DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the communication filed on January 28, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant arguments are addressed in the new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (Pub. No. : US 20220150044 A1) in the view of Wegener (Pub. No. : US 20110078222 A1).
As to clam 1 Xiang teaches a method of waveform data transmission, the method comprising:
generating, by control and measurement software that is executed on a computer device in a qubit control and measurement system, control and measurement waveform data being waveform data of a first signal waveform for control and measurement of a quantum chip (paragraphs [0114], [0076], [0121], [0192]: generate and receive digital waveforms at a relatively rough timescale of an FPGA clock cycle wherein the measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG 10, and transmit a control instruction to the control unit 12 based on a measurement result. The control unit 12 is configured to control a corresponding physical qubit according to the control instruction), the qubit control and measurement system including the computer device configured to enable a user to customize the control and measurement waveform data, an electronics system configured to generate the first signal waveform in an analog form, and at least a network switch configured to relay transmissions between the computer device and the electronics system (paragraphs [0049], [0076]-[0079], [0084], [0095], [0117]-[0119]: The measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG 10, and transmit a control instruction wherein the user may use a computer to access a memory of a node through an Ethernet/peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe, a high-speed serial computer expansion bus) interface, to directly configure a register and debug a target node, wherein the Software Compensates for a Random Phase Difference of an Analog Signal of a different lengths of analog signal transmission lines (for reference clock and microwave output));
transmitting the first signal waveform to the quantum chip according to the recovered control and measurement waveform data (paragraphs [0119], [0124]-[0125]: transmit compensated digital waveform data to each unit, to synchronize phases of a plurality of channels).
Xiang does not explicitly disclose but Wegener teaches compressing, by the control and measurement software that is executed on the computer device, the control and measurement waveform data to obtain compressed control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0093]: compress waveform data for transmitted packets);
transmitting the compressed control and measurement waveform data, from the computer device to the electronics system in the qubit control and measurement system (paragraph [0093], [0103]: compressor 620 is adaptable to the specific data type and the selected compression mode (lossless or lossy) for the waveform data being transmitted to the receiving core);
decompressing, by processing circuitry of the electronics system, the compressed control and measurement waveform data to obtain recovered control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0089]: decompressor 720 can generate decompressed integer waveform data values or decompressed floating-point waveform data values).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to improve the efficiency of data transfer between cores and conserves data storage resources (Wegener, abstract).
As to claim 2 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 1. Xiang teaches wherein the compressing comprises:
calibrating, by the control and measurement software, the control and measurement waveform data to obtain calibrated control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0192]); and Wegener teaches
compressing, by the control and measurement software, the calibrated control and measurement waveform data to obtain the compressed control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0021]).
As to claim 3 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 1. Xiang teaches wherein
the generating the control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0114]) comprises:
generating, by an experiment module of the control and measurement software, the control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0014], [0192]);
calibrating, by the calibration module, the control and measurement waveform data to obtain the calibrated control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0192]);
Wegener teaches compressing, by the experiment module, the control and measurement waveform data to obtain initial compressed control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0093]);
transmitting the initial compressed control and measurement waveform data to a calibration module of the control and measurement software (paragraph [0093]);
decompressing, by the calibration module, the initial compressed control and measurement waveform data to obtain the control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0104]); and
compressing, by the calibration module, the calibrated control and measurement waveform data to obtain the compressed control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0093]).
As to claim 4 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 2. Xiang teaches wherein the calibrating comprises:
obtaining, by the control and measurement software, a calibration parameter of the control and measurement waveform data (paragraph [0192]); and
calibrating, by the control and measurement software, the control and measurement waveform data according to the calibration parameter, to obtain the calibrated control and measurement waveform data (paragraphs [0120], [0192]).
As to claim 5 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 4. Xiang teaches wherein
the obtaining the calibration parameter comprises: transmitting, by the control and measurement software, defined test waveform data to the electronics system (paragraph [0119]);
generating, by the electronics system, a waveform signal corresponding to the test waveform data (paragraph [0114]);
obtaining, by the control and measurement software, actual waveform data based on a measurement of the waveform signal corresponding to the test waveform data (paragraph [0192]); and
determining the calibration parameter according to the test waveform data and the actual waveform data (paragraph [0120]).
As to claim 6 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 1. Xiang teaches wherein
transmitting the recovered control and measurement waveform data to a FPGA chip included in the processing circuitry of the electronics system (paragraph [0051]);
controlling, by the FPGA chip, a digital to analog converter DAC chip to generate the first signal waveform corresponding to the recovered control and measurement waveform data; and transmitting the first signal waveform to the quantum chip (paragraphs [0051]);
Wegener teachesthe decompressing the compressed control and measurement waveform data comprises: decompressing, by the a processing chip included in the processing circuitry of the electronics system, the compressed control and measurement waveform data to obtain recovered control and measurement waveform data (paragraph []).
As to claim 7 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 6. Xiang teaches wherein the controlling, by the FPGA chip, the DAC chip comprises:
adjusting, by the FPGA chip, a format of the recovered control and measurement waveform data according to a control signal, to obtain adjusted waveform data (paragraph [0053]); and
transmitting, by the FPGA chip, the adjusted waveform data to the DAC chip, the DAC chip generating the first signal waveform according to the adjusted waveform data (paragraph [0056]).
As to claim 8 Xiang together with Wegener teaches a method according to claim 1. Xiang teaches measuring, by the electronics system, the quantum chip, to obtain a second signal waveform, and converting the second signal waveform into measurement waveform data of the second signal waveform (paragraph [0114]).
Wegener teaches compressing, by the electronics system, the measurement waveform data (paragraph [0082]); and
transmitting the compressed measurement waveform data to the control and measurement software (paragraph [0093]).
As to claims 9-20, they have similar limitations as of claims 1-8 above. Hence, they are rejected under the same rational as of claims 1-8 above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching of all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MD I UDDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169