DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/22/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24, 25, 29-33, 35, and 38-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ballif et al (US 2017/0033250 A1).
In regard to claim 21, Ballif et al discloses a method of forming an article that exhibits structural color (page 5, section [0104] – page 6, section [0116], Figures 1 & 2), the method comprising: forming on or within the article a curved, microscale interface (Figure 2, “221”) between a first component (Figure 2, “231”) and a second component adjacent to the first component (Figure 2, “220”), wherein the interface is configured such that at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation incident to a surface of the interface undergoes total internal reflection between the first component and the second component (Figure 2, re: total internal reflection in “231” through the dome at the interface “221” between “231” and “220”); wherein the first component has a first refractive index greater than a second refractive index of the second component (page 6, section [0113], re: high index layer “231” surrounded by low index media “232” and “220”); and wherein the electromagnetic radiation undergoes a change in amplitude during the total internal reflection (page 6, section [0113], re: portion “261” will be trapped by total internal reflection inside the high index medium “231” and its ‘absorption…’ Absorption indicates that the radiation “261” undergoes a change (i.e. reduction) in amplitude).
Regarding claim 22, Ballif et al discloses wherein the curved, microscale interface is formed by a process that includes lithography, stamping, imprinting, indentation, replica molding, polymerization of fluids, assembly of solid particles, or any combination thereof (page 6, section [0107]).
Regarding claim 24, Ballif et al discloses wherein the curved, microscale interface is formed by a process that comprises fabricating a template for the interface, applying a curable polymer to the template; curing the polymer; and removing the cured polymer from the template (page 6, section [0107]).
Regarding claim 25, Ballif et al discloses wherein the curved, microscale interface is concave relative to the incident electromagnetic radiation (Figure 2, “261, 221”).
Regarding claim 29, Ballif et al discloses wherein the curved, microscale interface exhibits a largest cross-sectional dimension of from 1 micron to 200 microns (page 5, section [0105]).
Regarding claim 30, Ballif et al discloses wherein the article exhibits iridescence due to the total internal reflection (page 7, section [0115]).
Regarding claim 31, Ballif et al discloses wherein the article exhibits optical interference due to the total internal reflection (page 7, section [0115]).
In regard to claim 32, Ballif et al discloses a method of forming an article that exhibits structural color (page 5, section [0104] – page 6, section [0116], Figures 1 & 2), the method comprising: forming on or within the article plurality of domed structures (Figure 2, “221”) on a substrate, wherein the substrate comprises a first material (Figure 2, “231”); and positioning a second component adjacent the plurality of domed structures, wherein the second component comprises a second material (Figure 2, “220”); wherein the first material has a refractive index greater than a refractive index of the second material (page 6, section [0113], re: “231” is high-index layer & “220” is low-index layer), such that incident electromagnetic radiation (Figure 2, “261”) undergoes total internal reflection at a curved surface of each domed structure at a microscale interface between the first material and the second material (pages 5-6, section [0106], re: surface nanofeatures “221,” Figure 2, re: total internal reflection in “231” through the dome at the interface “221” between “231” and “220”).
Regarding claim 33, Ballif et al discloses wherein the plurality of domed structures is formed by a process that includes lithography, stamping, imprinting, indentation, replica molding, polymerization of fluids, assembly of solid particles, or any combination thereof (page 6, section [0107]).
Regarding claim 35, Ballif et al discloses wherein the plurality of domed structures is formed by a process that comprises fabricating a template for the plurality of domed structures, applying a curable polymer to the template; curing the polymer; and removing the cured polymer from the template (page 6, section [0107]).
Regarding claim 38, Ballif et al discloses wherein the plurality of domed structures are disposed in a regular two-dimensional array on the substrate (Figure 2, “221”).
Regarding claim 39, Ballif et al discloses wherein the microscale interface comprises a polygonal interface (page 6, section [0107], re: pyramidal).
Regarding claim 40, Ballif et al discloses wherein the microscale interface comprises an irregular interface (Figure 2, “221”).
Regarding claim 41, Ballif et al discloses wherein the plurality of domed structures each exhibit a largest cross-sectional dimension of from 1 micron to 200 microns (page 5, section [0105]).
Regarding claim 42, Ballif et al discloses wherein the electromagnetic radiation undergoes a change in amplitude during total internal reflection (page 6, section [0113], re: portion “261” will be trapped by total internal reflection inside the high index medium “231” and its ‘absorption…’ Absorption indicates that the radiation “261” undergoes a change (i.e. reduction) in amplitude).
Regarding claim 43, Ballif et al discloses wherein the article exhibits structural coloration due to the total internal reflection (page 6, section [0113] - page 7, section [0115]).
Regarding claim 44, Ballif et al discloses wherein the article exhibits iridescence due to the total internal reflection (page 7, section [0115]).
Regarding claim 45, Ballif et al discloses wherein the article exhibits optical interference due to the total internal reflection (page 7, section [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballif et al.
Regarding claims 36 and 37, Ballif et al discloses as set forth above, but does not specifically disclose wherein the domed structures comprise hemicylindrical or hemispherical structures.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice for the domed structures of Ballif et al to comprise hemicylindrical or hemispherical structures, since applicant has not disclosed that said structures solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with polygonal or irregular structures as disclosed in claims 39 and 40.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective combination of claims (1 & 11) and (15 & 19) of U.S. Patent No. 11,953,439. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the indicated claims of the current application are disclosed in the respective combination of claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,953,439 and are therefore anticipated by said claims.
US Patent 11,953,439
Current Application
1. An article, comprising:
11. The article of claim 1, wherein the article exhibits structural coloration due to the total internal reflection
1 (continued). a first component and a second component adjacent the first component; and a curved microscale interface between the first component and the second component, the interface configured such that at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation incident to a surface of the interface undergoes total internal reflection between the first component and the second component, wherein the first component has a first refractive index greater than a second refractive index of the second component; and wherein the electromagnetic radiation undergoes a change in amplitude during total internal reflection.
21. (New) A method of forming
an article that exhibits structural color, the method comprising:
forming on or within the article a curved, microscale interface between a first component and a second component adjacent to the first component, wherein the interface is configured such that at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation incident to a surface of the interface undergoes total internal reflection between the first component and the second component; wherein the first component has a first refractive index greater than a second refractive index of the second component; and wherein the electromagnetic radiation undergoes a change in amplitude during the total internal reflection.
15. An article, comprising:
19. The method of claim 15, wherein the article exhibits structural coloration due to the total internal reflection
15 (continued). a plurality of domed structures formed on a substrate, the substrate comprising a first material;
a second component adjacent the plurality of domed structures and comprising a second material;
wherein the first material has a refractive index greater than a refractive index of the second material, such that incident electromagnetic radiation undergoes total internal reflection at a curved surface of each domed structure at a microscale interface between the first material and the second material.
32. (New) A method of forming
an article that exhibits structural color,
the method comprising: forming on or within the article plurality of domed structures on a substrate, wherein the substrate comprises a first material;
and positioning a second component adjacent the plurality of domed structures, wherein the second component comprises a second material;
wherein the first material has a refractive index greater than a refractive index of the second material, such that incident electromagnetic radiation undergoes total internal reflection at a curved surface of each domed structure at a microscale interface between the first material and the second material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 26-28, and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 23: a method as claimed, specifically wherein the lithography comprises photolithography, laser lithography, stereolithography, soft lithography, or any combination thereof.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 26: a method as claimed, specifically wherein the first component or the second component comprises a fluid.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 27 and 28: a method as claimed, specifically wherein the first component comprises a polymer.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 34: a method as claimed, specifically wherein the lithography comprises photolithography, laser lithography, stereolithography, soft lithography, or any combination thereof.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 November 15, 2025