DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 15 June 2026, in which claims 1, 9, 18, and 19 were amended, claims 2, 3, and 14-17 were canceled, and claims 21-26 were added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Astrike (US 9956996 B2). Astrike discloses a vehicle (#10; figures 1-10B) comprising:
a vehicle body (including bed #14, side walls #10a, 10b) comprising a tailgate (#12; column 3);
a tray (cargo bed extension assembly #11) disposed in the tailgate (#12), the tray being configured to protrude upwardly (figures 3C-5B, 7D, 7E, 9A-10B) and to be folded and unfolded (figures 1-10B), wherein the tray comprises a first tray and a second tray (first and second side panels #30, 32, 130, 132, 430, 432, 530, 532), the first tray and the second tray being configured to be unfolded in opposite directions (opposite left and right directions; figures 3C-5B, 7D, 7E, 9A-10B; column 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrike (US 9956996 B2) in view of Seksaria et al. (US 6994363 B2). Astrike does not specifically disclose wherein the vehicle body comprises an operation switch configured to manipulate an operation of an actuator to move the tray (cargo bed extension assembly #11). Seksaria et al. teaches a vehicle body comprising a tailgate (#100), and a tray (tailgate extension apparatus #200) disposed in the tailgate, wherein the vehicle body comprises an operation switch (release button) configured to manipulate an operation of an actuator to move the tray (“The U-frame member 205 is then disengaged from the stored position by disengaging the detent 156 (by pressing a release button and/or pulling the U-frame out of the tailgate 100) and extending the U-frame from the tailgate”; column 6, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Astrike to include an operation switch, as taught by Seksaria et al., for the predictable result of facilitating movement of the tray from a manual process to one that includes a release button, thereby reducing effort involved in deploying the tray.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-13, and 21-26 are allowed.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
the allowable subject matter of claim 1 is the upper portion of the actuator comprises a hinge member to which the tray is coupled to be rotatable, and wherein the hinge member comprises an elastic member configured to apply a force in a direction in which the tray is unfolded, in combination with other features of claim 1;
the allowable subject matter of claim 20 is an actuator disposed in the tailgate and configured to push the tray to protrude upwardly, and a locking member configured to fix a position of the tray in a state in which the tray protrudes outwardly and is unfolded, wherein the tray comprises a first tray and a second tray being configured to be unfolded in opposite directions, in combination with other features of preceding claim 18;
the allowable subject matter of claim 21 is the upper portion of the actuator comprises a hinge member to which the tray is coupled to be rotatable, and wherein the hinge member comprises an elastic member configured to apply a force in a direction in which the tray is unfolded, in combination with other features of claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner’s indication of allowable subject matter in dependent claim 13 indicated that claim 13 was objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 13 depends from independent claim 1. Incorporating the contents of claim 13 into independent claim 18 does not automatically place independent claim 18 in condition for allowance because claim 18 does not include all limitations of independent claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Newly cited prior art Povinelli et al. (US 10589803 B2) discloses an aerodynamic bed cover system including a deployable tailgate panel, and Vejnar (US 6742822 B2) discloses an auxiliary tailgate structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614