DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 10-19 in the reply filed on 1/7/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicants have amended claims 1 and 20 to include the structural features of claim 10 and asserts that the requirement for restriction is now moot. This is not found persuasive because as set forth in the requirement for restriction, claims 1-9 and 20 are directed to a method of coupling first, second and third layers together and claims 10-19 are directed to the layered product comprising first, second and third layers. The search required for the method of coupling the first, second and third layers together is separate from the search required for the product. Since the method and the article constitute distinct inventions, the Examiner is of the position that searching two distinct inventions would create undue burden. As such, the Examiner maintains the requirement for restriction.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. With regard to claim 17, it is not clear to the Examiner what is meant by the phrase “configured to change responsive to exposure of the first layer component, the second layer component and the third layer component to the one or more curing conditions”. Specifically, it is not clear what is configured to “change”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sweatman et al., GB 2529571 A.
With regard to claim 10, the published GB patent issued to Sweatman et al., teach a laminated composite comprising first, second and third core layers wherein first and second core layers are made from natural fibers impregnated with a bio-based resin such as a furan resin (PFA) (abstract, figure 4a and page 6, 35-page 7, 5). With regard to the second core layer, Sweatman et al., teach that the second core layer can be cellular and made from materials such as paper or card (page 7, 25-30). Sweatman et al., further teach that second core layer located between the first and third core layers is bonded by the impregnated bio-based resin in the first and third core layers (abstract, page 7, 5-10 and page 4, 5-15). With regard to the claimed fabric layers, since Sweatman et al., teach that the first and third core layer comprise a network of fibers impregnated with bio-based resin, the fabric limitations are considered met.
With regard to claims 11 and 12, figure 4a of Sweatman et al., teach the first top and first bottom surfaces of the individual layers wherein further the layers are coupled together to form a laminate. The Examiner considers this sufficient to meet the limitations of claims 11 and 12.
With regard to claim 13, as set forth above, Sweatman et al., teach the claimed PFA resin.
With regard to claim 14, the first core layer comprising a network of fibers is impregnated with the bio-based resin (see above).
With regard to claim 15, Sweatman et al., teach that bio-based resin is capable of forming a bonding bridge between the second core layer and the first and/or third core layers. As such, the Examiner is of the position that since the first and second core layers are impregnated with the bio-based resin and further coupled to either side of the second core layer, the limitations of claim 15 are considered met. In other words, bio-based resin would be present on both exterior surfaces of the second core layer with the first and third bio-resin impregnated fabric layers are applied to either side.
With regard to claims 16, 17 and 19 Sweatman et al., teach curing takes place in a heated moulding press. In addition, the individual layers can be pre-cured via heat/steam prior to assembly (page 11, 20-page 13, 15).
With regard to claim 18, Sweatman et al., teach using the composite in an airline gallery cart (abstract).
Conclusion
/LYNDA SALVATORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789