DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 4.8.24. In view of this communication, claims 11-22 are now pending in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Bearing shield and sensor support structure for an electric motor of an ancillary unit of a motor vehicle .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11,14-15,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Domyo et al (WO2015098056A1 English translation), hereinafter Domyo in view of Domyo.
Regarding Claim 11, Domyo discloses (Figs 1,8) an electric motor (10) of an ancillary unit (10), the electric motor comprising:
a bearing shield (13);
a sensor (41,43); and
a sensor support (51) made of a plastics material (Page 5, Line 33) and having a body (51) disposed perpendicularly (Fig 1) to a rotor axis (AA), on said body said sensor is held (Page 5, Line 34-35), said sensor support further having arms (74) peripherally attached to said body, said arms at least in part run parallel (Fig 1) to the rotor axis (AA) and are fastened (75) to said bearing shield (13). Domyo does not explicitly disclose usage in a motor vehicle.
Domyo further discloses usage in a motor vehicle [Page 3, Line 39 discloses “starter motor” and Line 28 “internal combustion engine” which are well known in the art for usage in motor vehicle].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo with usage in motor vehicle as is well known in the art in order to function as a starter motor.
Regarding Claim 14, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 11. Domyo in view of Domyo further discloses wherein said arms (74) have ends (72), said ends are angled radially (Fig 1) toward an outside in order to form in each case one tab (Figs 25,26,72) .
Regarding Claim 15, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 14. Domyo in view of Domyo further discloses further comprising fasteners (75); and wherein each said tab has a passage opening (Fig 26) formed therein which is penetrated by a respective one of said fasteners (Fig 26).
Regarding Claim 21, Domyo discloses (Figs 1,8) an ancillary unit (10), the ancillary unit (10) comprising
an electric motor (10), containing;
a bearing shield (13);
a sensor (41,43); and
a sensor support (51) made of a plastics material (Page 5, Line 33) and having a body (51) disposed perpendicularly (Fig 1) to a rotor axis (AA), on said body said sensor is held (Page 5, Line 34-35), said sensor support further having arms (74) peripherally attached to said body, said arms at least in part run parallel (Fig 1) to the rotor axis (AA) and are fastened (75) to said bearing shield (13). Domyo does not explicitly disclose usage in a motor vehicle.
Domyo further discloses usage in a motor vehicle [Page 3, Line 39 discloses “starter motor” and Line 28 “internal combustion engine” which are well known in the art for usage in motor vehicle].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed ancillary unit of Domyo with usage in motor vehicle as is well known in the art in order to function as a starter motor.
Claims 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Domyo in view of Domyo and Koch et al (DE102019202859A1 English translation), hereinafter Koch.
Regarding Claim 12, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 11. Domyo in view of Domyo further discloses wherein: said bearing shield (13) has a elevation (13e) with a base (13b) , said elevation is adjoined by a periphery that extends radially (R) toward an outside (R) relative to the rotor axis (Aa); said body (51) is supported on said base (13b) of said elevation; and said arms (74) are fastened (75) to said periphery (13b periphery). Domyo in view of Domyo does not explicitly disclose a pot-shaped elevation.
Koch discloses (Figs 3a, 3b) a pot-shaped elevation (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo with pot shaped elevation of bearing shield as taught by Koch in order to have design choice of axial and radial space that is required to mount various components such as sensor, bearing, connection element while at the same time optimizing material usage.
Regarding Claim 19, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 11. Domyo in view of Domyo does not explicitly disclose wherein said sensor has a plurality of fastening holes formed therein; further comprising a plurality of contact pins, in part running parallel to the rotor axis, are embedded in said body by press-fitting technology, said contact pins being in each case guided through a corresponding one of said fastening holes of said sensor.
Koch discloses (Figs 4-5) wherein said sensor (31) has a plurality of fastening holes (69) formed therein; further comprising a plurality of contact pins (70), in part running parallel (Fig 5)to the rotor axis (AA), are embedded in said body (33) by press-fitting technology [Para 0026 discloses “The first ends 71 can be designed as press-fit contacts 74”], said contact pins being in each case guided through a corresponding one of said fastening holes of said sensor (Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo with press fit contact pins as taught by Koch in order to have an easy way to connect sensor and retain structural and electrical integrity of terminals with circuit board.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Domyo in view of Domyo, Koch and Kodera et al (WO2016103619A1 English translation), hereinafter Kodera.
Regarding Claim 13, Domyo in view of Domyo and Koch discloses the electric motor according to claim 12. Domyo in view of Domyo and Koch does disclose sensor support (51) but does not explicitly disclose it has webs, which project parallel to the rotor axis and are connected to one another and rest on said base, are integrally molded proximal to said base on said body.
Kodera discloses (Fig 4) wherein support (51) has webs (73,74,75,76 ),which project parallel to the rotor axis (perpendicular to plane of Fig 4) and are connected to one another and rest on said base (61) , are integrally molded (Page 9, Line 35) proximal to said base on said body (51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo and Koch with sensor support having webs as taught by Kodera in order to provide sufficient radial and circumferential strength while reducing material as well as creep and deformation due to excess material.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Domyo in view of Domyo and Takahashi et al (US20210305884A1) , hereinafter Takahashi.
Regarding Claim 16, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 14. Domyo in view of Domyo further discloses said fasteners (75) of said bearing shield (13) but does not explicitly disclose each of said fasteners is a wobble rivet.
Takahashi discloses (Figs 15A-15C) each of said fasteners (442) is a wobble rivet (Figs 14A-15C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo with wobble rivets as fasteners as taught by Takahashi in order to have an easy way to connect two mating bodies with structural integrity while not requiring much dimensional accuracy and time as some other fastening methodologies may require.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Domyo in view of Domyo and Kodera.
Regarding Claim 17, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 15. Domyo in view of Domyo further discloses, wherein said sensor support (51) has rings (space around bolt 75 on tab 72) , one of said rings is disposed concentrically (space around can be concentric) with each said passage opening and is integrally molded on said tab (72) on that side of each said tab that faces (72 is facing 13) said bearing shield (13).
Further (if rings are intended to be a projection), Kodera discloses (Figs 1,11) wherein said sensor support (51) has rings (81a, 82a), one of said rings is disposed concentrically with each said passage opening (81,82) and is integrally molded on said tab (54) on that side of each said tab that faces (Fig 1) said bearing shield (13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo with concentric rings as taught by Kodera in order to have a controlled flat surface for bolt tightening.
Regarding Claim 18, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 15. Domyo in view of Domyo does not explicitly disclose said sensor support has flanges and ribs, each said passage opening, on that side that faces away from said bearing shield, is partially surrounded by one of said flanges projecting parallel to the rotor axis, said ribs running radially relative to a respective said passage opening and being formed on each said flange.
Kodera discloses (Fig 8) said sensor support (51) has flanges (84,85,86 and connections in between) and ribs (87,88), each said passage opening (81,82), on that side that faces away (Fig 1) from said bearing shield (13), is partially surrounded (Fig 8) by one of said flanges projecting parallel to the rotor axis (AA), said ribs running radially (R) relative to a respective said passage opening (81,82) and being formed (Fig 8) on each said flange.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo with flanges and ribs as taught by Kodera in order to have a desired design choice of bolt tightening structure.
Claims 20,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Domyo in view of Domyo and Yun (US20210039619A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the electric motor according to claim 11. but does not explicitly disclose wherein the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster.
Yun discloses (Fig 1) wherein the ancillary unit 92) is an electromechanical brake booster (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Domyo in view of Domyo with usage in electromechanical brake booster as taught by Yun in order to assist by creating pressure in the braking of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 22, Domyo in view of Domyo discloses the ancillary unit according to claim 21 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster.
Yun discloses (Fig 1) wherein the ancillary unit 92) is an electromechanical brake booster (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed ancillary unit of Domyo in view of Domyo with usage in electromechanical brake booster as taught by Yun in order to assist by creating pressure in the braking of a vehicle.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834