DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 07/07/2026 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims # 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used for the current rejection of the above claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy (US 2024/0056149 A1) in view of Kim (US 2025/0192846 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, 11
Hindy discloses a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1(102)) for reporting Channel State Information (CSI) (See [Abstract]; Apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for channel state information ("CSI") reporting),
the method comprising:
receiving, from a Base Station (BS) (Fig.1(104)), a CSI-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource set configuration (See [0123]; receiving 802 at least one channel state information report setting. Each channel state information report setting of the at least one channel state information report setting triggers at least one channel state information resource setting);
receiving, from the BS (Fig.1(104)), a CSI report configuration (See [0123]; receiving 802 at least one channel state information report setting. Each channel state information report setting of the at least one channel state information report setting triggers at least one channel state information resource setting) including
a first resource configuration identifier (ID) (See [0058]; associated CSI-ReportConfigs indicating resource set IDs for channel) corresponding to the CSI-RS resource set configuration (See [0058]; [0123]; receiving an indication of channel state information measurement, channel state information reporting, or a combination thereof corresponding to a single frequency network scheme for the at least one transmission and reception point in the network),
a report content configuration (See [0058]; [0123]; the method 800 includes
transmitting 808 at least one channel state information report on at least one physical uplink shared channel, physical uplink control channel, or a combination thereof based on the at least one channel state information report setting), and
a plurality of port indicators (See [0119-0121]; [0123-0125]; each channel antenna port indication identified are configured to be measured and reported),
each of the plurality of port indicators (See [0123-0125]) corresponding to a CSI measurement result (See [0121]; [0123]; CSI-RS antenna port are configured to be measured and reported with CSI parameters) of a CSI-RS resource (See [0121]; [0123]; CSI-RS is used associated with corresponding configured resources set) configured based on the CSI-RS resource set configuration (See [0121]; [0123]; Each channel state information report setting of the at least one channel state information report setting triggers at least one channel state information resource setting);
receiving, from the BS (Fig.1(104)), Downlink Control Information (DCI) for triggering an
aperiodic CSI report associated with the CSI report configuration (See [0058]; [0061]; [0064]; [0076]; UE, configured by DCI, is triggered to report aperiodic CSI );
and
transmitting, to the BS (Fig.1(104)), a CSI report associated with the CSI report configuration (See [0123]; transmitting 808 at least one channel state information report on at least one physical uplink shared channel, physical uplink control channel, or a combination thereof based on the at least one channel state information report setting) in response to receiving the DCI (See [0058]; [0061]; [0064]; [0076]; UE, configured by DCI, is triggered to report aperiodic CSI ).
But Hindy fail to explicitly recite
each of the plurality of port indicators corresponding to a CSI measurement result, based on a subset of antenna ports
However in an analogous art,
Kim teaches about antenna ports of an antenna panel subjected to CSI measurement for each are turn on as part of a CSI-RS Resource set (See [0165-0166]).
Hindy and Kim are analogous art because they all pertain wireless communication apparatus with antenna port configuration. Hindy teaches about a UE configured with CSI resource to perform CSI measurements on multiple reference channel using UE with multiple antenna ports. Kim teaches about antenna ports of an antenna panel subjected to CSI measurement for each are turn on as part of a CSI-RS Resource set . Hindy could use Kim features in order to selectively captured antennal port to be measured during measurement configuration set. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the claim to combine Hindy and Kim as to obtain an efficient antenna port CSI measurement procedure.
Note:
a)
A UE (Fig.2(200)) merely comprises a processor (Fig 2(202)), a non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig.2(204)) that comprise instructions to execute method (See [0042]).
b)
A BS (Fig 3.(300)) merely comprises a processor (Fig.3(302)), a non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig.3(304)) that comprise instructions to execute method (See [0049]).
Regarding Claim 2, 7, 12
Hindy teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 6, 11 and Hindy further teaches
wherein:
each of the plurality of port indicators (See (See Fig.8(806); [0119-0121]; [0123-0125]; antenna port are group in set depending on complex weights, cyclic delay, directional angle and phase), and
each of the plurality of port indicators (See (See Fig.8(806); [0123-0125]; an indication of channel state information measurement, channel state information reporting) corresponds to a different subset of antenna ports of the CSI-RS resource (See [0119-0121]; antenna port group in set depending on complex weights and cyclic delay to the signal of each antenna)).
But Hindy fails to explicitly recite about
each of the plurality of port indicators comprises a bitmap having a length equal to a number of antenna ports of the CSI-RS resource
However in an analogous art,
Kim teaches about N1 antenna ports of an antenna panel is represented by N1-bit bitmap subject to CSI measurement (See [0159]; [0165]).
Hindy and Kim are analogous art because they all pertain wireless communication apparatus with antenna port configuration. Hindy teaches about a UE configured with CSI resource to perform CSI measurements on multiple reference channel using UE with multiple antenna ports. Kim teaches about N1 antenna ports of wireless device antenna panel represented by N1-bit bitmap configuration subject to CSI measurement . Hindy could use Kim features in order to selectively captured antennal port to be measured during measurement configuration set. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the claim to combine Hindy and Kim as to obtain an efficient antenna port CSI measurement procedure.
Regarding Claim 3, 8, 13
Hindy and Kim teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 6, 11 and Hindy further teaches
receiving, from the BS (Fig.1(104)), a CSI aperiodic trigger state configuration (See [0058]; UE may be configured by higher layers with one or more CSI-ReportConfig reporting settings for CSI reporting…… one or two lists of trigger states (e.g., given by the higher layer parameters CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList..) including a CSI report configuration ID corresponding to the CSI report configuration (See [0058]; UE configured by higher layers with one or more CSI-ReportConfig reporting settings for CSI reporting, one or more CSI-ResourceConfig resource settings for CSI measurement).
Regarding Claim 4, 9, 14
Hindy and Kim teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 8, 13 and Hindy further teaches
wherein the CSI report configuration ID (See [0058]; UE configured by higher layers with one or more CSI-ReportConfig reporting settings for CSI reporting, one or more CSI-ResourceConfig resource settings for CSI measurement) is associated with at least one sub-configuration ID (See [0058]; Each trigger state in CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList may contain a list of a subset), and
each sub-configuration ID corresponds to one of the plurality of port indicators (See [0058]; associated CSI-ReportConfigs indicating resource set IDs for channel).
Regarding Clam 5, 10, 15
Hindy and Kim teach all the features with respect to claim 4, 9, 14 and Hindy further teaches
wherein the CSI report includes at least one CSI measurement result (See [0058]; one or more CSI-ResourceConfig resource settings for CSI measurement), corresponding to the at least one sub-configuration ID (See [0058]; in CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList may contain a list of a subset of associated CSI-ReportConfigs indicating resource set IDs for channel).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646