DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on May 5, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The 35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of the four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. MPEP 2106. The four eligible categories of invention include: (1) process which is an act, or a series of acts or steps, (2) machine which is a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices, (3) manufacture which is an article produced from raw or prepared materials by giving to these materials new forms, qualities, properties, or combinations, whether by hand labor or by machinery, and (4) composition of matter which is all compositions of two or more substances and all composite articles, whether they be the results of chemical union, or of mechanical mixture, or whether they be gases, fluids, powders or solids. MPEP 2106(I).
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claims in light of the specification encompasses transitory signals. Transitory signals are not within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., non-statutory subject matter). See MPEP 2106(I). Claims directed toward a non-transitory computer readable medium may qualify as a manufacture and make the claim patent-eligible subject matter. MPEP 2106(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spivack et al. (U.S. 2022/0366061).
With regard to claim 1, Spivack teaches one or more computer storage media storing computer-readable instructions ([0231] a computer-readable medium or computer-readable storage medium) thereon that when executed by a processor ([0232] combination of software agents and/or hardware modules (e.g., including processors and/or memory units)), cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
accessing a unique string (Fig. 8D; [0146] an NFT is created when any one of distributed ledger networks 140 string records of cryptographic hash, a set of characters identifying a set of data, onto previous records therefore creating a chain of identifiable data blocks; [0427] FIG. 8G depicts zoomed images of chaosmetrics artifacts in the tags printed as shown in the example of FIG. 8F);
hashing the unique string to determine a hash value ([0146] An NFT is created when any one of distributed ledger networks 140 string records of cryptographic hash, a set of characters identifying a set of data, onto previous records therefore creating a chain of identifiable data blocks; [0281] generating an authentication prompt (e.g., by the authentication engine 318 of the example of FIG. 3A and/or the authentication engine 414 of the example of FIG. 4A) to authenticate the security device and the authentication prompt can be associated with a first block hash of the distributed ledger at a first timestamp); and
generating a unique font file version of a font file for a font by modifying a font table in accordance with the hash value (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein text rendered using the unique font file version comprises a spacing pattern for the font that is specific to the unique font file version ([0177] the address space associated with the authenticity element space is expanded using polychrome patterns to generate a polychrome chaosmetric identifier. An example form factor for the polychrome pattern identifier is a 2D colored barcode based on Just Another Barcode (JAB); [0192] a space filling fractal can be superimposed on a halftone such that fractal's pattern is small enough and does not interfere with the halftone's basic building block; [0299] Image 613 depicts a content element having a 2D code (e.g., a QR code). Image 615 depicts an example of a fractal pattern which is a square grid space filling fractal with variable thickness ratio; [0472] The grayscale and/or pattern in the “spaces” between the letters and the lines).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein the spacing pattern within the text rendered from the unique font file version comprises glyph adjustments to at least one of a glyph width and glyph height ([0503] multi-dimensional bar codes such as a Quick Response (QR) code, Aztec Code, Data Matrix, Dataglyph), and the spacing pattern is determined from the hash value ([0177] the address space associated with the authenticity element space is expanded using polychrome patterns to generate a polychrome chaosmetric identifier. An example form factor for the polychrome pattern identifier is a 2D colored barcode based on Just Another Barcode (JAB); [0192] a space filling fractal can be superimposed on a halftone such that fractal's pattern is small enough and does not interfere with the halftone's basic building block; [0299] Image 613 depicts a content element having a 2D code (e.g., a QR code). Image 615 depicts an example of a fractal pattern which is a square grid space filling fractal with variable thickness ratio; [0472] The grayscale and/or pattern in the “spaces” between the letters and the lines).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches further comprising providing access to the unique font file version such that text rendered using the unique font file version encodes at least a portion of the hash value in a spacing pattern ([0177] the address space associated with the authenticity element space is expanded using polychrome patterns to generate a polychrome chaosmetric identifier. An example form factor for the polychrome pattern identifier is a 2D colored barcode based on Just Another Barcode (JAB); [0192] a space filling fractal can be superimposed on a halftone such that fractal's pattern is small enough and does not interfere with the halftone's basic building block; [0299] Image 613 depicts a content element having a 2D code (e.g., a QR code). Image 615 depicts an example of a fractal pattern which is a square grid space filling fractal with variable thickness ratio; [0472] The grayscale and/or pattern in the “spaces” between the letters and the lines).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches further comprising:
identifying a font included in a markup language being accessed by a computing device corresponding to the unique string ([0492] FIG. 9D depicts an example of text/image integrated with a security device, where the text includes embedded characteristics per letter that define a fractal cross grid watermark across the letters; [0495] Various programming languages can be employed to create one or more of the applications 1010, structured in a variety of manners, such as object-oriented programming languages (e.g., Objective-C, Java, or C++) or procedural programming languages (e.g., C or assembly language)); and
modifying the markup language to include an address of the unique font file version such that text is rendered using the unique font file version when the computing device reads the modified markup language ([0177] A scenario for integration as part of a larger whole further includes a serialization technique where each tag can be uniquely identified by a serial number using a 2D colored barcode. In one embodiment, the address space associated with the authenticity element space is expanded using polychrome patterns to generate a polychrome chaosmetric identifier; [0206] the identifier of the security device includes an address of a digital file used to create or generate the security device).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein modifying the font table includes modifying at least one of a horizontal metrics table that determines a glyph width ([0031] FIG. 2I-5 depicts an example of a semicircular grating joined with a vertical or horizontal line grating to form an S-shaped pattern; [0157] how a vertical/horizontal line grating can be positioned in Cartesian coordinates or how a circular tangential or radial grating can be drawn in polar coordinates; [0179] The horizontal gratings 263 are black and white with a thin line of green along each black bar. The illusion is that the red and green appear to spread over the black and white regions of the vertical and horizontal gratings), and a kerning table that determines spacing between specific pairs of glyphs ([0494] The kernel 1020 acts as an abstraction layer between the hardware and the other software layers consistent with some embodiments).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the hash value comprises a sequence of binary digits ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
at least one binary digit value corresponds to a glyph adjustment ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format); and
the font table is modified by adjusting font table values (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.) according to the sequence of binary digits so that glyphs are rendered with the glyph adjustment ([0503] multi-dimensional bar codes such as a Quick Response (QR) code, Aztec Code, Data Matrix, Dataglyph).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the hash value comprises a sequence of binary digits ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
a first binary digit value corresponds to a first glyph adjustment for an increase in glyph spacing ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format); and
a second binary digit value corresponds to a second glyph adjustment for a decrease in glyph spacing ([0066] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases; [0321] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases. FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the hash value comprises a sequence of binary digits ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
at least one binary digit value corresponds to a glyph adjustment ([0066] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases; [0321] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases. FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode);
the font table being modified corresponds to a kerning table that determines spacing between specific pairs of glyphs (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.); and
the font table is modified by adjusting font table values according to the sequence of binary digits so that the spacing between the specific pairs of glyphs is rendered with the glyph adjustment ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format).
With regard to claim 10, Spivack teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
hashing a string to generate a hash value ([0146] An NFT is created when any one of distributed ledger networks 140 string records of cryptographic hash, a set of characters identifying a set of data, onto previous records therefore creating a chain of identifiable data blocks; [0281] generating an authentication prompt (e.g., by the authentication engine 318 of the example of FIG. 3A and/or the authentication engine 414 of the example of FIG. 4A) to authenticate the security device and the authentication prompt can be associated with a first block hash of the distributed ledger at a first timestamp);
generating a unique font file version of a font file for a font by modifying a font table in accordance with the hash value (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.);
rendering text comprising a spacing pattern for the font that is specific to the unique font file version ([0177] the address space associated with the authenticity element space is expanded using polychrome patterns to generate a polychrome chaosmetric identifier. An example form factor for the polychrome pattern identifier is a 2D colored barcode based on Just Another Barcode (JAB); [0192] a space filling fractal can be superimposed on a halftone such that fractal's pattern is small enough and does not interfere with the halftone's basic building block; [0299] Image 613 depicts a content element having a 2D code (e.g., a QR code). Image 615 depicts an example of a fractal pattern which is a square grid space filling fractal with variable thickness ratio; [0472] The grayscale and/or pattern in the “spaces” between the letters and the lines); and
training a text classifier using the rendered text ([0090] FIG. 9A-9D depict examples of text elements or images elements integrated with a security device; [0464] In one embodiment, a page of text/images is marked with a Blocktag. During tag request, the requesting party can specify a page of text/images to be marked) such that the trained text classifier classifies glyph adjustments within the spacing pattern ([0031] FIG. 2I-5 depicts an example of a semicircular grating joined with a vertical or horizontal line grating to form an S-shaped pattern; [0157] how a vertical/horizontal line grating can be positioned in Cartesian coordinates or how a circular tangential or radial grating can be drawn in polar coordinates; [0179] The horizontal gratings 263 are black and white with a thin line of green along each black bar. The illusion is that the red and green appear to spread over the black and white regions of the vertical and horizontal gratings; [0494] The kernel 1020 acts as an abstraction layer between the hardware and the other software layers consistent with some embodiments).
With regard to claim 11, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches further comprising labeling the rendered text with labels indicating the glyph adjustments ([0110] The link between the physical consumer products and their associated NFTs can be enabled by security devices printed on the physical consumer products, their certificates, packaging, labels, manuals, and/or other physical items related to those physical consumer products; [0418] the paper type can be determined (e.g., by the fingerprint engine 314 of the example of FIG. 3A and/or the fingerprint engine 415 of FIG. 4A) through inference by implementing and training an AI engine using labelled examples of different paper types), wherein the text classifier is trained using the labeled text ([0418] the paper type can be determined (e.g., by the fingerprint engine 314 of the example of FIG. 3A and/or the fingerprint engine 415 of FIG. 4A) through inference by implementing and training an AI engine using labelled examples of different paper types).
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein the glyph adjustments within the spacing pattern of the rendered text comprise adjustments to at least one of a glyph width and glyph height ([0224] an optimization of authentication by printing markers with a fractal so that a scan device (e.g. a user device, a client/mobile device 102A-N as shown in the example of FIG. 1 and/or a client/mobile device 402 of the example of FIG. 4A). can determine the fractal's width/height and calculate the perpendicular distance between the printed fractal and scan device; [0350] the width and height in pixels of the fractal line segment at various scale levels can be determined. This line segment's width or height property is used to calculate the fractal's dimension using the box counting technique. The technique's box width is set based on the line segment's height or width. The line segment's height or width in pixels can reduce proportionally if the scan device moves farther away from the printed fractal).
With regard to claim 13, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the hash value comprises a sequence of binary digits ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
at least one binary digit value corresponds to a glyph adjustment ([0066] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases; [0321] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases. FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode); and
the font table is modified by adjusting font table values according to the sequence of binary digits so that glyphs within the text are rendered with the glyph adjustment ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format).
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the hash value comprises a sequence of binary digits ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
a first binary digit value corresponds to a first glyph adjustment for an increase in glyph spacing ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format); and
a second binary digit value corresponds to a second glyph adjustment for a decrease in glyph spacing ([0066] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases; [0321] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases. FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode).
With regard to claim 15, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the hash value comprises a sequence of binary digits ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
at least one binary digit value corresponds to a glyph adjustment ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
the font table being modified corresponds to a kerning table that determines spacing between specific pairs of glyphs (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.); and
the font table is modified by adjusting font table values according to the sequence of binary digits so that the spacing between the specific pairs of glyphs within the text is rendered with the glyph adjustment ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format).
With regard to claim 16, Spivack teaches a system [abstract] comprising:
at least one processor ([0232] combination of software agents and/or hardware modules (e.g., including processors and/or memory units)); and
one or more computer storage media storing computer-readable instructions thereon that when executed by the at least one processor ([0231] a computer-readable medium or computer-readable storage medium), cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
executing a text classifier on an artifact ([0090] FIG. 9A-9D depict examples of text elements or images elements integrated with a security device; [0464] In one embodiment, a page of text/images is marked with a Blocktag. During tag request, the requesting party can specify a page of text/images to be marked) comprising text generated using a unique font file version ([0177] the address space associated with the authenticity element space is expanded using polychrome patterns to generate a polychrome chaosmetric identifier. An example form factor for the polychrome pattern identifier is a 2D colored barcode based on Just Another Barcode (JAB); [0192] a space filling fractal can be superimposed on a halftone such that fractal's pattern is small enough and does not interfere with the halftone's basic building block; [0299] Image 613 depicts a content element having a 2D code (e.g., a QR code). Image 615 depicts an example of a fractal pattern which is a square grid space filling fractal with variable thickness ratio; [0472] The grayscale and/or pattern in the “spaces” between the letters and the lines), the text classifier classifying a relative size of glyph spacing ([0193] The lighter the component primary color (e.g. Cyan) in the 2D colored barcode, the smaller the size of the square and/or circle... An optional fourth base color pattern, black, can be added with specified base pattern parameters (e.g. Orientation angle, square/circle size) as shown in 287 to represent the lightness/darkness of the 2D colormap);
determining a data sequence from the classified relative sizes ([0193] The lighter the component primary color (e.g. Cyan) in the 2D colored barcode, the smaller the size of the square and/or circle... An optional fourth base color pattern, black, can be added with specified base pattern parameters (e.g. Orientation angle, square/circle size) as shown in 287 to represent the lightness/darkness of the 2D colormap);
identifying a hash value using the data sequence ([0146] An NFT is created when any one of distributed ledger networks 140 string records of cryptographic hash, a set of characters identifying a set of data, onto previous records therefore creating a chain of identifiable data blocks; [0281] generating an authentication prompt (e.g., by the authentication engine 318 of the example of FIG. 3A and/or the authentication engine 414 of the example of FIG. 4A) to authenticate the security device and the authentication prompt can be associated with a first block hash of the distributed ledger at a first timestamp); and
determining a source of the artifact based on the hash value, wherein the source is associated with the unique font file version (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.).
With regard to claim 17, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches further comprising:
determining a font type of the text within the artifact (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.); and
selecting the text classifier based on the font type ([0193] The lighter the component primary color (e.g. Cyan) in the 2D colored barcode, the smaller the size of the square and/or circle... An optional fourth base color pattern, black, can be added with specified base pattern parameters (e.g. Orientation angle, square/circle size) as shown in 287 to represent the lightness/darkness of the 2D colormap).
With regard to claim 18, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the text classifier assigns a binary digit value to glyphs ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format) in the text based on the relative size of the glyph spacing ([0193] The lighter the component primary color (e.g. Cyan) in the 2D colored barcode, the smaller the size of the square and/or circle... An optional fourth base color pattern, black, can be added with specified base pattern parameters (e.g. Orientation angle, square/circle size) as shown in 287 to represent the lightness/darkness of the 2D colormap);
at least one binary digit value indicates a relative increase in the glyph spacing ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format) or a relative decrease in the glyph spacing ([0066] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases; [0321] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases. FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode); and
the data sequence comprises a sequence of binary digits having the binary digit values ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format).
With regard to claim 19, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein:
the text classifier assigns a binary digit value to glyphs ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format) in the text based on the relative size of the glyph spacing ([0193] The lighter the component primary color (e.g. Cyan) in the 2D colored barcode, the smaller the size of the square and/or circle... An optional fourth base color pattern, black, can be added with specified base pattern parameters (e.g. Orientation angle, square/circle size) as shown in 287 to represent the lightness/darkness of the 2D colormap);
a first binary digit value indicates a relative increase in the glyph spacing ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format);
a second binary digit value indicates a relative decrease in the glyph spacing ([0066] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases; [0321] As radius increases from center of origin, the resolution decreases. FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode); and
the data sequence comprises a sequence of binary digits having the binary digit values ([0067] FIG. 6I depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker within an uneven halftone that function as a 1D binary encoded circular barcode; [0068] FIG. 6J depicts an example of a monochrome security device with a center marker and with a superimposed radial and tangential circular halftone pattern that functions as a 2D binary encoded circular barcode; [0220] The system can use a multi-colored chaosmetrics encoding system that can encode more data in comparison to black and white implementations which encodes a serial ID in a binary format).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spivack et al. (U.S. 2022/0366061) in view of Sharp et al. (U.S. 2023/0078155).
With regard to claim 20, the limitations are addressed above and Spivack teaches wherein the hash value is identified from among a plurality of hash values ([0146] An NFT is created when any one of distributed ledger networks 140 string records of cryptographic hash, a set of characters identifying a set of data, onto previous records therefore creating a chain of identifiable data blocks; [0281] generating an authentication prompt (e.g., by the authentication engine 318 of the example of FIG. 3A and/or the authentication engine 414 of the example of FIG. 4A) to authenticate the security device and the authentication prompt can be associated with a first block hash of the distributed ledger at a first timestamp), each hash value associated with a different unique font file version of a font file (Figs. 2C-2D; [0471] The digital page marked with a stenographic fractal can then be printed, and fingerprinted. During stenographic authentication, The positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR); [0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.). However, Spivack does not specifically teach:
- using a Pearson correlation
Sharp teaches a method for filtering information based on a set of properties and providing hash values of the content of each item ([abstract]; [0350]). Sharp also teaches using a Pearson correlation ([0370] the Mahout software to compute the Pearson correlation of behavior across the weighted sum of item scores. The user connectedness value is normalized into the range 0-1 using hyperbolic tangent. Then the values are weighted, to reflect the relative importance of behavior vs. the social graph). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the hash values taught by Spivack, with the Pearson correlation method taught by Sharp, to have achieved a unique font file version generated with a hash value and including Pearson correlation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-5-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks, Applicant argues that the Spivack reference does not teach “generating a unique font file version of a font file for a font by modifying a font table in accordance with the hash value”, and “training a text classifier using the rendered text such that the trained text classifier classifies glyph adjustments within the spacing pattern”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant:
The Spivack reference was brought forth as it teaches a system and method to administer a security device with chaosmetric patterns/artifacts [abstract] and an authentication metadata for the security devices which may include a unique ID of a security device [0110]. Spivack displays an image of a side by side comparison of an original security device as well as a cloned security device [0427]. The image similarity measure between a chaosmetric artifact/pattern's snapshot and its fingerprinted baseline can include printed unique chaosmetric artifacts/patterns of the blocktag [0465]. Spivack teaches a string record of cryptographic hash creating a chain of identifiable data blocks, according to [0146]. Figure 8G displays the images of chaosmetrics artifacts in the tags and the referred string is considered to be that of a ‘unique’ string. The unique string determines a hash value such as the first block hash and the second block hash is generated and shown as a valid response to the authentication prompt [0283]. The second hash value is used as a means to verify a time window which the valid response to the authentication prompt was recorded [0283]. In addition to generating a hash value, Spivack displays a character generated as a building block embedded with a sinusoidal halftone base pattern whose image contrast is maximized by computer vision (Figs. 2C-2D). Figures 2C and 2D show an example of a character which can be considered a ‘unique font file for a font’ displayed by the building blocks and Cartesian coordinates on how a circular tangential can be drawn in polar coordiantes [0158]. Spivack also teaches that the positions of the printed base patterns and other font properties that define the fractal watermark can be detected by a scan device using computer vision techniques such as Optical Character Recognition (OCR), which shows that the positions can be modified by a font table ([0492] The embedded characteristics of a letter can include, for example, one or more of base pattern periodicity, color, grayscale, font type, etc.). Additionally, Spivack displays text elements integrated within a security device by showing zigzag patterned lines which are formed in plastic substrate, according to [0392]. Spivack also displays horizontal and vertical line patterns on the holographic plastic surface shown as text in Figures 9B-9C. The text shown in Figures 9A-9C can be vertical or horizontal line grating to form a particular S-shaped pattern [0031]. The vertical or horizontal line gratings can be shown with color appearing over the black and white regions and can be drawn in polar coordinates ([0031]; [0179] The horizontal gratings 263 are black and white with a thin line of green along each black bar. The illusion is that the red and green appear to spread over the black and white regions of the vertical and horizontal gratings; [0494] The kernel 1020 acts as an abstraction layer between the hardware and the other software layers consistent with some embodiments).The Spivack reference exemplifies the train text classifier as taught in the claim language. As such the Spivack reference is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171