DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Elected
1-19
Withdrawn
20-22
35 U.S.C. 112
6, 12, 14
35 U.S.C. 103
1-19
Priority
Applicant’s indication of Domestic Priority/National Stage information based on 63/495,112 filed 04/09/2023 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Examiner Notes
“Adapted to”: While not specifically invoked or of issue in this office action, Examiner would like to make note of MPEP 2111.04 in reference to Applicant’s use of "adapted to" (see claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 12, 15, 19). Applicant should be aware that any future amendments involving the "adapted to" language may invoke this MPEP section in a future office action.
Prior Art: Examiner has cited particular sections or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. See MPEP 2141.02(VI). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. See MPEP §2123.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 12 recites “a welded part, structure, or assembly.by threaded fasteners or magnetic attachments.” This is a grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “intuitive and graphical manner” in claim 6 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “intuitive and graphical manner” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “conditions which are safe for an operator” in claim 6 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “conditions which are safe for an operator” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heraly et al. (US 5,921,459, “Heraly”) and further in view of Aas et al. (US 2024/0326178 A1, “Aas”).
Regarding claim 1: Heraly teaches: A mobile remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system for performing processing operations on raw work material, comprising: (Heraly: Col. 1: modular robotic welding station having multiple workstations. central welding module and interchangeable workpiece holding satellite modules. Col. 3: FIGS. 1-3: modular robotic welding system designed to be readily transported to different locations where welding operations are to be performed while maintaining ability to accurately locate workpieces relative to welding robot)
a first mobile platform; (Heraly: Col. 1: central welding module comprised of skid base that supported on factory floor. robot manipulator, robot controller, welding power source, and welding interface are mounted to skid base. skid base designed to be lifted and transported with standard fork lift truck. skid base defines identical docking stations. At docking station horizontal surface)
a second separate platform or skid releasably secured to the first mobile platform; (Heraly: Col. 1: central welding module comprised of skid base that supported on factory floor. robot manipulator, robot controller, welding power source, and welding interface are mounted to skid base. skid base designed to be lifted and transported with standard fork lift truck. skid base defines identical docking stations. At docking station horizontal surface. location of horizontal surface carefully controlled relative-to placement of robot manipulator on skid base. satellite modules are designed to interchangeably dock to skid base docking station. each satellite module comprises base having horizontal surface along one edge. skid base horizontal surface rests on and accurately located in vertical directions by horizontal surface of skid base docking station. Docking elements accurately locate and retain satellite module in horizontal directions relative to skid base. edge of satellite module base opposite horizontal surface thereon provided with leveling screws)
a movable base or cabinet positioned on the second separate platform or skid and releasably connected thereto; (Heraly: Col. 1: central welding module comprised of skid base that supported on factory floor. robot manipulator, robot controller, welding power source, and welding interface are mounted to skid base. skid base designed to be lifted and transported with standard fork lift truck. skid base defines identical docking stations. At docking station horizontal surface. location of horizontal surface carefully controlled relative-to placement of robot manipulator on skid base. satellite modules are designed to interchangeably dock to skid base docking station. each satellite module comprises base having horizontal surface along one edge. skid base horizontal surface rests on and accurately located in vertical directions by horizontal surface of skid base docking station. Docking elements accurately locate and retain satellite module in horizontal directions relative to skid base. edge of satellite module base opposite horizontal surface thereon provided with leveling screws. Col. 2: It feature of invention that central welding module and satellite modules can be lifted and transported independently of each other by conventional fork lift truck. To do so, satellite modules are detached from skid base. robotic welding system can thus be moved about manufacturing plant as relatively small individual components rather than as one large component)
fabrication system accessory equipment positioned on the second separate platform or skid and releasably connected thereto; (Heraly: Col. 2: It feature of invention that central welding module and satellite modules can be lifted and transported independently of each other by conventional fork lift truck. To do so, satellite modules are detached from skid base. robotic welding system can thus be moved about manufacturing plant as relatively small individual components rather than as one large component. method and apparatus of invention, using modular construction, thus provides safety, versatility, and portability to welding system. Different tables can be fastened to satellite modules, and satellite modules are interchangeably dockable at skid base docking station to suit wide variety of workpiece requirements)
a material processing implement; (Heraly: Col. 3: FIGS. 1-3, modular robotic welding system 1 designed to be readily transported to different locations where welding operations are to be performed while maintaining ability to accurately locate workpieces relative to welding robot)
at least one [robot] operatively connected to movable base or cabinet and adapted to hold and manipulate the material processing implement; (Heraly: Col. 3: modular robotic welding system comprises central welding module that includes skid base. skid base supported on floor by several leveling pads. robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are permanently mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations)
a power supply operatively connected to the material processing implement; and (Heraly: Col. 3: robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are permanently mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations)
a control system adapted to [. . .] manipulate the material processing implement to operatively engage and process the raw work material [. . .] (Heraly: Col. 3: robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are permanently mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations. Col. 5-6: In use, modular robotic welding system can have any of satellite modules docked at any of docking stations. surface of satellite module base plate placed on surface of central welding module, and leveling screws of satellite module are adjusted to locate satellite module in vertical direction. docking elements accurately locate and retain satellite module in horizontal directions. Either stationary cable or turn table can be fastened to satellite module base. result modular robotic welding station having customized workstations that suit particular workpiece to be welded. safety fence frames at each docking station is arranged in configuration that suits whether or not satellite module docked at docking station).
However, Heraly does not explicitly teach: at least one programmable collaborative robot; enable an operator to guide the robot [. . .] in response to instructions programmed by the operator.
Aas teaches: at least one programmable collaborative robot; (Aas: [0019] use of collaborative robots (cobots) for welding, cutting, and similar operations and user interfaces for cobot systems. [0025] welding system further includes teach pendant for programming the cobot. teach pendant can be used to program welding points. teach pendant can have user interface application software through which the user interacts with the welding system to program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters)
enable an operator to guide the robot [. . .] in response to instructions programmed by the operator (Aas: [0025] welding system further includes teach pendant for programming cobot. teach pendant can be used to program welding points (weld start, end and intermediate points) for a welding operation to be performed by the cobot on workpiece(s). teach pendant is operatively coupled to the robot controller for bidirectional communications therewith. teach pendant may also be operatively coupled to welding power supply for bidirectional communications with the power supply. teach pendant can be hardwired or tethered to the robot controller and/or welding power supply or can communicate wirelessly. teach pendant can be a tablet device having a touchscreen user interface. teach pendant can have user interface application software through which the user interacts with the welding system to program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters).
Heraly and Aas are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of welding robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Heraly with the aspects of Aas to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a mobile remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system that includes at least one programmable collaborative robot and enables an operator to guide the robot in response to instructions programmed by the operator. The motivation for modification would have been to allow for direct user interaction and contact with the cobot within a shared area, increasing the robot effectiveness in task execution and improving the overall user experience (Aas, [0022]). This motivation for modification is similarly applied to claims that depend upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 2: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the power supply and the control system are positioned on the first mobile platform (Heraly: Col. 3: modular robotic welding system comprises central welding module that includes skid base. skid base supported on floor by several leveling pads. robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are permanently mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations).
Regarding claim 3: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 2 wherein the first mobile platform comprises a mobile cart adapted to be relocated by an operator to bring the remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system to the work material (Heraly: Col. 5-6: In use, modular robotic welding system can have any of satellite modules docked at any of docking stations. surface of satellite module base plate placed on surface of central welding module, and leveling screws of satellite module are adjusted to locate satellite module in vertical direction. docking elements accurately locate and retain satellite module in horizontal directions. Either stationary cable or turn table can be fastened to satellite module base. result modular robotic welding station having customized workstations that suit particular workpiece to be welded. safety fence frames at each docking station are arranged in configuration that suits whether or not satellite module docked at docking station. When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment).
Regarding claim 4: Heraly-Aas further teach: The mobile remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the first mobile platform includes a rectangularly shaped frame having a longitudinal axis, a top surface, a bottom surface, at least two forklift tubes or channels operatively connected to the bottom surface and extending in a transverse direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis; (Heraly: FIGS. 1-3)
at least two forklift tubes or channels extending in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis A-A and forming first and second edges respectively of the rectangularly shaped frame; (Heraly: Col. 6: When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment)
a storage area or platform having an upper or top surface, a lower or bottom surface, a plurality of wheels or casters operatively connected to the lower or bottom surface; and (Heraly: Col. 6: When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment)
one or more handles operatively connected to the frame and extending upwardly therefrom; (Heraly: Col. 6: When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment)
wherein the handles are adapted to permit an operator to move the system to a designated location for performing processing operations on raw work material (Heraly: Col. 6: When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment).
Regarding claim 5: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 3 wherein the first mobile platform includes one or more handles operatively connected to the frame and extending upwardly therefrom, (Heraly: Col. 6: When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment)
the handles being adapted to permit an operator to move the system to a designated location for performing fabrication operations (Heraly: Col. 6: When it desired to transport modular robotic welding station to different location, docking elements are removed from satellite modules and central welding module. Each satellite module individually and readily transported by standard fork lift truck by placing forks thereof under base plate and outside tubes. skid base also transported without problem by placing forks of fork lift truck into tubes. relatively light weight and small size of individual central welding module and satellite modules renders them much more readily portable than prior robotic welding equipment).
Regarding claim 6: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the control system includes a user interface or a teach pendant adapted to allow programming of raw work material preparation and/or fabrication operational steps to be completed in an intuitive and graphical manner (Aas: [0025] welding system further includes teach pendant for programming cobot. teach pendant can be used to program welding points (weld start, end and intermediate points) for a welding operation to be performed by the cobot on workpiece(s). teach pendant is operatively coupled to the robot controller for bidirectional communications therewith. teach pendant may also be operatively coupled to welding power supply for bidirectional communications with the power supply. teach pendant can be hardwired or tethered to the robot controller and/or welding power supply or can communicate wirelessly. teach pendant can be a tablet device having a touchscreen user interface. teach pendant can have user interface application software through which the user interacts with the welding system to program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters).
Regarding claim 7: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the second separate platform or skid includes a base member having first and second oppositely disposed longitudinal edges, (Heraly: FIGS. 1-3)
at least one rail member operatively connected to the first and second oppositely disposed longitudinal edges respectively and extending upwardly therefrom in a direction which is perpendicular to the base member of the skid (Heraly: Col. 3: satellite modules have identical bases. To each satellite module base fastened workpiece holding table. table may be stationary table as shown at reference numeral. Alternately, table may be turn table as shown at reference numeral. satellite module, with either stationary table or turn table, can be docked at any of central welding module docking stations to suit particular welding job at hand. satellite module B having turn table B shown docked at docking station B of central welding module. satellite module C having stationary table C shown at docking station C. third satellite module A with stationary table A in position to be docked at docking station A. Docking elements are used to accurately locate and retain docked satellite modules to central welding module).
Regarding claim 8: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 7 wherein the at least one rail member includes at least one lifting point adapted to be secured to a lifting device (Heraly: Col. 3: central welding module constructed with two longitudinally extending structural tubes. tubes are open at docking station B. distance between tubes, as well as size of their openings, are designed to accommodate forks of conventional fork lift truck. Angles are welded to tubes. leveling pads are adjustably threaded into angles to enable skid base to be leveled on floor. Col. 4: skid base further constructed with an end tube, various cross tubes, and longitudinal reinforcement tubes. heavy end plate and smaller central plate are welded to tubes. robot controller and welding power source are mounted on end plate. robot manipulator mounted on central plate).
Regarding claim 9: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 8 wherein the moveable base or cabinet includes at least one lifting point adapted to be secured to a lifting device (Heraly: Col. 3: central welding module constructed with two longitudinally extending structural tubes. tubes are open at docking station. distance between tubes, as well as size of their openings, are designed to accommodate forks of conventional fork lift truck. Angles are welded to tubes. leveling pads are adjustably threaded into angles to enable skid base to be leveled on floor. Col. 4: skid base further constructed with an end tube, various cross tubes, and longitudinal reinforcement tubes. heavy end plate and smaller central plate are welded to tubes. robot controller and welding power source are mounted on end plate. robot manipulator mounted on central plate).
Regarding claim 10: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 9 wherein the second separate platform or skid includes a plurality of corners, (Heraly: FIGS. 1-3: Col. 3: satellite modules have identical bases. To each satellite module base fastened workpiece holding table. table may be stationary table as shown at reference numeral. Alternately, table may be turn table as shown at reference numeral. satellite module, with either stationary table or turn table, can be docked at any of central welding module docking stations to suit particular welding job at hand. satellite module B having turn table B shown docked at docking station B of central welding module. satellite module C having stationary table C shown at docking station C. shows third satellite module A with stationary table A in position to be docked at docking station A. Docking elements are used to accurately locate and retain docked satellite modules to central welding module)
each of the plurality of corners having an adjustable screw foot operatively connected thereto, the screw feet cooperating with one another to level the second separate platform or skid when it has been placed in position on a workstation, a part, an assembly, a structure, or raw work material (Heraly: Col. 3: modular robotic welding system illustrated that includes present invention. modular robotic welding system designed to be readily transported to different locations where welding operations are to be performed while maintaining ability to accurately locate workpieces relative to welding robot. modular robotic welding system comprises central welding module that includes skid base. skid base supported on floor by several leveling pads. robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are permanently mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations. skid base defines multiple identical docking stations to which satellite modules can be detachably docked. In illustrated construction, skid base defines three docking stations, each of which equidistant from robot manipulator. satellite modules have identical bases. To each satellite module base fastened workpiece holding table. satellite module, with either stationary table or turn table, can be docked at any of central welding module docking stations to suit particular welding job at hand).
Regarding claim 12: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 10 further including a wall mount bracket secured to a bottom surface of the separate platform or skid, the wall mount bracket being adapted to be operatively connected to a vertical surface, such as a wall or a vertical surface of a welded part, structure, or assembly.by threaded fasteners or magnetic attachments (Heraly: Col. 4: To accurately locate satellite modules 17A, 17B, and 17C in horizontal directions relative to central welding module 2, docking elements 21 include pair of locating/locking pins 65, FIG. 6. Each locating/locking pin 65 is received in respective bushing 67 that is pressed into plate 47 of satellite module base 19. When satellite module is at docking station A, B, or C, satellite module bushings 67 are aligned with bushings 45 in central welding module. Accordingly, pins 65, in cooperation with bushings 67 and 45, locate satellite module to central welding module. suitable pin 65 is BLT-135 Reid quick-release lock pin. docking elements 21 also include two pairs of screws 61. screws 61 pass through holes 63 in base plate 47. When satellite module 17A, 17B, or 17C is docked at docking station A, B. or C, holes 63 align with corresponding tapped holes 41 in central welding module 2. In that manner, satellite module is retained in horizontal directions to central welding module).
Regarding claim 13: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the at least one programmable collaborative robot includes a programmable robot arm having a built-in safety mechanism (Heraly: Col. 2: safety fence incorporated into modular robotic welding system accommodates interchangeable satellite modules. safety fence comprises multiple upstanding braces secured to base skid, there being brace adjacent both ends of each docking station. To each brace is attached vertical edges of two fence frames. second vertical edge of each fence frame is supported on floor by post. width of fence frame is approximately one-half of distance between associated braces. Aas: [0019] use of collaborative robots (cobots) for welding, cutting, and similar operations and user interfaces for cobot systems. [0025] welding system further includes teach pendant for programming the cobot. teach pendant can be used to program welding points. teach pendant can have user interface application software through which the user interacts with the welding system to program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters).
Regarding claim 17: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the material processing implement comprises a welding torch (Heraly: Col. 3: Col. 3: modular robotic welding system comprises central welding module that includes skid base. skid base supported on floor by several leveling pads. robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are permanently mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations. Aas: [0019] use of collaborative robots (cobots) for welding, cutting, and similar operations and user interfaces for cobot systems.[0025] program welding points (weld start, end and intermediate points) for a welding operation to be performed by the cobot on workpiece(s). program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters).
Regarding claim 18: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the material processing implement comprises a plasma cutting torch (Aas: [0021] used in plasma cutting operations and welding-type processes, such as additive manufacturing and hardfacing processes. [0022] welding system 100 further includes a welding power supply 310 (e.g., an inverter-based power supply), supporting arc welding, and a robot controller 320. the power supply may be a cutting power supply supporting plasma cutting. [0023] welding torch attached to movable arm of cobot). The motivation for modification would have been to allow for direct user interaction and contact with the cobot within a shared area while the robot is able to perform plasma cutting operations and welding-type processes, such as additive manufacturing and hardfacing processes, increasing the robot effectiveness in task execution and improving the overall user experience (Aas, [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 19: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 further including a docking mechanism adapted to releasably connect the programmable robot arm to the moveable base or cabinet (Heraly: Col. 3: modular robotic welding system designed to be transported to different locations where welding operations are to be performed while maintaining ability to accurately locate workpieces relative to welding robot. modular robotic welding system comprises central welding module that includes skid base. robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are mounted to skid base. robot manipulator equipped with suitable welding related components which, under control of robot controller and welding power source, perform conventional welding operations. skid base defines multiple identical docking stations to which satellite modules can be detachably docked. Aas: [0019] use of collaborative robots (cobots) for welding, cutting, and similar operations and user interfaces for cobot systems. [0025] programming the cobot. program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heraly et al. (US 5,921,459, “Heraly”) and Aas et al. (US 2024/0326178 A1, “Aas”), and further in view of Vidakovic et al. (US 2022/0297216 A1, “Vidakovic”).
Regarding claim 11: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 10 further including a plurality of [devices secured to the separate platform or skid] (Heraly: Col. 3: modular robotic welding system designed to be transported to different locations where welding operations are to be performed while maintaining ability to accurately locate workpieces relative to welding robot. modular robotic welding system comprises central welding module that includes skid base. robot manipulator, robot controller, and welding power source are mounted to skid base. skid base defines multiple identical docking stations to which satellite modules can be detachably docked).
However, Heraly-Aas do not explicitly teach: including a plurality of magnetic attachment devices secured to a bottom surface of the separate platform or skid.
Vidakovic teaches: including a plurality of magnetic attachment devices secured to a bottom surface of the separate platform or skid ([0004] Using a collaborative robot (cobot) mounted on a base (e.g., magnetic base) and running all welding and control lines from an equipment porch to the base, the cobot can be located remotely from the porch and be mounted in any number of positions. [0012] FIG. 2B welding system of FIG. 1 having robot mounted to a metal surface via magnetic base. [0026] robot 200 configured to be mounted to a metal surface via a magnetic base 205).
Heraly-Aas and Vidakovic are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Heraly-Aas with the aspects of Vidakovic to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a mobile remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system including a plurality of magnetic attachment devices secured to a bottom surface of the separate platform or skid. The motivation for modification would have been to give a user flexibility to move the cobot to remote locations that otherwise cannot be reached except via a human for manual or semi-automatic welding, thus improving the effectiveness of the system and enhancing the user experience (Vidakovic, [0004]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heraly et al. (US 5,921,459, “Heraly”) and Aas et al. (US 2024/0326178 A1, “Aas”), and further in view of Brooks et al. (US 2014/0067121 A1, “Brooks”).
Regarding claim 14: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 4 wherein the mobile platform includes a safety system (Heraly: Col. 2: safety fence incorporated into modular robotic welding system accommodates interchangeable satellite modules).
However, Heraly-Aas do not explicitly teach: which permits the collaborative fabrication system to be operated at a faster speed under predetermined conditions which are safe for an operator and which reduces the system operating speed in accordance with recognized safety standards in response to conditions detected by the safety system.
Brooks teaches: which permits the collaborative fabrication system to be operated at a faster speed under predetermined conditions which are safe for an operator and which reduces the system operating speed in accordance with recognized safety standards in response to conditions detected by the safety system ([0036] FIG. 4 controlling the speed settings of a robot to ensure safety in spaces where the robot works with or alongside humans. If the person is within the zone of danger, the robot's maximum speed limit is switched to (or remains at) the lower of speed settings; otherwise, it remains at the higher setting. Of course, when the robot operates at the lower speed and the person then leaves the zone of danger, the speed limit is switched back to the higher setting).
Heraly-Aas and Brooks are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Heraly-Aas with the aspects of Brooks to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a mobile remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system which permits the collaborative fabrication system to be operated at a faster speed under predetermined conditions which are safe for an operator and which reduces the system operating speed in accordance with recognized safety standards in response to conditions detected by the safety system. The motivation for modification would have been to increase safety and/or operational efficiency (Brooks, [0009]) and facilitate seamless switching between a robot working independently (at the highest speed), working collaboratively with a human (at a lower speed), and interacting with a human in training mode (at the lowest speed) (Brooks, [0036]).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heraly et al. (US 5,921,459, “Heraly”) and Aas et al. (US 2024/0326178 A1, “Aas”), and further in view of Akamine et al. (US 2023/0234173 A1, “Akamine”).
Regarding claim 15: Heraly-Aas further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 1 wherein the at least one collaborative robot comprises a programmable robot arm, a base operatively connected to the robot arm and adapted to mount the robot arm to the movable base or cabinet (Heraly: FIGS. 1-3. Col. 3: modular robotic welding system illustrated that includes present invention. modular robotic welding system designed to be readily transported to different locations where welding operations are to be performed while maintaining ability to accurately locate workpieces relative to welding robot. Aas: [0019] use of collaborative robots (cobots) for welding, cutting, and similar operations and user interfaces for cobot systems. [0025] welding system further includes teach pendant for programming the cobot. teach pendant can be used to program welding points. teach pendant can have user interface application software through which the user interacts with the welding system to program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters).
However, Heraly-Aas do not explicitly teach: an electrically isolating pad positioned intermediate the base and the movable base or cabinet.
Akamine teaches: an electrically isolating pad positioned intermediate the base and the movable base or cabinet (Akamine: Abstract: worktable and the adapter are electrically insulated by an insulating coating film formed by a surface treatment on a surface of the worktable or the adapter. [0003] insulating ring is interposed between the worktable and a reducer that drives the worktable in order to prevent welding current from flowing to a motor via the reducer. [0004] insulating ring is formed into a ring-plate shape nearly equal in size to the worktable so as to entirely electrically insulate the portion between a shaft portion of the reducer and the worktable fixed to the shaft portion. [0009] separate the worktable and the reducer from each other, wherein the worktable and the adapter are electrically insulated by an insulating coating film formed by a surface treatment on a surface of the worktable or the adapter).
Heraly-Aas and Akamine are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Heraly-Aas with the aspects of Akamine to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a mobile remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system wherein the at least one collaborative robot comprises a programmable robot arm, a base operatively connected to the robot arm and adapted to mount the robot arm to the movable base or cabinet. The motivation for modification would have been to prevent welding current from flowing to incorrect components of the system, thus increase safety and reducing system failures during operation (Akamine, [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 16: Heraly-Aas-Akamine further teach: The remotely deployable programmable collaborative robot fabrication system of claim 15 wherein the programmable robot arm includes a built-in safety mechanism (Heraly: Col. 2: safety fence incorporated into modular robotic welding system accommodates interchangeable satellite modules. safety fence comprises multiple upstanding braces secured to base skid, there being brace adjacent both ends of each docking station. To each brace is attached vertical edges of two fence frames. second vertical edge of each fence frame is supported on floor by post. width of fence frame is approximately one-half of distance between associated braces. Aas: [0019] use of collaborative robots (cobots) for welding, cutting, and similar operations and user interfaces for cobot systems. [0025] programming the cobot. program welding operations, such as torch movements during welding and various welding parameters. Akamine: [0003] insulating ring is interposed between the worktable and a reducer that drives the worktable in order to prevent welding current from flowing to a motor via the reducer).
Conclusion
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658