DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 07/14/2026.
Claims 15-18 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-14, and 19-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by MANOLAKOS et al. (US 2023/0041767).
As of claim 1, MANOLAKOS discloses a user equipment (UE) (see [Fig.10], [FIG.13] [0137] shows and disclose a UE 1300), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code [0137] [0140] [FIG.13] shows and discloses memory 1304 store instructions or program code 1308) and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories ([FIG. 13] & para [0140] [0157] shows and disclose s one or more processors 1302 coupled with the memory 1304) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, a message in accordance with an active duration of a discontinuous reception operation at the UE, wherein the message comprises a request for information indicative of a location of the UE within a cell associated with the network entity (para, [0038] disclose the base stations 102 wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104. Each of the base stations 102 provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area 110. [FIG.10], C) para [0116] discloses at stage 7, depending on how the UE 104 determines how to respond to the wake-up signal (WUS) in stage 6, the UE 104 transition to a DRX ON mode, i.e., DRX ON duration);
transmit, within the active duration, a response message to the network entity based at least in part on receiving the message, wherein the response message indicates the information associated with the location of the UE within the cell (para [0119]- [0120] discloses at stage 11, the UE transmit a position measurement that provide the position measurements and/or position estimate determined at state 10, the UE 104 include in the position measurement report an indication); and
monitor for one or more additional messages from the network entity in accordance with the discontinuous reception operation and based at least in part on transmitting the response message (para [0121] discloses with knowledge of whether the UE did or did not wake up to receive PRS the location server trigger or schedule additional PRS for the UE 104 and report to the serving base station that the UE 104 is required to monitor more PRS which corresponds to UE monitor for one or more additional messages from the network entity).
As of claim 19, MANOLAKOS discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (see [FIG. 13], [Fig.10] [0137] disclose a UE 1300), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a message in accordance with an active duration of a discontinuous reception operation at the UE, wherein the message comprises a request for information indicative of a location of the UE within a cell associated with the network entity (para, [0038] disclose the base stations 102 wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104. Each of the base stations 102 provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area 110. [FIG.10], C) para [0116] at stage 7, depending on how the UE 104 determines how to respond to the wake-up signal (WUS) in stage 6, the UE 104 transition to a DRX ON mode, i.e., DRX ON duration);
transmitting, within the active duration, a response message to the network entity based at least in part on receiving the message, wherein the response message indicates the information associated with the location of the UE within the cell (para [0119]- [0120] discloses at stage 11, the UE transmit a position measurement that provide the position measurements and/or position estimate determined at state 10, the UE 104 include in the position measurement report an indication); and
monitoring for one or more additional messages from the network entity in accordance with the discontinuous reception operation and based at least in part on transmitting the response message (para [0121] discloses with knowledge of whether the UE did or did not wake up to receive PRS the location server trigger or schedule additional PRS for the UE 104 and report to the serving base station that the UE 104 is required to monitor more PRS which corresponds to UE monitor for one or more additional messages from the network entity).
As of claims 2 and 20, rejection of claims 1, and 19 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS further disclose to receive the message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the message via a paging physical downlink control channel message, a paging early indication message, a wake-up signal message, or any combination thereof (para [0024] [0061] [0100] discloses wake-up signal (WUS) with downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) reception while the UE 104 is in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, the UE be configured to receive DL PRS while it is in DRX mode. In response to the PRS configuration and the receipt of the WUS, the UE 104 transition to a DRX ON mode to receive the PRS (see [Fig.10] step 6, part C).
As of claim 10, rejection of claims 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a capability message from the network entity that indicates whether the cell of the network entity supports communication of the message and the response message in accordance with the active duration of the discontinuous reception operation at the UE, wherein receiving the message is based at least in part on receiving the capability message (para [0076] the network (e.g., serving cell 102) configure the UE 104 using an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message or an RRC Connection Setup message (for DRX) which corresponds to the network entity that indicates whether the cell of the network entity supports communication of the message and the response message in accordance with the active duration of the discontinuous reception operation, para [0081] discloses the configuration be included in a system information block (SIB) (=capability message)).
As of claim 12 , rejection of claims 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a capability message associated with the message and the response message, a configuration message associated with the message and the response message, or both via a system information block message, a radio resource control message, a broadcast message, or any combination thereof (para [0143] discloses receive a WUS configuration message from a serving base station via an RRC message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (US 2023/0041767) in view of BAO et al. (2021/0410098).
As of claims 3, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but BAO teaches to receive the message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the message in accordance with a directional parameter associated with the message, wherein the directional parameter is configured by the network entity (BAO, para [0082] discloses positioning of the UE 105 using directional PRSs. Para [0115] discloses additional information be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that defines a straight-line direction possibly a range of directions (e.g., for the UE from the locations of base stations) which refers to obtaining information related to direction related information and para [0117] discloses a PRS resource ID in a PRS resource set be associated with an omnidirectional signal, and/or with a single beam transmitted from a single base station Each PRS resource of a PRS resource set be transmitted on a different beam and as such, a PRS resource be referred to as a beam (=directional parameter).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of BAO in order to enhance the signaling efficiencies and substantially reduce the latency as taught by BAO in para [0003].
As of claims 4, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but BAO teaches the request for the information is applicable to a set of UEs associated with the network entity; and transmitting the response message is based at least in part on the UE being included in the set of UEs ( BAO, para [0171] [FIG. 16] shows and discloses the WUS 1510 includes wake-up (WU) indications and corresponding content portions . Each combination of WU indication and content correspond to a respective UE 500 (=the UE being included in the set of UEs) such that the WUS be shared with multiple UEs 500 (=a set of UEs)).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of BAO in order to enhance the signaling efficiencies and substantially reduce the latency as taught by BAO in para [0003].
As of claims 5, rejection of claim 4 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but BAO teaches the set of UEs corresponds to a set of inactive UEs, a set of UEs associated with a same group identifier, a set of UEs associated with a same paging occasion, a set of UEs associated with a same paging frame, a set of UEs associated with a same UE type, a set of UEs associated with a same mobility state, a set of UEs associated with a same coverage region of the cell, or any combination thereof (BAO, para [0069] disclose one or more of a group of UEs utilizing communications be within a geographic coverage area of a TRP, here BAO reference is applied for the seventh alternative) .
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of BAO in order to enhance the signaling efficiencies and substantially reduce the latency as taught by BAO in para [0003].
As of claims 7, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but BAO teaches to transmit the response message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the response message in accordance with a preamble identifier, a scrambling identifier, a resource configuration, or any combination thereof, wherein the information is indicative of the location of the UE based at least in part on the preamble identifier, the scrambling identifier, the resource configuration, or any combination thereof (BAO, para [0147] disclose serving TRP for the UE sends DRX configuration information to the UE in the message 1211, Para [0148] At stage 1220, the UE send a measurement and reporting configuration/capabilities message 1221 (=response message) that indicate a configuration of the UE regarding measurement behavior for measuring positioning signals (e.g., PRS) in view of DRX mode operation of the UE, the message 1221 indicate configuration of the UE (=the resource configuration) for sending positioning reports (e.g., positioning measurement(s), range(s), position estimate(s)).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of BAO in order to enhance the signaling efficiencies and substantially reduce the latency as taught by BAO in para [0003].
As of claims 8, rejection of claim 7 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but BAO teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select the preamble identifier, the scrambling identifier, the resource configuration, or any combination thereof based at least in part on a reference signal receive power (RSRP) associated with the cell, a pathloss associated with the cell, a mobility state of the UE, a coverage region of the cell associated with the UE, a type associated with the UE, or any combination thereof, wherein transmitting the response message is based at least in part on the selecting (BAO, para [0081] discloses the LPP or NPP message instruct the UE 105 to obtain one or more measurement quantities (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ measurements) of directional signals transmitted within particular cells supported by one or more of the gNBs).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of BAO in order to enhance the signaling efficiencies and substantially reduce the latency as taught by BAO in para [0003].
As of claims 13, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but BAO teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a second message to the network entity, the second message comprising second information associated with an area of the cell that is within a distance threshold of the UE (BAO, para [0088] discloses the UE 200 notify/report that the UE 200 has detected movements or that the has moved (=associated with an area of the cell) and report the relative displacement/distance (=second message)).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of BAO in order to enhance the signaling efficiencies and substantially reduce the latency as taught by BAO in para [0003].
As of claim 14, rejection of claim 13 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified MANOLAKOS-BAO discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: establish a connection with the network entity based at least in part on receiving the message; and transmit the response message, the second message, or both to the network entity based at least in part on establishing the connection (MANOLAKOS, para [0081] discloses the base station transmits to the UE 104, a WUS monitoring configuration to configure the UE 104 for WUS monitoring DRX cycle operation, the WUS monitoring configuration be transmitted to the UE 104 prior to the UE 104 and the base station 102 establishing a connection which corresponds to UE establishes a connection with the network entity based on receiving the message; and transmit the response message).
Claims 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (US 2023/0041767) in view of Zhou et al. (2025/0184887).
As of claim 6, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but Zhou teaches to transmit the response message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the response message via an uplink keep-alive signal message, an uplink wake-up signal message, or both (Zhou, para [0383] [0450] discloses a base station determine to switch on (wake up or activate) in response to transmitting the uplink wake-up signal by the wireless device, the uplink trigger signal be referred to an uplink wake-up signal (WUS)).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of Zhou in order to improve power consumption of the base station as taught by Zhou.
As of claim 9, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but Zhou teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: select a preamble identifier to use for transmitting the response message from a set of preamble identifiers configured by the network entity, wherein transmitting the response message is based at least in part on selecting the preamble identifier (Zhou, para [0201][ FIG. 13C] shows and discloses a base station transmits a configuration message 1330 to the UE para [0205] the base station transmits the Msg B 1332 as a response to the Msg A 1331. The Msg B 1332 comprise a preamble identifier; The UE ma determine that the two-step random access procedure is successfully completed if: a preamble identifier in the Msg B 1332 is matched to a preamble transmitted by the UE which implies select a preamble identifier to use for transmitting the response message).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of Zhou in order to improve power consumption of the base station as taught by Zhou.
As of claim 11, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MANOLAKOS does not explicitly disclose but Zhou teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a configuration message from the network entity that indicates one or more message parameters associated with receiving the message and one or more response parameters associated with transmitting the response message, wherein receiving the message or transmitting the response message, or both, are based at least in part on the configuration message (Zhou, para [0188] discloses the UE determine a time-frequency resource and/or an uplink transmit power (=message parameters for receiving message and the response message) for transmission of the Msg 1 1311 and/or the Msg 3 1313. Based on the RACH parameters, the UE determine a reception timing and a downlink channel for receiving the Msg 2 1312 and the Msg 4 1314).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MANOLAKOS with the teaching of Zhou in order to improve power consumption of the base station as taught by Zhou.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471