DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I claims in the reply filed 2/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected Group II claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Publication No. KR101916404B1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim) in view of Fareid et al., Korean Publication No. KR20210057722A (hereinafter referred to as Fareid).
Regarding claims 1-12, Kim discloses a process and apparatus whereby plastic is pretreated by pyrolysis in an auger reactor, then pyrolysed in a second reactor, and the resulting gas is filtered in a hot filter, and condensed to obtain an oil (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 4-7 and 11) (see Figure 2 and see Claims 1-15 of Kim and Para. [0042] and [0111]), wherein the apparatus for recycling a plastic mixture containing polyvinyl chloride, to produce pyrolysis oil having a high content of aromatic compounds along with the decomposition of wax components in a fluidized bed reactor, and then finally produce oil having a chlorine content of 10 ppm or less by filtering with a high-temperature filter filled with calcium oxide (dewaxing as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 8-10 and 12) (Para. [0021]). After purging, the reactor was heated to the reaction temperature determined by the electric furnace, 1.2 kg of silica was used as the fluidized bed material (as recited in claims 2-3) (Para. [0076]).
Kim discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose alkylating a mixed solution obtained by mixing the pyrolysis oil and olefins, nor recycling of condensed liquid in the filter as recited in claim 1.
Fareid discloses another process and apparatus whereby plastic waste is pretreated, pyrolysed, filtered and cooled, hydrogenated and fractionated into several oil fractions (see Claims 1, 8 and 16 and Para. [0062] and [0111]-[0118]). Given that the filter is used at high temperatures, only the heaviest compounds will condense in the filter. It is, however, well-known to recycle heavier and unconverted fractions in the refining industry, in particular in pyrolysis operations which would be suggested by the disclosure of Fareid.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
8. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/412,599. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '599 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting II
9. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/627,450. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '450 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting III
10. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/628,806. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '806 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting IV
11. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/627,446. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '446 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting V
12. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/629,942. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '942 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting VI
13. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/629,945. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '945 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting VII
14. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/629,957. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '957 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting VIII
15. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending application No. 18/635,007. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '007 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting IX
16. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of co-pending application No. 18/922,392. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '392 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application except the dewaxing step which would have been obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Conclusion
17. There were unused X references from the ISR report. The examiner is of the position that the prior art cited adequately reads on the claims as instantly recited.
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771