DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the Amendment filed September 1, 2026.
3. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended and new claim 22 has been added.
4. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-22 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-21 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (US 2024/0291853 A1) in view of Cecchetti et al. (US 2025/0258925 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and/or searching, Trabelsi et al. (US 2025/0247416 A1), herein referenced Trabelsi, has been cited to teach a penetration test and to explicitly teach the newly amended limitation. Please see rejections set forth below
For at least these reasons above and the rejections set forth below, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-21 have been rejected and remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (US 2024/0291853 A1) in view of Trabelsi et al. (US 2025/0247416 A1).
INDEPENDENT:
As per claim 1, Murphy teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a computing device and to a large language model (LLM), one or more software modules associated with a computing system (see Murphy, [0006]: “The output formatter subsystem may be configured to utilize a large language model to generate the summarized human-readable report for the initial notification”; [0346]: “When establishing 1800 connectivity with a plurality of security-relevant subsystems (e.g., security-relevant subsystems 226), threat mitigation process 10 may utilize at least one application program interface (e.g., API Gateway 224) to access at least one of the plurality of security-relevant subsystems.”; [0390]: “Threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to harness the power of Generative AI and Large Language Models (LLM). Generative AI models (e.g., AI/ML process 56), as part of the broader artificial intelligence and machine learning landscape, are beginning to play a crucial role in enhancing network threat detection systems. Unlike traditional, discriminative models that classify input data into predefined categories (e.g., malicious or benign), generative models can learn to generate new data samples that are similar to the training data.”; and [0442]: “These formatting scripts (e.g., formatting script 304) may help integrate large language models into broader applications or workflows, ensuring that the interaction between human users and the AI is as seamless and effective as possible. Formatting scripts (e.g., formatting script 304) may be implemented in various programming languages, depending on the environment in which the large language model is being deployed (e.g., Python scripts for a server-side application or JavaScript for client-side processing in a web application)”);
inputting, to the LLM, a first prompt requesting information for generating a threat model of the computing system, wherein the threat model is configured to identify one or more threats to the computing system (see Murphy, [0437]: “For example, in a web application that uses a large language model to generate content based on user inputs, a formatting script might”; [0438]: “Preprocess User Inputs: Clean and structure user queries into a format that the model can more effectively understand and process. This could involve correcting typos, removing unnecessary punctuation, or structuring the input into a more coherent prompt.”; [0439]: “Format Model Prompts: Tailor prompts to fit specific use cases or to elicit more accurate responses from the model. This might include adding specific instructions or context to the prompt that guides the model in generating the desired output.”; and [0444]: “These LLMs can perform various natural language processing tasks, such as answering questions, generating text, translating languages, and more. LLMs work by processing input text, analyzing it, and generating appropriate responses based on learned patterns and context.”);
receiving, from the LLM, a first output based on the first prompt, wherein the first output comprises:
first information for a first version of the threat model (see Murphy, [0007]: “an executor subsystem configured to iteratively process the mitigation plan using a generative AI model to generate an output, wherein the executor subsystem is configured to utilize several loops and/or nested loops to generate the output; and an output formatter subsystem configured to format the output and generate a summarized human-readable report for the initial notification, wherein the summarized human-readable report defines recommended next steps and/or disclaimers.”; [0390]: “Unlike traditional, discriminative models that classify input data into predefined categories (e.g., malicious or benign), generative models can learn to generate new data samples that are similar to the training data.”; [0097], as well as taught and suggested throughout, “probabilistic model 100 may be used to generate messages (in addition to analyzing them). For example and when defining a first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) based, at least in part, upon pertinent content found within information 58, AI/ML process 56 may… “; [0437]: “For certain applications, such as code generation or creating structured data from unstructured text, the script might include rules or templates to format the output in a specific syntax or schema.”; [0439]: “Format Model Prompts: Tailor prompts to fit specific use cases or to elicit more accurate responses from the model. This might include adding specific instructions or context to the prompt that guides the model in generating the desired output”; [0441]: “Handle Special Formatting: For certain applications, such as code generation or creating structured data from unstructured text, the script might include rules or templates to format the output in a specific syntax or schema.”; and [0654], “Version Control: Similar to software development practices, maintaining a version control system for the AI models is crucial. This ensures that updates, improvements, and changes to the models are systematically managed, allowing for the rollback to previous versions if needed.”);
a test script for the computing system (see Murphy, [0218]: “threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to allow for the manual generation of testing routine 272. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may define 1300 training routine 272 for a specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60. Specifically, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 1302 a simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) by executing training routine 272 within a controlled test environment, an example of which may include but is not limited to virtual machine 274 executed on a computing device (e.g., computing device 12).”; [0219]: “When generating 1302 a simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) by executing training routine 272 within the controlled test environment (e.g., virtual machine 274), threat mitigation process 10 may render 1304 the simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) on the controlled test environment (e.g., virtual machine 274)”; [0222]: “Referring also to FIG. 26, threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to allow for the automatic generation of testing routine 272. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may utilize 1350 artificial intelligence/machine learning to define training routine 272 for a specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60.”; [0223], “Accordingly and through the use of AI/ML process 56, information may be processed so that a probabilistic model may be defined (and subsequently revised) to define training routine 272 for a specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60.” [0226]: “when generating 1302 a simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) by executing training routine 272 within the controlled test environment (e.g., virtual machine 274), threat mitigation process 10 may render 1304 the simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) on the controlled test environment (e.g., virtual machine 274).”; and [0656]: “Model Validation and Testing: Before deployment, models are validated and tested to ensure they accurately detect intrusions while minimizing false positives and false negatives. This step might involve using separate datasets not seen by the model during the training phase to evaluate performance”), that is configured to improve the first version of the threat model (see Murphy, [0660]: “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”); and
a request for a result of the test (see Murphy, [0186]: “Threat mitigation process 10 may receive 1006 plurality of result sets 266 from the plurality of security-relevant subsystems. Threat mitigation process 10 may then combine 1008 plurality of result sets 266 to form unified query result 268.”; [0512]: Threat mitigation process 10 may prompt 2108 a user (e.g., analyst 256) to provide feedback concerning the (above-illustrated) summarized human-readable report (e.g., summarized human-readable report 306). And (if provided), threat mitigation process 10 may receive 2110 feedback concerning the summarized human-readable report (e.g., summarized human-readable report 306) from a user (e.g., analyst 256). For example, the user (e.g., analyst 256) may be asked to give “thumbs-up/thumbs-down” feedback concerning the quality of the (above-illustrated) summarized human-readable report (e.g., summarized human-readable report 306). In the event that the feedback provided is e.g., marginal or poor, threat mitigation process 10 may ask the user (e.g., analyst 256) to provide additional commentary, examples of which may include but are not limited to: “the summary is too long”, “the summary is too short”, “I would appreciate a more detailed roadmap for remediation”, “more concise language would be helpful”, etc. And (if feedback is provided), threat mitigation process 10 may utilize 2112 the feedback to revise the above-described formatting script (e.g., formatting script 304) so that the (above-illustrated) summarized human-readable report (e.g., summarized human-readable report 306) may be tailored based upon such feedback”; and [0660]: “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating”);
generating, by the computing device based on the first information, the first version of the threat model (see Murphy, [0072]: “The manner in which probabilistic model 100 may be automatically-generated by AI/ML process 56”; [0096]: “And using the probabilistic modeling technique described above, AI/ML process 56 may define a first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) based, at least in part, upon pertinent content found within information 58.”; and [0098]: “Accordingly and when AI/ML process 56 compares the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) to information 58 to determine if the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is a good explanation of the content, AI/ML process 56 may generate a very large quantity of messages e.g., by auto-generating messages using the above-described probabilities, the above-described nodes & node types, and the words defined in the above-described lists (e.g., lists 128, 132, 142, 146, 156, 160, 170, 174), thus resulting in generated information 58′. Generated information 58′ may then be compared to information 58 to determine if the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is a good explanation of the content. For example, if generated information 58′ exceeds a threshold level of similarity to information 58, the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) may be deemed a good explanation of the content. Conversely, if generated information 58′ does not exceed a threshold level of similarity to information 58, the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) may be deemed not a good explanation of the content”);
receiving, by the computing device the result of the test (see Murphy, [0227]: “Threat mitigation process 10 may allow 1306 a trainee (e.g., trainee 276) to view the simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) and may allow 1308 the trainee (e.g., trainee 276) to provide a trainee response (e.g., trainee response 278) to the simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack). For example, threat mitigation process 10 may execute training routine 272, which trainee 276 may “watch” and provide trainee response 278.”; and [0098]: “Accordingly and when AI/ML process 56 compares the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) to information 58 to determine if the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is a good explanation of the content, AI/ML process 56 may generate a very large quantity of messages e.g., by auto-generating messages using the above-described probabilities, the above-described nodes & node types, and the words defined in the above-described lists (e.g., lists 128, 132, 142, 146, 156, 160, 170, 174), thus resulting in generated information 58′. Generated information 58′ may then be compared to information 58 to determine if the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is a good explanation of the content. For example, if generated information 58′ exceeds a threshold level of similarity to information 58, the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) may be deemed a good explanation of the content. Conversely, if generated information 58′ does not exceed a threshold level of similarity to information 58, the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) may be deemed not a good explanation of the content.”);
inputting, to the LLM:
an indication of the first output (see Murphy, [0099]: “If the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is not a good explanation of the content, AI/ML process 56 may define a revised version of the probabilistic model (e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′)”; [0215]: “When generating 1208 revised security-relevant information 1250′ (that includes the above-described automation information), threat mitigation process 10 may combine 1210 the automation information (that results from selecting “block IP” or “search”) and initial security-relevant information 1250 to generate and render 1212 revised security-relevant information 1250′.”; and [0228]: “Threat mitigation process 10 may utilize 1356 artificial intelligence/machine learning to revise training routine 272 for the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60 based, at least in part, upon trainee response 278.”);
the result of the test (see Murphy, [0185]: “Threat mitigation process 10 may effectuate 1004 at least a portion of unified query 262 on each of the plurality of security-relevant subsystems to generate plurality of result sets 266.”; and [0215]: “When generating 1208 revised security-relevant information 1250′ (that includes the above-described automation information), threat mitigation process 10 may combine 1210 the automation information (that results from selecting “block IP” or “search”) and initial security-relevant information 1250 to generate and render 1212 revised security-relevant information 1250′.”); and
a second prompt requesting second information for generating a second version of the threat model (see Murphy, [0099]: “When defining revised probabilistic model 100′, AI/ML process 56 may e.g., adjust weighting, adjust probabilities, adjust node counts, adjust node types, and/or adjust branch counts to define the revised version of the probabilistic model (e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′). Once defined, the above-described process of auto-generating messages (this time using revised probabilistic model 100′) may be repeated and this newly-generated content (e.g., generated information 58″) may be compared to information 58 to determine if e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′ is a good explanation of the content.”; and [0214]: “For this particular example, the third-party (e.g., the user/owner/operator of computing platform 60) may choose two different options to manipulate initial security-relevant information 1250, namely: “block ip” or “search”, both of which will result in threat mitigation process 10 generating 1208 revised security-relevant information 1250′ (that includes the above-described automation information).”);
receiving, from the LLM, the second information generated based on assessing the respective impact, of the one or more potential threats, indicated by the results of then test (see Murphy, Abstract: “the security event within the computing platform; an executor subsystem configured to iteratively process the mitigation plan using a generative AI model to generate an output”; [0007]: “an executor subsystem configured to iteratively process the mitigation plan using a generative AI model to generate an output, wherein the executor subsystem is configured to utilize several loops and/or nested loops to generate the output; and an output formatter subsystem configured to format the output and generate a summarized human-readable report for the initial notification, wherein the summarized human-readable report defines recommended next steps and/or disclaimers.”; [0099], “If the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is not a good explanation of the content, AI/ML process 56 may define a revised version of the probabilistic model (e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′). When defining revised probabilistic model 100′, AI/ML process 56 may e.g., adjust weighting, adjust probabilities, adjust node counts, adjust node types, and/or adjust branch counts to define the revised version of the probabilistic model (e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′). Once defined, the above-described process of auto-generating messages (this time using revised probabilistic model 100′) may be repeated and this newly-generated content (e.g., generated information 58″) may be compared to information 58 to determine if e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′ is a good explanation of the content.”; [0437]: “For example, in a web application that uses a large language model to generate content based on user inputs, a formatting script might”; [0437]: “For certain applications, such as code generation or creating structured data from unstructured text, the script might include rules or templates to format the output in a specific syntax or schema.”; [0439]: “Format Model Prompts: Tailor prompts to fit specific use cases or to elicit more accurate responses from the model. This might include adding specific instructions or context to the prompt that guides the model in generating the desired output”; [0658]: “Version Control: Similar to software development practices, maintaining a version control system for the AI models is crucial. This ensures that updates, improvements, and changes to the models are systematically managed, allowing for the rollback to previous versions if needed.”); [0699]: “As discussed above and with respect to the (above-illustrated) summarized human-readable report (e.g., summarized human-readable report 306), examples of one or more recommended actions defined therein are as follows: Recommend Actions:”; [0700]: “Selective shutdown/suspension of user account(s).”; [0701]: “Selective shutdown of impacted port(s).”; [0702]: “Selective shutdown of suspicious stream(s).”; [0703]: “Quarantining of inbound file(s).”; [0741]: “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”; and [0746]: “LLMs work by processing input text, analyzing it, and generating appropriate responses based on learned patterns and context.”);
generating, by the computing device based on the second information, the second version of the threat model (see Murphy, [0099]: “When defining revised probabilistic model 100′, AI/ML process 56 may e.g., adjust weighting, adjust probabilities, adjust node counts, adjust node types, and/or adjust branch counts to define the revised version of the probabilistic model (e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′). Once defined, the above-described process of auto-generating messages (this time using revised probabilistic model 100′) may be repeated and this newly-generated content (e.g., generated information 58″) may be compared to information 58 to determine if e.g., revised probabilistic model 100′ is a good explanation of the content.”; [0437]: “For example, in a web application that uses a large language model to generate content based on user inputs, a formatting script might”; [0654]: “AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”; [0658]: “Version Control: Similar to software development practices, maintaining a version control system for the AI models is crucial. This ensures that updates, improvements, and changes to the models are systematically managed, allowing for the rollback to previous versions if needed.”; [0660]: “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”; and [0681]: “The plurality of AI models (e.g., plurality of AI models 320) defined within the model repository (e.g., model repository 318) may include multiple versions of the same model (e.g., ChatGPT 3.0 versus ChatGPT 3.5 versus ChatGPT 4.0) . . . wherein such different versions provide different levels of performance/operating cost.”); and
performing, by the computing device based on one or more first threats identified by the second version of the threat model, a remedial action (see Murphy, [0159]: “The holistic platform report (e.g., holistic platform reports 850, 852) may identify one or more known conditions concerning the computing platform; and threat mitigation process 10 may effectuate 808 one or more remedial operations concerning the one or more known conditions.”; and [0170]: “Once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e . . . , remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level.”).
Although Murphy teaches throughout of testing the model, updating the model, revising or retraining the model with updates applying the test results, Murphy does not explicitly teach that the test is a penetration test (see rejections above), and receiving the result of the penetration test, is based on a request by the LLM .
Trabelsi teaches a penetration test, and receiving the result of the penetration test, is based on a request by the LLM (see Trabelsi, [0058]: “In an example embodiment, the pre-trained LLMs are further trained with new penetration testing notes to enhance their knowledge. The LLMs can then function as a conversational agent for the penetration tester, capable of proposing new penetration testing scenarios for specific systems upon request”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murphy in view of Trabelsi by implementing a penetration test, and receiving the result of the penetration test, is based on a request by the LLM. One would be motivated to do so because Murphy teaches in paragraph [0186], “Threat mitigation process 10 may receive 1006 plurality of result sets 266 from the plurality of security-relevant subsystems. Threat mitigation process 10 may then combine 1008 plurality of result sets 266 to form unified query result 268. When combining 1008 plurality of result sets 266 to form unified query result 268, threat mitigation process 10 may homogenize 1010 plurality of result sets 266 to form unified query result 268… then provide 1012 unified query result 268 to the third-party (e.g., the user/owner/operator of computing platform 60)” and also teaches in paragraph [0660], “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”, emphasis added.
As per claim 8, Murphy and Trabelsi teach a computing device comprising:
one or more processors (see Murphy, [0044]: “The instruction sets and subroutines of threat mitigation process 10s, which may be stored on storage device 16 coupled to computing device 12, may be executed by one or more processors (not shown) and one or more memory architectures (not shown) included within computing device 12. Examples of storage device 16 may include but are not limited to: a hard disk drive; a RAID device; a random-access memory (RAM); a read-only memory (ROM); and all forms of flash memory storage devices.”); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to perform actions (see Murphy, [0044]; and [0789]: “Furthermore, the present disclosure may take the form of a computer program product on a computer-usable storage medium having computer-usable program code embodied in the medium.”) comprising:
sending, to a large language model (LLM), one or more software modules associated with a computing system;
inputting, to the LLM, a first prompt requesting information for generating a threat model of the computing system, wherein the threat model is configured to identify one or more threats to the computing system;
receiving, from the LLM, a first output based on the first prompt, wherein the first output comprises:
first information for a first version of the threat model;
a penetration test script for a penetration test, to the computing system, that is configured to improve the first version of the threat model; and
a request for a result of the penetration test;
generating, based on the first information, the first version of the threat model;
receiving, based on the request by the LLM the result of the penetration test;
inputting, to the LLM:
an indication of the first output; the result of the penetration test; and
a second prompt requesting second information for generating a second version of the threat model;
receiving, from the LLM, the second information generated based on assessing the respective impacts, of the one or more potential threats, indicated by the results;
generating, based on the second information, the second version of the threat model; and
performing, based on one or more first threats identified by the second version of the threat model, a remedial action (see Claim 1 rejection above).
As per claim 15, Murphy and Trabelsi teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions (see Murphy, [0044]: “The instruction sets and subroutines of threat mitigation process 10s, which may be stored on storage device 16 coupled to computing device 12, may be executed by one or more processors (not shown) and one or more memory architectures (not shown) included within computing device 12. Examples of storage device 16 may include but are not limited to: a hard disk drive; a RAID device; a random-access memory (RAM); a read-only memory (ROM); and all forms of flash memory storage devices.”; [0789]: “Furthermore, the present disclosure may take the form of a computer program product on a computer-usable storage medium having computer-usable program code embodied in the medium.”) that, when executed by one or more processors, cause perform actions comprising:
sending, to a large language model (LLM), one or more software modules associated with a computing system;
inputting, to the LLM, a first prompt requesting information for generating a threat model of the computing system, wherein the threat model is configured to identify one or more threats to the computing system;
receiving, from the LLM, a first output based on the first prompt, wherein the first output comprises:
first information for a first version of the threat model;
a penetration test script, for the computing system, that is configured to improve the first version of the threat model; and
a request for a result of the penetration test that is executed based on the penetration test script in the first output;
generating, based on the first information, the first version of the threat model;
receiving, based the request by the LLM, a result of a penetration test;
inputting, to the LLM:
an indication of the first output; the result of the penetration test; and
a second prompt requesting second information for generating a second version of the threat model;
receiving, from the LLM, the second information generated based on assessing respective impacts, of one or more potential threats, indicated by the results of the penetration test;
generating, based on the second information, the second version of the threat model; and
performing, based on one or more first threats identified by the second version of the threat model, a remedial action (see Claim 1 rejection above).
DEPENDENT:
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Murphy teaches further comprising: receiving, from a second computing device, update information associated with the computing system; inputting, to the LLM: the second version of the threat model; the update information; and a third prompt requesting third information for generating, based on the update information, a third version of the threat model; and receiving, from the LLM, the third information (see Murphy, [0198]: “When retroactively apply 1106 updated threat event information 270 to previously-generated information associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226, threat mitigation process 10 may: apply 1108 updated threat event information 270 to one or more previously-generated log files (not shown) associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226; apply 1110 updated threat event information 270 to one or more previously-generated data files (not shown) associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226; and apply 1112 updated threat event information 270 to one or more previously-generated application files (not shown) associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226.”; [0660]: “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”; and Claim 1 rejection above. NOTE: repeating same steps previously taught for additional versions does not functionally or patentably change or improve upon the teachings of prior art, since Murphy teaches in paragraph [0098]: “Accordingly and when AI/ML process 56 compares the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) to information 58 to determine if the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is a good explanation of the content, AI/ML process 56 may generate a very large quantity of messages e.g., by auto-generating messages using the above-described probabilities, the above-described nodes & node types, and the words defined in the above-described lists (e.g., lists 128, 132, 142, 146, 156, 160, 170, 174), thus resulting in generated information 58′. Generated information 58′ may then be compared to information 58 to determine if the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) is a good explanation of the content. For example, if generated information 58′ exceeds a threshold level of similarity to information 58, the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) may be deemed a good explanation of the content. Conversely, if generated information 58′ does not exceed a threshold level of similarity to information 58, the first version of the probabilistic model (e.g., probabilistic model 100) may be deemed not a good explanation of the content.”.
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, which respectively depend on claims 2, 9, and 16, Murphy further teaches wherein the update information comprises at least one of: updated software code associated with the one or more software modules; or a new vulnerability detected at the computing system (see Murphy, [0198]: “When retroactively apply 1106 updated threat event information 270 to previously-generated information associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226, threat mitigation process 10 may: apply 1108 updated threat event information 270 to one or more previously-generated log files (not shown) associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226; apply 1110 updated threat event information 270 to one or more previously-generated data files (not shown) associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226; and apply 1112 updated threat event information 270 to one or more previously-generated application files (not shown) associated with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226.”; [0660]: “Monitoring and Updating: Cyber threats are constantly evolving; therefore, AI models require continuous monitoring and retraining to stay effective. This includes updating models with new data reflecting the latest threat patterns and re-deploying them. The repository (e.g., model repository 318) must support these iterative cycles of retraining and updating.”; and [0751]: “Threat mitigation process 10 may update 2720 the one or more detection rules (e.g., detection rules 324) based upon current suspect activity, current security events, future suspect activity and/or future security events.”).
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Murphy further teaches wherein the performing the remedial action comprises at least one of: blocking deployment of a version of the one or more software modules; or providing replacement code (see Murphy, [0161]: “In response to detecting such a DOS attack, threat mitigation process 10 may effectuate 808 one or more remedial operations. For example and with respect to such a DOS attack, threat mitigation process 10 may effectuate 808 e.g., a remedial operation that instructs WAF (i.e., Web Application Firewall) 212 to deny all incoming traffic from the identified attacker based upon e.g., protocols, ports or the originating IP addresses.”; and [0651]: “Further, threat mitigation process 10 may automatically perform 2418 one or more remedial operations concerning the security event. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may automatically delete/quarantine any data that was received on Port A from BlackHat.RU.”).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, which respectively depend on claims 1, 8, and 15, Murphy teaches further comprising training the LLM using training data comprising: one or more second software modules; and one or more second threats labeled for the one or more second software modules (see Murphy, [0219]: “When generating 1302 a simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) by executing training routine 272 within the controlled test environment (e.g., virtual machine 274), threat mitigation process 10 may render 1304 the simulation of the specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) on the controlled test environment (e.g., virtual machine 274).”; [0222]: “Referring also to FIG. 26, threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to allow for the automatic generation of testing routine 272. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may utilize 1350 artificial intelligence/machine learning to define training routine 272 for a specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60.”; [0224]: “When using 1350 artificial intelligence/machine learning to define training routine 272 for a specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60, threat mitigation process 10 may process 1352 security-relevant information to define training routine 272 for specific attack (e.g., a Denial of Services attack) of computing platform 60.”; [0390]: “Unlike traditional, discriminative models that classify input data into predefined categories (e.g., malicious or benign), generative models can learn to generate new data samples that are similar to the training data.”; and [0435]: “As discussed above, a generative AI model (e.g., generative AI model 302) is a type of artificial intelligence system designed to generate new, synthetic data that resembles its training data. It learns the patterns, features, and distributions of the input data and can produce novel outputs, such as images, text, or sound, that mimic the original dataset.”).
As per claims 7 and 14, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 8, Murphy teaches further comprising: receiving an indication of a second threat to the computing system, wherein the second threat is not identified by the second version of the threat model; and training the LLM by inputting, to the LLM: the indication of the second threat; and the second version of the threat model (see Murphy, [0391]: “Synthetic Data Generation: One of the challenges in training effective network threat detection systems is the scarcity of labeled data, especially for new and emerging threats. Generative AI models can help by creating large volumes of synthetic network traffic data, including both normal operations and various types of attack scenarios. This synthetic data can help in training more robust discriminative models (such as deep learning-based classifiers) by providing a richer, more varied dataset that covers a wider range of possible threats.”; and [0714]: “As new types of attacks emerge and organizations' network environments change, playbooks must be regularly updated. This ensures that the response strategies remain effective against the latest threats and are aligned with the current network architecture and business processes.”).
As per claim 21, which depends on claim 1, Murphy teaches further wherein the second information indicates a respective priority for fixing each of the one or more potential threats, wherein the priority of each potential threat is based on the corresponding impact of the potential threat (see Murphy, [0131]: “Referring also to FIG. 10, threat mitigation process 10 may process 506 the consolidated platform information (e.g., system-defined consolidated platform information 236 and/or client-defined consolidated platform information 238) to identify one or more non-deployed security-relevant subsystems (within computing platform 60) and may then generate 508 a list of ranked & recommended security-relevant subsystems (e.g., non-deployed security-relevant subsystem list 550) that ranks the one or more non-deployed security-relevant subsystems.”).
Claim Objections
7 Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record does not disclose, teach, or suggest neither singly nor in combination the claimed limitation of “wherein the performing the remedial action is further based on a determination that no additional data is input into the LLM for a time period exceeding a threshold” as recited in dependent claim 22.
Conclusion
8. For the reasons above, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-21 have been rejected and claim 22 has been objected to. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-22 remain pending.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Won/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443