Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bjerregaard (WO-20180773610).
Regarding claim 1, Bjerregaard teaches:
A process for manufacturing an enema nozzle ([0067]; Fig. 1, #1) comprising an insertion body ([0067] – [0069]; Fig. 1, #2 and #3) and a flexible insertion tip ([0067] – [0068]; Fig. 1, #4), wherein said enema nozzle is manufactured in a single injection molding procedure by 2K injection molding or 3K injection molding ([0040] and [0061] – [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Bjerregaard the limitations of claim 1, which claim 5 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein the single injection molding procedure is performed on one machine that is programmed to perform the injection of the polymers in a single cycle ([0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Bjerregaard the limitations of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein the single injection molding procedure is a co-injection molding process, a sequential injection molding process, or an overmolding injection process ([0040] and [0061] – [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Bjerregaard the limitations of claim 1, which claim 7 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein a hydrophilic coating is applied to the flexible insertion tip, and optionally at least the part of the insertion body intended for being inserted into the body opening ([0036] and [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjerregaard (WO-20180773610), as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 8, Bjerregaard teaches the limitations of claim 7, which claim 8 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein the enema nozzle is prepared via the 3K injection molding in which the flexible insertion tip and the insertion body is first formed in the 2K injection molding, and the hydrophilic coating is applied using overmolding. Bjerregaard teaches preparing the enema nozzle with a 2k or 3k injection molding process ([0040] and [0061] – [0062]), and teaches applying a hydrophilic surface coating to the enema ([0036] and [0074]). Overmolding is commonly known in the art as a method of applying a polymer coating surface layer on top of another polymer layer, therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a showing of unexpected results to use overmolding in order to apply the hydrophilic coating on to the enema being made.
Claims 2-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjerregaard (WO-20180773610), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jonsman (WO-2018233793) and Lee (US-20160310715).
Regarding claim 2, Bjerregaard teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on, but does not explicitly teach the single injection molding procedure combining a polymer having intrinsic hydrophilic properties with one or two elastomeric polymer(s). However, Jonsman, in a similar field of endeavor, the use of a polymer with intrinsic hydrophilic properties for injection molding, teaches:
wherein the single injection molding procedure uses a polymer having intrinsic hydrophilic properties ([0003] and [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the single injection molding procedure of Bjerregaard to incorporate the teachings of Jonsman and use a polymer having intrinsic hydrophilic properties. The purpose, as stated by Jonsman, being that it is well known to compound different polymers having different material properties together thereby producing blended polymers or compound polymers with intermediate properties that are all needed in the resulting compound polymer material ([0026]).
Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman does not explicitly teach:
the hydrophilic polymer being combined with one or two elastomeric polymer(s), respectively.
However, Lee, in a similar field of endeavor, the process of manufacturing a drug delivery device using injection molding of hydrophilic polymers, teaches:
the hydrophilic polymer being combined with one or two elastomeric polymer(s), respectively ([0072] and [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the single injection molding procedure of Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman to incorporate the teachings of Lee and combine the hydrophilic polymer with an elastomeric polymer. The purpose, as stated by Lee, being that it can be advantageous to utilize a combination of two different polymeric materials, rather than making the device entirely of the water-swelling hydrophilic, drug-permeable second material, to achieve desired mechanical properties ([0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 2, which claim 3 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein the polymer having intrinsic hydrophilic properties is used to form the flexible insertion tip. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrophilic polymer for whatever part is needed when looking at the combination of Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman and Lee made in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 2, which claim 4 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein the polymer having intrinsic hydrophilic properties is used to form the part of the insertion body intended for being inserted into the body opening. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrophilic polymer for whatever part is needed when looking at the combination of Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman and Lee made in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 9, Bjerregaard in view of Jonsman and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 2, which claim 9 depends on. Bjerregaard further teaches:
wherein the elastomeric polymers are selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic elastomers (TPE), polyurethane (PU), polyethylene (PE), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), silicone ([0040] and [0062] – [0063]), styrene ethylene butylene styrene (SEBS), thermoplastic polyester elastomer (TPC), and thermoplastic styrenic elastomer (TPS).
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748