DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 05/26/2026.
Claim 10 has been cancelled.
Claim 21 has been added.
Claims 1-9, and 11-21 are pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
With regards to the 103 rejection made to independent claims 1, 12, and 20, the amendments made to claims 1, 12, and 20 overcome the 103 rejections made in the previous office action. Therefore, the 103 rejection made to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, and 19-20 has been withdrawn. However a new found basis of rejection has been made to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, and 19-20 in view of Thompson et al. (US 20190339722 A1; hereafter Thompson) and in further view of Dennis Thompson (US 20230380331 A1) and Tripathi et al. (US 12408575 B2; hereafter Tripathi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Thompson, Dennis and Tripathi.
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a mobile agricultural material application machine comprising:
one or more ground engaging traction elements configured to carry the mobile agricultural material application machine over a worksite along a travel path ([Fig. 1 & 0019]; “Accordingly, the air cart 12 includes an agricultural material meter 25, a storage tank 26, a frame 28, wheels 30, and an air source 32.”);
one or more material tanks configured to hold a material ([Fig. 1 & 0019]; “Accordingly, the air cart 12 includes an agricultural material meter 25, a storage tank 26, a frame 28, wheels 30, and an air source 32.”);
one or more material quantity sensors configured to detect a quantity of the material in the one or more material tanks and generate material quantity sensor data indicative of the quantity of the material in the one or more tanks ([0034]; “In the present embodiment, the scale 54 measures the weight of the storage tank. The scale 54 measures the weight of the storage tank before any of the material exits the storage tank and send a signal to the controller 62 indicative of the initial weight of the storage tank.”
[0039]; “After the swept area and the change in weight of the material has been determined (i.e., the difference between the initial weight measurement and a weight measurement after a portion of the material has been dispersed in the field), the controller 62 determines the amount (e.g., weight) of material deposited per area”); and
a control system ([Fig. 3 & 0027]; “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an embodiment of a control system 60 for controlling the flow of the material through the agricultural material meter 25.”) configured to:
perform a material application rate calibration operation while the mobile agricultural material application travels along the travel path ([0038]; “Then, the controller 62 may select weight data corresponding to the flatter portions of the field, and use this data for the above discussed calibration determination.”)
control the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the material application rate calibration operation. ([0049]; “After determining (block 108) the flow rate of the material, the process 100 may then adjust (block 110) the flow rate based on the determined flow rate. As discussed above, the controller may compare the determined flow rate to a target flow rate to determine how much the flow rate should change to match the target flow rate. Then, the controller may adjust the speed of the drive system in accordance with the difference between the determined flow rate and the target flow rate, as discussed above.)”)
Although Thompson teaches calibration sensors ([0029]; “In certain embodiments, the control system 60 also includes the IMU 66 communicatively coupled to the controller 62 and configured to enhance the accuracy of the determined position and/or orientation. For example, the IMU 66 may include one or more accelerometers configured to output signal(s) indicative of acceleration along the longitudinal axis, the lateral axis, the vertical axis, or a combination thereof.”), Thompson does not teach sensors that detect the operation of other components of the system.
However, Dennis does teach, one or more calibration conditions sensor configured to detect one or more calibration conditions and generate calibration conditions sensor data indicative of the one or more calibration conditions ([0058]; “As shown, the control module 114 may receive data from various components of the product delivery system 10 and, in turn, alter or manipulate at least one of a manifold 46, a flow control system 48, and/or an air source 40.”), wherein the one or more calibration conditions sensors include one or more operation status sensors configured to generate, as at least part of the calibration conditions sensor data, operation status sensor data indicative of a status of a sub-operation of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([0058]; “It will be appreciated that additional data may be provided from the illustrated components and/or other components of the product delivery system 10 that are utilized for determining an alteration to the product delivery system 10 (e.g., from one or more sensors 64 operably coupled with any component of the product delivery system 10 and/or any other component)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson and Dennis cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application calibration) and it would have been beneficial to receive data from other components of the machine when determining the calibration needed during agricultural material application.
Although Thompson teaches utilizing sensor data, Thompson does not teach operation status sensor data, and performing calibration based on this data.
However, Tripathi does teach, based at least on the operation status sensor data, that the status of the sub-operation of the mobile agricultural material application machine satisfies a calibration condition suitability criterion while the mobile agricultural material application machine travels along the travel path ([col. 8 lines 44-47]; “Information received from the sensor(s) 120 may be used, either alone or in combination, to determine an operation mode and machine state of the agricultural vehicle.”)
based on the determination that the status of the sub-operation of the mobile agricultural material application machine satisfies the calibration condition suitability criterion, perform a material application rate calibration operation while the mobile agricultural material application machine travels along the travel path ([col. 3 lines 32-37]; “Changes in machine states and/or operation mode affects the critical machine parameters such as mass, moment of inertia, location of center of gravity, etc., of the agricultural vehicle which in turn changes the dynamic characteristics and handling of the vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis and Tripathi. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, and Tripathi cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural machinery) and it would have been beneficial to receive data from other subcomponents of the agricultural machine to control the material application.
Regarding claim 2, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Thompson discloses the control system is configured, in performing the material application rate calibration operation, to:
obtain a reference material quantity indicative of a reference quantity of the material in the one or more material tanks corresponding to a first time ([0034]; “The scale 54 measures the weight of the storage tank before any of the material exits the storage tank and send a signal to the controller 62 indicative of the initial weight of the storage tank.”);
determine an area covered by the mobile agricultural material application machine since the first time, based on data indicative of the area covered by the mobile agricultural material application machine since the first time ([0033]; “Utilizing these inputs, the controller 62 may determine the area swept by the agricultural implement 11 (i.e., swept area).”);
determine, at a second time, a calibrated material application rate based on the determined area covered and the material quantity sensor data indicative of the quantity of the material in the one or more material tanks ([0039]; “After the swept area and the change in weight of the material has been determined (i.e., the difference between the initial weight measurement and a weight measurement after a portion of the material has been dispersed in the field), the controller 62 determines the amount (e.g., weight) of material deposited per area.”); and
control the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the calibrated material application rate. ([0039]; “After the controller 62 determines the amount of material deposited per area, the controller 62 or the operator may compare the calibration to a target calibration. For example, if the amount of material deposited per area is outside of a threshold value, the controller 62 or the operator may adjust the meter roller rotation rate to bring the amount of material deposited per area closer to a target value.”)
Regarding claim 3, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Thompson discloses the control system is further configured, in performing the material application rate calibration operation, to:
determine a material application rate error based on a comparison of a reference material application rate and the calibrated material application rate ([0039]; “For example, if the amount of material deposited per area is outside of a threshold value, the controller 62 or the operator may adjust the meter roller rotation rate to bring the amount of material deposited per area closer to a target value.”);
control the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the determined material application rate error. ([0040]; The calibration process may update the amount of material deposited per area to match either the operator input or the controller input.”)
Regarding claim 6, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Thompson discloses the control system is further configured, in performing the material application rate calibration operation, to:
update a stored material application rate relationship based on the calibrated material application rate, the stored material application rate relationship describing a relationship between travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine, actuation of a material meter of the mobile agricultural material application machine, and material application rate ([0023]; “In further embodiments, the drive system 44 may be coupled to a wheel (e.g., via a gear system) such that rotation of the wheel drives the meter roller 42 to rotate. Such a configuration automatically varies the rotation rate of the meter roller 42 based on the speed of the air cart.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the speed of the meter roller is updated in relation to the speed of the air cart that once the calibration system updates the application rate the relationship between the speed of the air cart and the roller is updated.); and
control the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the updated stored material application rate relationship. ([0040]; “For example, the controller 62 may adjust the speed of the drive system 44, and thus the meter rollers, such that the determined amount of material deposited per area approaches or matches the target amount of material deposited per area.”))
Regarding claim 7, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tripathi discloses the one or more calibration conditions sensors further include one or more turn status sensors configured to generate, as at least part of the calibration conditions sensor data, turn status sensor data indicative of a turn status of the mobile agricultural material application machine. ([col. 12 lines 21-32]; “In some embodiments, the vehicle control system 104 controls the agricultural vehicle by controlling the positioning of the agricultural vehicle 12 and/or an implement attached to the vehicle. For example, if the auto-guidance controller is dynamically updated with a correction offset to account for a change in the center of gravity, the auto-guidance controller may control the steering of the vehicle based on this correction offset. The vehicle control system 104 may also control the operation of the vehicle 12 by controlling the braking of the vehicle, controlling the speed of the vehicle, and controlling the disbursement of the fluid through a sprayer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis and Tripathi. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, and Tripathi cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural machinery) and it would have been beneficial to control the material application based on the steering operation of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Thompson discloses the one or more calibration conditions sensors further include one or more speed sensors configured to generate, as at least part of the calibration conditions sensor data, speed sensor data indicative of a travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine. ([0029]; “For example, the IMU 66 may include one or more accelerometers configured to output signal(s) indicative of acceleration along the longitudinal axis, the lateral axis, the vertical axis, or a combination thereof.”)
Regarding claim 9, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Thompson discloses the one or more calibration conditions sensors further include one or more ground level sensors configured to generate, as at least part of the calibration conditions sensor data, ground level sensor data indicative of a ground level of the worksite. ([0029]; “In addition, the IMU 66 may include one or more gyroscopes configured to output signal(s) indicative of rotation (e.g., rotational angle, rotational velocity, rotational acceleration, etc.) about the longitudinal axis, the lateral axis, the vertical axis, or a combination thereof.”)
Regarding claim 11, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Thompson discloses controlling one or more actuators to control actuation of each of one or more material meters of the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the material application rate calibration operation. ([0023]; “In the illustrated embodiment, the meter roller 42 is coupled to a drive system 44 configured to drive the meter roller 42 to rotate. In certain embodiments, the drive system 44 may include a drive unit, such as an electric or hydraulic motor, configured to drive one or more meter rollers to rotate.”)
Regarding claim 12, Thompson discloses a computer implemented method of controlling a mobile agricultural material application machine having one or more material tanks configured to hold a material ([Fig. 1 & 0019]; “Accordingly, the air cart 12 includes an agricultural material meter 25, a storage tank 26, a frame 28, wheels 30, and an air source 32.”) and one or more ground engaging taction elements configured to carry the mobile agricultural material application machine over a worksite along a travel path ([Fig. 1 & 0019]; “Accordingly, the air cart 12 includes an agricultural material meter 25, a storage tank 26, a frame 28, wheels 30, and an air source 32.”), the computer implemented method comprising:
obtaining material quantity sensor data indicative of a quantity of the material in the one or more material tanks ([0034]; “In the present embodiment, the scale 54 measures the weight of the storage tank. The scale 54 measures the weight of the storage tank before any of the material exits the storage tank and send a signal to the controller 62 indicative of the initial weight of the storage tank.”
[0039]; “After the swept area and the change in weight of the material has been determined (i.e., the difference between the initial weight measurement and a weight measurement after a portion of the material has been dispersed in the field), the controller 62 determines the amount (e.g., weight) of material deposited per area”);
determining conditions are suitable to perform a material application rate calibration operation while the mobile agricultural material application machine travels along the travel path ([0038]; “Further, the controller 62 may receive the data from the IMU 66 and determine which parts of the field are flatter. Flatter portions of the field correspond to lower outside forces. Thus, choosing the portions of the force data that deviate the least from the constant force caused by gravity corresponds to data received from flatter portions of the field.”);
performing the material application rate calibration operation while the mobile agricultural material application machine travels along the travel path based on the determination that conditions are suitable to perform the material rate calibration operation ([0038]; “Then, the controller 62 may select weight data corresponding to the flatter portions of the field, and use this data for the above discussed calibration determination.”); and
controlling the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the performed material application rate calibration operation. ([0039]; “After the controller 62 determines the amount of material deposited per area, the controller 62 or the operator may compare the calibration to a target calibration. For example, if the amount of material deposited per area is outside of a threshold value, the controller 62 or the operator may adjust the meter roller rotation rate to bring the amount of material deposited per area closer to a target value.”)
Although Thompson teaches calibration sensors ([0029]; “In certain embodiments, the control system 60 also includes the IMU 66 communicatively coupled to the controller 62 and configured to enhance the accuracy of the determined position and/or orientation. For example, the IMU 66 may include one or more accelerometers configured to output signal(s) indicative of acceleration along the longitudinal axis, the lateral axis, the vertical axis, or a combination thereof.”), Thompson does not teach sensors that detect the operation of other components of the system.
However, Dennis does teach, one or more calibration conditions sensor configured to detect one or more calibration conditions and generate calibration conditions sensor data indicative of the one or more calibration conditions ([0058]; “As shown, the control module 114 may receive data from various components of the product delivery system 10 and, in turn, alter or manipulate at least one of a manifold 46, a flow control system 48, and/or an air source 40.”), wherein the one or more calibration conditions sensors include one or more operation status sensors configured to generate, as at least part of the calibration conditions sensor data, operation status sensor data indicative of a status of a sub-operation of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([0058]; “It will be appreciated that additional data may be provided from the illustrated components and/or other components of the product delivery system 10 that are utilized for determining an alteration to the product delivery system 10 (e.g., from one or more sensors 64 operably coupled with any component of the product delivery system 10 and/or any other component)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson and Dennis cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application calibration) and it would have been beneficial to receive data from other components of the machine when determining the calibration needed during agricultural material application.
Although Thompson teaches utilizing sensor data, Thompson does not teach operation status sensor data, and performing calibration based on this data.
However, Tripathi does teach, turn status of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([col. 12 lines 21-32]; “In some embodiments, the vehicle control system 104 controls the agricultural vehicle by controlling the positioning of the agricultural vehicle 12 and/or an implement attached to the vehicle. For example, if the auto-guidance controller is dynamically updated with a correction offset to account for a change in the center of gravity, the auto-guidance controller may control the steering of the vehicle based on this correction offset. The vehicle control system 104 may also control the operation of the vehicle 12 by controlling the braking of the vehicle, controlling the speed of the vehicle, and controlling the disbursement of the fluid through a sprayer.”)
based on the determination that the status of the sub-operation of the mobile agricultural material application machine satisfies the calibration condition suitability criterion, perform a material application rate calibration operation while the mobile agricultural material application machine travels along the travel path ([col. 3 lines 32-37]; “Changes in machine states and/or operation mode affects the critical machine parameters such as mass, moment of inertia, location of center of gravity, etc., of the agricultural vehicle which in turn changes the dynamic characteristics and handling of the vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis and Tripathi. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, and Tripathi cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural machinery) and it would have been beneficial to control the material application based on the steering operation of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Additionally, Thompson discloses performing the material application rate calibration operation comprises:
obtaining a reference material quantity indicative of a reference quantity of the material in the one or more material tanks corresponding to a first time ([0034]; “The scale 54 measures the weight of the storage tank before any of the material exits the storage tank and send a signal to the controller 62 indicative of the initial weight of the storage tank.”);
determining an area covered by the mobile agricultural material application machine since the first time, based on data indicative of the area covered by the mobile agricultural machine since the first time ([0033]; “Utilizing these inputs, the controller 62 may determine the area swept by the agricultural implement 11 (i.e., swept area).”);
determining, at a second time, a calibrated material application rate based on the determined area covered and the material quantity sensor data indicative of the quantity of the material in the one or more tanks ([0039]; “After the swept area and the change in weight of the material has been determined (i.e., the difference between the initial weight measurement and a weight measurement after a portion of the material has been dispersed in the field), the controller 62 determines the amount (e.g., weight) of material deposited per area.”); and
determining a material application rate error based on a comparison of the reference material application rate and the calibrated material application rate. ([0039]; “After the controller 62 determines the amount of material deposited per area, the controller 62 or the operator may compare the calibration to a target calibration. For example, if the amount of material deposited per area is outside of a threshold value, the controller 62 or the operator may adjust the meter roller rotation rate to bring the amount of material deposited per area closer to a target value.”)
Regarding claim 18, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Additionally, Thompson discloses obtaining calibration conditions sensor data indicative of one or more calibration conditions comprises two or more of: (i) obtaining, as apart of the calibration conditions sensor data, speed sensor data indicative of a travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine; (ii) obtaining, as a part of the calibration conditions sensor data, ground level sensor data indicative of a ground level of the worksite; and (iii) obtaining, as a part of the calibration conditions sensor data, operation status sensor data indicative of a status of a sub-operation of the mobile agricultural material application machine. ([0029]; “For example, the IMU 66 may include one or more accelerometers configured to output signal(s) indicative of acceleration along the longitudinal axis, the lateral axis, the vertical axis, or a combination thereof. In addition, the IMU 66 may include one or more gyroscopes configured to output signal(s) indicative of rotation (e.g., rotational angle, rotational velocity, rotational acceleration, etc.) about the longitudinal axis, the lateral axis, the vertical axis, or a combination thereof.”
Regarding claim 19, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Additionally, Thompson discloses the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the performed material application rate calibration operation comprises:
controlling one or more actuators to control actuation of each of one or more material meters of the mobile agricultural material application machine based on the material application rate calibration operation. ([0023]; “In the illustrated embodiment, the meter roller 42 is coupled to a drive system 44 configured to drive the meter roller 42 to rotate. In certain embodiments, the drive system 44 may include a drive unit, such as an electric or hydraulic motor, configured to drive one or more meter rollers to rotate.”)
Claim 20 recites the system utilized to operate the mobile agricultural material application machine of claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasoning. It would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the “actuator status of a sub-operation” would inherently be equivalent to the “sub-operation status of the mobile agricultural material application machine” since operating a sub-operation would also be to actuate said component. Meaning that these limitations are inherently the same.
Regarding claim 21, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all the limitations of claim 20. Additionally Karlsson discloses the sub- operation comprises at least one of forming a furrow in the worksite or tilling the worksite. ([co. 5 lines 22-28]; “In some embodiments, the vehicle 12 and/or the vehicle 13 may include one or more attached implements and/or trailed implements such as…, a tiller, a harvester, and/or another type of attached implement or trailed implement.”)
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Thompson as evidenced by Dennis, and further evidenced by Tripathi and Karlsson (US12239042B2).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Additionally Karlsson discloses the control system is further configured, in performing the material rate calibration operation, to:
determine one or more causes of the material application rate error based on sensor data indicative of one or more operating characteristics of the mobile agricultural material application machine. ([0014]; “By means of the method step of determining a static pressure in each of the at least two ducts based on signals from the sensor units, a value of current static pressure in each of the at least two ducts are determined. By comparing the determined values of static pressure, deviating static pressure in any of the at least two ducts is detected. The deviation thus corresponds to, and indicates, an abnormal product flow in the duct with a deviating static pressure.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of utilizing the sensor data taught by Karlsson and modify it to be able to determine whether any detections found from the sensors are responsible for the application rate error.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis, Tripathi and Karlsson. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, Tripathi, and Karlsson cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application) and it would have been beneficial to determine the cause of the application rate error.
Regarding claim 15, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Additionally Thompson discloses determining, based on the speed sensor data, as a cause of the material application rate error, the travel speed variability or a stored material application rate relationship describing a relationship between travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine, actuation of a material meter of the mobile agricultural material application machine, and material application rate. ([0023]; “In further embodiments, the drive system 44 may be coupled to a wheel (e.g., via a gear system) such that rotation of the wheel drives the meter roller 42 to rotate. Such a configuration automatically varies the rotation rate of the meter roller 42 based on the speed of the air cart.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the speed of the meter roller is updated in relation to the speed of the air cart that once the calibration system updates the application rate the relationship between the speed of the air cart and the roller is updated.)
Although Thompson teaches a calibration operation, Thompson does not explicitly teach the use of speed sensors during the calibration process.
However, Karlsson within the same field of endeavor discloses performing the material application rate calibration operation further comprises:
obtaining speed sensor data indicative of a travel speed variability of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([0044]; “The control device 100 may also be arranged in communication with a speed sensor (not shown) for determining the current speed of the agricultural implement 1 or the current speed of the tractor or working vehicle hauling the agricultural implement 1.”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis, Tripathi and Karlsson. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, Tripathi, and Karlsson cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application) and it would have been beneficial to determine the cause of the application rate error by utilizing sensor data.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Thompson as evidenced by Dennis, Tripathi and Karlsson as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Schoeny et al. (CA3019987C; hereafter Schoeny).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson in combination with Dennis, Tripathi and Karlsson discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Additionally Karlson discloses a speed sensor configured to detect a travel speed variability of the mobile agricultural material application machine and generate, as part of the sensor data indicative of the one or more operating characteristics of the mobile agricultural material application machine, speed sensor data; ([0044]; “The control device 100 may also be arranged in communication with a speed sensor (not shown) for determining the current speed of the agricultural implement 1 or the current speed of the tractor or working vehicle hauling the agricultural implement 1.”)
Although the combination of Thompson and Karlsson teach utilizing sensors to determine the cause of application errors. The combination of Thompson and Karlsson does teach utilizing blower sensors, pressure sensors, and level sensors.
However Schoeny within the same field of endeavor does teach a blower sensor configured to detect a speed of a blower of the mobile agricultural material application machine and generate, as part of the sensor data indicative of the one or more operating characteristics of the mobile agricultural material application machine, blower speed sensor data; ([0035]; “an airflow sensor 79 for monitoring an airflow level applied to the seed transport member, and/or a rotary encoder (not shown in FIG. 2) for monitoring the rotation of the seed transport member within the seed meter 100.”)
a tank pressure sensor configured to detect an air pressure within one of the one or more material tanks and generate, as part of the sensor data indicative of the one or more operating characteristics of the mobile agricultural material application machine, tank pressure sensor data; and ([0035]; “The seed meter 100 may also include or be provided in operative association with one or more additional sensors, such as a vacuum sensor 78 for monitoring the vacuum or negative pressure being applied within the seed meter”)
a material level sensor configured to detect a material level of material within one of the one or more tanks and generate, as part of the sensor data indicative of the one or more operating characteristics of the mobile agricultural material application machine, material level sensor data; ([0053]; “For example, in another embodiment, the seed pool sensor 102 may be configured to detect the fill-level or vertical height of the seeds within the seed chamber 124”) and
wherein the one or more causes comprise: (i) blower speed; (ii) travel speed variability; (iii) tank pressure; (iv) material level; or (v) a combination of (i), (ii), (iii), and (iv).
(Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the determination of the cause of the error in application rate would be derived from either one or a combination of the above sensor data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis, Tripathi, Karlsson and Schoeny. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, Tripathi, Karlsson, and Schoeny cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application) and it would have been beneficial to determine the cause of the application rate error by utilizing the different types of sensors taught by Schoeny.
Claims 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Thompson as evidenced by Dennis, and further evidenced by Tripathi and Schoeny.
Regarding claim 14, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Additionally Thompson discloses determining, based on the blower speed sensor data, as a cause of the material application rate error, the speed of the blower or a stored material application rate relationship describing a relationship between travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine, actuation of a material meter of the mobile agricultural material application machine, and material application rate. ([0023]; “In further embodiments, the drive system 44 may be coupled to a wheel (e.g., via a gear system) such that rotation of the wheel drives the meter roller 42 to rotate. Such a configuration automatically varies the rotation rate of the meter roller 42 based on the speed of the air cart.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the speed of the meter roller is updated in relation to the speed of the air cart that once the calibration system updates the application rate the relationship between the speed of the air cart and the roller is updated.)
Although Thompson teaches a calibration operation, Thompson does not explicitly teach the use of blower speed sensors during the calibration process.
However, Schoeny within the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining blower speed sensor data indicative of a speed of a blower of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([0035]; “an airflow sensor 79 for monitoring an airflow level applied to the seed transport member, and/or a rotary encoder (not shown in FIG. 2) for monitoring the rotation of the seed transport member within the seed meter 100.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis, Tripathi and Schoeny. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, Tripathi, and Schoeny cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application) and it would have been beneficial to determine the cause of the application rate error by utilizing sensor data.
Regarding claim 16, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Additionally Thompson discloses determining, based on the material level sensor data, as a cause of the material application rate error, the material level of material in one of the one or more material tanks of the mobile agricultural material application machine or a stored material application rate relationship describing a relationship between travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine, actuation of a material meter of the mobile agricultural material application machine, and material application rate. ([0023]; “In further embodiments, the drive system 44 may be coupled to a wheel (e.g., via a gear system) such that rotation of the wheel drives the meter roller 42 to rotate. Such a configuration automatically varies the rotation rate of the meter roller 42 based on the speed of the air cart.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the speed of the meter roller is updated in relation to the speed of the air cart that once the calibration system updates the application rate the relationship between the speed of the air cart and the roller is updated.)
Although Thompson teaches a calibration operation, Thompson does not explicitly teach the use of level sensors during the calibration process.
However, Schoeny within the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining material level sensor data indicative of a material level of material in one of the one or more tanks of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([0053]; “For example, in another embodiment, the seed pool sensor 102 may be configured to detect the fill-level or vertical height of the seeds within the seed chamber 124”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis, Tripathi and Schoeny. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, Tripathi, and Schoeny cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application) and it would have been beneficial to determine the cause of the application rate error by utilizing sensor data.
Regarding claim 17, Thompson in combination with Dennis and Tripathi discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Additionally Thompson discloses determining, based on the tank pressure sensor data, as a cause of the material application rate error, the tank pressure of the one of the one or more material tanks of the mobile agricultural material application machine or a stored material application rate relationship describing a relationship between travel speed of the mobile agricultural material application machine, actuation of a material meter of the mobile agricultural material application machine, and material application rate. ([0023]; “In further embodiments, the drive system 44 may be coupled to a wheel (e.g., via a gear system) such that rotation of the wheel drives the meter roller 42 to rotate. Such a configuration automatically varies the rotation rate of the meter roller 42 based on the speed of the air cart.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the speed of the meter roller is updated in relation to the speed of the air cart that once the calibration system updates the application rate the relationship between the speed of the air cart and the roller is updated.)
Although Thompson teaches a calibration operation, Thompson does not explicitly teach the use of pressure sensors during the calibration process.
However, Schoeny within the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining tank pressure sensor data indicative of an air pressure of one of the one or more tanks of the mobile agricultural material application machine ([0035]; “The seed meter 100 may also include or be provided in operative association with one or more additional sensors, such as a vacuum sensor 78 for monitoring the vacuum or negative pressure being applied within the seed meter”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson with Dennis, Tripathi and Schoeny. This modification would have been obvious because both Thompson, Dennis, Tripathi, and Schoeny cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (agricultural material application) and it would have been beneficial to determine the cause of the application rate error by utilizing sensor data.
Conclusion
/B.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668