DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa (US 2009/0244200) and further in view of Hoisington (US 2006/0181557).
With regard to claim 1, Ozawa discloses a liquid droplet ejecting head [Fig. 18] comprising:
a channel member (71) [Para. 0090] including a channel including a nozzle (74) and a pressure chamber (73) communicating with the nozzle; and
a piezoelectric element (75) [Para. 0090] arranged on the channel member and configured to apply a pressure to a liquid inside the pressure chamber so as to eject a liquid droplet of the liquid from the nozzle [Para. 0092], but does not disclose wherein a diameter D [um] of the nozzle and a natural frequency Fr [kHz] of the channel satisfy Expressions 1 and 2 as follows:
Expression 1: D ≤ -2.25 x 10exp(-8) x Fr(subscript 4)+ 2.11 x 10 exp(-5) x Fr (subscript 3) -7.60 x 10exp(-3) x Fr² + 1.32 x Fr - 62.9
Expression 2: D ≥ 0.050 x Fr + 8.5.
However, Hoisington teaches a diameter D [microns] of the nozzle and a natural frequency f.sub.j [kHz] of the channel satisfy Expressions 1 and 2 as follows:
Expression 1: D ≤ -2.25 x 10exp(-8) x Fr(subscript 4)+ 2.11 x 10 exp(-5) x Fr (subscript 3) -7.60 x 10exp(-3) x Fr² + 1.32 x Fr - 62.9
Expression 2: D ≥ 0.050 x Fr + 8.5.
[nozzle size may vary on the order of a few microns or be tens of microns - See Para. 0053; natural frequency of an ink jet varies as a function of the ink jet design…equal to or greater than about 100kHz; Para. 0057].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a diameter range as claimed with respect a natural frequency the channel to affect the frequency response of the printhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to satisfy the Expression 1 and 2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With regard to claim 3, Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Hoisington also discloses wherein the diameter D [um] of the nozzle and the natural frequency Fr [kHz] of the channel satisfy Expression 3 as follows:
Expression 3: D > 0.055 x Fr+ 11.5. [nozzle size may vary on the order of a few microns or be tens of microns - See Para. 0053; natural frequency of an ink jet varies as a function of the ink jet design...equal to or greater than about 100kHz; Para. 0057].
With regards to claim 9, Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Ozawa also discloses wherein a length of the pressure chamber is 550 um or less. [See Example 1; Fig. 8]
With regard to claim 11, Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Ozawa also discloses wherein the diameter D of the nozzle is 25 um or less. [See Example 1; Fig. 8]
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa (US 2009/0244200) in view of Hoisington (US 2006/0181557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parab (US 2021/0379915).
With regard to claim 2, Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a resolution of an image recorded by the liquid droplet is 1200 dpi or more.
However, Parab teaches a resolution of an image recorded by the liquid droplet is 1200 dpi or more. [Para.0018]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the printhead wherein a resolution of an image recorded by the liquid droplet is 1200 dpi or more since higher resolution print heads print with smaller dot sizes.
With regard to claim 4, Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Parab also discloses wherein a resolution of an image recorded by the liquid droplet is 600 dpi or more. [Para. 0018]
With regard to claim 5, Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head according to claim 4, and Parab also discloses wherein the resolution is 600 dpi x 600 dpi. [Para. 0018]
Claim(s) 6-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa (US 2009/0244200) in view of Hoisington (US 2006/0181557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kakiuchi (US 2021/0370672).
With regard to claim 6, Ozawa’s liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the piezoelectric element is a thin film piezoelectric element [Para. 0054].
However, Kakiuchi teaches a piezoelectric element is a thin film piezoelectric element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the piezoelectric element as a thin piezoelectric element in order to render a high degree of flexure of the piezoelectric layer.
With regard to claim 7. Ozawa’s modified liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 6, and Kakiuchi also discloses wherein a thickness of the thin film piezoelectric element is 1.5 um or less. [Para. 0054]
With regard to claim 8, Ozawa’s liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a width of the pressure chamber is 70 um or less.
However, Kakiuchi teaches wherein a width of a pressure chamber (26) is 70 um or less.[width of pressure chamber is about 65; Para. 0038]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the width of the pressure chamber of Ozawa 70 um or less in order to enhance print quality.
With regard to claim 10, Ozawa’s liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an ejecting initial velocity of the liquid droplet from the nozzle is 7 m/s or more .
However, Kakiuchi teaches wherein an ejecting initial velocity of the liquid droplet from the nozzle is 7 m/s or more. [discharging speed is 6 m/s or faster; Para. 0005]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the ejecting initial velocity of the liquid droplet from the nozzle of Ozawa’s modified ejecting head as 7 m/s or more in order to better observe that the liquid droplets divide or diffuse themselves.
With regard to claim 12, Ozawa’s liquid droplet ejecting head discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles arranged at a pitch of 300 dpi or more per a row.
However, Kakiuchi teaches wherein the nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles arranged at a pitch of 300 dpi or more per a row [Para. 0005, 0011].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure to arrange the nozzle of one of a plurality of nozzles at a pitch of 300 dpi or more per a row in order to enhance print quality.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853