DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 10-20 of U.S. Application 18/628999 filed on June 11, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 8, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 10, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfeiffer (US 20170133906).
Regarding claim 10, Pfeiffer teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 5 below) an electric motor (1) for an ancillary unit of a motor vehicle (intended use limitation not given patentable weight) (Abstract; ¶ 31),
the electric motor (1) comprising: a sensor (17, 20) having a plurality of fastening holes (see annotated fig. 5 below) formed therein (¶ 31);
a sensor support (8) made of a plastics material and having a body on which said sensor being held (¶ 24; ¶ 31); and
a plurality of contact pins (28, 29) embedded in said body by press-fitting technology (press-fitting is a process not given patentable weight in the apparatus claim, see below) (¶ 35),
said contact pins (28, 29) being in each case guided through one corresponding one of said fastening holes (see annotated fig. 5 below) of said sensor (17, 20) (fig. 5; ¶ 31; ¶ 35).
The Examiner points out the limitation of “embedded in said body by press-fitting” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 11/10, Pfeiffer teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 5 above) said sensor (17, 20) has a circuit board (17) in which said fastening holes (see annotated fig. 5 above) are formed (¶ 31).
Regarding claim 19, Pfeiffer teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 5 above) an ancillary unit of a motor vehicle (intended use limitation not given patentable weight) (Abstract; ¶ 31),
the ancillary unit comprising: an electric motor (1), containing: a sensor (17, 20) having a plurality of fastening holes (see annotated fig. 5 above) formed therein (Abstract; ¶ 31);
a sensor support (8) made of a plastics material and having a body on which said sensor is held (¶ 24; ¶ 31); and
a plurality of contact pins (28, 29) embedded in said body by press-fitting technology (press-fitting is a process not given patentable weight in the apparatus claim, see below) (¶ 35),
said contact pins (28, 29) being in each case guided through one corresponding one of said fastening holes (see annotated fig. 5 above) of said sensor (17, 20) (fig. 5; ¶ 31; ¶ 35).
The Examiner points out the limitation of “embedded in said body by press-fitting” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeiffer in view of Kifer (US 20200328648).
Regarding claim 18/10, Pfeiffer teaches the device of claim 19 but does not explicitly teach the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster.
However, Kifer teaches the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster (¶ 3; ¶ 37) in order to provide quicker, simpler assembly with improved reliability (Pfeiffer, ¶ 7; ¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Pfeiffer and provide the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster as taught by Kifer in order to provide quicker, simpler assembly with improved reliability (Pfeiffer, ¶ 7; ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 20/19, Pfeiffer teaches the device of claim 19 but does not explicitly teach the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster.
However, Kifer teaches the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster (¶ 3; ¶ 37) in order to provide quicker, simpler assembly with improved reliability (Pfeiffer, ¶ 7; ¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Pfeiffer and provide the ancillary unit is an electromechanical brake booster as taught by Kifer in order to provide quicker, simpler assembly with improved reliability (Pfeiffer, ¶ 7; ¶ 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834