DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on May 26, 2026. Claim(s) 1-7 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. Claim 8 has been cancelled. Claims 1-7 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-7 filed on May 26, 2026. The cancellation of the terms in question have been fully accepted, thus the drawing objections set forth in the previous office action are withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 2-6 have addressed the objections previously submitted, and as such the claim objections set forth in the previous office action pertaining to claims are withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 2 have addressed the 112(b) rejection previously submitted, and as such the claim rejection set forth in the previous office action pertaining to claims are withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1 and 7 add limitations such that the non-statutory double patenting rejection no longer applies.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 7 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, which previously indicated the claims as being anticipated by Wu (US Patent No. 7229344). However, the amendments are considered to overcome the applied in the rejection. As such, the rejection from the previous action will be updated to address the amended limitations as presented.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered.
Claim objections: The examiner agrees that the claim objections have been addressed through amendment.
112(b) Rejection: The examiner agrees that the 112(b) rejection has been addressed through amendment.
102 Rejection in view of Wu: The examiner agrees that the amendments overcome the rejection, however does not agree that the Wu fails to disclose the newly claimed limitations. The amendments now require the tool disclose or make obvious an “enclosed aperture…defined between the support arms, the handle portion and housing that is configured to accommodate a blade or anvil of a tool…” The recess (25) of Wu fails to meet that, as it is located at a distal end of the tool. However, Wu also discloses an opening in recess (14) which is in the middle of the tool. Please see figure below that will be included in the action.
As the applicant’s arguments are directed towards the examiner’s previous application of the art, and fail to address the present interpretation, they are found unpersuasive.
Further applicant argues against the recess of Wu accommodating an anvil or a blade of a tool, remarking that the anvil 1B shown in Wu would not fit in the recess. This is also unpersuasive, as the claim requires an anvil or blade (either one) be accommodated. As written, the claim would require that at least one of the two options be accounted for. However, in arguendo, an anvil or blade is a workpiece, and they come in different shapes and sizes. So while the anvil shown in an exemplary manner within Wu’s disclosure may not fit in the recess, an anvil of a different tool be maintained may. This argument is also not found persuasive.
Double-Patenting: The examiner agrees that the amended claim no longer constitutes a double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US Patent No. 7229344).
In regards to claim 1, Wu discloses
a device (blade sharpening tool, fig. 1-7) for sharpening bladed tools comprising
a body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) defining an elongate handle portion (grip portion 21, fig. 1-7) adapted to be gripped in one hand by a user,
the body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) having a forwardly projecting support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) curved or angled downwardly with respect to the handle portion (grip portion 21, fig. 1-7) and having a support housing (see fig. 2 – ann. 1) at or near the end thereof fitted with a sharpening element (sharp edge of first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5),
wherein the support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) comprises a pair of spaced support arms extending generally parallel to the longitudinal extent of the handle portion (see fig. 2 – ann. 1),
the support arms being positioned to respective sides of the sharpening element whereby an enclosed aperture (recess 14, see fig. 2 – ann. 1/2) is defined between the support arms, the handle portion and the support housing (recess 14, see fig. 2 – ann. 1/2),
the handle portion and the support housing adapted to accommodate a blade or anvil of a tool during sharpening of a counterpart tool blade (see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 7, Wu discloses
a device (blade sharpening tool, fig. 1-7) for sharpening bladed tools comprising a body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) defining an elongate handle portion (grip portion 21, fig. 1-7) adapted to be gripped in one hand by a user,
the body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) having a forwardly projecting support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) curved or angled downwardly with respect to the handle portion (grip portion 21, fig. 1-7),
the end of the support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) provided with a sharpening element housing (see fig. 2 – ann. 4) configured to engage with a sharpening element cartridge (first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) having a sharpening element (sharp edge of first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) held therein,
wherein the support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) comprises a pair of spaced support arms extending generally parallel to the longitudinal extent of the handle portion (see fig. 2 – ann. 1),
the support arms being positioned to respective sides of the sharpening element of the engaged cartridge (first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) and
wherein an enclosed aperture (recess 14, see fig. 2 – ann. 1/2) is defined between the support arms, the handle portion and the housing (recess 14, see fig. 2 – ann. 1/2)
that is configured to accommodate a blade or anvil of a tool during sharpening of a counterpart tool blade (see fig. ann. 2 and fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Byers (US PG Pub No. 20070266828).
In regards to claim 2, Wu discloses
the device according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose the sharpening element (sharp edge of first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) comprises one or more sharpening blades formed from tungsten carbide or ceramic.
However, Byers, which is a hand-held sharpening tool, discloses:
[0020] The sharpening/deburring/whetting inserts 16 may be rectangularly shaped flat members made of various known materials such as tungsten carbide, stone, ceramics or the like suitable for blade sharpening.
Wu and Byers are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hand-held grinding tools with replaceable sharpening elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to configure the body out of tungsten carbide since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07
In regards to claim 3, Wu as modified discloses
the device according to claim 1 wherein the sharpening element (sharp edge of first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) is provided in a cartridge (first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) that is removeably fitted to the end of the support (see fig. 2 – ann. 1).
In regards to claim 4, Wu as modified discloses
the device according to claim 3, but fails to explicitly disclose that the device (blade sharpening tool, fig. 1-7) is provided with “two or more cartridges” carrying sharpening blades configured for sharpening respective types of tool blade edges.
However, pursuant of MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate parts, where in the instant case, to have a two more cartridges only a slight variation therefrom and would not produce an unexpected outcome and would have therefore constituted an obvious mechanical choice expedient at the time of applicants' invention, as a plurality of cartridges allows for greater variety and decreases the number of times cartridges may need to be restocked for storage, further increasing the tools versatility. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Pursuant of MPEP 2115, claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69. As such, while Wu doesn’t disclose sharpening different or “respective” tool blade edges, it discloses a body with an elongate handle portion, forwardly projecting member, sharpening element cartridges with sharpening elements, a storage area, and the cartridges have the structure to be interchanged with each other, it’s considered capable of being used for sharpening different tool blade edges. A skilled artisan may determine which element they desire to use with the workpiece as they see fit.
Further, the limitation is an intended use limitation. A skilled artisan would recognize the tool of Wu as modified would be capable of being used for sharpening tool edges.
In regards to claim 5, Wu as modified discloses
the device according to claim 4 wherein the device body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) includes a compartment (receiving chamber 22, fig. 1-7) therein capable of storing one or more cartridges (plurality of first grinding units 30, fig. 1-5).
In regards to claim 6, Wu as modified discloses
the device according to claim 5 further comprising a carriage member (see fig. 2 ann. 3) adapted to receive one or more cartridges (plurality of first grinding units 30, fig. 1-5) and to engage with the device body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) wherein to hold the one or more cartridges in the compartment (receiving chamber 22, fig. 1-7).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Friel (US Patent No. 5868611).
In regards to claim 8, Wu discloses
a device (blade sharpening tool, fig. 1-7) for sharpening bladed tools comprising a body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) defining an elongate handle portion (grip portion 21, fig. 1-7) adapted to be gripped in one hand by a user,
the body (main body 20, fig. 1-7) having a forwardly projecting support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) curved or angled downwardly with respect to the handle portion (grip portion 21, fig. 1-7),
the end of the support member (arc-shaped mating surface 24, fig. 1-7) being configured to engage a first sharpening element cartridge (first grinding unit 30, see fig. 1-5) having a first sharpening element configuration for operative tool sharpening use (see fig. 4 and 5), the device further comprising a storage receptacle (receiving chamber 22, fig. 1-7) formed in the body (main body 20, fig. 1-7)
Wu fails to explicitly disclose that the storage receptable is “configured to engage a second sharpening element cartridge having a second sharpening element configuration for storage, and wherein the first and second sharpening element cartridges are selectively interchangeable by the user for operative sharpening use on different types of tool blades.”
Wu and Friel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hand tools with sharpening elements that can be placed in an operable position, as well as a storage portion. Friel teaches:
Col. 3 lines 45-50: Ideally the ultra honing pad 20 would be used following the primary honing process in Stage 2 (FIG. 1) where the interdigitating pads are commonly set at a total angle of 45.degree. to 50.degree.. The ultrahoning pad 20 would be removed from compartment 5 and would be inserted into recess 8, with coarse pad 12A being stored in compartment 5.
Col. 4 lines 9-14: The storage compartment 5 built into the sharpener is very convenient for the secure and clean storage of sharpening pads 12, 12A, 20 when not in use. Thus, compartment 5 can conveniently store various types of sharpening pads, such as a honing pad, an intermediate grid fishhook pad and a coarse pad.
Friel discloses using a storage compartment to house a plurality of different sharpening pads when not being used, and allowing for them to be exchanged with each other depending on the situation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and incorporate the teachings of Friel, and use the receiving chamber (22) disclosed by Wu in order to store a plurality of a variety grinding elements, which would increase the tools versality.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723