DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR CONNECTING TO SIGNAL WIRES AND GROUND WIRES CONNECTED TO A GROUND PLATE--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each conductor" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For prior art analysis, any conductor can be considered to meet this limitation. Claims 2-12 include all the limitations of claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (CN113422232A).
With regard to claim 1, Lu teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “An electrical connector 4 comprising: a plurality of first electric wires ( wires 3 connected to 6002 in figure 6) including a first signal line 31 and a first ground line 32 connected to a ground, wherein each of the plurality of first electric wires extends in a first direction (up-down direction in figure 15) and the plurality of first electric wires are arranged in a second direction (left-right direction in figure 15) intersecting with the first direction; a housing 5 including a first holding portion 514 that holds each tip end portion of the plurality of first electric wires; and a first ground plate 92 including a plate main body 921 provided on the housing 5, wherein the first holding portion 514 holds each conductor 6 at each tip end portion of the plurality of first electric wires, wherein the first ground plate 92 includes an elastic member 922 extending from the plate main body 921 toward the conductor 6 of the first ground line 32, and wherein the elastic member 92 is configured to come into elastic contact with the conductor 62 of the first ground line 32”.
With regard to claim 7, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 1-21: “further comprising a covering member 52 that covers at least portions of the plurality of first electric wires 3 other than each tip end portion thereof, wherein the plurality of first electric wires are integrated by the covering member 52”.
With regard to claim 11, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 1-21: “wherein the plurality of first electric wires 3 include a plurality of the first ground lines 32, wherein the first ground plate 92 includes a plurality of the elastic members 922, and wherein each elastic member 922 is configured to come into elastic contact with the conductor of each first ground line 32”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN113422232A).
With regard to claim 5, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “wherein the elastic member… protrudes toward the conductor of the first ground line
Lu does not teach the elastic member “has a V shape”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the elastic member to have a V shape in order to control the area on which the elastic force of the elastic member acts. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN113422232A) in view of Yamamoto et al. (2017/0098903).
With regard to claim 2, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “wherein the first holding portion 514 includes a plurality of through holes that penetrate the housing 5… and wherein each tip end portion of the plurality of first electric wires 3 is received in each of the plurality of through holes”.
Lu does not teach the through holes penetrating the housing “in the first direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Yamamoto teaches, as shown in figure 5, through holes (where 191 and the inner conductor of 191 penetrate 111 in figure 5) penetrating the housing 111 “in the first direction (left-right direction in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Yamamoto with the invention of Lu in order to connect the wires to a mating connector in a different direction.
With regard to claim 3, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “wherein the housing 5 includes a first surface (bottom surface of 5 in figure 16) and a second surface (right surface of 5 in figure 16)… wherein the first holding portion 514 is open on the first surface and the second surface, wherein each tip end of the plurality of first electric wires 3 is exposed from the first holding portion 514 on the first surface, wherein the housing 5 includes a step (right end of 52 in figure 16) that protrudes from the second surface in the first direction, and wherein the conductor of the first ground line 32 is sandwiched between the step and the elastic member 922”.
Lu does not teach the second surface “located on a side opposite to the first surface in the first direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Yamamoto teaches, as shown in figure 5, the second surface (left surface of 111 in figure 5) “located on a side opposite to the first surface (right surface of 111 in figure 5) in the first direction (left-right direction in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Yamamoto with the invention of Lu in order to connect the wires to a mating connector in a different direction.
With regard to claim 4, Lu as modified by Yamamoto teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 3”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “wherein the step includes a groove (where 32 is disposed under 52 as shown in figure 6) that supports the conductor of the first ground line 32, and wherein the elastic member 922 has a shape that protrudes toward the conductor of the first ground line 32”.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN113422232A) in view of Yao et al. (2023/0223722).
With regard to claim 6, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “further comprising: a plurality of second electric wires (wires 3 connected in the L2 region in figure 16) including a second signal line 31 and a second ground line 32 connected to a ground, wherein each of the plurality of second electric wires extends in the first direction and the plurality of second electric wires are arranged in the second direction; and a second ground plate (left 92 in figure 16), wherein the housing 5 includes a second holding portion (left 514 in figure 16) that holds each tip end portion of the plurality of second electric wires”.
Lu does not teach: “wherein the plurality of second electric wires are aligned with the plurality of first electric wires in a third direction intersecting with both the first direction and the second direction, and wherein the second ground plate is located between the plurality of first electric wires and the plurality of second electric wires”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Yao teaches, as shown in figures 7-20: “wherein the plurality of second electric wires (cables of upper-left-most member 2 in figure 10) are aligned with the plurality of first electric wires (cables of the second from the upper-left-most member 2 in figure 10) in a third direction (roughly left-to-right in figure 10) intersecting with both the first direction (up-down direction in figure 10) and the second direction (roughly lower-left to upper-right in figure 10), and wherein the second ground plate 25 is located between the plurality of first electric wires and the plurality of second electric wires”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Yao with the invention of Yu in order to improve the compactness of the structure (Yao, paragraph 60).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN113422232A) in view of Yao et al. (2023/0223722) and Yamamoto et al. (2017/0098903).
With regard to claim 8, Lu as modified by Yao teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 6”, as shown above.
Lu also teaches, as shown in figures 4-21: “wherein the housing 5 includes a first surface (bottom surface of 5 in figure 16) and a second surface (right surface of 5 in figure 16)… wherein the housing 5 includes a step (right end of 52 in figure 16) that protrudes from the second surface in the first direction, wherein the step includes a first groove (where 32 of the first ground conductor is disposed under 52 as shown in figure 6) that supports the conductor of the first ground line 32, and a second groove (where 32 of the second ground conductor is disposed under 52 as shown in figure 6) that supports the conductor of the second ground line 32”.
Neither Lu nor Yao teach the second surface “located on a side opposite to the first surface in the first direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Yamamoto teaches, as shown in figure 5, the second surface (left surface of 111 in figure 5) “located on a side opposite to the first surface (right surface of 111 in figure 5) in the first direction (left-right direction in figure 5)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Yamamoto with the invention of Lu as modified by Yao in order to connect the wires to a mating connector in a different direction.
With regard to claim 9, Lu as modified by Yao and Yamamoto teach: “The electrical connector according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Neither Lu nor Yao nor Yamamoto teach: “wherein the first groove is located on a side opposite to the second groove”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the step so that the first and second grooves are located on opposite side of the step in order to more easily designate the which are the first and which are the second electric wires.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN113422232A) in view of Huang et al. (2022/0115816).
With regard to claim 10, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu does not teach: “further comprising: a pair of guide pins to connect to a mating connector, wherein the pair of guide pins sandwich the first holding portion therebetween in the second direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Huang teaches, as shown in figures 1-16: “further comprising: a pair of guide pins (shown below) to connect to a mating connector 2, wherein the pair of guide pins sandwich the first holding portion 122 therebetween in the second direction Y”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Huang with the invention of Lu in order to position the connector on the mating connector.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN113422232A) in view of Champion et al. (2024/0047907).
With regard to claim 12, Lu teaches: “The electrical connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Lu does not teach: “further comprising: a shield member located between the first signal line and the first ground line adjacent each other”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Champion teaches, as shown in figures 3-7: “further comprising: a shield member 314 located between the first signal line 320 and the first ground line 329 adjacent each other”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Champion with the invention of Lu in order to improve the electrical performance of the connector (Champion, paragraph 26).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831