly teach executing a web browser.
However, in the same field of endeavor (proxy service) Warman teaches
executing, by a first or second client device, a first web browser stored therein (col. 13, lines 58-67, i.e. the headless browser);
Based on Shribman in view of Warman, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate executing a web browser (taught by Warman) with using the IP address of the second client device as a source address when sending requests to the web server, with fetching contents using proxy chain (taught by Shribman) in order to enable the web server to send responses to the second client device utilizing the source IP address of the requester, and in order to enforce network policies and enhance the fetched content.
As to claim 2, Warman further teaches wherein the forming of the second request uses the first web browser, or is performed as part of the executing of the stored first web browser (col. 13, lines 58-67). The limitations of claim 2 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 3, Warman further teaches wherein the executing or launching of the stored first web browser is in response to powering up of the first or second client device or in response to the connecting to the Internet (col. 5, lines 36-51). The limitations of claim 3 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 4, Warman further teaches wherein the executing or launching of the stored first web browser is in response to the receiving of the first request browser (col. 13, lines 58-67). The limitations of claim 4 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 7, Warman further teaches wherein the first or second client device further stores an operation system, and wherein the first web browser is part of, or integrated with, the operating system (col. 13, lines 58-67). The limitations of claim 7 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 8, Warman further teaches further comprising downloading, from an application store, by a human user, the first web browser (col. 13, lines 58-67). The limitations of claim 8 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 9, Shribman teaches wherein the first web browser consists of, comprises of, or is based on, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Opera™, or Mozilla Firefox® (paragraph [0698]).
As to claim 10, Shribman teaches wherein the first web browser comprises, is based on, or consists of, mobile web browser (paragraph [0698]).
As to claim 11, Shribman teaches wherein the mobile web browser consists of, comprises of, or is based on, Safari, Opera Mini™, or Android web browser (paragraph [0698]).
As to claim 12, Warman further teaches wherein the first web browser comprises, is based on, or consists of, headless browser (col. 13, lines 58-67). The limitations of claim 12 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 13, Shribman teaches wherein the first client device further stores a second web browser that is different from the first web browser, the method further comprising executing the stored second web browser (paragraph [0698]).
As to claim 14, Shribman teaches further comprising downloading, from an application store, by a human user, the second web browser (paragraph [0698]).
As to claim 58, Shribman teaches wherein the first or second client device comprises, or consists of, or is integrated with, a client device in a client/server architecture (paragraph [0181]).
As to claim 59, Shribman teaches wherein the client device comprises, consists of, or is based on, a consumer computer that is owned, operated, or used, by a user for a personal, social, family, or household use (paragraph [0181]).
As to claim 60, Shribman teaches further comprising storing, operating, or using, by the first or second client device, a client operating system (paragraph [0391]).
As to claim 61, Shribman teaches wherein the client operating system consists of, comprises, or is based on, one out of Microsoft Windows 7, Microsoft Windows XP, Microsoft Windows 8, Microsoft Windows 8.1, Linux, and Google Chrome OS (paragraph [0391]).
As to claim 62, Shribman teaches wherein the client operating system comprises, is based on, or consists of, a Real-Time Operating System (RTOS) (paragraph [0391]).
As to claim 63, Shribman teaches wherein the RTOS comprises FreeRTOS, SafeRTOS, QNX, VxWorks, or Micro-Controller Operating Systems (μC/OS) (paragraph [0391]).
As to claim 64, Shribman teaches wherein the client operating system comprises, is based on, or consists of, a mobile operating system (paragraph [0444]).
As to claim 65, Shribman teaches wherein the mobile operating system is based on, or comprises, Android version 2.2 (Froyo), Android version 2.3 (Gingerbread), Android version 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich), Android Version 4.2 (Jelly Bean), Android version 4.4 (KitKat), Apple iOS version 3, Apple IOS version 4, Apple IOS version 5, Apple iOS version 6, Apple iOS version 7, Microsoft Windows® Phone version 7, Microsoft Windows® Phone version 8, Microsoft Windows® Phone version 9, or Blackberry® operating system (paragraph [0444]).
As to claim 66, Shribman teaches wherein the first or second client device is housed in a single enclosure that comprises, is based on, or consists of, a hand-held enclosure or a portable enclosure (paragraph [0384]).
As to claim 67, Shribman teaches wherein the first or second client device consists of, comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a notebook computer, a laptop computer, a media player, a Digital Still Camera (DSC), a Digital video Camera (DVC or digital camcorder), a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a cellular telephone, a digital camera, a video recorder, or a smartphone (paragraph [0384]).
As to claim 68, Shribman teaches wherein the first or second client device consists of, comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a smartphone that comprises, or is based on, an Apple iPhone 6 or a Samsung Galaxy S6 (paragraph [0384]).
As to claim 69, Shribman teaches wherein the first server comprises, is based on, or consists of, a dedicated device that manages network resources; is not a client device and is not a consumer device; is continuously online with greater availability and maximum up time to receive requests almost all of the time efficiently processes multiple requests from multiple client devices at the same time; generates various logs associated with the client devices and traffic from/to the client devices; primarily interfaces and responds to requests from client devices; has greater fault tolerance and higher reliability with lower failure rates; provides scalability for increasing resources to serve increasing client demands; or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0380] and [0560]).
As to claim 70, Shribman teaches wherein the first server is storing, operating, or using, a server operating system (paragraph [0380]).
As to claim 71, Shribman teaches wherein the server operating system consists or, comprises of, or based on, one out of Microsoft Windows Server®, Linux, or UNIX. (paragraph [0380]).
As to claim 72, Shribman teaches wherein the server operating system consists or, comprises of, or based on, one out of Microsoft Windows Server® 2003 R2, 2008, 2008 R2, 2012, or 2012 R2 variant, Linux™ or GNU/Linux based Debian GNU/Linux, Debian GNU/kFreeBSD, Debian GNU/Hurd, Fedora™, Gentoo™, Linspire™, Mandriva, Red Hat® Linux, SuSE, and Ubuntu®, UNIX® variant Solaris™, AIX®, Mac™ OS X, FreeBSD®, OpenBSD, and NetBSD®. (paragraph [0380]).
As to claim 73, Shribman teaches wherein the first server consists of, includes, is part of, or is integrated with, a proxy server (paragraph [0150]).
As to claim 74, Shribman teaches wherein the proxy server consists of, includes, is part of, or is integrated with, an HTTP proxy server, a web-proxy server, a caching proxy, an open-source caching proxy server, a cloud-based proxy server, an open proxy server, a forwarding proxy server, a reverse proxy server, a transparent proxy server, a non-transparent proxy server, an anonymous proxy server, a translation proxy server, a SOCKS proxy server, a CGI web proxy server, a suffix proxy server, an I2P anonymous proxy server, a DNS proxy server, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0150]).
As to claim 75, Shribman teaches wherein the first server is virtualized virtualization executed as part of a Virtual Machine (VM) (paragraph [0126]).
As to claim 76, Shribman teaches for use with a host computer that implements the VM, wherein the method further comprising executing, by the host computer, a hypervisor or a Virtual Machine Monitor (VMM) (paragraph [0126]).
As to claim 77, Shribman teaches wherein the virtualization includes, is based on, or uses, full virtualization, para-virtualization, or hardware assisted virtualization (paragraph [0126]).
As to claim 78, Shribman teaches wherein the first server comprises, is based on, or consists of, a cloud-based server that is implemented as an Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) or as a Software as a Service (SaaS) by a public cloud-based service (paragraph [0126]).
As to claim 79, Shribman teaches wherein the public cloud-based service is provided by Amazon Web Services® (AWS®), Microsoft® Azure™, or Google® Compute Engine™ (GCP) (paragraph [0571]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 3/30/2026