This is the final Office Action for the serial number 18/629,486, FLUSH CLAMP TO SECURE AN OBJECT TO A WORKING SURFACE, filed on 4/8/24.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I and species I in the reply filed on 7/16/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent # 6,375,142 to Miller et al.
Miller et al. teaches a clamp comprising a first member including a first portion (23) in a first plane, the first portion having a first end and a second end. A second portion (11) at the first end, the second portion in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane and a third portion (12) at the second end, the third portion in a third plane parallel to the second plane. The third portion having a hole (13). The clamp includes a second member having a fourth portion (18) in a fourth plane parallel to the second plane. The second member at least partially between the second portion and the third portion. The clamp includes a fastener (14) to engage the second member, movement of the fastener to control a position of the second member relative to the second portion. Wherein a distance between the second member and the second portion is a first distance when the second member is in an open position and the distance between the second member and the second portion is a second distance when the second member is in a closed position. The second distance is smaller than the first distance. The second member and the second portion clamp on a working surface (24) when the second member is in the closed position. The second member includes a fifth portion (16) in a fifth plane perpendicular to the first plane. The fastener includes a pivotable surface (15) to engage the second member. The second member is connected to an object (24). The object is a cabinet (10, frame housing). A fifth portion in a fifth plane parallel to the first plane, the fourth portion extending from the fifth portion in a second direction, wherein the second direction is different from the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2016/0348835 to Blalock et al.
Miller et al. teaches a fastener but fails to teach the fastener includes an ergonomic knob. Blalock et al. teaches the ergonomic knob (23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added ergonomic knob to Miller’s fastener as taught by Blalock to provide the same result for securing the fastener to the clamp.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues “the members (first and second members) of Miller are aligned rather than angled.” The claims in applicant’s invention did not mention the members are at angled from each other.
The applicant argues “Miller fails to teach or even suggest the first, second, third, fourth and fifth portions. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because Miller shows the first, second, third, fourth and firth portions (see diagram below:).
The applicant argues the first and directions in Miller’s invention are the same while the applicant’s invention showing the first and second directions are different. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because the figure above clearly shows the second direction is in the different direction than the first direction prior tighten the bolt (14).
The applicant agues Miller’s clamp is not flushed to the working surface. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because Miller’s clamp is designed to be flushed with the working surface. Furthermore the flush clamp in applicant’s invention does not appear to be flushed to the working surface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK
Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 1/22/2026