DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14 (line 2) “the connecting device” should recite –a connecting device--.
In claim 14 (line 3-4) “element – which is arranged on the rod – is” should recite
–element which is arranged on the rod is--.
In claim 14 (line 6) “element -- which is a force-applied interlocking element -- of” should recite --element which is a force-applied interlocking element of--.
In claim 14 (lines 7-8) “recess – which is radially arranged – of” should recite
--recess which is radially arranged of--.
In claim 14 (line 11) “spring, ” should recite –spring; --.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hopson et al. (US 2018/0320742).
As to claim 1, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit capable of connecting a drive device to a rod, the connecting unit comprising:
a receiving opening 160 capable of axially receiving a connecting element 180 arranged on a rod 120 so as to transmit a torque;
an interlocking element 140, which is a force-applied interlocking element, the interlocking element including a free end, the interlocking element further including or being configured as a spring element, the spring element being a flexible spring; and
a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by way of which the interlocking element engages in the receiving opening, with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that the connecting element is axially securable thereby, the interlocking element at a first position being firmly connected with a portion of the connecting unit and at the free end is configured for moving relative to a portion of the connecting unit so as to move the interlocking element out of the receiving opening, with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that a securement of the connecting element is releasable (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 2, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the receiving opening 160 is configured as an internal polygon which includes at least two surfaces, and wherein the recess 200 intersects the at least two surfaces of the internal polygon (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 3, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the spring element 140 is configured for absorbing a plurality of lateral forces acting in an axial direction between the connecting unit and the connecting element 180 (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 4, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the interlocking element 140 includes a support body (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 5, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connecting unit includes a circumference, wherein the interlocking element 140 is arranged in a locking position within the circumference of the connecting unit (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 6, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connection unit includes a circumferential side, wherein the free end 260 of the interlocking element 140 is configured for being moved from the circumferential side of the connection unit (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 7, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connection unit includes a circumferential side, wherein the free end 260 of the interlocking element 140 is capable of being moved from the circumferential side of the connection unit without using a tool (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 8, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the spring element 140 is a leaf spring, a flat spring, or a flat form spring (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 9, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting unit wherein the connecting unit is capable of connecting a drive device to a doctor rod (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 10, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device capable of connecting a drive device with a rod, the connecting device comprising:
a connecting unit capable of connecting a drive device 110 to a rod 120, the connecting unit including:
a receiving opening 160 capable of axially receiving a connecting element 180 arranged on a rod so as to transmit a torque;
an interlocking element 140, which is a force-applied interlocking element, the interlocking element including a free end, the interlocking element further including or being configured as a spring element, the spring element being a flexible spring; and
a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by way of which the interlocking element engages in the receiving opening, with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that the connecting element is axially securable thereby, the interlocking element at a first position being firmly connected with a portion of the connecting unit and at the free end is configured for moving relative to a portion of the connecting unit so as to move the interlocking element out of the receiving opening, with the result that the connecting unit is configured such that a securement of the connecting element is releasable; and
a connecting element 180 capable of being arranged on a rod and for being arranged in an interlocking manner in the receiving opening of the connecting unit, the connecting element including a securement recess 220 which is radially arranged and which is configured for accommodating the interlocking element 140 arranged on a portion of the connecting unit so as to secure the rod into position axially (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 11, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device wherein the securement recess 220 of the connecting element 180 is arranged circumferentially (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 12, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device wherein the connecting element 180 includes and end face and a chamfer at the end face (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 13, Hopson et al. disclose a connecting device wherein the connecting device is capable of connecting a drive device to a doctor rod (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 14, Hopson et al. disclose a method to replace a rod, the method comprising the steps of:
providing that a connecting device includes a connecting unit and a connecting element 180, the connecting unit including a receiving opening 160 in which the connecting element which is arranged on the rod 120 is arranged in an interlocking manner so as to transmit a torque, the connecting unit including a recess 200 located radially adjacent to the receiving opening and by which an interlocking element 140 which is a force-applied interlocking element of the connecting unit engages in the receiving opening and in a securement recess 220 which is radially arranged of the connecting element so as to secure the rod axially, the interlocking element being firmly connected in a first position with a portion of the connecting unit, the interlocking element including or being configured as a spring element, the spring element being a flexible spring,
moving the interlocking element at a free end of the interlocking element relative to the connecting unit in a release step so as to move the interlocking element out of the receiving opening and to release a securement of the connecting element; and
replacing the rod by way of the connecting device (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 15, Hopson et al. disclose a method wherein the spring element 140 is a leaf spring, a flat spring, or a flat form spring (Figures 1-3).
As to claim 16, Hopson et al. disclose a method wherein the rod 120 is a doctor rod (Figures 1-3).
Conclusion
01/14/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619