Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response of 4/24/2026. In that response, Applicant amended the specification, amended the drawings and amended claims 1-11.
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/628,895 filed on 4/8/2024 is presented for examination by the Examiner.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Specification
The objection to the disclosure has been overcome.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings has been overcome.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 11 has been overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “and/or” in line 2. The phrase "and/or” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the alternative or the joint option is claimed. For examination purposes, the alternative option, “or”, will be taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brickner et al. (US 2022/0196891, hereinafter, “Brickner”) in view of Himmler et al. (US 2025/0123378, hereinafter, “Himmler”), Qiu et al. (US 2019/0265335, hereinafter, “Qiu”).
Regarding claim 1, Brickner discloses a LiDAR system ([0021]) comprising:
a deterministically structured diffuser 120 for redistributing LiDAR light onto an image plane of the diffuser with a particular distribution, area, or pattern (Fig. 3, [0032], optical element 120 includes a diffuser 132 and a lens 142. The desired distribution emitted by the optical element 120, receiving LiDAR light, is determined based on the desired profile 152, [0023]),
wherein the light redistribution diffuses the LiDAR light in a preferential direction (Fig. 3, [0029], angularly controlled intensity profile).
Brickner does not disclose the diffuser receiving LiDAR light from a LiDAR light emitting sensor.
Himmler discloses a device and a method for testing a LiDAR sensor (Abstract). In one embodiment, Himmler discloses a LiDAR sensor LIDAR emitting light L1 to an object simulator 14 that simulates the surroundings of the LiDAR sensor LIDAR by simulating objects in the surroundings of the LiDAR sensor LIDAR and transferring a corresponding control signal SE to the transmitting device 12 and/or the movement device BE. The simulated objects may then be simulated by the transmitting device 12 for the LiDAR sensor LIDAR via emitted second light L2 (Fig. 1, [0043]-[0047]).
Both Brickner and Himmler disclose LiDAR systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner so that the diffuser optical element 120 is positioned to receive LiDAR light emitted from a LiDAR light emitting sensor, as taught by Jensen, for better testing of the LiDAR sensor by effectively distributing the LiDAR light emitted by the LiDAR sensor in a preferential direction (towards the trigger detector TD).
Brickner/Himmler does not disclose a wide angle LiDAR light from the LiDAR light emitting sensor.
Qiu discloses a wide angle LiDAR system ([0006]).
Both Brickner and Qiu disclose LiDAR systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/Himmler so that the LiDAR light emitting sensor LIDAR of Himmler emits wide angle light, as taught by Qiu, for scanning and mapping a wide range of the surroundings without mechanically rotating the light emitters ([0006] in Qiu).
It is noted that the Brickner/Himmler/Qiu LiDAR system comprises a light receiving element of the LiDAR light ([0035] in Qiu).
It is noted that the term “tester” is not given patentable weight as it is in the preamble of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to claim 1, wherein
the structured diffusor comprises at least one Fresnel lens configured to receive incident LiDAR light ([0030] in Brickner).
Regarding claim 9, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to claim 1, wherein
the light redistribution of the LiDAR light towards the image plane has a locally variable angular distribution (Fig. 3 in Brickner).
Regarding claim 10, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses a LiDAR test system comprising the LiDAR tester according to claim 1 as well as the LiDAR light emitting sensor (LIDAR in Fig. 1 of Himmler).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brickner, Himmler, Qiu in view of Arima et al. (US 2021/0325574, hereinafter, “Arima”).
Regarding claim 3, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to claim 2.
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu does not disclose wherein the diffusor comprises a diffusor plate.
Arima discloses a diffuser optical element (Abstract). In one embodiment, the diffuser comprises a diffuser plate 101 (Fig. 14B, [0145]).
Both Brickner and Arima disclose diffuser optical elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/Himmler/Qiu so that the diffuser optical element 120 of Brickner comprises a diffuser plate, as taught by Arima, for the advantage of the ability of the diffuser plate being applied to many optical devices ([0151] in Arima).
Regarding claim 4, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu/Arima discloses the LiDAR tester according to claim 3, wherein
the diffusor comprises one Fresnel lens, arranged in proximity or in contact with
one side of the diffusor plate (Fig. 14B, [0145] in Arima).
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu/Arima does not disclose an additional Fresnel lens arranged on the other side of the diffusor plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/ Himmler/Qiu/Arima so that the diffuser optical element 120 of Brickner/ Himmler/Qiu /Arima comprises a diffusor plate having two Fresnel lenses, one on each side, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), for providing an additional degree of control on the design of the redistributed LiDAR light (see also [0084], [0132] in Arima).
Regarding claim 5, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to
claim 1.
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu does not disclose wherein the light redistribution intensity
Profile on the LiDAR sensor is Gaussian.
Arima discloses a diffuser optical element (Abstract). In one embodiment, the intensity profile of the diffused light is Gaussian (Fig. 15D, [0055] in Arima).
Both Brickner and Arima disclose diffuser optical elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/ Himmler/Qiu so that the diffuser optical element 120 of Brickner/ Himmler/Qiu diffuses the incident light in a Gaussian profile, as taught by Arima, for achieving better SNR at the detector.
Regarding claim 6, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to
claim 1.
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu does not disclose wherein the diffusor is micro-structured for diffusing LiDAR light.
Arima discloses a diffuser optical element (Abstract). In one embodiment, the diffuser is a microstructure (Fig. 11, [0132] in Arima).
Both Brickner and Arima disclose diffuser optical elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/ Himmler/Qiu so that the diffuser optical element 120 of Brickner/Himmler/Qiu is a microstructure, as taught by Arima, for less susceptibility to variations in the incident macro light ([0132] in Arima).
Regarding claim 7, Brickner/ Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to claim 1, wherein
the diffusor is structured by lithographic fabrication ([0024] in Brickner).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brickner, Himmler, Qiu in view of Embry et al. (US 2024/0111031, hereinafter, “Embry”).
Regarding claim 8, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR tester according to claim 1.
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu does not disclose wherein the full angle of incidence is between 0° and at least ±50°.
Embry discloses a LiDAR system (Fig. 1, Abstract). In one embodiment, Embry discloses that the receiver of the LiDAR system is a wide field of view receiver, for example, the FOV being about 120° ([0033]).
Both Brickner and Embry disclose LiDAR systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/Himmler/Qiu so that the FOV is about 120°, as taught by Embry, for better performance, i.e., for capturing a wider range of objects. Here, in Brickner/Himmler/Qiu, the diffuser optical element 120 of
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu is positioned in the receiver of the LiDAR receiver that receives wide angle LiDAR light.
The parameter of the full angle of incidence (related to the FOV) is a result-effective variable, i.e., it is recognized to achieve a recognized result, for example, affecting the performance of the LiDAR.
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu/Embry discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed range for the full angle of incidence. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/Himmler/Qiu /Embry so that the full angle of incidence lies within the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, the full angle of incidence is an art recognized result- effective variables in that it affects the performance of the LiDAR.
Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize the full angle of incidence because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process”.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brickner, Himmler, Qiu in view of Coleman et al. (US 2022/0260694, hereinafter, “Coleman”).
Regarding claim 11, Brickner/Himmler/Qiu discloses the LiDAR test system of claim 10.
Brickner/Himmler/Qiu does not disclose a controller having a processor and a memory for real-time data analysis, timing, synchronization and feedback capabilities.
Coleman discloses a LiDAR test system for emulating echo signals reflected from one or more emulated targets in a 3D simulation scene in response to a LiDAR signal transmitted by a LiDAR sensor in order to accurately simulate the physical world to the LiDAR sensor ([0018]). In one embodiment, the LiDAR test system includes a diffuser 170 and a LiDAR light emitting sensor 105 (Fig. 1, [0023]). In Coleman, the test system comprises a controller 126 having a processor 127 and a memory 128 for real-time data analysis, timing, synchronization and feedback capabilities (Fig. 1, 3, [0019]-[0021] in Coleman).
Both Brickner and Coleman disclose LiDAR systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Brickner/Himmler/Qiu so that a controller performs real-time data analysis, timing, synchronization and feedback, as taught by Coleman, for a timely and accurate testing operation.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Regarding independent claim 1 Applicant stated that “Clearly, Brickner fails to disclose lacks a LiDAR tester comprising a deterministically structured diffuser for redistributing LiDAR light from a LiDAR light emitting sensor onto an image plane of the diffuser”, and “Jensen does
not disclose a LiDAR system” see p. 8 of the Remarks.
First, the Office respectfully disagrees and states that Jensen does disclose a LiDAR system. Nevertheless, the current Office Action does not recite Jensen.
Applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 and regarding Brickner, has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of Himmler.
The rejection of claim 1 and its dependents is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B./
Patent Examiner, AU 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872