Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 3/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vanstaan et al. (US PG Publication 2014/0175143)
With respect to claim 1, Vanstaan et al. discloses a combustion-powered fastener driving tool fuel cell adapter comprising: an annular hub [Figure 5; Figure 10: Figure 11; Figure 14] including:
a tubular body having a tubular waist, [See annotated Figure 11]
a first leg integrally connected to and extending downwardly from the tubular waist, the first leg integrally connected at an upper end to the tubular waist, the first leg having a lower free end, [See annotated Figure 11]
a second leg integrally connected to and extending downwardly from the tubular waist, the second leg integrally connected at an upper end to the tubular waist, the second leg having a lower free end, [See annotated Figure 11]
a first reinforcement 122 member integrally connected to and extending inwardly from an inner surface of the first leg [Figure 14], the first reinforcement member 122 extending from the upper end of the first leg to the lower free end of the first leg [Figure 14],
a second reinforcement member 122 integrally connected to and extending inwardly from an inner surface of the second leg, the second reinforcement member 122 extending from the upper end of the second leg to the lower free end of the second leg, [Figure 14]
a first locking member integrally 121 connected to and extending outwardly from an outer surface of the first leg [Figure 13], and
a second locking member 121 integrally connected to and extending outwardly from an outer surface of the second leg [Figure 13];
an annular locking flange 90 integrally connected to and extending radially outwardly from the annular hub; [Figure 11; Figure 10];
an annular collar 98 integrally connected to and longitudinally extending upwardly from the annular hub; and [Figure 14]
a flexible suspension integrally connecting the annular collar to the annular hub. [0055; 0014; Figure 10; Figure 12]
With respect to claim 2, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the annular hub, the annular locking flange, the annular collar 98, and the flexible suspension are monolithically formed. [Figure 10; Figure 11; Figure 12]
With respect to claim 4, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the first leg and the second leg each do not have an downwardly extending lead-in outer chamfer. [Figure 11]
With respect to claim 5, Vanstaan et al. discloses
a third leg integrally connected to and extending downwardly from the tubular waist [Figure 11], the third leg integrally connected at an upper end to the tubular waist, the third leg having a lower free end, the third leg not including any inwardly extending reinforcement member; and [Figure 11]
a fourth leg integrally connected to and extending downwardly from the tubular waist, the fourth leg integrally connected at an upper end to the tubular waist, the fourth leg having a lower free end, the fourth leg not including any inwardly extending reinforcement member. [Figure 11]
With respect to claim 8, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the first reinforcement member 122 is semi-cylindrical and the second reinforcement member is semi-cylindrical. [Figure 6; Figure 14]
With respect to claim 9, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein each of the first and second locking members 121 includes a foot and a toe [Figure 11], wherein each of the first and second locking members has: (a) a first bottom surface; (b) a first side surface; (c) a first top surface; (d) a second top surface; (e) a second side surface; (f) a second bottom surface; (g) a third bottom surface; (h) a fourth bottom surface; and (i) an outer surface, wherein the outer surface and the second bottom surface do not define a chamfer. [Figure 11]
With respect to claim 11, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the locking flange is configured to minimize upward and downward flexing. [0043]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanstaan et al. (US PG Publication 2014/0175143).
With respect to claim 3, Vanstaan et al. does not disclose wherein the first and second legs partially define an outer diameter of the annular hub being 0.843 ±0.002 inches.
Although Vanstaan et al. does not directly disclose wherein the first, and second legs partially define an outer diameter of the annular hub being 0.843 ±0.002 inches, the diameter is a variable that can be modified to effect the tightness of an engagement. [0009; 0013; 0052-0057]
Thus the precise claimed product would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed product of the diameter of the hub cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the diameter of the hub to obtain a desired engagement. (In re Boesch, 61 7 F.2d. 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first and second legs of Vanstaan et al. to define an outer diameter of the hub being 0.843 ±0.002 inches in order to allow for a desired engagement.
With respect to claim 6, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the first, second, third, and fourth legs define a plurality of slots [Figure 13]
Vanstaan et al. does not disclose wherein each leg has a slot height of 0.150 ±0.005 inches.
Although Vanstaan et al. does not directly disclose a slot height of 0.150 ±0.005 inches, the slot height is a variable that can be modified to effect the manufacturing tolerances or the tightness of an engagement. [0009; 0013; 0052-0057]
Thus the precise claimed product would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed product of the slot height cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the slot height to obtain a desired engagement. (In re Boesch, 61 7 F.2d. 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the slot height of Vanstaan et al. to be 0.150 ±0.005 inches in order to allow for a desired engagement.
With respect to claim 7, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the first, second, third, and fourth legs include additional supporting sections [Figure 11]
Vanstaan et al. does not disclose wherein the supporting sections each having a height of 0.185 ±0.010 inches.
Although Vanstaan et al. does not directly disclose wherein the supporting sections each having a height of 0.185 ±0.010 inches, the height is a variable that can be modified to effect the tightness of an engagement. [0009; 0013; 0052-0057]
Thus the precise claimed product would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed product of the height of the supporting sections cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the height of the supporting sections to obtain a desired engagement. (In re Boesch, 61 7 F.2d. 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the supporting sections of Vanstaan et al. to have a height of 0.185 ±0.010 inches, in order to allow for a desired engagement.
With respect to claim 10, Vanstaan et al. discloses wherein the locking flange includes: (a) an inner annular section integrally connected to and extending radially outwardly from the hub; and (b) an outer annular section integrally connected to and extending radially outwardly from the inner annular section [Figure 11].
Vanstaan et al. does not disclose wherein the height of the inner annular section is 0.095 ±0.010 inches and the height of the outer annular section is 0.200 ±0.005 inches.
Although Vanstaan et al. does not directly disclose wherein the height of the inner annular section is 0.095 ±0.010 inches and the height of the outer annular section is 0.200 ±0.005 inches, the height is a variable that can be modified to effect the manufacturing tolerances or the tightness of an engagement. [0009; 0013; 0052-0057]
Thus the precise claimed product would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed product of the height of the inner and outer annular section cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the height of the inner and outer annular section to obtain a desired engagement. (In re Boesch, 61 7 F.2d. 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the inner and outer annular section of Vanstaan et al. to have a height of 0.095 ±0.010 and 0.200 ±0.005 inches, in order to allow for a desired engagement.
Conclusion
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751