DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Amendment filed: 06/24/2026. This action is made Final.
B. Claims 21-40 remain pending.
C. 35 USC 101 rejection withdrawn due to amendment and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gordon, Michael M. et al. (US Pub. 2012/0278725 A1), herein referred to as “Gordon” in view of Zigoris, Philip Anastasios et al. (US Pub. 2015/0312292 A1), herein referred to as “Zigoris”.
As for claims 21, 28 and 34, Gordon teaches. A system and corresponding computer implemented method of claim 28 and computer program product of claim 34 comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium (par. 155 storage medium) storing computer-readable program code capable of being executed by one or more processors, the program code comprising instructions configurable to cause:
a database system implemented using a server system, the database (par. 11 database) system configurable to cause (FIG. 3, a block diagram of an embodiment of an aggregation system 108 is shown. There are various stores of information that may be in a database, file system and/or memory data structure, specifically, Service feed items 308, aggregate feed items 328, selective feed items 332, service credentials 314, and feed filters 324):
obtaining, via a user interface on a display of a device of a user of a messaging system, a request to create a custom action for addition to a message publisher (par. 40 user will use the user interface to configure and personalize service feeds that the aggregation system 108 passes to the Internet service 126 of the service feed 206 to be aggregated, enabling that Internet service 126 to configure and return, or otherwise send, a service feed 206 customized for, or attributable in whole or in part to, that specific user 116; the custom action of aggregation specific feed content to be delivered to the user);
obtaining, via the user interface, a custom action definition configuring the custom action (par. 32 user configures which internet service feeds will be aggregated as the basis for selective feeds; also note par. 30-31);
adding, to the message publisher, the custom action as configured by the custom action definition (par. 32 user configuration; par. 53 first stage filter added and specified by the user is applied to service feeds before applied to aggregate feed); and
displaying, via the user interface, the message publisher including a text input area for creating a message and an element to select the custom action (par. 53 The user 116 periodically will access the aggregation system 108 to view the selective feed 220 through the user interface 312 or the device 112; fig. 8a depicts user interface for displaying aggregated feeds; par. 98 describes further).
Gordon does not specifically in detail teach what a custom action definition is comprised of; however in the same field of endeavor Zigoris teaches obtaining, via the user interface, a custom action definition configuring the custom action to at least interact with a data object accessible using a third party-party external system (par. 84 external storage; par. 77-78 sponsored stories are from external information sources) outside of the database system the custom action definition based on custom action instructions defining or identifying: the data object, one or more interactions to perform with the data object, and attributes of the custom action (fig. 6, par. 73-74; FIG. 6 depicts an example of sponsor GUI 601. Sponsor GUI 601 is a simple user interface for allowing a sponsoring user to promote particular stories generated on an object. Once the desired node, object, or object instance is selected, the sponsor target 603 appears in sponsor GUI 601. The sponsor GUI 601 allows a sponsoring user to select between sponsored stories, generated by user actions on sponsor target 603, and static social networking ads, which are generated by the sponsor itself. The sponsor GUI 601 may provide the most commonly used action types, such as page like stories, sponsored page posts, and “likes” on page posts. Paragraph 75 presents selectable buttons for the selection of different actions for promoting a story (object); paragraph 76 gives further customization options for defining custom action of the sponsor GUI for promoting story; without further limitations limiting what a custom action is an arbitrary action such as shown within 73-76 suffices); initiating, from the message publisher, one or more actions using the external system including a search of the external system for the data object; and obtaining, from the external system, one or more results of the one or more actions, the obtained one or more results configured to be shared with a conversation using the message publisher (Par 34 41-42, 51-52 discuss that the social networking system may integrate with third party websites via an application programming interface or script calls to the social networking system servers"; "third-party developers may define object instances that may be joined via custom graph actions"; " For example, a third-party developer may add custom actions to the node or object " stories generated by custom actions defined by third parties". Par. 84 storage mentioned throughout the disclosure can be external; par. 77 and fig 7 describes and depicts which searches external information sources to populate news feed of user message publisher page (news feed story) the feed is displayed in a collaborative social networking environment where users can view and message each other about particular news feed stories displayed to user from external information source based upon looking up user privacy settings; Newsfeed 701 includes newsfeed stories 701 a-701 d. These stories are generated specifically for a user based upon the activities the user's friends or other entities the user is associated with Newsfeed story 701 b is an example of a newsfeed story that has been selected for promoting to sponsor space 703. When the sponsored story application 301 detects a match in the activity stream 302 to an sponsor's stream sponsored story specification from the stream sponsored story specification database 303, the sponsored story 703 is formatted to resemble a news feed story and sent to the sponsored story system 304. In this particular example, the stream story relates to a story when a friend of the user purchased the “Nike Air Zoom Kobe IV” shoes from Zappos.com. The formatted sponsored story 703 is promoted to the user or another set of users by the sponsored story system 304.Par. 78 FIGS. 7A-E illustrate examples of promoted sponsor stories 703. Each Sponsored Story 703 includes a social context 38. In particular embodiments, social context 38 comprises the user who performed the social action, a descriptor of the action, and a comment entered by the user who performed the social action. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zigoris into Gordan because Zigoris suggests in paragraphs 17-19 creating a web of connections among the users of social networking website. These connections among the users can be leveraged by the website to offer more relevant information to each user in view of the users' own stated interests in their connections. Various pieces of content may be aggregated into a single news feed. Thus aggregated feeds with posed various additional features not mentioned in Gordon would have been obvious addition since Gordon is also concerned with aggregating feeds.
As for claims 22, 29 and 35, Gordon teaches. The system of claim 21, wherein the custom action configures a task or a process for a computing system (par. 53 filters specified by the user to filter selective feed into aggregate feeds).
As for claims 23, 30 and 36, Gordon teaches. The system of claim 21, wherein the custom action updates a customer relationship management (CRM) record on a computing system (par. 141 such implementations, the operator of the aggregation system 108 or other service operator can provide and periodically update one or more datasets, data records, data elements, or other input information thereby enabling the user interface 312, user device 112, or other requesting and reporting servers or services to make multiple requests by accessing the datasets, data records, data elements, or other inputs multiple times between communications with the operator of the aggregation system 108).
As for claims 24, 31 and 37, Gordon teaches. The system of claim 21, wherein the custom action generates an interface usable to configure change notifications for a record stored on a computing system (par. 109 Synchronization of icons 830 and/or tiled icons 830-6, 830-7 can be maintained across heterogeneous view carousels 870, so that regardless of the particular view carousel in use on a given device 112 or interface 312 or in a given mode of operation, the icons 830 and/or tiled icons 830-6, 830-7 update appropriately in the context of each view carousel 870. As the icons 830 and/or tiled icons 830-6, 830-7 are updated, the Feed Items associated with the icons 830 and/or tiled icons 830-6, 830-7 will typically be similarly updated, subject to any further, over-riding rules or policies, on the other devices 112 or interfaces 312 used by the user 116).
As for claims 25, 32 and 38, Gordon teaches. The system of claim 24, wherein the configuring of change notifications includes determining how often the computing system is queried for changes to the record (par. 124 handling of notification from a plurality of internet sources to update the user interface for each aggregated feed).
As for claims 26, 33 and 39, Gordon teaches. The system of claim 21, wherein the message publisher is associated with a channel (par. 62 example of publisher content is displayed in the channel rendered on the user interface).
As for claims 27 and 40, Gordon teaches. The system of claim 21, wherein the custom action launches, from the message publisher, an application interface displayable by the messaging system (par. 62 from the channel rendered on the user interface the user can activate an application such as a video playback window which was embedded application using application programing interface; par. 45 , accessing an Application Programming Interface (API) or other interface mechanism to provide feed items, associated content, metadata, extracts or highlights, and any other information related to the service feed 206 or to individual Service feed items 308 in the service feed 206).
(Note:) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A1. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach “accessible using a third-party external system outside of the database system… initiating, from the message publisher, one or more actions using the external system including a search of the external system for the data object; and obtaining, from the external system, one or more results of the one or more actions, the obtained one or more results configured to be shared with a conversation using the message publisher.”
R1. Examiner does not agree, Zigoris teaches in paragraphs 34 41-42, 51-52 that the social networking system may integrate with third party websites via an application programming interface or script calls to the social networking system servers"; "third-party developers may define object instances that may be joined via custom graph actions"; " For example, a third-party developer may add custom actions to the node or object " stories generated by custom actions defined by third parties". Par. 84 storage mentioned throughout the disclosure can be external.
In paragraph 77 and figure 7 describes and depicts which searches external information sources to populate news feed of user message publisher page (news feed story) the feed is displayed in a collaborative social networking environment where users can view and message each other about particular news feed stories displayed to user from external information source based upon looking up user privacy settings; Newsfeed 701 includes newsfeed stories 701 a-701 d. These stories are generated specifically for a user based upon the activities the user's friends or other entities the user is associated with Newsfeed story 701 b is an example of a newsfeed story that has been selected for promoting to sponsor space 703. When the sponsored story application 301 detects a match in the activity stream 302 to an sponsor's stream sponsored story specification from the stream sponsored story specification database 303, the sponsored story 703 is formatted to resemble a news feed story and sent to the sponsored story system 304. In this particular example, the stream story relates to a story when a friend of the user purchased the “Nike Air Zoom Kobe IV” shoes from Zappos.com. The formatted sponsored story 703 is promoted to the user or another set of users by the sponsored story system 304.Par. 78 FIGS. 7A-E illustrate examples of promoted sponsor stories 703. Each Sponsored Story 703 includes a social context 38. In particular embodiments, social context 38 comprises the user who performed the social action, a descriptor of the action, and a comment entered by the user who performed the social action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 August 31, 2026