DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 5: “at least one engagement seat is carried on the support frame by fixing means”.
Claim 15: “said support base being retracted or internal with respect to the horizontal cantilevered position”.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation, “said support base being retracted or internal with respect to the horizontal cantilevered portion”, it is unclear which portion of this structure is being retracted or is internal, and the instant application fails to provide any additional details to support the structural limitations claimed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: “said support base being retracted or internal with respect to the horizontal cantilevered portion”, it is unclear which portion of this structure is being retracted or is internal, and the instant application fails to provide any additional details to support the structural limitations claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Armond (US 20240108145 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Armond teaches a furnishing composition comprising: a plurality of furnishing modules (elements 15) which are modular (abstract) according to a variable configuration (Figures 1-3), wherein each of said furnishing modules is provided with a support frame (abstract) having a support base (elements 20) and at least one engagement seat (elements 25), directed along a vertical axis (inasmuch as applicant has claimed), perpendicular to a support plane (elements 30) of the furnishing composition, at least one connecting rod (elements 35 and 50) comprising an arm (element 37) ending, at opposite ends, with a pair of fixing pins (elements 39) projecting perpendicularly to said arm (Figure 3), said fixing pins being at least partially counter-shaped with respect to said engagement seats so as to be able to be engaged in said engagement seats according to a shape coupling (Figure 3 inasmuch as applicant has claimed), and wherein the fixing pins of said at least one connecting rod are engaged in respective engagement seats of two furnishing modules adjacent to each other (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said at least one engagement seat and said fixing pins are axial-symmetric with respect to an axis of axial-symmetry parallel to said vertical axis (inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said at least one engagement seat and said fixing pins are cylindrical or conical (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said at least one engagement seat is integral with the support frame (Figure 1 inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 5, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said at least one engagement seat is carried on the support frame by fixing means (Figures 1-9 inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said engagement seats are open downwards, i.e., facing the support surface plane of the furnishing composition (Figures 1-9 may be rotated 360 degrees to satisfy the limitation inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the fixing pins are facing upwards, on a side opposite the support plane of the furnishing composition (Figures 1-9 may be rotated 360 degrees to satisfy the limitation inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 12, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said at least one engagement seat is through with respect to the support frame (Figure 3 inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 13, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said fixing pins are shaped so that, in an assembly configuration on the engagement seats, the fixinq pins completely cross the engagement seats and protrude from an upper part of the engagement seats, opposite the support plane of the furnishing composition (Figures 1-9 may be rotated 360 degrees to satisfy the limitation inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the support frame of each furnishing module is provided with a plurality of engagement seats arranged peripherally with respect to the same support frame (as depicted in Figures 1-9).
Regarding claim 15, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the support frame is provided with the support base (as discussed in response to claim 1), directed in a vertical direction (Figures 1-9), and a horizontal cantilevered portion that supports said at least one engagement seat (any of the sides of the base in Armond satisfy this limitation), said support base being retracted or internal with respect to the horizontal cantilevered portion (side portions of Armond’s base satisfy this limitation as best understood by Examiner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armond (US 20240108145 A1) in view of Hensel (US Patent No. 3129472).
Regarding claim 8, Armond teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein in each connecting rod, at least one of said fixing pins but fails to specifically teach wherein the fixing pins are provided with bayonet attachment, arranged in diametrically opposite positions to each other, and wherein at least one of said engagement seats is provided with radial gaps, diametrically opposite each other, shaped so as to create a mechanical connection with said bayonet attachments. However, use of bayonet fixtures to connect articles of furniture is well known in the art as is evidenced by Figures 1-19 and Col. 1, line 1- Col. 2 line 17 of Hensel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the fixing pins of Armond with the bayonet fixtures and gaps found in Hensel, in order to provide a simple and convenient detachable annular engagement mechanism (as taught by Hensel).
Regarding claim 9, Armond in view of Hensel teaches the invention in claim 8, wherein, in an assembly configuration, the radial gaps are misaligned with respect to the bayonet attachments (as depicted in Figures 1-19 of Hensel inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 10, Armond in view of Hensel teaches the invention in claim 8, wherein a connection between two adjacent furnishing modules occurs by interposing two connecting rods, each having a fixing pin provided with bayonet attachments (as depicted in Figures 1-9 of Armond), inserted in the respective engagement seat (Figures 1-9 of Armond), in turn provided with radial gaps, by virtue of an opposite clockwise/counter-clockwise movement which brings said two connecting rods in a position substantially orthogonal to a coupling side of the same two furnishing modules (Figures 7-11 and Col. 1, line 1- Col. 2 line 17 of Hensel as discussed in the response to claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, Armond in view of Hensel teaches the invention in claim 8, wherein the bayonet attachments of said fixing pins are aligned and symmetrical along joining centres of the fixing pins of the connecting rod (Figure 3 of Armond inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3644