DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 9-12 in the reply filed on 6 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6 July 2026.
Applicant’s election of the species of a nucleic acid vaccine in the reply filed on 6 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
No claim is withdrawn due to the species election.
Specification
The instant specification discloses the following on the paragraph bridging pages 1-2, which is reproduced below.
As such, applicant cites reference #8 as supporting the idea that adjuvants are included in mRNA vaccines to enhance their immunogenicity. However, looking to reference #8, this reference has the following title, as of page 30 of the specification.
As such, reference #8 would appear to relate to DNA vaccination, which would not appear to support the idea that adjuvants are included in mRNA vaccine formulations to enhance their immunogenicity. As such, the specification appears to be in error in that it cites reference #8 as supporting the idea that reference #8 supports the idea that adjuvants are included in mRNA vaccines.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 9 recites the term “buffer.” The examiner notes that the term “buffer” does not appear to have been defined in the instant specification. Nevertheless, the term “buffer” is commonly used in this art area to refer to an aqueous solution comprising a salt dissolved therein, wherein the salt dissolved therein helps resist dramatic pH changes caused by the addition of solutes and thereby buffers the pH in a particular range. This is commonly achieved by using a salt whose cations or anions have a pKa (i.e. negative logarithm of the acidity constant) in the range of the desired pH.
A general overview of the science of pH buffers has been provided at LibreTexts (“6.8: pH Buffers” https://chem.libretexts.org/@go/page/372205 accessed 14 July 2026, pages 6.8.1-6.8.4); with that being said, the claims are not understood to be limited to the specific buffers discussed in LibreTexts. The buffering effect is well-described in figure 6.8.2 of LibreTexts, which is reproduced below.
The examiner clarifies that the term “buffer” as recited is understood to refer to aqueous solutions rather than organic solutions.
The instant claims recite the terms “DOTAP” and “Quil-A.” These abbreviations are defined as of the instant specification on page 2, relevant text reproduced below.
The examiner notes that at the time of filing, “DOTAP” was a well-known cationic lipid and Quil-A a well-known vaccine adjuvant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the abbreviation “DTOP.” It is unclear how this term further limits the claim scope. The abbreviation “DTOP” is not defined by the instant specification and the skilled artisan would not have known “DTOP” to have been a well-known abbreviation.
As best understood by the examiner, “DTOP” appears to be a typographical error, and the term that should have been recited is “DOTAP.” As such
in order to overcome this rejection, the examiner suggests removing “DTOP” and replacing it with “DOTAP”; and
for the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner will interpret the term “DTOP” as if it recited “DOTAP.”
Claim Interpretation – Issues Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “comprising the steps of” in claim 9, as well as claims 10 and 12, which further reference “step (i)”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehravaran et al. (Iran Journal of Immunology, Vol. 12(4), 2015, pages 274-287) in view of Cho et al. (US 2022/0287970 A1) and Esener et al. (US 2016/0303236 A1).
Mehravaran et al. (Iran Journal of Immunology, Vol. 12(4), 2015, pages 274-287), which is drawn to cationic immune stimulating complexes, as of Mehravaran, page 274, title and abstract. Mehravaran teaches the following method of making this composition, as of the last paragraph of page 276, relevant text reproduced below.
Mehravaran appears to differ from the claimed method for at least the following reasons. In the claimed method, a solution of DOTAP in [aqueous] buffer and a solution of Quil-A in aqueous buffer are separately prepared, then combined. In contrast, in the above-reproduced method, DOTAP is first dissolved in chloroform, the chloroform evaporated to form a solid film. Then an aqueous buffer solution comprising Quil-A in phosphate buffered saline (PBS) was prepared and mixed with the solid DOTAP film. As such, the method of Mehravaran does not include a step of producing a solution of DOTAP dissolved in a buffer in the absence of Quil-A.
Cho et al. (hereafter referred to as Cho) is drawn to a combination of saponin with cationic liposomes for reducing hemolysis, as of Cho, title and abstract. Cho teaches mixing a liposome with saponin, as of paragraph 0006, relevant text reproduced below.
The examiner understands the above-reproduced text to teach mixing a liposome, which is necessarily present in an aqueous environment rather than in an organic solvent, with saponin; see also the title of Cho. Cho teaches liposome in HEPES buffer, as of paragraph 0100.
For the purposes of this rejection, the examiner takes the position that Cho does not teach a vaccine, and that the purpose of combining the cationic liposome and saponin of Cho differs from that of the instant invention. This is because, in the instant invention, the cationic liposome and saponin are being combined to make a vaccine, whereas they are being combined to reduce red blood cell hemolysis in Cho.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Mehravaran to have first combined the cationic lipid in an aqueous buffer to form a liposome, then to have later added saponin Quil-A. Mehravaran is drawn to a method of making a composition that includes both a liposome made from a cationic lipid and a saponin. Mehravaran teaches that an aqueous buffer comprising saponin is added to a film containing the cationic lipid. However, Cho teaches that a cationic liposome in a buffer may be combined with a saponin, also separately in an aqueous phase. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have modified the method of Mehravaran to have first formed a cationic liposome by adding aqueous buffer to the lipids including DOTAP followed by later adding Quil-A saponin in order to have predictably formed a composition with both a cationic lipid and a saponin for predictable use in a vaccine, as taught by Mehravaran, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Neither Mehravaran nor Cho teach the required vortexing step.
Esener et al. (hereafter referred to as Esener) is drawn to nanoparticles for drug delivery, as of Esener, title and abstract. Esener teaches mixing of lipids and a dye to be encapsulated by vortexting for 15 seconds, as of Esener, paragraph 0162.
Esener does not teach a cationic lipid or Quil-A.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the vortexing method of Esener to have mixed the lipids and Quil-A of Mehravaran and Cho. Both Mehravaran and Cho teach mixing a cationic lipid and Quil-A, but do not teach how this mixing is conducted. Esener teaches that vortexing for 15 seconds is useful to mix lipids with payload materials. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have vortexed the DOTAP and Quil-A of Mehravaran and Cho to have predictably mixed these ingredients with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 9, part (i), Mehravaran teaches mixing Quil-A in phosphate-buffered saline, which is abbreviated as PBS. As best understood by the examiner, Mehravaran teaches a concentration of 8 mg of Quil-A in 4 mL of PBS, as of Mehravaran, page 276, relevant text reproduced above, which appears to be 2 mg/mL of Quil-A. Assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 mg/mL), which is the density of water, this would appear to be 2 mg Quil A per 1000 mg total, or 0.2% Quil-A. This appear to be higher than the claimed amount. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the claimed invention and prior art will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality has been provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of forming a liposome by mixing Quil-A with DOTAP have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable concentration of DOTAP via routine experimentation.
Also as to claim 9, step (i), The examiner further takes the position that the difference between hydrating a DOTAP containing film with a buffer comprising a saponin, as taught by Mehravaran, as compared with first forming DOTAP liposomes in aqueous buffer followed by later adding saponin would appear to be a difference in the order of steps. Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results; also, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C).
As to claim 9, step (ii), Mehravaran appears to teach a 2:2:1 ratio of DOTAP, Quil-A and cholesterol, as of Mehravaran, page 276, relevant text reproduced above. This appears to indicate that the amount of DOTAP taught by Mehravaran is the same as that of Quil-A, which would appear to be 0.2% DOTAP. This appear to be higher than the claimed amount. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the claimed invention and prior art will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, no evidence of criticality has been provided. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of forming a liposome by mixing Quil-A with DOTAP have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable concentration of DOTAP via routine experimentation. The examiner also notes that Mehravaran also teaches 6.7 mg/mL total lipids; however, this appears to be the total lipid concentration in chloroform, which is not relevant because the chloroform is removed by evaporation. In contrast, the claimed concentration is drawn to the lipid concentration in an aqueous buffer, not in chloroform.
As to claim 9 part (iii), Cho teaches combining Quil-A with DOTAP in solution, and Esener teaches vortexing for 15 seconds.
As to claim 9 part (iv), Mehravaran teaches that the mixture with stand prior to injection, as of page 276, relevant text reproduced above. This is understood to read on the required incubation step.
As to claim 10, Mehravaran teaches a Soluble Leishmania Antigen as a payload, as of Mehravaran, page 276, second paragraph.
As to claim 12, the rationale applied by the examiner in view of MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) regarding claim 9 is also understood to be applicable to claim 12.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehravaran et al. (Iran Journal of Immunology, Vol. 12(4), 2015, pages 274-287) in view of Cho et al. (US 20220287970 A1) and Esener et al. (US 2016/0303236 A1), the combination further in view of Fotin-Mleczek et al. (US 2018/0207295 A1).
Mehravaran is drawn to combining DOTAP of Quil-A for the purposes of acting as a vaccine adjuvant. See the rejection above over Mehravaran in view of Cho and Esener.
Mehravaran differs from the claimed invention because Mehravaran appears to be drawn to a protein antigen vaccine wherein a protein is the payload rather than an mRNA vaccine wherein mRNA is the payload.
Fotin-Mlezcek et al. (hereafter referred to as Fotin) is drawn to an RNA containing composition for treatment or prevention of tumors, as of Fotin, title and abstract. Fotin teaches that this is a vaccine containing antigen encoding mRNA, as of Fotin, paragraphs 0032-0033. Fotin teaches the inclusion of adjuvants in general, as of paragraphs 0026-0027. The adjuvant of Fotin may be Quil-A, as of Fotin, paragraph 0802. Fotin also teaches a cationic liposome comprising DOTAP in paragraph 0651.
Fotin is not anticipatory at least because DOTAP and Quil-A are selected from a long list of cationic lipids and adjuvants, and are not present together in the same embodiment.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the Quil-A and DOTAP combination of Mehravaran to have delivered mRNA, as of Fotin. Fotin is drawn to the delivery of mRNA for vaccination, and teaches that the mRNA can be administered with an adjuvant, which may be Quil-A, along with a cationic lipid nanoparticle. Mehravaran is drawn to a method of making a cationic lipid nanoparticle comprising Quil-A, with DOTAP as the cationic lipid. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used the formulation made by the method of Mehravaran to have delivered an mRNA which encodes an antigen in order to have predictably enhanced the immune response to said antigen with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612