Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20210369589 A1).
With regard to claim 1, claims 5-12, and claims 14-17, Zhang discloses a skin care composition that provides good sensory properties and has a low skin irritation potential (see Abstract). Zhang further discloses the composition may comprise sodium gluconate at 1.25-2.5wt%, zinc lactate at 1wt%, and panthenol at 0.5wt% (see Table 1), and may be in the form of a wipe (see [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date and with a reasonable expectation of success, to utilize sodium gluconate, zinc lactate, and panthenol, as disclosed by Zhang, as such a composition provides good sensory properties and has a low skin irritation potential, as disclosed by Zhang.
With regard to claim 13, Zhang discloses the composition may comprise a fragrance at 0.04wt% (see Table 1).
With regard to claim 19, Zhang discloses a method of cosmetically treating skin, comprising: identifying a target portion of skin where treatment is desired; and applying an effective amount of the composition to the target portion of skin over the course of a treatment period (see Claim 18).
Claims 2-4 and claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20210369589 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Banowski (US 20200390679 A1).
With regard to claims 2-4, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Zhang fails to disclose an organic phospholipid.
Banowski discloses an antiperspirant cosmetic agent, an analogous art (see Abstract). Banowski further discloses the antiperspirant cosmetic agent may be in the form of a wipe (see [0074]). Banowski further teaches the antiperspirant cosmetic agent comprises at least one deodorant active ingredient, which may be cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chlorides phosphates (see [0090]) at 0.001-15wt% (see [0079]). Banowski further discloses such ingredients reduce the number of skin germs from the group of staphylococci, corynebacteria, anaerocococci and micrococci involved in the formation of odors, or inhibit their growth (see [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chlorides phosphates of Banowski in the skin care composition of Zhang for the purpose of reducing the number of skin germs from the group of staphylococci, corynebacteria, anaerocococci and micrococci involved in the formation of odors, or inhibiting their growth, as disclosed by Banowski.
With regard to claim 18, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 14.
However, Zhang fails to disclose an organic phospholipid.
Banowski discloses an antiperspirant cosmetic agent, an analogous art (see Abstract). Banowski further discloses the antiperspirant cosmetic agent may be in the form of a wipe (see [0074]). Banowski further teaches the antiperspirant cosmetic agent comprises at least one deodorant active ingredient, which may be cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chlorides phosphates (see [0090]) at 0.001-15wt% (see [0079]). Banowski further discloses such ingredients reduce the number of skin germs from the group of staphylococci, corynebacteria, anaerocococci and micrococci involved in the formation of odors, or inhibit their growth (see [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chlorides phosphates of Banowski in the skin care composition of Zhang for the purpose of reducing the number of skin germs from the group of staphylococci, corynebacteria, anaerocococci and micrococci involved in the formation of odors, or inhibiting their growth, as disclosed by Banowski.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20210369589 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gonzales (US 20120317736 A1).
With regard to claim 20, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Zhang fails to disclose a method wherein the step of providing the cleaning composition comprises the step of applying the cleaning composition to a substrate to form a cleaning wipe.
Gonzales discloses a liquid cleaning and/or cleansing composition, which comprises biodegradable abrasive cleaning particles, an analogous art (see Abstract). Gonzales further discloses the composition may comprise sodium gluconate and zinc lactate (see [0173]). Gonzalesfurther discloses the composition may be loaded onto a cleaning substrate wherein the substrate is a paper or nonwoven towel or wipe or a sponge (see Claim 17). Gonzales further discloses a process of cleaning and/or cleansing a surface with a cleaning and/or cleansing composition, wherein said surface is contacted with said composition, preferably wherein said composition is applied onto said surface (see Claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the wipe of Gonzales with the composition of Zhang as both Gonzales and Zhang disclose compositions comprising sodium gluconate and zinc lactate for cleaning biological surfaces. It stands to reason that the composition of Zhang would work on a wipe as the two compositions are similar and thus both should be effective in the form of a wipe. Further, the method of contacting the cleaning composition of Zhang is similar to the method of cleaning and/or cleansing a surface with a cleaning and/or cleansing composition of Gonzales. Therefore, the composition and method of Zhang may be utilized in the method of Gonzales for the purpose of cleaning biological surfaces.
Conclusion
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761