Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third frame image pulse” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Namely, the mention of a “third frame image pulse” is not supported in the specification, or in the drawings. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to make and/or use the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
Claim 14 will interpreted as best understood by the Examiner.
Claims 2-5, 7-11, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the fourth moment approaches the third moment and moves away from the first moment”. The moments represent a moment of time in the frames starting and ending edges. However, the examiner is unclear as how the third moment moves away from a first and a fourth moment approaches a first. Claims 3-5, 7-10, and 17-20 recite similar limitations of moments approaching or moving away from each other. Thus, the claims 2-5, 7-10, and 17-20 are unclear and indefinite.
Claim 11 inherits its indefiniteness from claim 10 from which it depends.
Claims 2-5, 7-11, and 17-20 will be interpreted as the recited movement of “moments” representing a relative time shift between events to which the moments correspond to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 12-13, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klement et al. (U.S. PAT No. US 11741898 B1), hereinafter referred to as Klement, in view Shimizu et al. (U.S. PAT No. US 12198657 B2), hereinafter referred to as Shimizu.
Regarding Claim 1, Klement teaches a method of generating image signals, comprising: receiving a first input image signal and a second input image signal by a processing device; (Klement, Figure 2, element 210 shows an Application Processor (processing device), Figure 3, elements 300a and 300b show first and second frames (first and second image signal), Klement Col 6 Lines 50-52 “Moreover, in some embodiments, the application processor 210 generates display data for multiple display frames to display a video.“) outputting, by the processing device, an output image signal having an output resolution according to the first input image signal and the second input image signal; and outputting the output image signal from the processing device to a display device, (Klement Col 9 Lines 31-32 “Based on the active video data 410A, the display device programs each pixel.“) wherein an ending edge of a first frame image pulse of the first input image signal is at a first moment, (Klement Col 9 Lines 29-31 “the display device 220 starts receiving the active video data 310A (e.g., during a data transfer period 420)“) an ending edge of a first output frame image pulse of the output image signal is at a second moment, (Klement Col 9 Lines 33-40 “the display device programs each pixel as corresponding video data is received… the data scanning period may start while the active video data 410 is being received and may overlap with the data transfer period “Examiner Note: This establishes that the input frame has a defined active period and output-related activity begins before input completion).
However, Klement fails to specifically disclose a first time length from the first moment to the second moment is smaller than a time length of the first output frame image pulse.
Shimizu teaches a method of generating image signals, comprising: receiving a first input image signal (Fn) and a second input image signal (Fn+1- see figures 2-10) by a processing device (see figure 1; #10);
outputting, by the processing device, an output image signal (Sdisp2) having an output resolution according to the first input image signal and the second input image signal (see figure 1; HD input image that is processed and output to display panel ( #9) operable at various frame rates; for example see col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 4,lines 20-33, col. 8,lines 44-51 and col. 9, 6-15);
wherein an ending edge of a first frame image pulse of the first input image signal is at a first moment, an ending edge of a first output frame image pulse of the output image signal is at a second moment (see figures 2-3)
a first time length from the first moment to the second moment is smaller than a time length of the first output frame image pulse. (Shimizu Fig. 2, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping.).
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Regarding Claim 6, Klement teaches the method of claim 1, wherein an ending edge of a second frame image pulse of the second input image signal is at a third moment, an ending edge of a second output frame image pulse of the output image signal is at a fourth moment, (Klement, Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and their connection, Col 9 Lines 61-63 “The first frame 400A ends and the second frame 400B starts when the VSync signal 440B is received by the display device 220. In some embodiments, the duration of a frame is the time from which the VSync signal 440 indicating the start of the frame is received until when the VSync signal 440 indicating the start of the next frame is received.“ Examiner’s Note: The same processes for the first frame begin again for the connected second frame.)
However, Klement fails to specifically disclose a second time length from the third moment to the fourth moment is smaller than the time length of the first output frame image pulse.
Shimizu teaches a second time length from the third moment to the fourth moment is smaller than the time length of the first output frame image pulse. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figures show the processes for those signals overlapping; see also col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 8, lines 44-51 and col. 9, lines 5-15.)
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Regarding Claim 12, Klement teaches A display system, comprising: a processing device generating an output image signal at least according to a first image signal; (Klement, Figure 2 210 shows an Application Processor (processing device), Figure 3 300a and 300b show first and second frames (first and second image signal), Klement Col 6 Lines 50-52 “Moreover, in some embodiments, the application processor 210 generates display data for multiple display frames to display a video.“) and a display device electrically coupled to the processing device and displaying images according to the output image signal, (Klement Col 6 Lines 39-41 “providing electrical power to the application processor 210 and the display device”) wherein the processing device obtaining an output resolution of a first output frame image pulse of the output image signal according to a first resolution of a first frame image pulse of the first image signal and a resolution required by the display device, (Klement Col 9 Lines 31-32 “Based on the active video data 410A, the display device programs each pixel.“) and (Klement Col 9 Lines 33-40 “the display device programs each pixel as corresponding video data is received… the data scanning period may start while the active video data 410 is being received and may overlap with the data transfer period “Examiner Note: This establishes that the input frame has a defined active period and output-related activity begins before input completion)
However, Klement fails to specifically disclose adjusting a starting edge of the first output frame image pulse to a third moment between a first moment and a second moment.
Shimizu teaches a display system, comprising: a processing device (figure 1; #10) generating an output image signal (Sdisp2) at least according to a first image signal (Fn); and
a display device (#9) electrically coupled to the processing device and displaying images according to the output image signal (see figure 1; col. 4, lines 20-33;), and
adjusting a starting edge of the first output frame image pulse to a third moment between a first moment and a second moment. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping -see also col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 8, lines 44-51 and col. 9, 6-15.)
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Regarding Claim 13, Klement, in view of Shimizu, teaches the display system of claim 12, wherein the processing device further performs calculations to a second resolution of a second frame image pulse of a second image signal and the output resolution, to (Klement, Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and their connection, Col 9 Lines 61-63 “The first frame 400A ends and the second frame 400B starts when the VSync signal 440B is received by the display device 220. In some embodiments, the duration of a frame is the time from which the VSync signal 440 indicating the start of the frame is received until when the VSync signal 440 indicating the start of the next frame is received.“ Examiner’s Note: The same processes for the first frame begin again for the connected second frame.)
However, Klement fails to specifically disclose adjusting a starting edge of a second output frame image pulse of the output image signal to a sixth moment between a fourth moment and a fifth moment.
Shimizu also teaches adjusting a starting edge of a second output frame image pulse of the output image signal to a sixth moment between a fourth moment and a fifth moment. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping; see also col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 8, lines 44-51 and col. 9, 6-15.)
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Regarding Claim 15, Klement teaches a method of generating image signals, comprising: receiving a first input image signal and a second input image signal by a processing device; (Klement, Figure 2 210 shows an Application Processor (processing device), Figure 3 300a and 300b show first and second frames (first and second image signal), Klement Col 6 Lines 50-52 “Moreover, in some embodiments, the application processor 210 generates display data for multiple display frames to display a video.“) outputting, by the processing device, an output image signal having an output resolution according to the first input image signal and the second input image signal; (Klement Col 9 Lines 31-32 “Based on the active video data 410A, the display device programs each pixel.“) and outputting the output image signal from the processing device to a display device, wherein an ending edge of a first frame image pulse of the first input image signal is at a first moment, an ending edge of a first output frame image pulse of the output image signal is at a second moment, (Klement Col 9 Lines 33-40 “the display device programs each pixel as corresponding video data is received… the data scanning period may start while the active video data 410 is being received and may overlap with the data transfer period“ Examiner Note: This establishes that the input frame has a defined active period and output-related activity begins before input completion) a starting edge of the first frame image pulse is at a third moment, a starting edge of the first output frame image pulse is at a fourth moment, and (Klement Col 9 Lines 33-40 “the display device programs each pixel as corresponding video data is received… the data scanning period may start while the active video data 410 is being received and may overlap with the data transfer period“ Examiner Note: This establishes that the input frame has a defined active period and output-related activity begins before input completion)
However, Klement fails to specifically disclose a first time length from the first moment to the second moment is smaller than a time length of the first output frame image pulse and the fourth moment is between the third moment and the first moment.
Shimizu teaches a method of generating image signals, comprising: receiving a first input image signal (For example :Fn) and a second input image signal (For example: Fn+1 )by a processing device (#10);
outputting, by the processing device, an output image signal (Sdisp2) having an output resolution according to the first input image signal and the second input image signal (col. 4, lines 19-33);
outputting the output image signal from the processing device to a display device (#9; col.4, lines 34-40); and
a first time length from the first moment to the second moment is smaller than a time length of the first output frame image pulse. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping.) And the fourth moment is between the third moment and the first moment. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping.)
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Regarding Claim 16, Klement, in view of Shimizu, teaches the method of claim 15, wherein an ending edge of a second frame image pulse of the second input image signal is at a fifth moment, an ending edge of a second output frame image pulse of the output image signal is at a sixth moment, (Klement, Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and their connection, Col 9 Lines 61-63 “The first frame 400A ends and the second frame 400B starts when the VSync signal 440B is received by the display device 220. In some embodiments, the duration of a frame is the time from which the VSync signal 440 indicating the start of the frame is received until when the VSync signal 440 indicating the start of the next frame is received. “Examiner’s Note: The same processes for the first frame begin again for the connected second frame.)
However, Klement fails to specifically disclose a second time length from the fifth moment to the sixth moment is smaller than the time length of the first output frame image pulse.
Shimizu also teaches a second time length from the fifth moment to the sixth moment is smaller than the time length of the first output frame image pulse. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping; see also col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 8, lines 44-51 and col. 9, 6-15.)
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-10, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klement et al. (U.S. PAT No. US 11741898 B1), hereinafter referred to as Klement, in view of Shimizu et al. (U.S. PAT No. US 12198657 B2), hereinafter referred to as Shimizu, further in view of Kim et al. (FIT No. KR 102287512 B1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding Claim 2, Klement, in view of Shimizu, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a starting edge of the first frame image pulse is at a third moment, a starting edge of the first output frame image pulse is at a fourth moment, (Klement Col 9 Lines 38-39 “the data scanning period may start while the active video data 410 is being received“)
However, Klement fails to teach the fourth moment is between the third moment and the first moment, and when the output resolution is increased or a frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the fourth moment approaches the third moment and moves away from the first moment.
Shimizu teaches the fourth moment is between the third moment and the first moment. (Shimizu Fig. 2-3, where Sdisp1 is an input signal and Sdisp2 is an output signal, and the figure shows the processes for those signals overlapping.). Shimizu also teaches receiving input and output in both fixed and variable frame rate image signals (for example see figure 9 and Col. 6 Lines 46-58).
Klement and Shimizu are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement’s image signal generation with Shimizu’s overlapping input and output timing relationship, enabling the output image signal to begin generation before completion of the input image signal as claimed, to achieve benefits such as reduced latency and suppressed degradation in image quality.
Kim teaches when the output resolution is increased or a frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the fourth moment approaches the third moment and moves away from the first moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner Note: Though Kim’s feature of changing resolution and frame rate are mainly tied to input data, the same principles would be applied similarly to output data. Klement, in view of Shimizu’s teaching of a fixed refresh rate display, discloses overlapping output scanning and input video reception. In a display system with fixed refreshing, increasing output resolution or decreasing the output frame rate increases the amount of output scanning required for each frame. Since the end of the output cannot be pushed further (as output must be completed when by the fixed time to be displayed) the only degree of freedom is to start earlier, making this shift of timing of the output starting earlier a necessary mechanism in this art. After the combination of Klement’s teaching of image signal generation, Shimizu’s teaching of fixed frame rate and overlapping input and output processes, and Kim’s teaching of changing of resolution and framerate, the combination teaches the fourth moment approaches the third moment and moves away from the first moment.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 3, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches the method of claim 2,
However, Klement in view Shimizu fail to teach wherein when a first resolution of the first frame image is increased or a frame rate of the first input image signal is decreased, the fourth moment moves away from the third moment.
Kim teaches wherein when a first resolution of the first frame image is increased or a frame rate of the first input image signal is decreased, the fourth moment moves away from the third moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.“, [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate” Examiner’s Note: Programming pixels as video data is received establishes a pipeline tied to input timing. Similar to Claim 2, an increase of input resolution or decrease in input frame rate results in the output start moving further away from the input start as more time is required to deliver usable data, or the time that the output should be displayed (output frame image pulse) is pushed back further, meaning the start of the output frame image pulse is pushed further away from the start of the input frame image pulse in a fixed display system taught by Shimizu.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 4, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the first input image signal comprises a first initial pulse before the first frame image pulse, the output image signal comprises a first output initial pulse before the first output frame image pulse, a starting edge of the first initial pulse is at a fifth moment, a starting edge of the first output initial pulse is at a sixth moment, 400A starts when the display device 220 receives the VSync signal 440A. After receiving the VSync signal 440A, the display device 220 starts receiving the data included in the VBP 420A. After the VBP 420A has been received, the display device 220 starts receiving the active video data 310A” Examiner’s Note: VSync and VBP correspond to the first initial pulse before the active video, active video data corresponds to the frame image pulse. Although the reference does not explicitly describe an output initial pulse, output pixel programming in a display device necessarily includes a synchronization and setup interval prior to active scanning, which corresponds to the claimed output initial pulse (this is true for LCDs, OLEDs, and AMOLEDs, as well as any raster-scanned display.)
However, Klement fails to teach when the output resolution is increased or the frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the sixth moment approaches the fifth moment and moves away from the first moment.
Kim teaches when the output resolution is increased or the frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the sixth moment approaches the fifth moment and moves away from the first moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner Note: Though Kim’s feature of changing resolution and framerate are mainly tied to input data, the same principles would be applied similarly to output data. For the timing relation, similarly to Claim 2, as output resolution is increased or output frame rate is decreased, output work increases, meaning output setup must start earlier to complete within the frame boundaries, meaning it will move earlier towards to the start of the input initial pulse and farther away from the input image pulse end.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 5, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches the method of claim 4,
However, Klement fails to teach wherein when the first resolution is increased or the frame rate of the first input image signal is decreased, the sixth moment moves away from the fifth moment.
Kim teaches wherein when the first resolution is increased or the frame rate of the first input image signal is decreased, the sixth moment moves away from the fifth moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner’s Note: Similarly to Claim 3, since as the input resolution increases or the input frame rate decreases, the output initial pulse would be pushed back to accommodate the increased input work, as if the input frame is longer, the information becomes available later. This would make the start of the output initial pulse further from the start of the input initial pulse.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 7, Klement, in view of Shimizu, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein a starting edge of the second frame image pulse is at a fifth moment, a starting edge of the second output frame image pulse is at a sixth moment, (Klement Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and their connection)
However, Klement fails to teach when the output resolution is increased or a frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the sixth moment approaches the fifth moment and moves away from the third moment.
Kim teaches when the output resolution is increased or a frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the sixth moment approaches the fifth moment and moves away from the third moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner Note: Though Kim’s feature of changing resolution and framerate are mainly tied to input data, the same principles would be applied similarly to output data. For the timing relation, similarly to Claim 2, as output resolution is increased or output frame rate is decreased, output work increases, meaning output setup must start earlier to complete within the frame boundaries, meaning it will move earlier towards to the start of the input initial pulse and farther away from the input image pulse end.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 8, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches the method of claim 7,
However, Klement fails to teach wherein when a second resolution of the second frame image is increased or a frame rate of the second input image signal is decreased, the sixth moment moves away from the fifth moment.
Kim teaches wherein when a second resolution of the second frame image is increased or a frame rate of the second input image signal is decreased, the sixth moment moves away from the fifth moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner’s Note: : Similarly to Claim 3, since as the input resolution increases or the input frame rate decreases, the output initial pulse would be pushed back to accommodate the increased input work, as if the input frame is longer, the information becomes available later. This would make the start of the output initial pulse further from the start of the input initial pulse.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 9, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the second input image signal comprises a second initial pulse before the second frame image pulse, the output image signal comprises a second output initial pulse before the second output frame image pulse, a starting edge of the second initial pulse is at a seventh moment, a starting edge of the second output initial pulse is at an eighth moment, (Klement Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and the VSync and VBP before, representing the initial pulses)
However, Klement fails to teach when the output resolution is increased or the frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the eighth moment approaches the seventh moment and moves away from the third moment.
Kim teaches when the output resolution is increased or the frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the eighth moment approaches the seventh moment and moves away from the third moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner Note: Though Kim’s feature of changing resolution and framerate are mainly tied to input data, the same principles would be applied similarly to output data. For the timing relation, similarly to Claim 2, as output resolution is increased or output frame rate is decreased, output work increases, meaning output setup must start earlier to complete within the frame boundaries, meaning it will move earlier towards to the start of the input initial pulse and farther away from the input image pulse end.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 10, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches the method of claim 9,
However, Klement fails to teach wherein when the second resolution is increased or the frame rate of the second input image signal is decreased, the eighth moment moves away from the seventh moment.
Kim teaches wherein when the second resolution is increased or the frame rate of the second input image signal is decreased, the eighth moment moves away from the seventh moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner’s Note: Similarly to Claim 3, since as the input resolution increases or the input frame rate decreases, the output initial pulse would be pushed back to accommodate the increased input work, as if the input frame is longer, the information becomes available later. This would make the start of the output initial pulse further from the start of the input initial pulse.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 17, Klement, in view of Shimizu, teaches the method of claim 16, wherein a starting edge of the second frame image pulse is at a seventh moment, a starting edge of the second output frame image pulse is at an eighth moment, and (Klement Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and their connection)
However, Klement fails to teach when the output resolution is increased or a frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the eighth moment approaches the seventh moment and moves away from the fifth moment.
Kim teaches when the output resolution is increased or a frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the eighth moment approaches the seventh moment and moves away from the fifth moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner’s Note: Though Kim’s feature of changing resolution and framerate are mainly tied to input data, the same principles would be applied similarly to output data. For the timing relation, as output resolution is increased or output frame rate is decreased, output work increases, meaning output setup must start earlier to complete within the frame boundaries, meaning it will move earlier towards to the start of the input initial pulse and farther away from the input image pulse end.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 18, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches the method of claim 17,
However, Klement fails to teach wherein when a second resolution of the second frame image is increased or a frame rate of the second input image signal is decreased, the eighth moment moves away from the seventh moment.
Kim teaches wherein when a second resolution of the second frame image is increased or a frame rate of the second input image signal is decreased, the eighth moment moves away from the seventh moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner’s Note: : Similarly to Claim 3, since as the input resolution increases or the input frame rate decreases, the output initial pulse would be pushed back to accommodate the increased input work, as if the input frame is longer, the information becomes available later. This would make the start of the output initial pulse further from the start of the input initial pulse.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Regarding Claim 19, Klement, in view of Shimizu, in further view of Kim, teaches The method of claim 18, wherein the second input image signal comprises a second initial pulse before the second frame image pulse, the output image signal comprises a second output initial pulse before the second output frame image pulse, a starting edge of the second initial pulse is at a ninth moment, a starting edge of the second output initial pulse is at a tenth moment, (Klement Figures 3 and 4A both show two frames and the VSync and VBP before, representing the initial pulses)
However, Klement fails to teach and when the output resolution is increased or the frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the tenth moment approaches the ninth moment and moves away from the fifth moment.
Kim teaches and when the output resolution is increased or the frame rate of the output image signal is decreased, the tenth moment approaches the ninth moment and moves away from the fifth moment. (Kim [Abstract] “The resolution at which the display displays an image may be changed according to whether the first image region and the second image region overlap.” [Translation Page 8] “A frame rate converter (FRC) 350 may convert a frame image rate of an input image. Meanwhile, the frame image rate converter 350 may output the frame image as it is without a separate frame image rate conversion.” Examiner Note: Though Kim’s feature of changing resolution and framerate are mainly tied to input data, the same principles would be applied similarly to output data. For the timing relation, similarly to Claim 2, as output resolution is increased or output frame rate is decreased, output work increases, meaning output setup must start earlier to complete within the frame boundaries, meaning it will move earlier towards to the start of the input initial pulse and farther away from the input image pulse end.)
Klement, Shimizu and Kim are analogous in the art of image processing and processing image data to be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Klement and Shimizu’s teaching of overlapping input and output processes with Kim’s teaching of changing resolution and framerate that impact timings to efficiently improve image quality, and increasing resolution often requires lowering the frame rate to maintain data processing capabilities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID W SOON/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615