Detail Action
This office action is in response to the application filed on 4/8/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirkazemi et al. (US 2007/0055964 A1) in view of Boyd (“Getting started with JavaScript Source Maps” Posted Feb 28, 2014, retrieved on 4/15/2026, from Getting started with JavaScript Source Maps · Raygun Blog)
Per claim 1,
Mirkazemi discloses
receiving, via a web browser, a source code in a first computing language from a user;
converting the source code to a JavaScript; ([0048], disclose developer programming a fully object-oriented high-level programming language then compiled into browser-side JavaScipt… client side engine…throughout the entire user’s web experience. [0051]-[0054], [0092]-[0094] see browser input)
executing the JavaScript; ([0100], discloses browser-side code…JavaScript…executed on the client machine.) and
Mirkazemi does not, however, Boyd discloses
creating a mapping between the source code and the JavaScript; (pp. 1, discloses JavaScript source map file between JavaScript and source.)
based on an error occurring during the execution of the JavaScript, identifying via the mapping a portion of the source code corresponding to the error and transmitting a notification to the user, the notification including the portion of the source code.(pp. 4, disclose watch an error and stack information will appears based on original source file; pp5, discloses decode stack traces in errors…translated back to original source file.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Boyd into the teachings of Mirkazemi to include the limitation disclosed by Boyd. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to assist in understanding what has occurred in the original source code as suggested by Boyd (pp. 5)
Per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
wherein the first computing language is one of Java, Python, Dart, C#, Scala, and Kotlin. (Mirkazemi, [0083], discloses C#, Java))
Per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
wherein the mapping between the source code and the JavaScript includes a correspondence between lines of the JavaScript and lines of the source code. (Boyd, pp. 5, 4th bullet item, see mapping line number, column number…)
Per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
wherein the converting the source code to the JavaScript, ( Mirkazemi, ([0048], disclose developer programming a fully object-oriented high-level programming language then compiled into browser-side JavaScipt… client side engine…throughout the entire user’s web experience. [0051]-[0054], [0092]-[0094] see browser input ) the executing the JavaScript are performed by the web browser.([0100], discloses browser-side code…JavaScript…executed on the client machine. ) the creating the mapping between the source code and the JavaScript, (Boyd, pp. 5, see browser loads source map)
Per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
based on a successful execution of the JavaScript, converting an output of the JavaScript into an output format corresponding to the first computing language.(pp. 5, see stack is translated back against original source file. The stack trace back feature is available regardless if there is error or not. )
Per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
wherein the notification further includes a type of the error. (Mirkazemi , [0136], see type checking error)
Per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
wherein the converting the source code to the JavaScript is performed by a source-to-source compiler embedded in a code of a website that is loaded in the web browser. (Boyd, pp. browser loads source map file )
Per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Mirkazemi/Boyd discloses
further comprising receiving, from the user via the web browser an identification of the first computing language. ([0049], disclose using high-level programming language….compiled into JavaSript.)
Per claims 9-18, see rejections of claims 1-8.
Per claims 17-20, see rejections of claims 1 and 3-5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]]
/PHILIP WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199