DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2), or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,940,163 to Nazarian et al. [hereinafter Nazarian].
Regarding claim 1, Nazarian (see Fig. 6) discloses a cold/warm-compression body care device, comprising: a shell (120, 124), wherein the shell defines an air inlet (102) and an air outlet (104); a conduction member (heat spreader 118), embedded in the shell; a cold-and-warm semiconductor(controllable temperature element 134), thermal-conductively connected to an inner side of the conduction member; a heat dissipator(132), thermal-conductively connected to a side of the cold-and-warm semiconductor away from the conduction member; a fan assembly(126), arranged inside the shell and configured to drive air located at the air inlet to flow through the heat dissipator to reach the air outlet and to further flow out of the device; wherein, the fan assembly comprises a centrifugal fan blade set (127), is located at an inner side of the air inlet; an area of a projection of the centrifugal fan blade set onto the air inlet is smaller than an area of the air inlet (see paragraph 51); an air concentration hood (128) is arranged to surround a circumference of the centrifugal fan blade set. Regarding the recitation that “a height of the air concentration hood is h1; and a height of each blade of the centrifugal fan blade set is h2, and h1≧h2; and blades of the centrifugal fan blade set do not extend beyond an edge of the air concentration hood near the air inlet”, it is the examiner’s position that this is inherent in the structure shown by Nazarian because the fan blades must be the same size or smaller in height than the height of the hood because if the blades have a larger height than the hood, they would hit the hood or the adjacent components in the assembly and interfere with the spinning of the blade and cause the fan to be ineffective or not work at all depending on the degree of the interference, thereby resulting in an inoperative device. If applicants disagree that it is not inherent in Nazarian, then in the alternative it is the examiner’s position that one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application would have designed the fan blade to be the same size or smaller than the height of the hood as blades having a larger height than the hood would interfere with the spinning of the blade and cause the fan to be ineffective or not work at all depending on the degree of the interference and thereby result in an inoperative device.
Regarding claim 2, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, further wherein, an inner bracket (see 137) is arranged inside the shell; the heat dissipator is fixedly mounted on the inner bracket and is located at a middle of a plane of the shell.
Regarding claim 3, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 2, wherein, two storage batteries (see 130) are arranged inside the shell; the two storage batteries are symmetrically arranged on an upper side and a lower side of the heat dissipator.
Regarding claim 4, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, wherein, the heat dissipator is fixedly arranged with a fan bracket, the fan assembly is mounted on the fan bracket (see Fig. 6, 128, 132), the fan assembly is configured to direct the air to flow towards the heat dissipator.
Regarding claim 6, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, wherein, a circuit board assembly (140) is arranged inside the shell, the circuit board assembly is electrically connected with a control button set (108) and a USB port (112), the control button set and USB port are arranged in through holes pre-defined in the shell and extend outwardly from the through holes, the fan assembly and the cold-and-warm semiconductor are both electrically connected to the circuit board assembly.
Regarding claim 7, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, wherein, the shell defines a conduction through hole (146), the conduction member covers the conduction through hole.
Regarding claim 8, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, wherein, strap connection portions (204) are symmetrically arranged on a left side and a right side of the shell respectively, and the strap connection portions are configured to mount a strap assembly, the body care device is worn on a human body through the strap assembly (see 20 in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, wherein, the shell comprises a front shell (120) and a rear shell (124) that are connected with and covered to each other, a receiving cavity is defined between the front shell and rear shell.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,940,163 to Nazarian et al. [hereinafter Nazarian] in view of US6345507 to Gillen.
Regarding claim 5, Nazarian discloses the cold/warm-compression body care device according to claim 1, as discussed, supra. Nazarian further discloses wings of his heat sink (132) comprise parallel to each other, an air duct is defined between every two adjacent wings of the plurality of wings, and the air outlet is located at an end of the air duct. Nazarian is silent with respect to the material of the heat sink. Gillen, in an analogous compact cooling system, teaches Aluminum as a well-known material for wings of a heat sink (see paragraph 32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use Aluminum for the wings in the heat sink of Nazarian in light of the teaching of Gillen that such a material is well known and is effective at dissipating the heat as desired by the heat sink.
Conclusion
LINDA C. DVORAK
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3739
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794