DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed June 2, 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 11-20 were previously pending; claim 14 was cancelled and claim 21 was added by amendment; and thus, claims 11-13 and 15-21 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 2, 2026 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 6 of Remarks) amends claim 20 to an independent form, making the 112(d) rejection moot. Therefore the 112(d) rejection has been removed
The Applicant's second point (page 8-9 of Remarks) argues that the Examiner has used reference numeral 44 of UENO to refer to two different elements. While UNEO refers to numeral 44 as the terminal holding portion this anticipates the conical portion of the present invention. While the conical portion is not referenced as such in UNEO the conical portion of the present invention is taught by the terminal holding part 44, thus the reference numeral 44 is used in the rejection. A more clearly illustrated rejection is shown below.
The Applicant's third point (page 8-9 of Remarks) argues that the prior art does not teach, “compression ribs each being separate from and disposed on a respective conical portion of a plastic material overmolding,” or, “the compression ribs running parallel to a rotor axis and resting on a periphery of a passage opening,” with out giving any additional argument to the previously given rejection filed on March 4, 2026. Therefor the 102 rejection is changed to cover the new amendment and upheld.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the partially deformed compression ribs of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated UENO (US 20200195083 A1).
Regarding claim 11, UENO teaches:
An electric motor (Fig 1; 30) of an ancillary unit or electromechanical brake booster of a motor vehicle[0073], the electric motor (Fig 1; 30) comprising: a stator (Fig 1; 31)disposed concentrically with a rotor axis(Fig 1; 32), said stator(Fig 1; 31) having a plurality of electric coils wired for a plurality of phases[0035];
a bearing shield (Fig 2; 50) having a passage opening(Fig 2; 503);
a plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 2; 41) each electrically contacting a respective one of the plurality of phases[0041], said plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 2; 41) protruding through said passage opening(Fig 2; 503)[0052],
a plastic material overmolding (Fig 2; 42)at least partially encasing said plurality of one- piece busbars(Fig 2; 41) together[0041],
said plastic material overmolding (Fig 2; 42) having conical portions (Fig 6; 44)each surrounding part of a respective one of said plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 6; 41); and
compression ribs (Fig 6; 443)each being separate from and disposed on a respective one of said conical portions(Fig 6; 44), said compression ribs (Fig 5; 443) running parallel to said rotor axis (Fig 5; X)and resting on a periphery of said passage opening(Fig 5; 503)( The compression ribs 443 are provided to enhance the shear strength in the molding shrinkage direction of the overmolding 42 in view of the fact that the positional relationship between the plurality of terminal passage opening 503 in the bearing shield 50, thus they must lie on the periphery [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, UENO teaches the electric motor according to claim 11:
wherein said plurality of one-piece busbars (Fig 3; 41)each have one end region (Fig 3; 41b) disposed parallel to said rotor axis(Fig 3; Z), said end regions (Fig 3; 41b)are guided through said passage opening(Fig 3; 503)[0050], said end regions (Fig 3; 41b)are mutually disposed tangentially relative to said rotor axis(Fig 3; Z), and each of said end regions (Fig 3; 41b)is surrounded by a respective one of said conical portion (Fig 3; 44)of said plastic material overmolding(Fig 3; 42)[0052].
Regarding claim 13, UENO teaches the electric motor according to claim 12:
wherein said conical portions (Fig 6; 44) are connected to one another by a stabilizing rib(Fig 6; 441).
Regarding claim 20, UENO teaches:
An ancillary unit or electromechanical brake booster of a motor vehicle, the ancillary unit or electromechanical brake booster[0073], comprising an electric motor including:
a stator (Fig 1; 31)disposed concentrically with a rotor axis(Fig 1; 32), said stator(Fig 1; 31) having a plurality of electric coils wired for a plurality of phases[0035];
a bearing shield (Fig 2; 50) having a passage opening(Fig 2; 503);
a plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 2; 41) each electrically contacting a respective one of the plurality of phases[0041], said plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 2; 41) protruding through said passage opening(Fig 2; 503)[0052],
a plastic material overmolding (Fig 2; 42)at least partially encasing said plurality of one- piece busbars(Fig 2; 41) together[0041],
said plastic material overmolding (Fig 2; 42) having conical portions (Fig 6; 44)each surrounding part of a respective one of said plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 6; 41); and
compression ribs (Fig 6; 443)each being separate from and disposed on a respective one of said conical portions(Fig 6; 44), said compression ribs (Fig 5; 443) running parallel to said rotor axis (Fig 5; X)and resting on a periphery of said passage opening(Fig 5; 503)( The compression ribs 443 are provided to enhance the shear strength in the molding shrinkage direction of the overmolding 42 in view of the fact that the positional relationship between the plurality of terminal passage opening 503 in the bearing shield 50, thus they must lie on the periphery [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UENO (US 20200195083 A1) in view of SHIRAISHI (US 20190386535 A1).
In regards to claim 15, UENO, teaches the electric motor according to claim 11.
UENO does not teach:
which further comprises an interconnection element disposed between said stator and said bearing shield, said interconnection element including a plurality of insertion pockets, said insertion pockets each having a respective contact element inserted therein, and each of said contact elements having a clamping contact clamping a respective one of said plurality of one-piece busbars.
SHIRAISHI teaches:
which further comprises an interconnection element (Fig 1; 11) disposed between said stator (Fig 1; 10)and said bearing shield(Fig 1; 126), said interconnection element (Fig 6; 11) including a plurality of insertion pockets(Fig 6; 11a), said insertion pockets (Fig 6; 11a) each having a respective contact element (Fig 2/6; 13)inserted therein[0049], and each of said contact elements(Fig 2; 13) having a clamping contact (Fig 2; 133)clamping a respective one of said plurality of one-piece busbars(Fig 6; 121)[0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify UENO by adding an interconnection element with the insertion pockets, contact element, and wire portion taught by SHIRAISHI in order have a more reliable connection and contacting of its contact wires.
In regards to claim 16, UENO, in view of SHIRAISHI, teaches the electric motor according to claim 15:
wherein said electric coils are electrically wired to one another[0035] and an insulation displacement contact (Fig 2; 41a)acting as an interconnection point for a respective one of said wire portions[0041].
UENO does not teach:
said electric coils have wire portions, and each of said contact elements has an insulation displacement contact.
SHIRAISHI teaches:
wherein said electric coils (Fig 1; 12)are electrically wired to one another[0050-0052] and have wire portions(Fig 1; 12a/b), and each of said contact elements (Fig 1; 13)has an insulation displacement contact (Fig 2/3; 131)acting as an interconnection point for a respective one of said wire portions(Fig 1; 12b)[0054].
In regards to claim 17, UENO, in view of SHIRAISHI, teaches the electric motor according to claim 15:
wherein said plurality of one-piece busbars (Fig 2; 41)each have one end region (Fig 2; 41b)disposed parallel to said rotor axis(Fig 2; Z), end regions (Fig 2; 41b)are guided through said passage opening(Fig 2; 503), and all of said end regions (Fig 2; 41b)are supported on one of said insertion pockets(Fig 2; 503) ( The compression ribs 443 are provided to enhance the shear strength in the molding shrinkage direction of the overmolding 42 in view of the fact that the positional relationship between the plurality of terminal passage opening 503 in the bearing shield 50, thus they must lie on the periphery [0062]).
In regards to claim 18, UENO, in view of SHIRAISHI, teaches the electric motor according to claim 17:
wherein one of said end regions (Fig 3; 41b)is disposed above said insulation displacement (Fig 3; 41a)contact or said clamping contact.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UENO (US 20200195083 A1), in view of SHIRAISHI (US 20190386535 A1), in further view of DOSCH (US 20210057951 A1).
In regards to claim 19, UENO, in view of SHIRAISHI, teaches the electric motor according to claim 17.
Combination UENO/SHIRAISHI does not teach:
which further comprises a reinforcement rib formed on said insertion pocket, said reinforcement rib being perpendicular to said insertion pocket.
DOSCH teaches:
which further comprises a reinforcement rib (Fig 3b; 44)formed on said insertion pocket(Fig 3b; 30), said reinforcement rib (Fig 3b; 44)being perpendicular to said insertion pocket(Fig 3b; 30)[0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination UENO/ SHIRAISHI by adding a reinforcement rib taught by DOSCH in order have a more reliable connection and contacting of its contact wires [0005 DOSCH].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 21, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
compression ribs
However, the prior art does not teach: said compression ribs are at least partially deformed by insertion into said passage opening. (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claim 21 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of partial deformed compression ribs upon insertion is too specific which makes it novel.
Claims 21 are objected to, and not rejected, because they depend from a claim that contains allowable subject matter.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834