DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 1/15/2026 has been entered. In response to preliminary amendment filed on 1/15/2026, claims 1- 40 are cancelled and claims 41, 46 and 52 are amended. Claims 41- 56 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 1/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed on 1/19/2026 is under compliance and has/have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41- 42, 46- 47, 52, 55- 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2110262 (see IDS filed on 7/5/2024) on page 2 cire No #2, hereafter CMCC in view of Roy et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0314914 A1).
Regarding claim 41, CMCC teaches a control method, comprising following steps:
receiving a first time and a second time issued by a network device, wherein the first time is a service end time of the network device covering a current service area, and the second time is a service start time of a next network device covering the current service area; in response to meeting a first preset condition (RAN2 agrees that a cell broadcasts the time when a serving cell stops covering the current area (i.e. first time) and a reference location for a quasi-earth fixed cell in WI NR_NTN; see page 1 under section 2.1 discussion; further refer to same page 1 section 2.1about ..broadcast of cell stop time in an SIB is only applicable to the quasi-earth fixed cell; further see page 2 second paragraph under section 2.1…except the cell stop time, the start time of a next cell is beneficial for a user equipment (UE) to get satellite coverage; now see page 2 proposal 1 regarding For the quasi-earth fixed cell, satellite assistance information may comprise the stop time of the serving cell (i.e., a first preset condition), the start time of the next cell (i.e., a second time issued by a network device, the second time being a service start time of a next network device covering a current service area), etc. ; further refer to section 2.3.1 on page 3 about The UE predicts, according to the assistance information, how long the UE is out of coverage. Further see page 4 section 2.3.2 regarding When the UE is in an idle mode, the UE should camp on a suitable cell to obtain service…. When the UE is out of the coverage, the UE is not required to attempt to camp on a cell or connect to a network.).Here CMCC states that meeting preset condition, there is some delay in between the start time of next cell; but CMCC is silent about delaying, by a terminal, access to network for a preset time according to the second time, and the preset time is generated by the terminal; wherein
the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises: determining the preset time; and
a manner for determining the preset time comprises:
determining or generating the preset time according to a first time range;
wherein the determining or generating the preset time according to the first time range comprises:
randomly selecting a duration as the preset time according to the duration T in a range of 0 to T, wherein T is a value greater than 0, or T is associated with a current load;
wherein the step of delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, to network at a time of the second time plus the preset time.
However Roy teaches in context with [0030] and Fig. 5 (i.e. #501 as a network device and UE as a terminal) teaches in [0034] regarding …the HO Command message further includes an interval (similar to contention window). In step 522, all the UEs in the UE group use the interval in the HO Command message to first generate a number in the range [0, interval] and then perform a random backoff (i.e. random backoff can be a preset time). In step 523, each UE then transmits the PRACH preamble to the target base station gNB 502 in the new target cell at different times based on the random backoff number. As a result, different UEs perform the random-access at different times to avoid the RACH storm and thereby improving handover performance. In step 524, the target gNB 502 transmits a random-access response (RAR) to each UE (i.e. second time). Note that UEs and LEO-NTN can coordinate to use a two-step contention free random-access (CFRA) or contention based random-access (CBRA) for reducing the handover delay to cope with high-speed LEO satellites. Hence terminal accesses the network at a time of second time plus random backoff (between [0, interval] )time. Further this preset time is associated with load see [0030].. To solve this issue and mitigate enormous RACH collisions, LEO-NTN can provide contention free random-access (CFRA) resources to all (or the group) UEs in serving cell, such that all UEs can respond to the HO command message broadcast. However, CFRA-based random-access is limited by the number of available RA preambles. Thus, it might not be possible to resolve the massive RACH storm and resulting RACH failure in heavily loaded NTN; now refer to [0034] using an interval (similar to contention window)…. different UEs perform the random-access at different times to avoid the RACH storm and thereby improving handover performance.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Roy with the teachings of CMCC to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein delaying, by a terminal, access to network for a preset time according to the second time, and the preset time is generated by the terminal; wherein
the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises: determining the preset time; and
a manner for determining the preset time comprises:
determining or generating the preset time according to a first time range;
wherein the determining or generating the preset time according to the first time range comprises:
randomly selecting a duration as the preset time according to the duration T in a range of 0 to T, wherein T is a value greater than 0, or T is associated with a current load;
wherein the step of delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, to network at a time of the second time plus the preset time; greater way resources can be used/managed to carry out more reliable communication.
Regarding claim 42, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 41, wherein the meeting the first preset condition comprises at least one of: being released by the network before a first time, wherein the first time is issued by the network device; or accessing the network at the second time (CMCC see page 2 proposal 1 regarding For the quasi-earth fixed cell, satellite assistance information may comprise the stop time of the serving cell (i.e., a first preset condition), the start time of the next cell (i.e., a second time issued by a network device, the second time being a service start time of a next network device covering a current service area), etc).
Regarding claim 46, CMCC teaches a control method, comprising following steps:
receiving a first time and a second time issued by a network device, wherein the first time is a service end time of the network device covering a current service area, and the second time is a service start time of a next network device covering the current service area; in response to meeting a first preset condition (RAN2 agrees that a cell broadcasts the time when a serving cell stops covering the current area (i.e. first time) and a reference location for a quasi-earth fixed cell in WI NR_NTN; see page 1 under section 2.1 discussion; further refer to same page 1 section 2.1about ..broadcast of cell stop time in an SIB is only applicable to the quasi-earth fixed cell; further see page 2 second paragraph under section 2.1…except the cell stop time, the start time of a next cell is beneficial for a user equipment (UE) to get satellite coverage; now see page 2 proposal 1 regarding For the quasi-earth fixed cell, satellite assistance information may comprise the stop time of the serving cell (i.e., a first preset condition), the start time of the next cell (i.e., a second time issued by a network device, the second time being a service start time of a next network device covering a current service area), etc. ; further refer to section 2.3.1 on page 3 about The UE predicts, according to the assistance information, how long the UE is out of coverage. Further see page 4 section 2.3.2 regarding When the UE is in an idle mode, the UE should camp on a suitable cell to obtain service…. When the UE is out of the coverage, the UE is not required to attempt to camp on a cell or connect to a network.).
Here CMCC states that meeting preset condition, there is some delay in between the start time of next cell; but CMCC is silent about delaying, by a terminal, access to network for a preset time according to the second time, and the preset time is generated by the terminal; wherein
the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises: determining the preset time; and
a manner for determining the preset time comprises:
determining or generating the preset time according to a first time range;
wherein the determining or generating the preset time according to the first time range comprises:
randomly selecting a duration as the preset time according to the duration T in a range of 0 to T, wherein T is a value greater than 0, or T is associated with a current load;
wherein the step of delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, to network at a time of the second time plus the preset time.
However Roy teaches in context with [0030] and Fig. 5 (i.e. #501 as a network device and UE as a terminal) teaches in [0034] regarding …the HO Command message further includes an interval (similar to contention window). In step 522, all the UEs in the UE group use the interval in the HO Command message to first generate a number in the range [0, interval] and then perform a random backoff (i.e. random backoff can be a preset time). In step 523, each UE then transmits the PRACH preamble to the target base station gNB 502 in the new target cell at different times based on the random backoff number. As a result, different UEs perform the random-access at different times to avoid the RACH storm and thereby improving handover performance. In step 524, the target gNB 502 transmits a random-access response (RAR) to each UE (i.e. second time). Note that UEs and LEO-NTN can coordinate to use a two-step contention free random-access (CFRA) or contention based random-access (CBRA) for reducing the handover delay to cope with high-speed LEO satellites. Hence terminal accesses the network at a time of second time plus random backoff (between [0, interval] )time. Further this preset time is associated with load see [0030].. To solve this issue and mitigate enormous RACH collisions, LEO-NTN can provide contention free random-access (CFRA) resources to all (or the group) UEs in serving cell, such that all UEs can respond to the HO command message broadcast. However, CFRA-based random-access is limited by the number of available RA preambles. Thus, it might not be possible to resolve the massive RACH storm and resulting RACH failure in heavily loaded NTN; now refer to [0034] using an interval (similar to contention window)…. different UEs perform the random-access at different times to avoid the RACH storm and thereby improving handover performance.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Roy with the teachings of CMCC to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein delaying, by a terminal, access to network for a preset time according to the second time, and the preset time is generated by the terminal; wherein
the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises: determining the preset time; and
a manner for determining the preset time comprises:
determining or generating the preset time according to a first time range;
wherein the determining or generating the preset time according to the first time range comprises:
randomly selecting a duration as the preset time according to the duration T in a range of 0 to T, wherein T is a value greater than 0, or T is associated with a current load;
wherein the step of delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, to network at a time of the second time plus the preset time; greater way resources can be used/managed to carry out more reliable communication.
Regarding claim 47, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 41, wherein the meeting the preset condition comprises: meeting a first condition and/or meeting a second preset condition; already discussed above CMCC… RAN2 agrees that a cell broadcasts the time when a serving cell stops covering the current area (i.e. first time) and a reference location for a quasi-earth fixed cell in WI NR_NTN; see page 1 under section 2.1 discussion; further refer to same page 1 section 2.1about ..broadcast of cell stop time in an SIB is only applicable to the quasi-earth fixed cell; further see page 2 second paragraph under section 2.1…except the cell stop time, the start time of a next cell is beneficial for a user equipment (UE) to get satellite coverage; now see page 2 proposal 1 regarding For the quasi-earth fixed cell, satellite assistance information may comprise the stop time of the serving cell (i.e., a first preset condition).
Regarding claim 51, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 47, wherein the meeting the second preset condition comprises at least one of: the RRC release message not carrying a T value; the T value carried by the RRC release message being 0; a release cause value carried by the RRC release message not being the specific cause value; or a current business being a preset high-priority business; claim 51 is dependent to claim 47 and in claim 47 there is “OR” limitations for first/second preset condition.
Regarding claim 52, CMCC teaches a control method, comprising:
Issuing, by a network device, a first time and a second time issued by a network device, wherein the first time is a service end time of the network device covering a current service area, and the second time is a service start time of a next network device covering the current service area (RAN2 agrees that a cell broadcasts the time when a serving cell stops covering the current area (i.e. first time) and a reference location for a quasi-earth fixed cell in WI NR_NTN; see page 1 under section 2.1 discussion; further refer to same page 1 section 2.1about ..broadcast of cell stop time in an SIB is only applicable to the quasi-earth fixed cell; further see page 2 second paragraph under section 2.1…except the cell stop time, the start time of a next cell is beneficial for a user equipment (UE) to get satellite coverage; now see page 2 proposal 1 regarding For the quasi-earth fixed cell, satellite assistance information may comprise the stop time of the serving cell, the start time of the next cell (i.e., a second time issued by a network device, the second time being a service start time of a next network device covering a current service area), etc. ; further refer to section 2.3.1 on page 3 about The UE predicts, according to the assistance information, how long the UE is out of coverage. Further see page 4 section 2.3.2 regarding When the UE is in an idle mode, the UE should camp on a suitable cell to obtain service…. When the UE is out of the coverage, the UE is not required to attempt to camp on a cell or connect to a network.).
Here CMCC states that meeting preset condition, there is some delay in between the start time of next cell; but CMCC is silent about delaying, by a terminal, access to network for a preset time according to the second time, and the preset time is generated by the terminal; wherein
the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises: determining the preset time; and
a manner for determining the preset time comprises:
determining or generating the preset time according to a first time range;
wherein the determining or generating the preset time according to the first time range comprises:
randomly selecting a duration as the preset time according to the duration T in a range of 0 to T, wherein T is a value greater than 0, or T is associated with a current load;
wherein the step of delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, to network at a time of the second time plus the preset time.
However Roy teaches in context with [0030] and Fig. 5 (i.e. #501 as a network device and UE as a terminal) teaches in [0034] regarding …the HO Command message further includes an interval (similar to contention window). In step 522, all the UEs in the UE group use the interval in the HO Command message to first generate a number in the range [0, interval] and then perform a random backoff (i.e. random backoff can be a preset time). In step 523, each UE then transmits the PRACH preamble to the target base station gNB 502 in the new target cell at different times based on the random backoff number. As a result, different UEs perform the random-access at different times to avoid the RACH storm and thereby improving handover performance. In step 524, the target gNB 502 transmits a random-access response (RAR) to each UE (i.e. second time). Note that UEs and LEO-NTN can coordinate to use a two-step contention free random-access (CFRA) or contention based random-access (CBRA) for reducing the handover delay to cope with high-speed LEO satellites. Hence terminal accesses the network at a time of second time plus random backoff (between [0, interval] )time. Further this preset time is associated with load see [0030].. To solve this issue and mitigate enormous RACH collisions, LEO-NTN can provide contention free random-access (CFRA) resources to all (or the group) UEs in serving cell, such that all UEs can respond to the HO command message broadcast. However, CFRA-based random-access is limited by the number of available RA preambles. Thus, it might not be possible to resolve the massive RACH storm and resulting RACH failure in heavily loaded NTN; now refer to [0034] using an interval (similar to contention window)…. different UEs perform the random-access at different times to avoid the RACH storm and thereby improving handover performance.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Roy with the teachings of CMCC to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein delaying, by a terminal, access to network for a preset time according to the second time, and the preset time is generated by the terminal; wherein
the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises: determining the preset time; and
a manner for determining the preset time comprises:
determining or generating the preset time according to a first time range;
wherein the determining or generating the preset time according to the first time range comprises:
randomly selecting a duration as the preset time according to the duration T in a range of 0 to T, wherein T is a value greater than 0, or T is associated with a current load;
wherein the step of delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, to network at a time of the second time plus the preset time; greater way resources can be used/managed to carry out more reliable communication.
Regarding claim 55, a communication device, comprising: a memory; and a processor, wherein a control program is stored on the memory, and when the control program is executed by the processor, steps of the control method according to claim 41 are implemented; please refer to claim 41’s citations.
Regarding claim 56, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a control program is stored on the storage medium, and when the control program is executed by a processor, steps of the control method according to claim 41 are implemented; please refer to claim 41’s citations.
Claim(s) 43, 49- 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2110262 (see IDS filed on 7/5/2024) on page 2 cire No #2, hereafter CMCC in view of Roy et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0314914 A1) and in further view of Jia et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0372603 A1).
Regarding claim 43, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 42, but CMCC is silent about further comprising: the terminal being released through a radio resource control (RRC) release message of the network; however Jia teaches in Fig. 6 regarding RRC release message. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Jia with the teachings of CMCC in view of Roy to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the terminal being released through a radio resource control (RRC) release message of the network; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out to release resources in communication system.
Regarding claim 49, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 42, but CMCC is silent about further comprising: the terminal being released through a radio resource control (RRC) release message of the network; however Jia teaches in Fig. 6 regarding RRC release message. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Jia with the teachings of CMCC in view of Roy to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the terminal being released through a radio resource control (RRC) release message of the network; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out to release resources in communication system.
Regarding claim 50, CMCC in view of Roy and Jia teaches as per claim 49, wherein parameters carried by the RRC release message comprise at least one of the following: a duration T or a specific cause value; Jia [0104] wait time.
Claim(s) 44- 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2110262 (see IDS filed on 7/5/2024) on page 2 cire No #2, hereafter CMCC in view of Roy et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0314914 A1) and further in view of Duan et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0295521 A1).
Regarding claim 44, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 41, but CMCC is silent about wherein the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time issued by the network device further comprises: in response to meeting a second preset condition, determining not to take effect the preset time; however Duan states in Fig. 3 wherein at step 350 wherein timer expiry timing can be a first preset condition and if it expires then #370 this way delaying communication and at #350 before preset timer expires if service request message is received i.e. second preset condition then determining is being done about not to take effect the preset time but going to #360. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Duan with the teachings of CMCC in view of Roy to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the step of in response to meeting the first preset condition, delaying, by the terminal, access to network for the preset time according to the second time issued by the network device further comprises: in response to meeting a second preset condition, determining not to take effect the preset time; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 45, CMCC in view of Roy and Duan teaches as per claim 44, wherein the meeting the second preset condition comprises at least one of: the RRC release message not carrying a T value; the T value carried by the RRC release message being 0; a release cause value carried by the RRC release message not being the specific cause value; or a current business being a preset high-priority business; Duan see Fig. 3.
Claim(s) 48, 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2110262 (see IDS filed on 7/5/2024) on page 2 cire No #2, hereafter CMCC in view of Roy et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0314914 A1) and further in view of Bhattacharjee et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0345351 A1), hereafter Bhatt.
Regarding claim 48, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 47, but CMCC is silent about wherein the meeting the first preset condition further comprises: the terminal being released by the network before a first time, wherein the first time is issued by the network device; however Bhatt states in [0043] about inactivity timed issued by a network and released before that timer expires. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bhatt with the teachings of CMCC in view of Roy to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the meeting the first preset condition further comprises: the terminal being released by the network before a first time, wherein the first time is issued by the network device; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 53, CMCC in view of Roy teaches as per claim 52, but CMCC is silent about issuing, by the network device, an RRC release message to release the terminal before a first time; however Bhatt states in [0043] about inactivity timed issued by a network and released before that timer expires. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bhatt with the teachings of CMCC in view of Roy to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about issuing, by the network device, an RRC release message to release the terminal before a first time; however Bhatt states in [0043] about inactivity timed issued by a network and released before that timer expires; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2110262 (see IDS filed on 7/5/2024) on page 2 cire No #2, hereafter CMCC in view of Roy et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0314914 A1) and further in view of Bhattacharjee et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0345351 A1), hereafter Bhatt and in further view of Jia et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0372603 A1).
Regarding claim 54, CMCC in view of Roy and Bhatt teaches as per claim 53, but CMCC is silent about wherein parameters carried by the RRC release message comprise at least one of the following: a duration T or a specific cause value; however Jia in [0104] teaches about a wait time. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Jia with the teachings of CMCC in view of Roy and Bhatt to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein parameters carried by the RRC release message comprise at least one of the following: a duration T or a specific cause value; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479