DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hopson et al. (US 2018/0320742).
As to claim 1, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit capable of connecting a drive device to a rod, the connecting unit comprising:
a receiving opening 160 capable of axially receiving a connecting element 180 arranged on a rod 110 so as to transmit a torque;
an interlocking element 140, which is a force-applied interlocking element, the interlocking element including a free end, the interlocking element further including or being configured as a spring element, the spring element being a flexible spring, the spring element being configured as a bending spring (free ends 260 of spring ring 140 are bent away from one another to release the spring, thus the spring ring constitutes a “bending spring”; Figure 1); and
a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by way of which the interlocking element engages in the receiving opening (annular recess 200 is disposed within rod 110 adjacent opening 160; Figures 1-3), with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that the connecting element is axially securable thereby, the interlocking element at a first position being firmly connected with a portion of the connecting unit and at the free end is configured for moving relative to a portion of the connecting unit so as to move the interlocking element out of the receiving opening, with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that a securement of the connecting element is releasable (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 2, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the receiving opening 160 is configured as an internal polygon which includes at least two surfaces, and wherein the recess 200 intersects the at least two surfaces of the internal polygon (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 3, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the spring element 140 is configured for absorbing a plurality of lateral forces acting in an axial direction between the connecting unit and the connecting element 180 (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 4, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the interlocking element 140 includes a support body (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 5, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connecting unit includes a circumference, wherein the interlocking element 140 is arranged in a locking position within the circumference of the connecting unit (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 6, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connection unit includes a circumferential side, wherein the free end 260 of the interlocking element 140 is configured for being moved from the circumferential side of the connection unit (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 7, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connection unit includes a circumferential side, wherein the free end 260 of the interlocking element 140 is capable of being moved from the circumferential side of the connection unit without using a tool (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 8, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the spring element 140 is a leaf spring, a flat spring, or a flat-shaped spring (spring ring 140 comprises a flat planar body, and thus constitutes a “flat spring”; Figures 1-3).
As to claim 9, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connecting unit is capable of connecting a drive device to a doctor rod (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 10, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device capable of connecting a drive device with a rod, the connecting device comprising:
a connecting unit capable of connecting a drive device to a rod, the connecting unit including:
a receiving opening 160 capable of axially receiving a connecting element 180 arranged on a rod 110 so as to transmit a torque;
an interlocking element 140, which is a force-applied interlocking element, the interlocking element including a free end, the interlocking element further including or being configured as a spring element, the spring element being a flexible spring, the spring element being configured as a bending spring (free ends 260 of spring ring 140 are bent away from one another to release the spring, thus the spring ring constitutes a “bending spring”; Figure 1); and
a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by way of which the interlocking element engages in the receiving opening (annular recess 200 is disposed within rod 110 adjacent opening 160; Figures 1-3), with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that the connecting element is axially securable thereby, the interlocking element at a first position being firmly connected with a portion of the connecting unit and at the free end is configured for moving relative to a portion of the connecting unit so as to move the interlocking element out of the receiving opening, with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that a securement of the connecting element is releasable; and
a connecting element 180 capable of being arranged on a rod and for being arranged in an interlocking manner in the receiving opening of the connecting unit, the connecting element including a securement recess 220 which is radially arranged and which is configured for accommodating the interlocking element 140 arranged on a portion of the connecting unit so as to secure the rod into position axially (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 11, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device wherein the securement recess 220 of the connecting element 180 is arranged circumferentially (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 12, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device wherein the connecting element 180 includes and end face and a chamfer at the end face (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 13, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device wherein the connecting device is capable of connecting a drive device to a doctor rod (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 14, Hopson et al. disclose a method to replace a rod, the method comprising the steps of:
providing that a connecting device includes a connecting unit and a connecting element 180, the connecting unit including a receiving opening 160 in which the connecting element which is arranged on the rod 110 is arranged in an interlocking manner so as to transmit a torque, the connecting unit including a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by which an interlocking element 140 which is a force-applied interlocking element of the connecting unit engages in the receiving opening and in a securement recess 220 which is radially arranged of the connecting element so as to secure the rod axially (annular recess 200 is disposed within rod 110 adjacent opening 160; Figures 1-3), the interlocking element being firmly connected in a first position with a portion of the connecting unit, the interlocking element including or being configured as a spring element, the spring element being a flexible spring, the spring element being configured as a bending spring (free ends 260 of spring ring 140 are bent away from one another to release the spring, thus the spring ring constitutes a “bending spring”; Figure 1);
moving the interlocking element at a free end of the interlocking element relative to the connecting unit in a release step so as to move the interlocking element out of the receiving opening and to release a securement of the connecting element; and
replacing the rod by way of the connecting device (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 15, Hopson et al. disclose a method wherein the spring element 140 is a leaf spring, a flat spring, or a flat-shaped spring (spring ring 140 comprises a flat planar body, and thus constitutes a “flat spring”; Figures 1-3).
As to claim 16, Hopson et al. disclose a method wherein the rod 110 is a doctor rod (Figures 1-3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 01, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1, 10 and 14, Attorney argues that:
Hopson et al. fail to disclose a connecting unit wherein the spring element is configured as a bending spring.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 1, 10 and 14, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the spring element 140 is configured as a bending spring (free ends 260 of spring ring 140 are bent away from one another to release the spring, thus the spring ring constitutes a “bending spring”; Figure 1).
As to claims 1, 10 and 14, Attorney argues that:
Hopson et al. fail to disclose a connecting unit comprising a recess located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by way of which the interlocking element engages in the receiving opening.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 1, 10 and 14, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit comprising a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening 160 and by way of which the interlocking element 140 engages in the receiving opening (annular recess 200 is disposed within rod 110 adjacent opening 160; Figures 1-3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
05/11/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619