DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 21 be found allowable, claim 35 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). It is noted that claim 35 includes the same limitations as claim 21, but recites “a fuel cell arrangement” twice.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an ambient air heating arrangement” in claims 1, 35 and 36; and “a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement” in claim 1, 35 and 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 31, 35-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 25, it is unclear if “a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement” is referring to the same or different structure as the identical limitation first recited in claim 21. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is viewed to refer to the same structure as recited in claim 21.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "each mixing chamber" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
In regard to claim 35, the limitation of “a fuel cell arrangement” is recited in both lines 1-2 and again in line 3. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as referring to the same structure.
In regard to claim 36, the limitation of “a fuel cell arrangement” is recited in both line 2 and line 4. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as referring to the same structure.
In regard to claim 40, it is unclear if the limitation of “at least one mixing chamber” is further defining or in addition to the limitation of “a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient mixing arrangement” as recited in claim 36. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be viewed to further define the structure of the limitation of claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bauer et al. (US 2016/0197362; hereinafter “Bauer”).
In regard to claim 21, Bauer discloses a fuel cell exhaust gas system (system 10) comprising a fuel cell arrangement (fuel cell 1) outputting a fuel cell exhaust gas (exhaust gas 2 and 3); an ambient air heating arrangement (air inlet 6, heat exchanger 7) for heating ambient air to provide heated ambient air; and, a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement (mixing region 9) being configured for receiving said fuel cell exhaust gas and said heated ambient air and being configured to thoroughly mix said heated ambient air with said fuel cell exhaust gas. See Figure 1 and paragraphs [0049]-[0060].
In regard to claim 22, Bauer discloses wherein said fuel cell arrangement includes a fuel cell cooling circuit (“[a] heat exchanger which is connected to a cooling circuit of the fuel cell system”; see [0012]) through which a fuel cell cooling medium flows; and, said ambient air heating arrangement includes a heat exchanger 7 flowed through by said ambient air (from air inlet 6) for feeding to said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement and flowed through by said fuel cell cooling medium for transmission of heat contained in said fuel cell cooling medium to the ambient air which is to be fed to said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement. See Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0012] and [0049]-[0061].
In regard to claim 23, Bauer discloses wherein said ambient air heating arrangement includes a flow throttle arrangement (air feeding device 8) for throttling a quantity of the ambient air which is to be fed to said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement and which quantity flows through said ambient air heating arrangement. See Figures 1-2 and [0058].
In regard to claims 24-25, Bauer discloses wherein said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement includes a mixing volume (mixing region 9) which receives the ambient air outputted by said ambient air heating arrangement and said fuel cell exhaust gas. Thus, Bauer also discloses wherein said mixing volume (mixing region 9) is assigned a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement for mixing the ambient air introduced into said mixing volume with said fuel cell exhaust gas introduced into said mixing volume as recited in claim 25. See Figure 1 and [0058].
In regard to claim 26, Bauer discloses wherein said mixing volume includes a mixing chamber (as defined by the ducting surrounding the mixing region 9) which receives said fuel cell exhaust gas and said ambient air outputted by said ambient air heating arrangement. See Figures 1-2 and [0055]-[0064].
In regard to claim 27, Bauer discloses wherein said mixing chamber includes a plurality of fuel cell exhaust gas inlet openings for introducing fuel cell exhaust gas into said mixing chamber as Bauer discloses that the static mixer can included “radially arranged through-flow openings for the exhaust line.” See [0018].
In regard to claim 28, Bauer discloses wherein said ambient air/fuel cell exhaust gas mixing arrangement includes at least one mixer (mixing device such as a static mixer; see [0058]) assigned to said mixing chamber.
In regard to claims 29-30, Bauer discloses wherein said mixing volume includes a plurality of mixing chambers (at least one static mixer which can include “radially arranged through-flow openings for the exhaust gas;” [0018]), each of said mixing chambers being configured to receive a part of the fuel cell exhaust gas (each would necessarily receive at least a part of the exhaust gas) and a part of said ambient air (each would necessarily receive at least a part of the ambient air) outputted by said ambient air heating arrangement with at least one mixer (each static mixer would necessarily define a chamber as necessitated for the openings to be “radially arranged”) assigned to each mixing chamber. See [0018].
In regard to claim 31, Bauer discloses wherein said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement includes at least one mixer (mixing device such as a static mixer; see [0058]) assigned to each mixing chamber (mixing region 9). See Figures 1-2.
In regard to claim 32, Bauer discloses wherein an ambient air adding arrangement (ambient air is added at the point of the mixed exhaust gas outlet 14 using the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation) is provided to add ambient air to said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixture outputted by said fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement. See Figure 2 and [0063].
In regard to claim 34, Bauer discloses wherein said fuel cell exhaust gas system is for providing electrical energy in a vehicle. See [0002]. Nonetheless, it is noted that the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus and the limitation of claim 34 merely recites the intended use of the apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
In regard to claim 35, Bauer discloses a fuel cell system (exhaust system 10) comprising a fuel cell arrangement (fuel cell 1); and, a fuel cell exhaust gas system (exhaust system 10) including a fuel cell arrangement (fuel cell 1) outputting a fuel cell exhaust gas (exhaust gas 2 and 3); an ambient air heating arrangement (air inlet 6, heat exchanger 7) for heating ambient air to provide heated ambient air; and, a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement (mixing region 9) being configured for receiving said fuel cell exhaust gas and said heated ambient air and being configured to thoroughly mix said heated ambient air with said fuel cell exhaust gas. See Figure 1 and paragraphs [0049]-[0060].
In regard to claim 36, Bauer discloses a method for operating a fuel cell system (exhaust system 10) including: a fuel cell arrangement (fuel cell 1); and, a fuel cell exhaust gas system (exhaust system 10) having: a fuel cell arrangement (fuel cell 1) outputting a fuel cell exhaust gas (exhaust gas 2 and 3); an ambient air heating arrangement for heating ambient air to provide heated ambient air; and, a fuel cell exhaust gas/ambient air mixing arrangement (air inlet 6, heat exchanger 7) being configured for receiving said fuel cell exhaust gas and said heated ambient air and being configured to thoroughly mix said heated ambient air with said fuel cell exhaust gas; the method comprising the steps of: producing a mixture (exhaust gas 2 and 3 are mixed) from the fuel cell exhaust gas outputted by the fuel cell arrangement of the fuel cell system; and, heating at least one part of the ambient air (ambient air from air inlet 6 is heated in heat exchanger 7) added to the fuel cell exhaust gas before mixing (mixing region 9 is downstream of the heat exchanger 7) with the fuel cell exhaust gas. See Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0049]-[0065].
In regard to claim 37, Bauer discloses wherein unheated ambient air is necessarily added to the mixture of fuel cell exhaust gas and heated ambient air after the mixture exits the mixed exhaust gas outlet 14. See Figure 2 and [0063].
In regard to claim 38, Bauer discloses wherein the fuel cell arrangement includes a fuel cell cooling circuit (“[a] heat exchanger which is connected to a cooling circuit of the fuel cell system”; see [0012]) through which a fuel cell cooling medium flows; and, wherein the ambient air, which is to be mixed in a heated state with the fuel cell exhaust gas, is heated in a heat exchanger 7 by way of thermal interaction with the fuel cell cooling medium. See Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0012] and [0049]-[0061].
In regard to claim 39, Bauer discloses wherein, in order to set a temperature of the ambient air to be heated in the heat exchanger, a mass flow of the ambient air which flows through a heat exchanger is changed by air feeding device 8. See Figures 1-2 and [0057]-[0064].
In regard to claim 40, Bauer discloses wherein the fuel cell exhaust gas is mixed with the heated ambient air in at least one mixing chamber (as defined by the ducting surrounding the mixing region 9) which receives at least one part of the fuel cell exhaust gas and at least one part of the heated ambient air. See Figures 1-2 and [0055]-[0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer as applied to claims 21 and 24 above.
In regard to claims 29-30, the following is included in case it is viewed that Bauer does not anticipate the recited limitations. It would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided multiple mixing regions 9 with multiple mixing devices for the purpose of providing adequate mixing of the heating ambient air and fuel exhaust mixture without creating any new or unexpected results as it is well understood that adding more mixing structures would cause further mixing to occur. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
In regard to claim 33, Bauer discloses that a silencer (“sound-damping elements”) can be provided. See [0021] and [0065].
Bauer is silent to the relative location of the sound-damping elements. However, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have rearranged the sound-damping element(s) of Bauer to be upstream of the mixing region without creating any new or unexpected results. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer as applied to claim 26 above and further in view of Wattelet et al. (US 2003/0011721; hereinafter “Wattelet”).
In regard to claim 27, Bauer is silent to wherein said mixing chamber a plurality of ambient air inlet openings for introducing ambient air into said mixing chamber.
Wattelet discloses a heat exchanger unit 12 for a fuel cell exhaust system which has ambient air (cooling air stream 18) flow through a plurality of openings (space between fins 46 between tubes 40) in the heat exchanger. See Figures 1-2 and [0019]-[0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the heat exchanger design of Wattelet for the heat exchanger in Bauer as one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the prior art to determine a heat exchanger structure for the system. Thus, the many air openings of the combined system of Bauer and Wattelet would include a plurality of ambient air inlet openings into the mixing chamber as recited.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774