DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have been entered. Applicant’s argument that Gao et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0132212 A1, does not qualify as prior art because its earliest effective filing date is no earlier than March 18, 2020, has been considered and is persuasive. The rejection relying on Gao is withdrawn. The following rejection is made non-final because it relies on new prior-art evidence and a new articulated combination. Any remaining arguments directed solely to the withdrawn Kishiyama/Gao combination are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1–12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kishiyama et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0028209 A1 (“Kishiyama”), in view of Etemad et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0267978 A1 (“Etemad”), and further in view of Astely et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0081932 A1 (“Astely”).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “A method implemented by a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising.” Kishiyama discloses a method implemented by a mobile terminal apparatus, i.e., a WTRU/UE, operating in an LTE-A mobile communication system. Kishiyama ¶¶ 12 and 21–23 explain that the system includes mobile terminal apparatuses and that each terminal includes receiving, baseband-signal-processing, and transmitting sections that receive downlink signals and transmit uplink signals. Thus, Kishiyama teaches the recited method and WTRU.
Claim 1 further recites “receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration information, wherein the RRC configuration information indicates use of a first transmission for uplink control information (UCI) for a first group of downlink carriers and use of a second transmission for UCI for a second group of downlink carriers, wherein the first transmission and the second transmission are different transmissions.” Kishiyama discloses a plurality of component carriers and generation and transmission of UCI, including CQI, PMI, RI, and ACK/NACK, using PUCCH or PUSCH. Kishiyama ¶¶ 11–12 explain that UCI is carried by PUCCH when PUSCH is not transmitted and may be carried with PUSCH in the same subframe, and that an LTE-A system uses a plurality of component carriers. Kishiyama ¶¶ 42–55 explain the terminal’s selection and multiplexing of UCI onto uplink channels. Kishiyama ¶ 82 expressly states that UCI may be multiplexed to both PUSCH and PUCCH. Kishiyama therefore teaches plural downlink component carriers and different uplink transmissions usable for UCI, but Kishiyama does not expressly disclose that received RRC configuration information indicates use of a first UCI transmission for a first group of downlink carriers and a second, different UCI transmission for a second group of downlink carriers.
Etemad discloses the limitation not expressly disclosed by Kishiyama. Etemad ¶ 49 identifies carrier reconfiguration as an RRC procedure. Etemad ¶ 51 explains that the set of component carriers configured for a particular UE is dynamically managed through RRC signaling. Etemad ¶ 52 states that the component-carrier configuration includes DL/UL pairing information and DL/UL control-channel mapping across the component carriers. Etemad ¶ 53 explains that configured downlink component carriers are paired with corresponding uplink component carriers and that many-to-one DL-to-UL configurations are supported. Etemad ¶¶ 54–58 explain that RRC configuration defines the carrier on which a corresponding PDCCH is transmitted and that PUCCH feedback can be transmitted on the uplink component carrier paired with the downlink component carrier carrying the corresponding PDCCH. Etemad ¶¶ 60–63 and Figure 4C illustrate different control-channel transmissions for different downlink component carriers: PDCCH1 and PUCCH1 are allocated for carrier 1, while PDCCH2 is allocated for carrier 2 and PUCCH2 is allocated on an uplink component carrier. Etemad ¶¶ 67–71 further explain that the configuration identifies, for each downlink component carrier, the corresponding uplink carrier and the PDCCH and PUCCH mapping. Accordingly, Etemad teaches receiving RRC configuration information that assigns different UCI/control-feedback transmissions to different configured downlink carriers. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a first configured carrier or subset of configured carriers constitutes the recited “first group,” and a different configured carrier or subset constitutes the recited “second group.”
Claim 1 further recites “receiving, in a first downlink control channel, a first control signal to indicate a first time unit of a radio frame for transmitting a first UCI for a carrier corresponding to the first group of downlink carriers.” Kishiyama ¶ 19 explains that PDCCH carries scheduling information and component-carrier assignments. Etemad ¶¶ 54–57 explain that RRC configuration identifies the carrier on which the corresponding PDCCH scheduling information is received and identifies the associated PUCCH feedback path. Kishiyama and Etemad do not expressly state that the received control signal indicates the particular time unit for transmitting the associated UCI. Astely ¶¶ 19–20 explain that a radio frame is divided into subframes and that, in each subframe, DCI is transmitted on PDCCH identifying the terminal scheduled to receive data in the current downlink subframe. Astely ¶¶ 21–22 explain that the scheduled terminal decodes the PDSCH and transmits ACK/NACK on PUCCH or PUSCH. Accordingly, Astely expressly ties the PDCCH control signal to the scheduled subframe and the resulting UCI transmission. The combined references therefore teach receiving a first PDCCH control signal indicating a first time unit/subframe for transmitting first UCI for a carrier belonging to the first configured carrier group.
Claim 1 further recites “transmitting the first transmission comprising at least the first UCI for the carrier corresponding to the first group of downlink carriers at the first time unit according to the received first control signal.” Kishiyama ¶¶ 11, 42–55, and 82 explain that the UE transmits UCI on PUCCH or multiplexed with PUSCH in the applicable subframe. Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 explain that PUCCH carries feedback for the downlink component carrier associated with the corresponding PDCCH. Astely ¶¶ 20–22 explain that PDCCH/DCI schedules the downlink transmission in the current subframe and that the terminal transmits the resulting ACK/NACK on PUCCH or PUSCH. Thus, after applying Etemad’s RRC-defined carrier mapping and Astely’s subframe-specific PDCCH/UCI timing to Kishiyama, the UE transmits the first UCI transmission for the corresponding first-group carrier in the indicated first time unit according to the received first control signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kishiyama’s multi-component-carrier UCI transmission method using Etemad’s RRC-defined DL/UL pairing and PDCCH/PUCCH mapping and Astely’s subframe-specific PDCCH scheduling and associated UCI feedback. Etemad ¶ 56 expressly explains that defining the PDCCH carrier through configuration reduces PDCCH blind detection, detection time, and processing power; Etemad ¶¶ 53 and 60–63 provide flexible asymmetric and many-to-one carrier mappings; and Astely ¶¶ 20–22 use ordinary LTE PDCCH scheduling and HARQ feedback timing. The combination would predictably direct Kishiyama’s UCI transmissions to the configured carriers and scheduled time units while reducing blind detection and supporting flexible carrier aggregation.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, in a second downlink control channel, a second control signal to indicate a second time unit of the radio frame for transmitting a second UCI for a carrier corresponding to the second group of downlink carriers; and transmitting the second transmission comprising at least the second UCI for the carrier corresponding to the second group of downlink carriers at the second time unit according to the received second control signal.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 1 for the reasons above. Etemad ¶¶ 60–63 and Figure 4C distinguish PDCCH1/PUCCH1 associated with a first carrier from PDCCH2/PUCCH2 associated with a second carrier. Astely ¶¶ 19–22 explain that radio frames contain subframes, that PDCCH/DCI in each subframe identifies the scheduled downlink transmission, and that the terminal transmits the corresponding ACK/NACK on PUCCH or PUSCH. Applying that repeated scheduling procedure to Etemad’s second configured PDCCH/PUCCH mapping teaches a second PDCCH control signal indicating a second scheduled time unit/subframe and transmission of the second UCI in that time unit for the second-group carrier. The same reasons for combining stated for claim 1 apply to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “The method of claim 2, wherein the first transmission and the second transmission are physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 2 for the reasons above. Kishiyama ¶¶ 11–12 and 20 identify PUCCH as the physical uplink channel carrying UCI, including ACK/NACK, CQI, PMI, and RI. Kishiyama ¶¶ 42–55 describe the UE’s generation and transmission of UCI on PUCCH. Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 and 60–63 identify PUCCH1 and PUCCH2 as feedback transmissions associated with respective configured downlink component carriers. Thus, the references teach that both the first and second UCI transmissions are PUCCH transmissions. It would have been obvious to use PUCCH for both transmissions because both references identify PUCCH as the established LTE physical channel for uplink control feedback, producing the predictable result of carrying the respective UCI for the respective carrier mappings.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first UCI comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) or non-acknowledgement (NACK) of a data transmission associated with the carrier corresponding to the first group of downlink carriers.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 1 for the reasons above. Kishiyama ¶ 11 expressly identifies ACK/NACK as UCI, and Kishiyama ¶¶ 20 and 42–55 explain transmission of ACK/NACK control information on PUCCH or with PUSCH. Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 explain that PUCCH carries feedback corresponding to PDSCH data transmissions on configured downlink component carriers. Thus, for a carrier mapped to the first configured group, the first UCI comprises HARQ ACK or NACK for the associated data transmission. Using Kishiyama’s known HARQ feedback within Etemad’s carrier-specific mapping would have been obvious because ACK/NACK is the conventional feedback used to confirm or request retransmission of the corresponding downlink data and would perform its known error-control function.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “The method of claim 2, wherein the second UCI comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) or non-acknowledgement (NACK) of a data transmission associated with the carrier corresponding to the second group of downlink carriers.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 2 for the reasons above. Kishiyama ¶¶ 11, 20, and 42–55 teach that UCI includes and carries HARQ ACK/NACK. Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 and 60–63 associate separate PUCCH feedback with the respective configured downlink component carriers. Accordingly, the second UCI for the second-group carrier comprises HARQ ACK or NACK for the data transmission associated with that carrier. The motivation stated for claim 5 applies equally to the second carrier/group.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “A wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the WTRU comprising: a transceiver coupled to a processor, the transceiver and processor configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) configuration information, wherein the RRC configuration information indicates use of a first transmission for uplink control information (UCI) for a first group of downlink carriers and use of a second transmission for UCI for a second group of downlink carriers, wherein the first transmission and the second transmission are different transmissions; the transceiver and processor configured to receive, in a first downlink control channel, a first control signal to indicate a first time unit of a radio frame for transmitting a first UCI for a carrier corresponding to the first group of downlink; and the transceiver and processor configured to transmit the first transmission comprising at least the first UCI for the carrier corresponding to the first group of downlink carriers at the first time unit according to the received first control signal.” Kishiyama ¶¶ 21–23 and Figures 4 and 6–9 disclose a mobile terminal having reception, baseband-processing, and transmission sections, corresponding to a transceiver coupled to a processor, configured to receive downlink control and transmit UCI. Each functional limitation of claim 7 is the apparatus counterpart of the method limitation mapped for claim 1. Etemad ¶¶ 51–71 and 90–99 disclose the UE receiving the RRC carrier configuration, receiving PDCCH scheduling according to that configuration, and transmitting mapped feedback. Therefore, for the reasons and citations stated for claim 1, the combined transceiver and processor are configured to perform each recited operation of claim 7. The motivation stated for claim 1 applies equally to the WTRU implementation because implementing the combined signaling procedures in the terminal’s existing receiver, processor, and transmitter is the ordinary and predictable implementation of those procedures.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “The WTRU of claim 7, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive, in a second downlink control channel, a second control signal to indicate a second time unit of the radio frame for transmitting a second UCI for a carrier corresponding to the second group of downlink carriers; and transmit the second transmission comprising at least the second UCI for the carrier corresponding to the second group of downlink carriers at the second time unit according to the received second control signal.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 7 for the reasons above. The additional functions are the apparatus counterparts of claim 2. Etemad ¶¶ 60–63 and Figure 4C disclose separate PDCCH2 and PUCCH2 paths for the second carrier, and Etemad ¶¶ 92–99 disclose receiving resource allocations on one or more PDCCHs and transmitting physical feedback on active carriers. Kishiyama ¶¶ 19 and 42–55 disclose processing PDCCH scheduling and transmitting UCI in the corresponding subframe. The transceiver and processor therefore receive the second control signal and transmit the second UCI in the second scheduled time unit for the second-group carrier. The motivation stated for claims 1, 2, and 7 applies.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites “The WTRU of claim 8, wherein the first transmission and the second transmission are physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 8 for the reasons above. Kishiyama ¶¶ 11–12, 20, and 42–55 teach UE transmission of UCI on PUCCH, and Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 and 60–63 disclose PUCCH1 and PUCCH2 feedback paths for different component-carrier mappings. Thus, the WTRU’s first and second transmissions are PUCCH transmissions. The motivation stated for claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites “The WTRU of claim 7, wherein the first UCI comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) or non-acknowledgement (NACK) of a data transmission associated with the carrier corresponding to the first group of downlink carriers.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 7 for the reasons above. Kishiyama ¶¶ 11, 20, and 42–55 teach UCI comprising HARQ ACK/NACK, and Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 associate PUCCH feedback with PDSCH data on the corresponding configured downlink carrier. The first UCI therefore comprises HARQ ACK/NACK for the data transmission associated with the first-group carrier. The motivation stated for claim 5 applies.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “The WTRU of claim 8, wherein the second UCI comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) or non-acknowledgement (NACK) of a data transmission associated with the carrier corresponding to the second group of downlink carriers.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 8 for the reasons above. Kishiyama ¶¶ 11, 20, and 42–55 teach UCI comprising HARQ ACK/NACK, while Etemad ¶¶ 57–58 and 60–63 associate the second PUCCH feedback path with the corresponding configured downlink carrier. The second UCI therefore comprises HARQ ACK/NACK for the data transmission associated with the second-group carrier. The motivation stated for claim 6 applies.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites “The method of claim 2, wherein the first downlink control channel or the second downlink control channel comprise a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission including a PUCCH resource index, wherein at least one of the first transmission or the second transmission is transmitted using resources based on the PUCCH resource index.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches claim 2 and teaches PDCCH scheduling and PUCCH feedback for multiple configured component carriers for the reasons above. Kishiyama and Etemad do not expressly disclose, using the precise language of claim 4, that the PDCCH transmission includes a PUCCH resource index and that the uplink transmission uses resources based on that index.
Astely discloses the limitation not expressly disclosed by Kishiyama and Etemad. Astely ¶ 37 explains that a PUCCH format-1 resource used for HARQ acknowledgment is represented by a scalar resource index and that, for HARQ transmission, the resource index is given implicitly by the DCI transmitted on PDCCH to schedule the downlink transmission. Astely ¶ 38 explains that a PUCCH resource block pair is determined from the PUCCH resource index. Astely ¶¶ 53–55 explain that shared PUCCH resources for multi-carrier HARQ acknowledgments can be configured by RRC and made visible through an association between the downlink PDCCH CCE/index and a PUCCH resource. Astely ¶¶ 57–60 explain that reserved PUCCH resources may be indicated explicitly or implicitly, including by a dynamic indicator carried in a control message. Astely ¶¶ 61–62 explain that a first PUCCH resource mapping may be used for a first designated downlink component carrier and a second mapping may be used for another downlink component carrier. Thus, Astely teaches a PDCCH/DCI transmission including an implicit or explicit PUCCH resource index and transmitting UCI on PUCCH resources selected based on that index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Astely’s PDCCH-signaled, index-based PUCCH resource selection into the Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely system because Astely ¶¶ 56–60 explain that dynamic indication permits more careful management of limited ACK/NACK resources, reduces collisions or scheduling constraints, and supports orthogonality. The modification would merely use Astely’s known PUCCH resource-selection mechanism in the known multi-carrier PDCCH/PUCCH arrangement of Kishiyama and Etemad, yielding the predictable result that at least one of the first or second UCI transmissions uses resources determined from the indicated PUCCH resource index.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites “The WTRU of claim 8, wherein the first downlink control channel and the second downlink control channel comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission including a PUCCH resource index, wherein at least one of the first transmission or the second transmission is transmitted using resources based on the PUCCH resource index.” The Kishiyama–Etemad–Astely combination teaches the WTRU of claim 8 for the reasons above. Astely ¶¶ 37–38 and 53–62 teach that the terminal receives PDCCH/DCI signaling containing an implicit or explicit PUCCH resource indication and selects the PUCCH resource based on that indication, including different mappings for different downlink component carriers. Astely also discloses a user terminal having a receiver, transmitter, and controller configured to receive downlink assignments and select first or second uplink resource sets according to the assigned downlink carrier. Astely ¶¶ 29–31 and Figures 10 and 13. Therefore, the WTRU’s transceiver and processor receive the claimed PDCCH transmission including the PUCCH resource index and transmit at least one of the first or second UCI transmissions using resources based on that index. The motivation stated for claim 4 applies equally to claim 10.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412