DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are amended.
Claims 11-13 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under Tsujimoto (US PG. Pub. 2014/0355039 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Utoh (US PG. Pub. 2021/0014371 A1).
Applicant’s specifically argues on page 6 of the Remarks that “In Tsujimoto, and in contrast to the present claimed arrangement, an information processing apparatus causes an authentication server to transmit print data stored therein to an MFP. Tsujimoto does not disclose a configuration in which an MFP reads an image printed by itself and causes an external apparatus to store the image as in the present claimed arrangement. Furthermore, in Tsujimoto, and in contrast to the present claimed arrangement, an image processing apparatus that prints an image and reads the printed image does not cause image data generated by reading the printed image to be stored in the storage location which is based on the code image that was read and which is in the external apparatus….In view of the above remarks and amendments to the claims, it is respectfully submitted that Tsujimoto fails to teach or suggest each feature claimed in amended claim 1 and therefore cannot anticipate amended claim 1.”
Based on applicant’s argument above, the Examiner, respectfully agrees. However, the newly added prior art of Utoh (US PG. Pub. 2021/0014371 A1) explicitly teaches “an MFP reads an image printed by itself and causes an external apparatus to store the image as in the present claimed arrangement, as required by the amended claim. Please see: Sect. [0062]-[0065] of the Utoh reference, which states… “(1)The user first selects the print workflow. Accordingly, an apparatus 20 displays the document type acquired by a service providing system 10 from a print data storage unit 11. The user selects the document type he/she wants to print in the workflow. (2) The apparatus 20 transmits the document type to the service providing system, and the service providing system 10 acquires the ID associated with the document type of from a processing method storage unit 13. Processing method information (ID: document type: processing method) is registered in the processing method storage unit 13. An ID is identification information that identifies the document and links the print workflow to the read workflow. The document type is information that identifies the document, such as the name of various documents such as an application form and other documents. The processing method indicates how to process the image data of the document in the read workflow. The service providing system 10 acquires the print data of the document indicated by the document type from the print data storage unit 11. (3) The service providing system 10 converts the ID into an image code (e.g., a Quick Response (QR) code (registered trademark)) 9, forms the image code 9 in the print data of the document, and transmits the document to the apparatus 20. Accordingly, the apparatus 20 can print a document in which the image code 9 is formed.
Here, the Print Data Storage Unit 11 is external to the Printer 20 as seen in Fig. 1A of the Utoh reference below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto (US PG. Pub. 2014/0355039 A1) in view of Utoh (US PG. Pub. 2021/0014371 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Tsujimoto teaches an image processing apparatus (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System) comprising:
a processor (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 1, CPU of Control Unit 10) that causes the image processing apparatus to function as (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0071], the CPU or the MPU of the control unit 10 loads and executes a control program previously stored in a ROM (not illustrated) into a RAM (not illustrated) to operate the multifunction device 1 as the image output device of the image output system):
a receiving unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, The image obtaining unit 33
configured to receive image data (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0089], The image obtaining unit 33 may be a used to obtain the image data.);
a generating unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, Control Unit 10) configured to generate a code image (See Sect. [0124] lines 4-6, the control unit 10 of the
multifunction device 1 receives the instruction for generation of the code pattern from the user);
a printing unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 12, The image forming unit 13 configured
to print, on a sheet, an image based on the received image data (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0068], The image forming unit 13 is an image forming means based on an electro-photographic system, an inkjet system, a thermal transfer system or the like, and performs a printing processing (image output) based on image data that the image reading unit 12 read from a document or printing data that the communication unit 14 receives from outside through a network N. The image forming unit 13 forms images (characters/photographs/graphics) on a recording sheet, such as recording paper, based on the image data or the printing data.), and the generated code image (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0096] lines 18-21, the code pattern may be displayed on the operation panel 11 (display unit 11b) of the multifunction device 1 and may be printed on paper so as to be attached onto an appropriate position of the multifunction device 1.);
a reading unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, Image reading unit 12) configured to read the printed image and the printed code image on the sheet to generate image data (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, Sect. [0067], The image reading unit 12 is, for example, a scanner including a charged coupled device (CCD) and reads characters, images and the like, which are printed on a document, as image data. Further, the image reading unit 12 may has a function of transferring sequentially each sheet of documents, which are placed on a predetermined document tray, up to positions read by the scanner.); and
a transmitting unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, Control Unit 20) configured to
transmit the generated image data to cause an external apparatus to store the generated image data in a storage location which is based on the read code image (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0102], When the multifunction device 1 is specified (YES in S9), the control unit 20 of the authentication server 2 reads the printing data stored in the electronic data DB 21a in association with the user (user ID) authenticated in step S3 by the storage processing unit 24. Further, the control unit 20 transmits the printing data read from the electronic data DB 21a to the multifunction device 1 specified in step S8 (S12), and instructs the multifunction device 1 to execute the printing processing. Thereby, the printing processing, which was instructed to be executed by the user using the information processing terminal 3, can execute.)).
Tsujimoto fails to explicitly teach
the external apparatus being different from the image processing apparatus, the storage locations being in the external apparatus
However, Utoh teaches
the external apparatus being different from the image processing apparatus (See UToh, Fig. 2, External System 30, Sect. [0088], The external system 30 may be a backbone system of a company or a system provided by an external company. The external system 30 is, for example, a computer system that provides cloud services, referred to as storage services (or online storage) via the network. Thus, the storage services are located within the external system 30.)., the storage locations being in the external apparatus (See Utoh, Sect. [0127], The print data storage unit 11, the read data storage unit 12, and the processing method storage unit 13 of the storage unit 19 are storages on the external system 30 illustrated in FIG. 2. The print data storage unit 11, the read data storage unit 12, and the processing method storage unit 13 may all be different folders or in the same folder in the same cloud storage service. These storages may be provided in a plurality of different loud storage services (external systems 30.sub.1, 30.sub.2 . . . ) may also be provided.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsujimoto to incorporate the teachings of Utoh to have an external apparatus being different from the image processing apparatus, the storage locations being in the external apparatus. Doing so would provide an image output system and an information processing device capable of allowing a user to easily use a desired image output device without knowing specific information of the image output device (multifunction device) in advance at the time of using the image output device itself and also provide an authentication device and an image output system capable of preventing illegal obtainment of secret information (See Sect. [0011]), as recognized by Utoh.
Referring to Claim 2, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the processor further causes the image processing apparatus to function as (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0071], the CPU or the MPU of the control unit 10 loads and executes a control program previously stored in a ROM (not illustrated) into a RAM (not illustrated) to operate the multifunction device 1 as the image output device of the image output system):
an analyzing unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, Control Unit 10) configured to analyze the read code image (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0124], the control unit 10 of the multifunction device 1 receives the instruction for generation of the code pattern from the user, the control unit 10 requests the generation of the code pattern to the authentication server 2, and obtains the generated code pattern from the authentication server 2. Since the authentication server 2 generates the code pattern, it is possible to manage the code pattern of each multifunction device 1 at the authentication server 2 at one time, and the multifunction device 1 needs not to have the function of generating the code pattern. Further, when the code pattern are generated using the information (information of the multifunction device) which is likely to be appropriately changed, the user can request the multifunction device 1 to execute the printing processing using the latest code pattern.), and
wherein the transmitting unit transmits the generated image data to cause the external apparatus to store the generated image data in the storage location obtained by analyzing the read code image (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0132], the control unit 10 codes the predetermined information (multifunction device ID) of the multifunction device and the received printing conditions to generate the code pattern (S33). Further, the control unit 10 displays the generated code pattern on the operation panel 11 (S34), and ends the processing. Further, the predetermined information of the multifunction device, that is, the information for each multifunction device 1 is stored in the storage unit (not illustrated) in advance.).
Referring to Claim 3, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the processor further causes the image processing apparatus to function as (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0071], the CPU or the MPU of the control unit 10 loads and executes a control program previously stored in a ROM (not illustrated) into a RAM (not illustrated) to operate the multifunction device 1 as the image output device of the image output system):
an input unit (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 2, input unit 11a) configured to input
connection information for connecting to the external apparatus (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0066] lines 3-6 and Sect. [0069], The input unit 11a includes various input keys required to operate the multifunction device 1 by a user and receives information based on the input key operated by the user and transmits the received information to the control unit 10 for communicating with the communication unit 14 which includes a network card, a modem and the like, and can be connected to the communication network N such as a public-line network, a local area network (LAN), and the Internet, and communicates with external devices, such as the authentication server 2 and the information processing terminal 3 through the network N.).
Referring to Claim 4, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 3 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the input unit is an operation panel (See Tsujimoto, Fig. Sect. [0066] lines 1-6, The operation panel 11 is a touch panel in which an input unit 11a and a display unit 11b are integrally configured. The input unit 11a includes various input keys required to operate the multifunction device 1 by a user and receives information based on the input key operated by the user and transmits the received information to the control unit 10.).
Referring to Claim 5, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 3 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the connection information is an IP address of the external apparatus (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0029] line7-12, network identification information of the IP address of the image output device is managed by the authentication device side, when the processing request of the image output device is transmitted from an external device (device to be used by the user) to the authentication device).
Referring to Claim 6, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 5 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the IP address is obtained based on the read code image (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0103] lines 1-7, when the destination information (IP address) of the multifunction device 1 is, for example, included in the code pattern (information of the multifunction device) photographed by the image obtaining unit 33 of the information processing terminal 3, the authentication server 2 can obtain the destination of the multifunction device 1 from the code pattern.).
Referring to Claim 7, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the image is an image for an assignment (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 10, Sect. [0121], The printing request screen illustrated on the lower side of FIG. 10 displays file names, registered dates for each of the plurality of printing data previously registered in the authentication server 2 by the logged-in user, and check boxes for selecting each printing data, in association with one another. Further, the check box may be configured to select the plurality of printing data. Further, the printing request screen illustrated on the lower side of FIG. 10 displays a description of the fact that the user photographs the pattern displayed on the multifunction device 1 by using the image obtaining unit 33 of the information processing terminal 3, the photographing button, and the print button.).
Referring to Claim 8, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the
image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System), wherein the code image is generated based on information which is different from the received image data (See Tsujimoto, Sect. [0128], the user who desires to use the multifunction device 1 operates the operation panel 11 of the multifunction device 1 to set the desired printing conditions, and operates, for example, a `code pattern generating` button displayed on the operation panel 11. When the code pattern generating button is operated, the control unit 10 of the multifunction device 1 codes the predetermined information of the multifunction device and the printing conditions set by the user, and displays the generated code pattern on the operation panel 11 (display unit 11b) to notify (present) the user. The printing conditions are the setting conditions relating to the processing which can be executed by the multifunction device 1, such as execution of N-up printing, execution of color printing, and execution of black and white printing.).
Referring to Claim 9, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein.
The structural elements of “An image processing apparatus” in claim 1 perform all of the operations of “A control method” in claim 9. Thus, “A control method” in claim 9 is rejected for reasons explicitly taught in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to Claim 10, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable
herein. Thus, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Tsujimoto, Fig. 3, Sect. [0077], FIG. 3 is a block view illustrating the functional configuration of the authentication server 2. In the control unit 20 of the authentication server 2, the CPU or the MPU executes a control program previously stored in the storage unit 21 or the ROM to realize each function of a function control unit 23, a storage processing unit 24, a multifunction device management unit 25, and a user authentication unit 26. The function control unit 23 controls each operation of the storage processing unit 24, the multifunction device management unit 25, and the user authentication unit 26.) and various memories stored therein.
Referring to Claim 11, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System).
Tsujimoto fails to explicitly teach
wherein the processor further causes the image processing apparatus to function as:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain storage location information indicating the storage location,
wherein the generating unit generates the code image based on the obtained storage location information.
However, Utoh teaches
wherein the processor further causes the image processing apparatus to function as (See Utoh, Sect. [0500], the “processing circuit” includes a processor programmed to execute each function by software such as a processor implemented in an electronic circuit; or devices such as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) a digital signal processor (DSP), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), and a conventional circuit module, designed to execute each function):
an obtaining unit (See Utoh, Fig. 7, The print data storage destination setting field 302) configured to obtain storage location information indicating the storage location (See Utoh, Sect. [0143], The print data storage destination setting field 302 is a field in which the administrator sets the path information of the folder of the storage destination of the print data (for example, the print data storage section 11). For example, “/store/print_data/” is set. In FIG. 11, for the acquisition of a list of the file names in step S14, and for the acquisition of the print data in step S20, the storage destination will be the acquisition destination.),
wherein the generating unit generates the code image based on the obtained storage location information (See Utoh, Sect. [0244]-[0245], ] S42: The read workflow processing unit 15 specifies the ID of the document type and acquires processing method information from the processing method storage unit 13. Here, the processing method is to be acquired. When “paper_id 003” is the ID of the document type read from the image code, the processing method includes the data storage destination “/kyuka folder and below” and the report destination “ccc@bb.cc”…In S43: The read workflow processing unit 15 stores image data in a folder set in the processing method storage unit 13. In FIG. 16, it is assumed that the folder is in the read data storage unit 12.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsujimoto to incorporate the teachings of Utoh wherein the processor further causes the image processing apparatus to function as: an obtaining unit configured to obtain storage location information indicating the storage location, wherein the generating unit generates the code image based on the obtained storage location information. Doing so would provide an image output system and an information processing device capable of allowing a user to easily use a desired image output device without knowing specific information of the image output device (multifunction device) in advance at the time of using the image output device itself and also provide an authentication device and an image output system capable of preventing illegal obtainment of secret information (See Sect. [0011]), as recognized by Utoh.
Referring to Claim 12, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 11 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System).
Tsujimoto fails to explicitly teach
wherein the storage location information is a file path.
However, Utoh teaches
wherein the storage location information is a file path (See Utoh, Sect. [0159], The processing method storage destination setting field 312 is a field for setting the path information of the folder of the storage destination of the processing method (for example, the processing method storage unit 13) by the administrator. For example, “/store/process_data/” is set. If the setting of the print workflow (the application document printing service 601) is included here, the service providing system shall refer to the setting and follow the setting.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsujimoto to incorporate the teachings of Utoh to wherein the storage location information is a file path. Doing so would provide an image output system and an information processing device capable of allowing a user to easily use a desired image output device without knowing specific information of the image output device (multifunction device) in advance at the time of using the image output device itself and also provide an authentication device and an image output system capable of preventing illegal obtainment of secret information (See Sect. [0011]), as recognized by Utoh.
Referring to Claim 13, the combination of Tsujimoto in view of Utoh teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (See Tsujimoto, Figs. 1-2, Image Output System).
Tsujimoto fails to explicitly teach
wherein the code image is a QR code image.
However, Utoh teaches
wherein the code image is a QR code image (See Utoh, Sect. [0065], The service providing system 10 converts the ID into an image code (e.g., a Quick Response (QR) code (registered trademark)) 9, forms the image code 9 in the print data of the document, and transmits the document to the apparatus 20. Accordingly, the apparatus 20 can print a document in which the image code 9 is formed.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsujimoto to incorporate the teachings of Utoh to wherein the code image is a QR code image. Doing so would provide an image output system and an information processing device capable of allowing a user to easily use a desired image output device without knowing specific information of the image output device (multifunction device) in advance at the time of using the image output device itself and also provide an authentication device and an image output system capable of preventing illegal obtainment of secret information (See Sect. [0011]), as recognized by Utoh.
Cited Art
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Nakajima et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2016/0105582 A1) discloses If a storage period of data held in a holding unit elapses and the data is deleted from the holding unit after a user logs out of a job processing apparatus, the user cannot easily recognize that there is deleted data. A method for controlling the job processing apparatus includes holding in the holding unit a job associated with a user, storing in a first storing unit identification information for identifying a user associated with a job deleted from the holding unit, storing in a second storing unit identification information for identifying a user associated with a job of which holding in the holding unit has failed, notifying based on the identification information stored in the first storing unit a user that the job is deleted, and notifying based on the identification information stored in the second storing unit a user that the holding of the job has failed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683